Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting freeweights later....question on weight.

• 08-03-2011 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭

Starting free weights later, using the barbell for squats and deadlifts.

I am unsure of what weight to start with though. How will I judge this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Start with very little / zero weight. Make sure you get your form right first, then add weight later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭T-rev

Okay. Should I bring a print out for reference to make sure I have the correct form?

How soon should I increase, after the very little? After 1 set of correct form?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

T-rev wrote: »
    Okay. Should I bring a print out for reference to make sure I have the correct form?

Is there anyone you can ask to check your form? Checking form while lifting is tricky and can lead to problems.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Yeah I'll be in the gym with a training partner so he can check I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

It may help to bring a notebook with a check list for your routine in it. You can then record what you've done, along with reps, sets and weight for each exercise, which will help you decide when to move up a weight.

In general, don't change the weight half way through a session. If you find the weight too light, finish it out and then use a heavier weight next time you're in the gym. Use your own better judgement on how much to add when do you decide to move up, but usually it will be whatever the smallest increment available is. When you're starting off though, you might be making much bigger jumps while you try to figure out where your real starting point is.

Yeah I'll be in the gym with a training partner so he can check I suppose.

It's important he knows what he is looking at though :) .

As Doug said, it can be handy to have a notebook to log your workout on. That way you know exactly where to start from every time you step into the gym. It's not just noobs who do this, I once read an interview with Dorian Yates where he said that he had every workout he ever did written in a logbook.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I would start with zero or an empty bar as mentioned.

When you have done a few sessions there are repetition calculators online, I find them pretty accurate. The bar can be around 20kg so you have to take this into account when calculating

http://www.exrx.net/Calculators/OneRepMax.html

That calculator only go to 10 reps though, I would to lighter weights starting out, especially doing squats as you can get VERY sore muscles starting out doing weights you consider pretty easy, the soreness will not come until the next day or so.

Yeah will start with an empty bar so. Tried bringing a notebook to the gym before (not the one I am in now tho) and got the most funny looks so I stopped bringing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Tried bringing a notebook to the gym before (not the one I am in now tho) and got the most funny looks so I stopped bringing it.
    Are you sure that wasn't just in your head? I see people with notebooks or spreadsheet printouts all the time in the gym - it's not exactly unusual behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Definitely not strange to bring in a notebook OP

If you look around you'll see lots of others, sure lots of gyms write the programs for new members on a card so they can bring them around

Maybe it was just paranoia from me being a n00b and all. Thanks for the advice lads.

Went well. I asked an experienced lifter to watch me while I did one rep of each exercise with a really low weight and he helped me correct my form where I was going wrong.

As intimidating as some of the heavy lifters look once you talk to them they are really sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

The right weight for you is specific to you and you alone. You need to try with a low weight (assuming your new to it all) and get a feel for how easy it is based on 8 to 12 reps of each exercise say. If you can do 12 and it was 'v.easy' then you need to increase a bit until it becomes hard for the last few reps. Ideally you want to be finding it super hard for the last few when you get more used to things.

You will use different weight for each muscle group and even between exercises for the same muscle group. diff angles or seating/standing for example.

You will find that over say 6-8weeks you will be able to up the weight a fair bit potentially but then you will plateau as it becomes harder to make gains.

The biggest mistake is rushing too quick to add weight as muscles develop faster than tendons and ligaments. Slow and steady both in form and weight progression maks for a sustainable and injury free lifetime of healthy exercise.

You tube can be a great resource for watching vids on people do various exercises. And conversley it can be easier to get the right form with at least 'some' resistance as zero weight doesn't give any feel to what you are doing.

If you are losing form before you get to the last few reps then your hitting too much weight. Losing form is effectively 'cheating' as you are no longer working the intended muscle but using your back, legs and other groups etc to enable you to life beyond what the muscle can do. Looks geat and is put to great effect for bicep curls which are prone to this. But ultimatley doesn't give gains and is counter productive and even worse a total waste of time.. :(

Thanks Lantus. There was too many people on the barbell so I used the free weights (they werent dumbells, more like mini barbells) and used a moderate weight. Only felt it really on the last two reps so I was happy with the weight I had chosen as it didnt really push my muscles at all which is what I wanted to get my form right. I will probably use the same weight for the first week or two just to get my form completely correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭gavney1

Went well. I asked an experienced lifter to watch me while I did one rep of each exercise with a really low weight and he helped me correct my form where I was going wrong.

As intimidating as some of the heavy lifters look once you talk to them they are really sound.

I used to find them intimidating as well. As it turns out though, generally the lads who look like they know what they're talking about are very happy to help. It actually bothers some experienced lifters when they see inexperienced guys doing things wrong and potentially hurting themselves, but often they feel it's not their place to give advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

gavney1 wrote: »
    I used to find them intimidating as well. As it turns out though, generally the lads who look like they know what they're talking about are very happy to help. It actually bothers some experienced lifters when they see inexperienced guys doing things wrong and potentially hurting themselves, but often they feel it's not their place to give advice.

Best not to advise anyone as it's such a sue him now world we live in. Any advice good or bad could be twisted and turned back on you in court by some half wit that has just wondered in.

Lantus wrote: »
    Best not to advise anyone as it's such a sue him now world we live in. Any advice good or bad could be twisted and turned back on you in court by some half wit that has just wondered in.

I think it's safe to say that no one in ireland has ever been sued for giving out advice in a gym free of charge. Do you think that this fitness forum would even exist if you could if there was any legal liability for dispensing free fitness advice?

Op, the soundest people in gyms tend to be the biggest as well, they've nothing to prove to anyone.

they/them/theirs

haha true brian on both fronts. hopefully in time I can be the one giving some advice too.

Cheers lads. Will keep ye all posted.

I think it's safe to say that no one in ireland has ever been sued for giving out advice in a gym free of charge. Do you think that this fitness forum would even exist if you could if there was any legal liability for dispensing free fitness advice?

Op, the soundest people in gyms tend to be the biggest as well, they've nothing to prove to anyone.

From which you get the phrase "he's as sound as a pound" i.e. your weight in pounds is directly proportional to your soundness.

that doesn't make any sense, idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

that doesn't make any sense, idiot

As much sense as quoting yourself maybe?

Khannie wrote: »
    As much sense as quoting yourself maybe?

was meant to be a joke. clearly not a particularly funny one

clearly not ha

was meant to be a joke. clearly not a particularly funny one

I'll give it a pity golf clap if it cheers you up.

they/them/theirs

it does, thanks!