Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stolen citreon xantia activa

• 05-03-2011 7:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭

i had my activa stolen this week. it was there monday, and gone today.

i'm told that it was lifted on thursday (thanks richiet) around 2:30pm by a blue van with flasy lights and a trailer.

the car was in the glen in ballyboden just off the ballyboden roundabout with taylor's cresent.

the reg id R531 KHR it was a red xantia (hatchback) activa.

they'd be a very rare car with only 6 in ireland.

any sighting, please let me know ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

is it english reg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Sorry to hear that. Lovely cars and uber rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Was it bright red or maroon metallic??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

yeah it was on english plates, was not been driven - was meant to get it sorted this summer.

it was the dante red colour which is an activa only colour .... kinda darker than the normal bright red xantia colour, but not maroon.

like the pic below but not as shiny.

Xantia_7-L.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭richiet

I know the car alright, always noticed it parked up there.

I was in the Glen around 10pm or so on Thursday and I'm sure it wasn't there then! Unless you had moved it from where it had always been parked, on the left as you drive in.

richiet wrote: »
    I know the car alright, always noticed it parked up there.

I was in the Glen around 10pm or so on Thursday and I'm sure it wasn't there then! Unless you had moved it from where it had always been parked, on the left as you drive in.

No i didn't move it ... i guess the person confused thursday with friday.
    Spoke to the gardai and they reckon that the corpo lifted it, which is strange as they would have knocked in to the houses first to make sure it was abandoned ....

i just hope i get it back ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Sounds like the corporation alright.
    Presume you know the rules re VRT and registering UK cars on arrival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Sounds like the corporation alright.
    Presume you know the rules re VRT and registering UK cars on arrival

of course he does , like our govt and banks and dev know the rules too . go check your neighbor is not doing something illegal you might find he is and it will bring you unbridled joy !

yup, but car does not drive, so now way to get vrt on it, i called and was told to do it once it is driving.

the corpo is only meant to take away cars that are abandoned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

danbohan wrote: »
    of course he does , like our govt and banks and dev know the rules too . go check your neighbor is not doing something illegal you might find he is and it will bring you unbridled joy !
    I think you need to relax a bit. It was a simple enough question, not loaded.and not even directed at you.
    Really good of you to get offended on someone's behalf though. Throwing in the topical banks reference is a nice touch.

OP: There's a good chance the car seemed abandoned given the uk reg. If its been there for weeks and not moved then they may have been asked to remove it. How long has it been there?

Far as I know, vrt is payable even if its crashed or not running. I'd say if you get the car back you'll need to get some alternative storage sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think you need to relax a bit. It was a simple enough question, not loaded.and not even directed at you.
    Really good of you to get offended on someone's behalf though. Throwing in the topical banks reference is a nice touch.

OP: There's a good chance the car seemed abandoned given the uk reg. If its been there for weeks and not moved then they may have been asked to remove it. How long has it been there?

Far as I know, vrt is payable even if its crashed or not running. I'd say if you get the car back you'll need to get some alternative storage sorted.

Do they not put some warning sticker on the screen saying "please ring on such and such number bla bla bla" to avoid towing away not abandoned cars? I'm not saying that they are supposed to but that would be just normal. House management in estate where I live does that way. If owner doesn't contact them within 14 days car will be lifted.

pcardin wrote: »
    Do they not put some warning sticker on the screen saying "please ring on such and such number bla bla bla" to avoid towing away not abandoned cars? I'm not saying that they are supposed to but that would be just normal. House management in estate where I live does that way. If owner doesn't contact them within 14 days car will be lifted.

that's what i thought ... so i'm guessing it was nicked ... either for scrap or for parts.

not going to go into the whole vrt thingy atm, not relevant ... i'll definitely find a better place to store it if i get it back, i thought that it was a good neighbour hood, and i was going to fix it this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

How long was the car sitting in this neighbourhood by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

davoxx wrote: »
    that's what i thought ... so i'm guessing it was nicked ... either for scrap or for parts.

not going to go into the whole vrt thingy atm, not relevant ... i'll definitely find a better place to store it if i get it back, i thought that it was a good neighbour hood, and i was going to fix it this summer.

I know a chap in Ballinteer (not to far away from you) that had a northern reg car that was also not running sitting outside his house for a number of weeks. Eventually got lifted also.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I know a chap in Ballinteer (not to far away from you) that had a northern reg car that was also not running sitting outside his house for a number of weeks. Eventually got lifted also.

By the corpo? did he get it back? did they ask him anything?

I found out what i did wrong .. i needed to report the car's reg to the garda and say where it was and that it was a non runner ... that is apparently how you're meant to do it.

By the corpo? did he get it back? did they ask him anything?

