Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you consider carrying a weapon?

• 10-03-2011 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I was reading the other thread about the chap who got mugged and it brought back the memories of getting mugged myself. It could happen to any of us.

I remember being so angry (not because of what they took - nothing really) but just because a few scumbags won. I remember thinking I wouldn't hesitate to put a bullet in each of their brains (even years afterwards).

So would you ever consider carrying a weapon? Perhaps not a knife which is obviously going to kill. What about a telescopic baton, pepper spray, tazer or whatever.

Obviously you'd be breaking the law but faced with a junkie threatening me with a suringe... or being hopped on by a gang for no reason, I don't think I'd mind knowing I had a little insurance if they wouldn't simply take the money and wanted a fight too (as many scum do).

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I am the weapon

/ninja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Buscuits

I always have my weapon on the ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Not really, as more often than not, a weapon would end up used against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

and when your arrested after hitting someone for trying to mug you,
    your then charged, and classed as the scumbag.

they wont care if you were being robbed.
    and you wont be that satisfied with a criminal record, while they get to walk away afterward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I was reading the other thread about the chap who got mugged and it brought back the memories of getting mugged myself. It could happen to any of us.

I remember being so angry (not because of what they took - nothing really) but just because a few scumbags won. I remember thinking I wouldn't hesitate to put a bullet in each of their brains (even years afterwards).

So would you ever consider carrying a weapon? Perhaps not a knife which is obviously going to kill. What about a telescopic baton, pepper spray, tazer or whatever.

Obviously you'd be breaking the law but faced with a junkie threatening me with a suringe... or being hopped on by a gang for no reason, I don't think I'd mind knowing I had a little insurance if they wouldn't simply take the money and wanted a fight too (as many scum do).

Any thoughts?

Remember the courtcase recently about the man who confronted youths with a baseball bat and got himself shot and killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

since i bought my leatherman a few years ago i take it EVERYWHERE
    i never would use it but it's good to know i have it
    there's a lot of ****ed up people in this world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Br4tPr1nc3 wrote: »
    and when your arrested after hitting someone for trying to mug you,
    your then charged, and classed as the scumbag.

they wont care if you were being robbed.
    and you wont be that satisfied with a criminal record, while they get to walk away afterward.

The chances of being arrested for mincing a scumbag with a baton are slim to none... Surly self defence would come into it if it was only a baton being used (not in itself illegal) and you used it sparingly.

Point taken though. The law can be a bitch sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Personally, I wouldn't, but I understand both the desire for them on both personal and political levels (in all honesty, the political argument is pretty compelling, but I digress), so I support the right to own them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

since i bought my leatherman a few years ago i take it EVERYWHERE
    i never would use it but it's good to know i have it
    there's a lot of ****ed up people in this world

I'd be worried about taking a knife with me. Just on the off chance of being searched by a garda (going into a football match or something) and I forgot to take it out of my pocket... :eek:

On a sidenote... is there really a law that allows you to carry a knife below a certain size?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

The chances of being arrested for mincing a scumbag with a baton are slim to none... Surly self defence would come into it if it was only a baton being used (not in itself illegal) and you used it sparingly.

A man swung at a group of teens with a bat who were harresing him at my local GAA club. Missed his target and killed a girl.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/girl-hit-in-face-with-baseball-bat-is-still-critical-70065.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I don't need a weapon, I'll give those thugs a knuckle sandwich along with a piece of my mind, ''take that you ignoramous!!'' i'll say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Telescopic batons are AFAIK illegal to carry in Ireland and the UK. Also if you are attacked and you use a weapon on someone who is unarmed you can get done for it. As far as the law is concerned you can only response with appropriate force, so if you are attacked with a knife you can only fight back with a knife (or lesser weapon) or run the risk of being arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

On a sidenote... is there really a law that allows you to carry a knife below a certain size?

Why carry a weapon at all ?

Why don't you get yourself some boxing or krav maga training if you're so worried about getting mugged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My only weapon is my smug condescending nature.

Oh wait no, that's my method of contraception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

How can you prove it was self defense?
    How can you prove you were being mugged?

from most perspectives it was a person talking to you,
    and then you assaulted them with a weapon.

using JUST a baton is illegal, its a weapon simple as.
    and you can use it for every fight, or just once,
    as soon as your arrested for using it, then thats it.
    youd be lucky to get away with just a charge of assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

I would never carry a knife or other weapon. If a weapon is in a pocket, it serves absolutely no purpose as a deterrent. The only way it can work, is if it is used, and by then its just way too late.

The smartest and safest thing anyone can do in any self-defense situation is run away. If cornered, smash then run. No point in getting into what could be a protracted thing where odds are you will be injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

I'd be worried about taking a knife with me. Just on the off chance of being searched by a garda (going into a football match or something) and I forgot to take it out of my pocket... :eek:

i think 75mm maybe 70mm is allowed
    technically it's not a knife it's a pliers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Why carry a weapon at all ?

