Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[TEST LAUNCH] http://search.boards.ie - now ye're searching

• 08-03-2011 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭

Hi folks

We're launching http://search.boards.ie to the site soon but we'd like you to test it first and let us know what you think.

Major kudos to Ross and the moderators who have been working on and testing this out over the past while.

Thanks in advance!

Darragh
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I like it. Good work lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Ive just been giving this a spin now... excellent idea, boards has a wealth of Irish specific information that can be difficult to wade through via google. This is a very good idea.

Would youse consider adding maybe 'Last Year' in the Date section to the side. Some things I searched for there, the top results were from a couple of years, maybe 4+ years ago. That info might not be as relevent and when you search by 'last month', that info might not have the quality. Maybe you guys arent viewing it as a knowledge base search, as I am, but more a conversation based search.

Do youse have plans to put some of the 'advanced search' options from the boards previous forum search into this?

OH! and in case I havent been abundantly clear good job. I rarely give feedback, just noticed this on Twitter and Kudos for doing it. Searching for Irish info/knowledge/expertise on the Internet can be very hit and miss this is an excellent idea. Order by thanks is also a good idea, Im curious to see whether it'll discern quality info or funny info... so far quality

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Can now search for C&C in the photography forum. Yay.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I foresee an excellent navel-gazing afternoon of rereading my old posts ahead of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

Finally you can search for TLAs!

But how do I put a date range, Forum, Poster or see oldest first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Its very slow

use this > http://sphinxsearch.com/

if the dev team need help with mysql,php and sphinx integration I would be happy to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Should be able to refine your search beforehand, otherwise it's pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,626 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Brilliant, esp the date line for when the post was made, much easier to find small threads with only a few posts but with important information in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Airsofter101

Not my cuppa tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Brilliant - It is suitably low tech so I can use it -and thats good.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I like it. Nice and simple, easy to use. Good work lads:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

I find it a lot better than the other system. Very handy that you can filter on certain forum after you enter your initial search.

Maybe you could display the results by date. Most recent first.
    Some of the results displayed 1st are from 4 / 5 years ago.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What's there is very good. It needs more basic features before it will replace the existing search though (search by poster, posts vs threads, prefilter posts by forum and time...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Maybe you could display the results by date. Most recent first.
    Some of the results displayed 1st are from 4 / 5 years ago.

In the light blue bar near the top, to the right it has 'newest first' this will display by newest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

How do you search by username?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

3 character search-freindly! yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

It looks good but would be nice if you could do some pre filters before the initial search

Also if you search, then set the newest first button then search again for something else it resets to best match. It should probably remember what you had selected when you re-search from the same page.

The reset also happens if you search, select a filter and then search again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I like it, I like it a lot. Just tried it a few times but way more accurate than the last one and seems to pull up more relevant results.
    Fair play to the developers!
    Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

An advanced search option?

But its very good so far - well done!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Handy!

Annoying having to click back to the previous page if you sort by date etc. That would stop me using it altogether (yes, I'm that petty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ugh. Can't select forum that you want to search, or the user :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I like it, going to be a big help in searching for old threads.

If the date filters could be out on the first page it would be even better, but even so, well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

I like it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I like it. Well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It's really great. Fair play to all of ya for developing it, its realy handy.

The only suggestion I would have is maybe including an option for "Last 6 Months" in the date sidebar.

Otherwise though, its top notch :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

Now ye're searchin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thisisadamh

Thanks, this is awesome! Great work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

i like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭fizzycyst

excellent, so much better than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭clickhere

Thanks Guys , i like it alot so much easier to use .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

that is much better now - great stuff now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Dude111

Not my cuppa tea
    Ya i like the original search myself,i search for new activity on threads i posted in since my last visit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Won't this mean a lot more Zombie threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

WilliamOC wrote: »
    Now ye're searchin'

Dont meant to hijack the thread, but it would be possible for Boards.ie to have a shop (generate some income) with slogans on tee's like this and Now ye're talking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

It looks great, Much clearer and more accessible for searches, Good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Fol20

I was wondering where do you get the that skin..it looks really good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Cerocco

Its really good, well done guys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jmx009

I think its a lot better than the current search system...

A+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭horse7

thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭colly10

I far rather the old search system and really hope you don't get rid of it for this. I use the search alot and this search does not allow me to do the 2 main things I use the current search for -

1. To find all threads I have posted on and see what has had new posts (and which are most recently updated) since I was last on boards - I use advanced search, enter my username in author and select show results by threads.
    I cannot get this information from the new search

2. To find where someone has responded directly to something i've posted on a fast moving thread by quoting my post - I use advanced search, enter my username in keywords field and click show results as posts
    I cannot find this info from the new search.

When the new search is made available, would the old advanced search still remain available? Otherwise we'd be loosing functionality (unless i'm missing something from the new one?)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

finally 3 letter searches are possible - excellent.

Everything else - meh. prefer current look and options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,398 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Change the default search results to newest to be displayed first. Some of the searches I've done are dragging up threads, 5-9 years old first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

prefer the old setup and the google search on the opening page is the job aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Mc Love wrote: »
    Dont meant to hijack the thread, but it would be possible for Boards.ie to have a shop (generate some income) with slogans on tee's like this and Now ye're talking?
    There used to be one selling tees and cups and stuff if memory serves. Think it closed down for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Oh wow, now I can see what everyone's saying about me in the threads I don't get around to looking at..

Interesting..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 MT3

I like it, effecient and easy to spot what you're looking for.

But, I think it would nicer if there was less writing on both sides. Either keep it to one side or put it somewhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jw93

Great work lads its much better than the current search tool it shows up much more relavant results

Thanks alot,
    Jack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Tags

Not too shabby :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lara_k

I like the new search system, it is much improved! Thank you.

One of my biggest complaints about the Google tool was whenever I clicked on one of the results it did not open a new page to that specific thread so if I wanted to return to my search results I'd have to go back to the home page and type in my search criteria again. But you have fixed that now - no more frustration! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Clean, simple and easy. Nice.

Remains to be seen what the actual search engine is like - I've only done one search. Anything's an improvement on vBulletin's basic engine though so that's gotta be a plus ;)