Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the new government get rid of the 10pm off license closing time?

• 07-03-2011 1:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if they will, and would you support it if they did? Seems a good idea to me to generate more tax from off license employees and more revenue from punters who would visit after 10pm.

What you folks reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

It's a retarded idea, get rid of it I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Probably end up costing more taxpayers money to pay for Gardai,Paramedics,Nurses and Doctors to look after more intoxicated underage people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

only time i might actually want a drink is after 10. don't even remember why it came in a few yr ago, tbh, they should just nip it in the bud and crack down on tracksuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Probably end up costing more taxpayers money to pay for Gardai,Paramedics,Nurses and Doctors to look after more intoxicated underage people.

man thats bullsh*t , underage lads all get their drink at 8-9 and are drunk by 10-11 anyway, opening the offos later wont do anything to underage drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Doubtful, Fianna Fail may have been the publican party but Fine Gael have their own set of publicans and vested interests

Different parties but much the same on this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Yeah, cos no one gets pissed and injured with the licencing laws as they are and underagers only get pissed when they can buy in the morning... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ahhh.....the children. They always say that it is there to protect the children.

What a load of ****.

If the issue that kids are getting their hands on drink, then address that issue first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you're going to be worried over the children one idea touted for years was the off license would label everything they sell.
    So if the gardai come along and find underagers drinking they can see where the drink came from.

It's not a perfect idea but it's a good one imo.

Better that then this stupid 10pm rule which seems to be more about keeping publicans happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭halpin17

I find I buy more drink because I know it closes at 10 and I wont get back to it on time to buy more, if u bought a lesser amount earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

In my area nyways I noticed a big difference in anti-social behaviour once the 10pm rule came in,fields at the back of our house used to be full of drunk 13-17 year olds til 5/6am most weekends shouting,fighting and carrying on,now only the odd weekend it happens and they're usually gone by 11pm or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

In my area nyways I noticed a big difference in anti-social behaviour once the 10pm rule came in,fields at the back of our house used to be full of drunk 13-17 year olds til 5/6am most weekends shouting,fighting and carrying on,now only the odd weekend it happens and they're usually gone by 11pm or so.

Really? Can ye tell the ones round my way to piss off then?! Haven't noticed any difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Must take effort to be so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Thats not down to closing times - It's because of the cuts to their parents social welfare!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

not true if anything they would drink less cos they would start drinking alot later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

Finn Gael made a statement about how they were going to try and crack down on big supermarkets selling cheap drink in an attempt to bring business back into the pubs so cant see them doing it im afraid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Way too many publicans in the Dail as a whole for this to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Pingu-D wrote: »
    Finn Gael made a statement about how they were going to try and crack down on big supermarkets selling cheap drink in an attempt to bring business back into the pubs so cant see them doing it im afraid!

I regret voting for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Just wondering if they will, and would you support it if they did? Seems a good idea to me to generate more tax from off license employees and more revenue from punters who would visit after 10pm.

What you folks reckon?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Hang on a minute i'm not sure i understand what you're saying. You seem to be saying that because the off licence closes an hour and a half earlier, the underage drinkers in your area now go home 6 or 7 hours earlier than they would otherwise, if they bother to have a drink at all?

Seems a bit unlikely to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Most underage drinkers would get their booze in Tesco or Dunnes during the day where its a lot cheaper and easier to get than at the bottle shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

karlog wrote: »
    I regret voting for them.

They made that statement before the election.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Very few kids would have got their booze after ten. A lot of people buying after this would be people finishing work late, so now they have to buy in bulk before hand just in case they want a drink. Teenagers are hanging around the offies from about 7 or 8 and it has always been that way. I dont think I ever had a teenager come up to me after 10 asking me to get them booze. I say it has had a bad effect on your local off license but the likes of Tesco are doing better as people stock up now on booze when they are doing the shopping. Go into any big supermarket and most people doing their weekly shopping will have booze in the trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Probably try and ban drinking indoors or something retarded like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

So what your saying is that only underage people would buy drink after 10 at night.