Why don't you get yourself some boxing or krav maga training if you're so worried about getting mugged.

because he wants something that will help :)

no shortage of everyday items out there that can be pressed into service against ne'er do wells, if you're so inclined.

It should be noted that legal advice on the internet it usually worth exactly what you paid for it. Especially some of the horsesh*te in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

i already have a concealed weapon......... in my pants ! :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Telescopic batons are AFAIK illegal to carry in Ireland and the UK. Also if you are attacked and you use a weapon on someone who is unarmed you can get done for it. As far as the law is concerned you can only response with appropriate force, so if you are attacked with a knife you can only fight back with a knife (or lesser weapon) or run the risk of being arrested.
    Arrested? Meh some scumbag oxygen thief attacks me or mine? I'm with some of the more gung ho and gun owning of our American brethren on this one, I'd rather be judged by twelve than carried by six. If I reckon I can get the upper hand I will(and have once before).

After some of the recent "judgements" by some of our senile and out of touch moronic judiciary of late, I would say it's best to make an attempt at exterminating such scum if you can get the upper hand. Claim "trauma" or a dodgy background and watch the sentence melt away. It seems to work way too often for the scum, so I say let it work for the rest of us.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Legitimacy means a lot when you're talking about weapons. You could conceivably pack a twelve inch hunting knife, so long as you pack it with your fishing tackle when you go fishing. On the other hand, if you're standing drunken on the roadside roaring abuse at people, you can be done for concealing a butterknife.

Purpose built weapons like telescopic batons, nightsticks and so on are automatic convictions, since there's no other use for them except as weapons. You can pick up a chair and defend yourself against five people attacking you, so long as you don't batter them while they are unconscious, that whole appropriate use of force thing.

Interestingly an exception seems to exist for walking sticks, so you conceivably could go about armed with a long cudgel and be well within your rights. This is why you see some of the tracksuit brigade carrying them these days - same for crutches.

Bows are legal until you point them at someone, crossbows are not.

Really, it mostly depends on the arresting officer's understanding of the situation. Almost anything can be a lethal weapon, the circumstances decide the consequences.

I am not a solicitor, if you take this post as legal advice or indeed any kind of advice, you are completely insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Some bouncers carry torches and a blow to the head from one of the would be as much as any batton or possibly more as they have batteries and are heavy.

If they can't have batons, a heavy torch is the next best thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I would never carry a knife or other weapon. If a weapon is in a pocket, it serves absolutely no purpose as a deterrent. The only way it can work, is if it is used, and by then its just way too late.

The smartest and safest thing anyone can do in any self-defense situation is run away. If cornered, smash then run. No point in getting into what could be a protracted thing where odds are you will be injured.

If all ninjas had your attitude nobody would remember them today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭YoureSoVain

I would rather get into trouble myself for using a weapon than leave some bas***d get away with hurting me.Plus do u really think some mugger is going to report u??? I think the best thing is to carry something that could do damage but would not be classed as a weapon. Instead of pepper spray use deodorant, spray it into the face. If you want to carry a hammer bring a few nails :) Say u were going to do a job for a friend. U know what I'm getting at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I would not carry a weapon (outside of work).

Personally I dont believe in it. I however fully support the use of non lethal weapons for self defence. Mainly tazer or mace type weapons. However, weapons are all around us, it doesnt matter what it is, as soon as you pick it up to defend yourself, it is deemed as a weapon.

Im a small guy, 5ft 7 but Im well able to defend myself. I am proficient in unarmed combat and have dabbled in Krav Maga. I have been involved in altercations in the past, but wholeheartedly believe in avoidance.

The best weapons that you should have is confidence, a loud voice and a good set of legs.

If I am approached and feel threatened, il steady myself, take a deep breath and let a loud scream out, then if there is an escape route I will leggit out of there.

If for some reason I cannot escape, then I will use anything at my disposal to ensure I am not harmed or at least limit my possible injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I never leave home without my minigun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If I could carry a firearm I would. I've had many kickings and I dont like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

The best defence is a good offence. Mug people first before they get a chance to mug you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

mgmt wrote: »
    Remember the courtcase recently about the man who confronted youths with a baseball bat and got himself shot and killed.

Never bring a baseball bat to a gun fight :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Wibbs wrote: »
    Arrested? Meh some scumbag oxygen thief attacks me or mine? I'm with some of the more gung ho and gun owning of our American brethren on this one, I'd rather be judged by twelve than carried by six. If I reckon I can get the upper hand I will(and have once before).

After some of the recent "judgements" by some of our senile and out of touch moronic judiciary of late, I would say it's best to make an attempt at exterminating such scum if you can get the upper hand. Claim "trauma" or a dodgy background and watch the sentence melt away. It seems to work way too often for the scum, so I say let it work for the rest of us.