I found out what i did wrong .. i needed to report the car's reg to the garda and say where it was and that it was a non runner ... that is apparently how you're meant to do it.

Haven't seen him in a while so don't know to be honest.

Can't see too many bothered stealing a non running Xantia, rare or not. Try calling them and if you've no joy Rathfatnham Garda station.

Haven't seen him in a while so don't know to be honest.

Can't see too many bothered stealing a non running Xantia, rare or not. Try calling them and if you've no joy Rathfatnham Garda station.

apparently there has been an increase of people stealing 'abandoned' looking cars for parts and the scrap value. i guess it's the recession ....

i have to wait till monday for the corpo :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

Can't see too many bothered stealing a non running Xantia, rare or not.
    There's an underclass of scum doing the rounds at the mo who would nick the flame of your lighter. Among other things, they have been lifting cars which have broken down or been stopped on the motorway in the same fashion which the OP's car was taken.

apparently there has been an increase of people stealing 'abandoned' looking cars for parts and the scrap value. i guess it's the recession
    shamwari wrote: »
    There's an underclass of scum doing the rounds at the mo who would nick the flame of your lighter. Among other things, they have been lifting cars which have broken down or been stopped on the motorway in the same fashion which the OP's car was taken.

Dirty cnuts will take anything! :mad:

I saw a 406 Coupe on blocks in an underground apartment complex recently. Between that and breaking into cars for radios we're back to the 80's - bloody recession! :(

thougth i'd update the thread.

the South Dublin County Council don't lift cars that bear any plates. and that they did not lift any xantias last week.

the customs said they don't lift cars without a warrant, and they did not lift it.

the gardai said they did not lift it.

I'm guessing it was stolen.

I was getting hassle from the neighbour of my friend about the car, and they would have known that he was away on holidays when it got lifted.

it's all a bit cowinkydinky....

does anyone know where these guys are located?

http://www.recovery24.ie/vehicle-disposal.html

i think they took it

http://www.recovery24.ie/contact.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Not to be a spa about it, but if you dont have tax or insurance the car shouldnt even be on a public road.

Sorry to hear it, sounds like there are some super retards out there, although there is nothing worse than a strange car sitting outside you house for weeks could be anything going on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Their contact page says
    Recovery24.ie is a part of W.S Car Sales
    4 Church Road
    Mulhudart Village
    Dublin 15
    Tel: 085 - 1026629
    Mob: 085 - 7743260
    E-mail: info@recovery24.ie

Hope you can get it back.

stevenmu wrote: »
    Their contact page says

cheers - dunno how i missed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

+ 1.

I bought a non-runner for parts that I left in a yard and it was lifted too by a fella to scrap. Luckly I found it was taken a few hours after it was so drove around the local countryside and found it parked at the side of someones house. I fairly gave it to the person who answered the door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

More than likely a neighbour got sick of looking at the car there sitting up, removed the plates and rang the corpo. it has been lifted.

Dont park untaxed cars on the road for any long length of time. Its a nuisance and invites anti social behaviour.

Sorry for your loss but tbf you should have known better.

You wouldnt get away with this in the UK. they do the same there and crush them. Its par of the course to keep the streets clean and available to daily road users. Thats why I pay my car tax. If its not taxed Its parked off street and out of sight.

I already asked the OP how long the car had been sitting there but he didn't answer me so i presume quite a long time.

Im sure its annoying having your car taken like that but in all fairness i wouldn't like a car parked (essentially abandoned) in front of my home for weeks on end. Cars inevitably begin to look grotty & probably attract the attention of the local scummer population if there not moved from the same spot so i can understand someone taking the initiative to have it removed.

A week or two is acceptable. Several weeks, a few months is not.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

cheers - dunno how i missed that.
    Easy enough when you're panicked over a missing car I'd imagine :)

I already asked the OP how long the car had been sitting there but he didn't answer me so i presume quite a long time.

Im sure its annoying having your car taken like that but in all fairness i wouldn't like a car parked (essentially abandoned) in front of my home for weeks on end. Cars inevitably begin to look grotty & probably attract the attention of the local scummer population if there not moved from the same spot so i can understand someone taking the initiative to have it removed.

A week or two is acceptable. Several weeks, a few months is not.

it was there for 6mnths.

it's not only annoying, it's illegal to steal. this thread is not about why it was taken ..it's about getting it back.

listermint wrote: »
    More than likely a neighbour got sick of looking at the car there sitting up, removed the plates and rang the corpo. it has been lifted.

Dont park untaxed cars on the road for any long length of time. Its a nuisance and invites anti social behaviour.

Sorry for your loss but tbf you should have known better.