Underage people are too stupid to try and buy drink before 10 and thus dont!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Theyre probably old enough to go to the pub now.

When I was 15/16/17, we'd buy our drink round 9.. This doesn't stop underage drinking or affect it in the slightest.

I'll never forget my brothers face when he got home from the airport at half 10 and wanted to go back into town to have a few cans with me in the house.. He'd only been gone a few years and couldn't believe an adult couldn't buy drink at half 10. We went to the pub funny enough so it fits in perfectly with what people are saying in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

The amount of underage people buying drink after 10 was slim to none I reckon... I doubt that law had any effect on 99% of em.

It does screw most working people over though, the only people it benefits are the publicans. And if FG *do* try and place a ban on supermarkets selling cheap drink it's gonna really suck, because that's where the majority of people buy their booze now, ahead of time just in case, rather than the night of a session in an off licence.

Im sure pubs would lose a lot of money if the hours went back to like 12:30, like my local used to. Most people are too sober to want a lot of drink before 10pm. They might have only got a few cans then want a lot more, and the only option left is fiver a pint for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

just stock up on drink at the supermarket - are irish people so disorganised that we can't manage that?

mike kelly wrote: »
    just stock up on drink at the supermarket - are irish people so disorganised that we can't manage that?

But why should we have to stock up on drink ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Spunge wrote: »

Well probably because there are some people who clearly cannot bare the idea of not having ready access to alcohol at 10.30pm.

as part of our integration with the EU. Every self-respecting German has a beer supply at home and we need to follow suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

Surely everyone can see the flipside as to why it makes sense, even if it is flawed in ways the principle is sound.
    I keep a supply of food and drinks both alcoholic and not in my house. I make sure that when I wake up in the morning I won't have to go to the shop for cereal. I'll plan ahead and make sure I have plenty in stock prior to needing it. I don't see why alcohol is any different to any other food or drink item.

I reckon the only people it bothers are those who have no alcohol in their house on a continuous basis and consume all of their alcoholic drinks as they buy them in of an evening. The idea of surplus or leftovers is alien to binge drinkers.

People who rush to the off license after 10pm haven't planned ahead and are probably deemed less responsible than those who'd a bit of foresight.

It reminds me of that one idiot who runs around a disco asking all of his mates if they have a condom as he was too stupid too plan ahead.

But it doesnt stop people buying drink, only forces them to go to a pub or club and spend far more , which is why its good for pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭BIGT4464

Whats also bad is the no sale before 10.30, I like to get my shopping early and put my 2 bottles of ale in the trolley the woman scaned it and then took it back off me it took a while to click what was wrong it was 10.15, crazy law. this was in Lidl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Surely everyone can see the flipside as to why it makes sense, even if it is flawed in ways the principle is sound.
    I keep a supply of food and drinks both alcoholic and not in my house. I make sure that when I wake up in the morning I won't have to go to the shop for cereal. I'll plan ahead and make sure I have plenty in stock prior to needing it. I don't see why alcohol is any different to any other food or drink item.

I reckon the only people it bothers are those who have no alcohol in their house on a continuous basis and consume all of their alcoholic drinks as they buy them in of an evening. The idea of surplus or leftovers is alien to binge drinkers.

People who rush to the off license after 10pm haven't planned ahead and are probably deemed less responsible than those who'd a bit of foresight.

It reminds me of that one idiot who runs around a disco asking all of his mates if they have a condom as he was too stupid too plan ahead.
    Right so if I'm working from three until ten, as I regularly do, and receive a phonecall about a party/session during this time I should have planned for that?
    Theres no need to make excuses for this ridiculous law, it was put in place to inconvenience us.

While we're on the topic why are off licence hours different on a Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

mike kelly wrote: »

Because I often do my weekly shopping on a Sunday morning - and nanny state rules say you can't buy alcohol then either?

