Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying cinema behaviour

• 05-03-2011 12:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭

Just back from the cinema and I won't be going on a Friday night again.
    Place was wedged not too big a deal but I ended up beside a fella who had a huge bag if popcorn and chose each piece individually then crunched and smacked so loudly I had to move the opposite side of the Missus.
    Thought I had escaped the annoyance when the lady next to me began slating the movie with her husband,talking loudly and her phone rang 3 times in the middle of the flick.
    She then sends countless txt msgs and the light from the phone was a pain in the arse.
    I have vowed never to go on s busy night again as I like the movies half full and nit packed with a lot if idiots.
    Rant over anyone else care to share annoying cinema behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

People hate when i masturbate :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Blast them with Pepsi-infused piss..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

Neil is that you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Put a hole in the bottom of your popcorn bucket and discreetly **** away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

beagle001 wrote: »
    Just back from the cinema and I won't be going on a Friday night again.
    Place was wedged not too big a deal but I ended up beside a fella who had a huge bag if popcorn and chose each piece individually then crunched and smacked so loudly I had to move the opposite side of the Missus.
    Thought I had escaped the annoyance when the lady next to me began slating the movie with her husband,talking loudly and her phone rang 3 times in the middle of the flick.
    She then sends countless txt msgs and the light from the phone was a pain in the arse.
    I have vowed never to go on s busy night again as I like the movies half full and nit packed with a lot if idiots.
    Rant over anyone else care to share annoying cinema behaviour.

I'm getting to that age where I'd delight in telling yer one on the phone to shut up or get out. Tossers. Cinema's expensive enough these days without listening to irritating ring tones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Go early or go late and not on a weekend if you want a truely enjoyable cinema experience - Also i find a few cans makes the occasion extra special!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Arseholes sticking their feet into the back of my chair.
    Its backrow or nothing for me now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

I hate it when people mess with the projector. Usually its the same group yelling and roaring laughing before anything funnys on the screen. While I don't see the harm in a bit of chat before the film starts, I've on occassion had to suggest they shut their mouths if the yelping went on too long (as in once the films started that is). Funnily enough I've always been apolgised to sincerely, just lucky I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

I had to move the opposite side of the Missus.

That's not very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Arseholes sticking there feet into the back of my chair.
    Its backrow or nothing for me now....

Or kicking. I get a twitch just thinking of it. Also those little fuckers who throw popcorn. Get out, ye dragged up little ruffians!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If the phone rings and they answer it they get a very special AnonoBoy loud voice, "Do you mind turning that off and not being ignorant to every other person in here who paid to see this film and actually wants to watch it?"

If it gets answered again they get.

"TURN YOUR ****ING PHONE OFF YOU PRICK."

I've only done that once but by f*ck it worked.

When I went to see Avatar with some friends, an annoying little scumbag at the back kept flicking popcorn at us, so my friend (who has zero patience), went back, grabbed the 3D glasses of his face and smashed them just before the film started.
    Good times. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

When I went to see Avatar with some friends, an annoying little scumbag at the back kept flicking popcorn at us, so my friend (who has zero patience), went back, grabbed the 3D glasses of his face and smashed them just before the film started.
    Should have told them it was now 4D! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 The Skibereen Eagle

Kermode Cinema Code of Conduct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

And he's the scumbag??????

:P

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    And he's the scumbag??????

:P

Oh he definitely deserved it!

...maybe:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Youre probably going to the wrong cinemas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Go early or go late and not on a weekend if you want a truely enjoyable cinema experience - Also i find a few cans makes the occasion extra special!

I used to do this, but I find bad tiing a problem. 30 minutes before the end of the movie and I'm dying for a ****ing piss.

And I refuse to go in the can in case someone thinks I'm masturbating...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

I was at the cinema last week and the girl across the aisle had her ipad out for the first 10 minutes of the movie
    why would you bother?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm so glad I stopped listening to his podcast of blathering shíte. Thanks for posting just to remind me why I stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I was at the cinema last week and the girl across the aisle had her ipad out for the first 10 minutes of the movie
    why would you bother?:mad:

Well isn't it obvious?

- Blah Blah has checked in at Dundrum Cinema.

Thats a very weird name. Poor girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

Well isn't it obvious?

is that a facebook thing? i'm not on it thank the lord :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The last time I was at the cinema was to see "Slumdog Millionaire".

The women behind me kept answering the "Who Wants to be a Millionaire?" questions as they were being asked.

To make it more annoying, they got all the answers wrong. One of them had to keep explaining to her mate who was who & what was going on as she couldn't follow the "extraordinarily complex" story line.

Meanwhile, in between their conversations, they spent the rest of the time "shushing" two lads who were sitting in front of us & talking very quietly (and I mean, barely audible) between themselves.

I haven't been since. And why would I, when I can download films before they are even released here in the cinema and smoke & drink a nice chilled wine in comfort?

