Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadlift grip

• 10-03-2011 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Is there any reasOn I shouldnt use a mixed grip?

I was told recently that it leads to bicep tears and shoulder injuries. Should you just train with overhand grip so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

If you not training for competition and you just want to increase your weight, then you could always try liftign straps.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I think the bicep/shoulder injury thing is a myth.

I usually warm up with double overhand and switch to mixed on my to sets.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

im the same on the warmups...I dont think its a myth... i think this notion that compeditve heavy lifting doesnt carry injury risk is a myth...its not chess here lads...

I wouldnt use straps either these are a great way to give yourself a false sense of secutiry...

the only time i use them is if my grips is tired...i.e doing RDL's after deadlifting..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

It's absolutely not a myth. If you don't keep your arm straight, that supinated position with a heavy load is asking for a bicep tear.

Hanley wrote: »
    It's absolutely not a myth. If you don't keep your arm straight, that supinated position with a heavy load is asking for a bicep tear.

So it's doing the mixed grip wrong that leads to injury? Not the Mixed grip itself.

they/them/theirs

So it's doing the mixed grip wrong that leads to injury? Not the Mixed grip itself.

ah here lad...thats like saying it wasnt falling in the shower that did the injury it was failling the wrong way...

Ah here yourself :). That analogy is brutal, if you step out of the shower wrong there's a higher chance you'll fall and get hurt but if you do it correctly it's a lot more likely you won't fall an remain injury free.

they/them/theirs

I actually give up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Whenever I use a mixed grip its the right hand thats supinated and the left arm thats overhand.I tried switching over to the opposite way but it just feels awkward.Will this lead to any imbalances if I keep pulling all my 'heavy' sets in the same mixed grip?

I actually give up...

I thought I was agreeing with you. There is a risk to it.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Remmy wrote: »
    Whenever I use a mixed grip its the right hand thats supinated and the left arm thats overhand.I tried switching over to the opposite way but it just feels awkward.Will this lead to any imbalances if I keep pulling all my 'heavy' sets in the same mixed grip?

I've been using the same mixed grip for years, I've not noticed any imbalance.

Nate

Are you actually taking the p1ss? I know you like to argue with me, but that's beyond ridiculous.

Using a mixed grip leads to a higher chance of injury while deadlifting. SIMPLE.

Are you actually taking the p1ss? I know you like to argue with me, but that's beyond ridiculous.

Using a mixed grip leads to a higher chance of injury while deadlifting. SIMPLE.

I like to argue with you?

There was a question Mark there for a reason. I thought mixed grip was safe, you said it wasn't completely, it was bad if done wrong. I was just asking if it was only bad if done wrong or bad in general.

Does that make sense? I'm on my phone so the post was quite short, apologies. There should have actually a question Mark at the end as well, it wasn't intended as a statement, I can see why you think I was taking the piss, but I wasn't.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Somewhat related what do you think of weighted chins with regards to stressing arm/bicep? I was doing these for awhile last Winter and they started to feel non too pleasant when the weight started to go up.

token wrote: »
    Somewhat related what do you think of weighted chins with regards to stressing arm/bicep? I was doing these for awhile last Winter and they started to feel non too pleasant when the weight started to go up.

I know this wasnt adressed to me but a guys log I used follow was doing chinups with a good bit of weight slapped on and he used more of a neutral grip instead of a straight bar cause it stressed his wrists/biceps less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭KeithReilly

I know this wasnt adressed to me but a guys log I used follow was doing chinups with a good bit of weight slapped on and he used more of a neutral grip instead of a straight bar cause it stressed his wrists/biceps less.

Thanks for the replies regarding the deadlift lads.

Regarding weighted chin ups, can they cause elbow problems like tendonitis?

token wrote: »

I went up to chinning bodyweight +40kg x5 and +50kg x3 at the start of the year and never experienced any pain or discomfort. But then again I've pulled some decent numbers without hurting my biceps too.

I'd guess a lot of it comes down to how you do them. Like if you're careful to do them right, you should be grand.

That being said, I could see heavy chins being more stressful than neccessary on the wrists alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Mixed grip is fine. Of course one bicep is going to be exposed doing it that way but unless you try to row the thing up your thighs you should be fine.

Getting a bigger deadlift makes you more susceptible to injuries in my experience anyway. And it's the constantly overtrained lower back that I've seen as the main injury concern for myself anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

as regards stress from chins-for about 6 weeks I had a pretty sore spot on the upper forearm just up from the insertion point of the bicep-I then changed from wide grip pull ups to neutral grip and the problem went away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭zebrafumbler

There is so much conflicting information out there. For example, you have an experienced powerlifter like Hanley who can get 10 reps with 200kg and up in the 250's for singles, doubles claiming that mixed grip can potentially be dangerous. Then you have other lifters claiming its perfectly fine. We all know heavy lifting can potentially be dangerous but done right isn't mixed grip fine? I can pull 200kg for 3 reps and routinely pull 180 for reps and touch wood haven't had any problem just yet. From my experience I say mixed grip is fine, just remember to keep your arms straight.

It's potentially more dangerous.

Are you guaranteed to tear a bicep? No.

Are you more likely to tear a bicep if you let your arms bend? Yes

Do I know how much more likely? No.

It's really simple - pulling double over hand is "safer" because it limits the weight you can use, and puts your arms in a safer position. I still don't think people should pull that way. But I was answering the questions that were asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭zebrafumbler

It's potentially more dangerous.

Are you guaranteed to tear a bicep? No.

Are you more likely to tear a bicep if you let your arms bend? Yes

Do I know how much more likely? No.

It's really simple - pulling double over hand is "safer" because it limits the weight you can use, and puts your arms in a safer position. I still don't think people should pull that way. But I was answering the questions that were asked!

Cool. I'm just trying to vindicate a mixed grip to put my mind at ease as poundages have been going up and a bicep tare is something thats come to mind lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

The point is that when you pull, not matter what grip you're using, ensure you pull the slack out of the bar and that your arms are locked out!!

Is rolling the bar away from you then back to your shins and pulling it allowed in comps?I see some people doing that in vids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Pulling the slack out of the bar is something I've read many times but can't visualise, how is this done?

Is rolling the bar away from you then back to your shins and pulling it allowed in comps?I see some people doing that in vids.

Yep it's allowed alright.....Benni does it and he has the Raw world record. I personally don't do it, mainly because I never have but you really have to get your timing right to ensure you stay on your heels.

Pulling the slack out of the bar is something I've read many times but can't visualise, how is this done?

I'll try and explain.......when you are down in the hole and have gripped the bar you slightly pull it up "to take the slack out" before you start deadlifting. You're pretty much just trying to get as tight as possible in the start position. It ensure's that the bar is going up with you.

Hope this helps....look at any Andy Bolton video.

Pull up with what though, like leg drive to tighten things up, pushing the chest up, pulling with arms? Probably should have clarified that to begin with.

With your arms before you actually start your ascent off the ground.

You bascially want to be so tight that if you let go, you'd fall backwards.

Grab the bar with straight arms pull your hips down, but instead of letting them just drop in, the act of pulling them down should be under enough tension that with light weights the bar actually comes off the floor.

Even tho I'm not trying to pull the weight, I need at least 100kg on the bar to do it or it'll just lift up and i'll fall backwards with it.

Ok I think I get it now cheers. Will try to work on that in the future.