Or do I have to make a dedicated shopping trip just for booze?

AgileMyth wrote: »

While we're on the topic why are off licence hours different on a Sunday?

Same reason we cant buy drink on good friday i assume

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

If only as a means of satisfying ones goo at 11pm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

But it doesnt stop people buying drink, only forces them to go to a pub or club and spend far more , which is why its good for pubs.

I understand FF logic of herding people to the pub instead of the offie after 10pm but what if your a father of 2 who just wants a bottle of red to go with his DVD.
    Now luckily my local Centra know I'm not reselling my wares to the chislers outside so I've no problem getting a bottle at 10:30pm.
    My issue is why should I be made feel like a criminal doing it.

Only bad planning forces you to go to the pub. Why can't some people buy the alcohol they will consume for a week say, in one go at a supermarket?

I would hazard a guess that some people plan to get drunk and only buy in what they plan on drinking. They are probably afraid to buy anymore as when drunk would consume the lot and end up in trouble.

Pay as you go alcohol purchases on a consistent basis, surely has to be indicative of a binge drinking problem.

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I understand FF logic of herding people to the pub instead of the offie after 10pm but what if your a father of 2 who just wants a bottle of red to go with his DVD.
    Now luckily my local Centra know I'm not reselling my wares to the chislers outside so I've no problem getting a bottle at 10:30pm.
    My issue is why should I be made feel like a criminal doing it.

I agree, its not a major problem, but can be quite annoying as you can get alcohol any time you want in other countries. People are just used to it now so they put up with it, but why should we, what if they moved it back to 9 or 8 o clock ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No I dont see any sense in it whatsoever. It is supposed to stop kids from binge drinking and to reduce anti-social behaviour. Only, it doesnt, because few kids have commitments that make them unable to go to the off-license before 10pm. Unlike many adults who often work to 10pm and past.

Yes we all try to make sure that we have cereal in the house, but in the event that you go to get some at 8am in the morning and there is none(for whatever reason), it is not illegal for a shop keeper to sell it to you. There are shops open at that time, where you can go and get some. Unlike when you go to your stock only to find that your housemates drank it all at the weekend, and you look at the clock and it is 10.01, if you go to your local Spar or Centra it is against the law for them to sell you a can of Guinness or a bottle of Don Simpson.

I actually think it is the other way around, and it really only suits the alcoholics. This business of making sure you have a load of drink in stock constantly, just on the off chance that you would be caught without a drink in your hand at 10.05 sounds a bit obsessive compulsive to me. And besides, if an alcoholic were to find himself in that position, he would just go to a pub, without giving it a second thought.

It does however hurt casual drinkers and people who work. Like people who get home from work later than normal and say to themselves "Hmm, I fancy a small sip of Pinot Grigio while I watch Vincent Brown. Oh wait, I cant because it is illegal because it is after 10pm".

syklops wrote: »
    No I dont see any sense in it whatsoever. It is supposed to stop kids from binge drinking and to reduce anti-social behaviour. Only, it doesnt, because few kids have commitments that make them unable to go to the off-license before 10pm. Unlike many adults who often work to 10pm and past.

Yes we all try to make sure that we have cereal in the house, but in the event that you go to get some at 8am in the morning and there is none(for whatever reason), it is not illegal for a shop keeper to sell it to you. There are shops open at that time, where you can go and get some. Unlike when you go to your stock only to find that your housemates drank it all at the weekend, and you look at the clock and it is 10.01, if you go to your local Spar or Centra it is against the law for them to sell you a can of Guinness or a bottle of Don Simpson.

I actually think it is the other way around, and it really only suits the alcoholics. This business of making sure you have a load of drink in stock constantly, just on the off chance that you would be caught without a drink in your hand at 10.05 sounds a bit obsessive compulsive to me. And besides, if an alcoholic were to find himself in that position, he would just go to a pub, without giving it a second thought.