You wouldnt get away with this in the UK. they do the same there and crush them. Its par of the course to keep the streets clean and available to daily road users. Thats why I pay my car tax. If its not taxed Its parked off street and out of sight.

checked the corpo .. they did not lift it, so the car was stolen.

this would not happen in the uk as there is not stupid vrt.
    this should not happen in ireland either.

the car was checked on daily, so no worries about scumbags, and tbf scumbags are the problem not cars.

kona wrote: »
    Not to be a spa about it, but if you dont have tax or insurance the car shouldnt even be on a public road.

Sorry to hear it, sounds like there are some super retards out there, although there is nothing worse than a strange car sitting outside you house for weeks could be anything going on.

it's not strange when you know who owns it and it doesn't matter if it has tax or not, to be blunt, you don't own the roads outside your house do you?
    then people should get over it ... if it was causing a blockage grand, but it wasn't.

if you think i was in the wrong, don't bother leaving a comment .. i'm looking for my car back, not for people to say crap about how they think they have the right to steal/damage other people property on the public road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

You should check the vehicle pound or corpo yard personally to see was it lifted in case it was missed. In fairness I couldnt see a thief intrested in a shed like that.

Their contact page says

i think the guy misunderstood me ... he said he doesn't have the car there and said he did not pick it up ... although he said the first time that he did.
    so i'm not sure what to make of that?

freighter wrote: »
    You should check the vehicle pound or corpo yard personally to see was it lifted in case it was missed. In fairness I couldnt see a thief intrested in a shed like that.

the corpo don't have their own pound anymore - they pay a company to collect it and dispose of it- is what the woman on the phone said.

if you know where these places are, please pm and i'll definitely have a look!!!

Davoxx if the car was stolen then im genuinely annoyed for you but six months is a hell of a long time to leave a car lying on a street.

If the corpo or some removal company hasn't taken it then some scumbag(s) have obviously had their eye on it & thought it would be an easy take. Thus the problem with leaving a car sitting for six months without moving it.

Why didn't you leave it nearer to where you live so you could keep an eye on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

the corpo don't have their own pound anymore - they pay a company to collect it and dispose of it- is what the woman on the phone said.

if you know where these places are, please pm and i'll definitely have a look!!!

I dont know the locations in your area OP but you should find out from the cops. Making phone calls is a waste of time because people will fob you off.

Davoxx if the car was stolen then im genuinely annoyed for you but six months is a hell of a long time to leave a car lying on a street.

If the corpo or some removal company hasn't taken it then some scumbag(s) have obviously had their eye on it & thought it would be an easy take. Thus the problem with leaving a car sitting for six months without moving it.

Why didn't you leave it nearer to where you live so you could keep an eye on it?

coz the scumbags here jump on the roofs of my cars. and if they see a car not being driven, they slash the tyres when it's in my garden.

so i left it somewhere 'nicer 'until i could get it fixed, vrt'd and on the road. i needed a part that i only got last sat, as they are rare cars.

had i got the part the week before the car would have been vrt'd by now and on the road.

I was in a similar position to the op back a few years ago. In my case though the car was parked in a communal (but private property) parking. The owner of the property had no issues with the car being parked there but it seemed that other users did.
    I went scouring every breakers yard in the locality but to no avail.

it's not strange when you know who owns it and it doesn't matter if it has tax or not, to be blunt, you don't own the roads outside your house do you?
    then people should get over it ... if it was causing a blockage grand, but it wasn't.

if you think i was in the wrong, don't bother leaving a comment .. i'm looking for my car back, not for people to say crap about how they think they have the right to steal/damage other people property on the public road.

How do you know anybody stole or damaged your car? Your attitude sucks, its the reason your car is missing most likely.

Why should I have to pay tax and you dont? Why did I have to pay VRT as soon as I got my car? , why did I have to leave it in my garden causeing a blockage when I could have left it outside somebody elses house? :rolleyes:

You took a chance, played a game and lost.

People spend extra money to live in "nice" areas so they dont have to deal with **** like this. Why should they have to pay a mortagage on a house in a " nice"narea and deal with your ****e outside their house for 6 months. Not their problem you like in a area populated by scumbags, if you cant leave the car in your driveway, where did you plan to leave it when it was running?

Grow up.

How do you know anybody stole or damaged your car? Your attitude sucks, its the reason your car is missing most likely.

Why should I have to pay tax and you dont? Why did I have to pay VRT as soon as I got my car? , why did I have to leave it in my garden causeing a blockage when I could have left it outside somebody elses house? :rolleyes:

People spend extra money to live in "nice" areas so they dont have to deal with **** like this. Why should they have to pay a mortagage on a house in a " nice"narea and deal with your ****e outside their house for 6 months. Not their problem you like in a area populated by scumbags, if you cant leave the car in your driveway, where did you plan to leave it when it was running?

Grow up.

Careful you don't injure yourself falling from your high horse.
    The op posted here in a bid to locate his car..
    Then you decide you want to provoke a row??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Grow up.