If I didn't have the missus beside me, drinking half the bottle, things would be just perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Me & a mate went in with a couple of birds.. think it was armageddon or some crap and drank a bottle of bacardi.. best cinema experience ever.. dont think the people around us were too happy tho :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

blaze1 wrote: »
    Me & a mate went in with a couple of birds.. think it was armageddon or some crap and drank a bottle of bacardi.. best cinema experience ever.. dont think the people around us were too happy tho :pac:

I doubt it.

It's a shit film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

f*cking hate cinemas man, all these obedient dícks watching this overly large in your face screen, its like what you just left the house to escape x100, defeats the purpose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 The Skibereen Eagle

bonerm wrote: »
    I'm so glad I stopped listening to his podcast of blathering shíte. Thanks for posting just to remind me why I stopped.

eh, ok, given the cinematic context, perhaps you're projecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Popcorn. Smells ****ing horrible. Ruins every trip to the cinema.

Actually, why the hell does going to the cinema somehow mean "I must also eat food"? If you want to eat, go to a restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Popcorn. Smells ****ing horrible. Ruins every trip to the cinema.

Actually, why the hell does going to the cinema somehow mean "I must also eat food"? If you want to eat, go to a restaurant.

you'd get a cheaper meal in a restaurant than you would in the cinema. 10er for popcorn and coke.

What wrecks my head is when people think its ok to have their dirty smelly feet up beside your face just because there is no-one in the seat beside you
    whats worse is some people do it with their shoes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

• No food.
    • Black coffee available, but that's it.
    • Several staff in screen room wearing night vision goggles ready to taze any idiots that start yapping.

...or maybe poison-tipped blowdart.

"Yaketyak"
    *pfft*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 LupinFace

When I went to see Paranormal Activity 2, people would not stop laughing... Some parts were ridiculous, and people laugh after shocks and the like, but I mean anything that happened was 'absolutely hilarious'. I wanted to punch them all in the throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I never had any real problems with people at the cinema yet, people can be annoying with talking and the fcuking phone calls but people are idiot's in general :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

People who insist in sitting in the seats beside/behind/directly in front of you when 99% of the seats in the place are empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Nothing worse than going to a packed cinema. I tend to pick the seats right up at the front - always had it in my head that they were terrible seats but they're kinda perfect for dealing with all the situations mentioned above.

Don't know what I'd do if I had to sit beside Kermode during a film :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

pow wow wrote: »
    People who insist in sitting in the seats beside/behind/directly in front of you when 99% of the seats in the place are empty.

THIS!!! I HATE that!

Also, went to see the Kings Speech & it was full of very elderly people who would not shut up talking & talking very loudly throughout. Ruined the film for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

You don't have to deal with annoying people if you download movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

whiteonion wrote: »
    You don't have to deal with annoying people if you download movies.
    I know. Havent been to a cinema or bought a CD in years. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

temply wrote: »
    THIS!!! I HATE that!
    Also, went to see the Kings Speech & it was full of very elderly people who would not shut up talking & talking very loudly throughout. Ruined the film for me.
    The same happened to me with The King's Speech. An older couple sat right behind me and the woman proceeded to tell the man everything that was going to happen. A few 'looks of death' shut them up. I'm much braver doing that to middle aged middle class people. I'd never do it to a scanger for fear of being blasted with p!ss or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

at nerd gatherings for films like the last starfighter, when "alpha nerds" shout lame unfunny jokes at the screen trying to impress their other nerd friends and engaging in public acts of theatricality which are neither cool nor humorous, while preventing other nerds with a modicrum of cop on from watching the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Mastodon manage to explain how they will deal with some of the more commons annoyances in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Never really noticed how much of a pillock Kermode is before.

Mark Kermode, cinema dictator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I only go to the cinema during the day now, i get €4 tickets with O2 and just go during the afternoon to quiet shows, I saw True Grit with 4 other people in the audience, no noise, no phones, no talking, no texting, was heaven.

the only time I'll go on a weekend is to something like a big comedy movie like Jackass or The Hangover that works better with an audience to laugh along with, aside from that, go solo during quiet times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

Got hit with a sausage thrown from the back once.. I stood up and threw it back hittin the ****er in his chest, then i thought... Wtf you cant even buy sausages in the cinema?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

MarkD09 wrote: »
    Got hit with a sausage thrown from the back once.. I stood up and threw it back hittin the ****er in his chest, then i thought... Wtf you cant even buy sausages in the cinema?

Is wasn't a sausage, that dude had leprosy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

That depends on where you sit. I you sit in the middle, people will sit in the middle behind you or in front of you. Personally, I sit as far back, in the middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yeah, no one like a wanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's your magnetic personality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

I was in a cinema in London recently and a guy in the row ahead of us kept texting and answering calls on an Android phone with the brightest display known to man. The lady behind him asked him to stop about 4 times. He told her to f### off. He continued. She took the lid off her very large coke and poured it over his phone and just said "oops".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

the_syco wrote: »
    That depends on where you sit. I you sit in the middle, people will sit in the middle behind you or in front of you. Personally, I sit as far back, in the middle.

Sitting next to me in an empty screen is usually what sends me over the edge, magnetic personality or not!