It does however hurt casual drinkers and people who work. Like people who get home from work later than normal and say to themselves "Hmm, I fancy a small sip of Pinot Grigio while I watch Vincent Brown. Oh wait, I cant because it is illegal because it is after 10pm".

I agree with a lot of what you say, as I said already the idea is flawed. We could argue for and against it for hours as blanket bans are always controversial. The vast majority of people pose no threat to society, but those lecherous idiots who cause all of the anti social behaviour tend to be the fools to not plan ahead and have their "me need more drink" plans scuppered by their lack of access.
    It seems excessive and its a minor hindrance to me from time to time, but as long as Ireland has one of the worst drinking cultures and has such a burden on the health service and causes so much related violence, we'll always have strict controls over sale and supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

but as long as Ireland has one of the worst drinking cultures and has such a burden on the health service and causes so much related violence, we'll always have strict controls over sale and supply.

So punish those who abuse the system, not those who are behaving responsibly. Violent while drunk -- put them in a curfew where they aren't allowed out at night for a year. Violent in a hospital - turf them out and let them die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

I agree with a lot of what you say, as I said already the idea is flawed. We could argue for and against it for hours as blanket bans are always controversial. The vast majority of people pose no threat to society, but those lecherous idiots who cause all of the anti social behaviour tend to be the fools to not plan ahead and have their "me need more drink" plans scuppered by their lack of access.
    It seems excessive and its a minor hindrance to me from time to time, but as long as Ireland has one of the worst drinking cultures and has such a burden on the health service and causes so much related violence, we'll always have strict controls over sale and supply.

You could argue for and against it for hours because blanket bans like this are ridiculous and oppressive to the large number of people who drink responsibly.

I'm an adult and it's my decision to drink or not, just as it is to smoke or not. If the Government really was doing this for my benefit, what are they actually achieving? People who occasionally drink don't often have a stash in their house for emergencies; they buy alcohol when they require it.

You admit that it's excessive but are willing to accept it anyway, because some of us don't know what's best for us but the Government do. I think this is a scary way to think. We will only tackle the problems the country has with drinking once we recognise that adults should be free to make their own decisions and should not be treated like children. However, when they are children, they should be shown that alcohol is not evil but when used sensibly can be enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

man thats bullsh*t , underage lads all get their drink at 8-9 and are drunk by 10-11 anyway, opening the offos later wont do anything to underage drinking

The offlicenses closing at 10 has more to do with the revenue of pubs than public order. My two cents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

the way alcohol is regulated in this country is the main contributing factor to anti social behaviour involving alcohol.
    Look at the countries with the least problems with alcohol caused anti-social behaviour in europe, there is almost no regulations.

Spain, france, italy etc. You can but a beer at a cafe or kiosk at 6am on your way to work. Bar decide their own opening hours, night clubs close when they decide to...

Result.

no massive rush of people trying to get cabs at the one time at the end of nights out...

People don't try puck as much drink into themselves as quick as they can to try and beat the clock.

People don't buy 12. Cans of beer at 6pm just in case they are out by 10.

Seaneh wrote: »
    the way alcohol is regulated in this country is the main contributing factor to anti social behaviour involving alcohol.
    Look at the countries with the least problems with alcohol caused anti-social behaviour in europe, there is almost no regulations.

Spain, france, italy etc. You can but a beer at a cafe or kiosk at 6am on your way to work. Bar decide their own opening hours, night clubs close when they decide to...

Result.

no massive rush of people trying to get cabs at the one time at the end of nights out...

People don't try puck as much drink into themselves as quick as they can to try and beat the clock.

People don't buy 12. Cans of beer at 6pm just in case they are out by 10.

I think its more to do with our drink culture, which is much the same as england, i recall some police officer in england saying the introduction of 24 hour licensing didn't reduce anti-social behavior.

irish people are not able to make mature decisions where alcohol is concerned, that is why we need regulation. I would close offies at 8 pm and all day on Sunday