Your attitude also sucks. You should also grow up.

Tone it down several notches please!

David09 wrote: »
    Careful you don't injure yourself falling from your high horse.
    The op posted here in a bid to locate his car..
    Then you decide you want to provoke a row??

maybe the op should not injure himself climbing up to the level expected by society?

The OP lost his car because he thought he could get away with being ignorant and selfish, good luck to him, he got what he deserved, do you think he is free to leave a unregistered, untaxed car wherever he likes as long as he likes?

To leave a car on the public highway it has to be taxed, this car hasnt seen any tax in any form from the Irish state. I and many others here have paid the extortionate VRT, pay our tax on time every few months or yearly, what gves him a exemption from this?

Its not nice seeing it happen, but to be honest the are too many people who think they can do what the **** they want and to hell with the rest of us, why should we deal with your crap, then ask for help? This kind of ****e attitude of the people that bled the country dry. I hate people like this.

High horse? Get the boat.

yes , if the OP had done what he should have, the chances are his car would be still with him, he lost it due to his incompetance.

Anyways ingore list for you.

maybe the op should not injure himself climbing up to the level expected by society?

The OP lost his car because he thought he could get away with being ignorant and selfish, good luck to him, he got what he deserved, do you think he is free to leave a unregistered, untaxed car wherever he likes as long as he likes?

To leave a car on the public highway it has to be taxed, this car hasnt seen any tax in any form from the Irish state. I and many others here have paid the extortionate VRT, pay our tax on time every few months or yearly, what gves him a exemption from this?

Its not nice seeing it happen, but to be honest the are too many people who think they can do what the **** they want and to hell with the rest of us, why should we deal with your crap, then ask for help? This kind of ****e attitude of the people that bled the country dry. I hate people like this.

High horse? Get the boat.

yes , if the OP had done what he should have, the chances are his car would be still with him, he lost it due to his incompetance.

Anyways ingore list for you.

This is NOT toning it down. Infracted for breaching the peace/ignoring Mod request.

-Chris- wrote: »

This is NOT toning it down. Infracted for breaching the peace/ignoring Mod request.

Were you "moderating" the Barca game too?

I don't understand the reference, but I do understand that you're questioning moderation on thread.

Banned for 3 days for questioning moderation on-thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

About time!

Just found this threas as I'm a big Activa fan and, Kona, may you enjoy your 3 days' suspension. Very fitting seeing as we're discussing the absence of a car that is the King of suspensions. This is no ordinary Xantia, its a redblooded sports saloon that when tuned would frighten the best drivers out there. I've owned three Xantias, 2 diesels and a 2.0 16v. Drove a Xantia Activa, wanted to buy it but fuel costs said no :(

OP, I will keep my eyes peeled online for your car. There were only 10,000 produced, they're rarer than M5 BMWs and even rarer in Ireland.

Clearly, you've learned a lesson the hard way but, strangely, I don't think that's why you posted your plea here? Kuna should be ashamed of themselves for 1. Trying to be judge, jury and executioner and 2. Steering this thread off topic. Good moderation, too much of that Hitleresque moralising on Boards and AAM. Kuna may be legally, morally and civicly correct but that sh1te has no bearing on this specific request.

Xantia Activas are a joy to behold. Words don't describe the grip, nor the subtle power of the low pressure 8 valve turbo. Same engine as a Peugeot 406 Turbo. Grunty...

An Ri rua wrote: »
    ...Kona, may you enjoy your 3 days' suspension. Very fitting seeing as we're discussing the absence of a car that is the King of suspensions...

...Kuna should be ashamed of themselves for 1. Trying to be judge, jury and executioner and 2. Steering this thread off topic...

...Good moderation, too much of that Hitleresque moralising on Boards and AAM...

...Kuna may be legally, morally and civicly correct but that sh1te has no bearing on this specific request.

I find it ironic that you feel comfortable accusing Kona of moralising. I also think it's hardly fair to go on this tirade when Kona is banned and therefore cannot defend themselves.

Infracted for back seat moderation. Please read the Charter before posting again.

i've made a thread for people to rant in ... hopefully that will help them feel better about themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Any chance of posting a pic of the car ?

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Good luck getting the car back.

Have you gone to the Gardai and officially reported it stolen? If you haven't then do, giving the reg number as well as the chassis number. At least that way you may have some chance of it being found.

If you had it insured (which I hope you had for your sake), then you will probably need to have it reported as stolen in order to make a claim.

Also get it in writing from the Gardai, Corpo and Customs that they didn't lift it; they would be the only people with authority to lift it, therefore if they didn't take it then it's definitely theft. If you find who did the lifting they can then be prosecuted (provided it can be proven).

It might just stop it happening to somebody else.