Thats almost exactly the way I feel.....albeit conveyed more eloquently and concisely and without as many swearwords as I would have felt compelled to use......however

@ OP I would still be wary of carrying a weapon obviously intended for the purpose of inflicting bodily damage and would prefer to

a) be aware and avoid the trouble if possible.

b) back out of it if at all possible as most of the time these scum have a lot less to lose than you from the encounter

c) if truly cornered smash and run if you can as another poster said and

d) if no option but to fight....use something that you could legitimately carry for non-thug bashing purpose but will still do the job or improvise something from your surroundings if possible---presumably this would go down better in court.

having said all this would love wander around in body armour, wearing a hockey mask dispensing justice streetstyle with my trusty hurley sometimes when I see the kind of intimidating thugs seemingly infesting parts of our cities and towns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

amacca wrote: »
    having said all this would love wander around in body armour, wearing a hockey mask dispensing justice streetstyle with my trusty hurley sometimes when I see the kind of intimidating thugs seemingly infesting parts of our cities and towns.

if people saw you they would think you were an intimidating thug...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I used to carry pepper spray on my key chain when I lived in the US. I would here as well if it were legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

I can understand your frustration at being helpless against muggers and scumbags but if you carry a weapon, it's as much a danger to yourself as it is to your attacker. Say they manage to take the weapon off you, they'll probably inflict the same punishment you would have on them. Could make the situation a WHOLE lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

If carrying a gun were made legal I'd start the process to get one straightaway.

Plus do u really think some mugger is going to report u???

Yep...I do. could use it as way to claim disability etc...compensation etc

The type of people we are talking about include those who know all about their "rights" care nothing about their responsibilities and have no shame whatsoever imo
    Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Interestingly an exception seems to exist for walking sticks, so you conceivably could go about armed with a long cudgel and be well within your rights. This is why you see some of the tracksuit brigade carrying them these days - same for crutches.

I seem to have developed a limp my good man

I may need to get a customized cane made with a nice heavy metal handle on...strangely well balanced and with extra hand grips in the most unusual places:D

A true gentleman must have a good cane at his side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

CS gas is a non-lethal alternative to knifing someone or mauling them with a telescopic baton. It disables them enough so that you can get away safely.

Example:

'course you could always gas them, then while they are temporarily disabled, kick the shit out of them and take their shoes.

Kadongy wrote: »
    if people saw you they would think you were an intimidating thug...

They would probably think I was a complete nutter

until they seen my cape and utility belt

then they would know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I wouldn't. I'm not that strong so I imagine that the chance of me being over-powered and having the weapon used against me would be quite high. I wouldn't regardless though. I dunno, I just don't walk around worrying all the time that something could happen to me. Maybe that's silly.

Novella wrote: »
    I wouldn't. I'm not that strong so I imagine that the chance of me being over-powered and having the weapon used against me would be quite high. I wouldn't regardless though. I dunno, I just don't walk around worrying all the time that something could happen to me. Maybe that's silly.

not silly at all I'd say

Ive been mugged once (not too bad - fcukers surprised me) and got out of sticky situations twice and I don't go around worrying about it

you cant...it wont solve anything.

however if it was a serious assault I assume that could have a real lasting effect on a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

robbie_998 wrote: »
    i already have a concealed weapon......... in my pants ! :pac:

Blanks won'tdo anything but amuse the muggers

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Its all about the eyes. If you can perfect the ''come near me and il slit your throat look'' no one will touch you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

carry around one of them chain dog leads et voila improvised knuckle duster. any one asks you're looking for your dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I wear this when I am out,it gets the message across well enough:

http://www.80stees.com/products/II-The-Office-Dwight-Gun-Show-T-shirt.asp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Having had the misfortune to witness a stabbing anyone who carrys a knife is a scumbag period...

If someone wants self defence the should conceal carry a weapon or else a deterrent like a tazer or pepper spray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Learn hypnosis... turn any would be mugger into a chicken... bawk bawk bawk bawk.

Failing that, use a ballpoint like that Supremity guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Rhamiel

i think 75mm maybe 70mm is allowed
    technically it's not a knife it's a pliers :D

Sorry lads Mr. Section 9(1) allows for ANY object with as much as a sharp point to land you a conviction under The Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Not really, as more often than not, a weapon would end up used against you.

Would you care to substantiate that comment?

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Not to sound like a scumbag but this best weapons you can carry, WHICH arent immediate weapons are this, this

OR ESPECIALLY THIS !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

major bill wrote: »
    Its all about the eyes. If you can perfect the ''come near me and il slit your throat look'' no one will touch you.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Not to sound like a scumbag but this best weapons you can carry, WHICH arent immediate weapons are this, this

OR ESPECIALLY THIS !!!!

If you were carrying the pen penknife and used it, you'd probably get in deep sh1t.