Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What was your parents' direst threat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

redz11 wrote: »
    The wooden spoon. Always that dreaded wooden spoon.

And it wasn't just a threat either!

:/

Anyone ever get the slipper? Sounds funny but that thing hurts!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The black shoe :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Millicent wrote: »
    Anyone ever get the slipper? Sounds funny but that thing hurts!

Probably no where near as bad as it sounds lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Rothmans wrote: »
    Probably no where near as bad as it sounds lol

Go grab a slipper (the ones your Dad would have had) bend the toe back and slap it against the cheek of your arse. Stinger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

yep the spoon and the slipper were bad enough but the fecking belt! the sting off that buckle was something to remember! :mad:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

My Father would threaten me with 'the plant' when i was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

Or when your Da would make you go out to cut a switch off the briar bush and he'd bate you with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

and...."Shut up the fúckin' pair of ye or i'll make ye walk from fúckin' here"

Fúck, Fúck, Fúck, Fúck etc etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭cucbuc

"Where's me wooden spoon?!" and "I'll be dug outta ya" ..followed when slightly calmer by "ye'll have me in the mental (hospital) between the whole lot of ye"

Our favourite one to laugh now about as siblings is "If I have to come UP them F***ing STAIRS to ye..." (never finished)

happy times:D Never did us any harm:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

The good old wooden spoon dance with mam - her left hand trying to keep hold of us while blows rained from the spoon in her right, while we did our best to keep moving in a circle around her. We always bring it up with her at a family dinner after she's had a couple of glasses of wine and have a good laugh about it.

Her worst was "I'll get the boogie man to come and take you away" - huh, who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

If we misbehaved in the supermarket, she'd tell us the people with the badges on (i.e; any uniformed staff ) would take us into the bold children's room at the back of the shop where the cold freezer stuff was kept until she'd finished shopping.

Kept us quiet enough.

Does anyone ever think that parent's 10/15/20 years ago were always sliiiiiiiightly borderline abusive?

I mean, we all laugh about it now but going to the shop alone when I was 9 with a note from my mom saying it's ok to sell cigarettes to a 9 year old.... Or running away from her and laughing when she's chasing you with a spatula/wooden spoon.

I mean, her favourite line was:

Me: "MAAAAAAAAAAAAMMM, I fell."
    Mam: "Is it bleeding?"
    Me: "No"
    Mam: "Go back outside and play of you won't get a loop the loop after dinner."

I can't imagine any modern day Mams treating their little Xaviers and Lillibeths like this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

LambsEye wrote: »
    . Or running away from her and laughing when she's chasing you with a spatula/wooden spoon.

LAUGHIN?!
    Jase if we laughed when we were in trouble then that was it..game fcukin over.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Why do parents do this? Outsourcing their discipline. I used to waitress and I'd get Mams saying "Stop now or the lady will throw you out." I won't like. I won't do anything with your child.

haha but it works...Nothing beats the threat of "THE MAN" or "LADY"

But in my house.. my step dad was taking of his glasses or threatening too.......

Muppet

The best is when Mam would give up and say: "Fine, do what you want, you're going to do it any way."

You'd broken her spirit then y'see and instead of feeling guilty, like she wanted you to, you could just eat all the taytos and biscuits.

You'd pay for it though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

''don't push me, i'll kill you all..''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Giselle wrote: »
    I was never threatened with a wooden spoon or with a slap. My parents were into psychological warfare and would threaten me with their disappointment.

Like ''If you don't behave yourself while the visitors are here, I'll be very disappointed'' orby the time I' ''If you don't have x and y done m home, I'll be very disappointed''. It worked. I don't know why, but the thought of my parents being disappointed in me was devastating.

That would be an integral part of child rearing.

/ I believe I had a hat with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

cucbuc wrote: »
    "Where's me wooden spoon?!" and "I'll be dug outta ya" ..followed when slightly calmer by "ye'll have me in the mental (hospital) between the whole lot of ye"

HA! I forgot about this. Mum used to always say near enough the same thing: "Ye'll drive me to the mental one of these days, then ye'll be sorry!!" :pac:

Fair enough if parents don't wanna treat their kids the way they were....but bloody hell still put some form of discipline on yer wee brats, naughty corner or whatever shite! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,993 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

"if I have to come as far as you,you'll be heard where you'll never be seen"

That was a favorite of my granny.

Always brought images to mind of screams echoing across arid desert like plains. She never hit me or anyone else though so it wasn't as terrifying as it might've been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Ricardo G wrote: »
    My father would just stop the car and beat the crap out of us.... much more effective:D

My dad would warn us that as soon as we stopped the car, he'd give us a clatter. I soon cottoned on; I'd take off my sweater, wrap it around my waist and when he went for the backs of my legs, the sweater would absorb the blow. I'd pretend to be hurt, he'd think the point was made and we all went off happy.

My friend's dad was even harsher. He'd make the kids go outside and grab nettles. Long, lingering ouchies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

"If you cripple your sister it's you who'll have to look after her the rest of your life"

That and the pallet knife, sort of a metal spatula shaped thing that people use to ice birthday cakes and the like. 'Fond' memories of racing up the stairs trying to get away from it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

"I'll get the wooden spoon after ye".

So one day, to negate this threat, I hid said spoon. Turns out the only similar utensil in the drawer was the rolling pin.

Worst f*cking idea I ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I'll burst ya!

Ha ha that was my dad's favourite line. However it was pronounced 'bursht ya' :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Lockstep wrote: »

My friend's dad was even harsher. He'd make the kids go outside and grab nettles. Long, lingering ouchies.

I cringed reading that, that's sadistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

"I'll send ya to the christian brothers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    "I'll send ya to the christian brothers"

Might do YOU no harm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

My mom would ALWAYS threaten us with the wooden spoon. Until I hid it, I knew it was gone, she knew it was gone but neither one could stand down. So she'd pretend to rattle the drawer, getting the spoon and I'd pretend to be scared.

She started using the spatula then.

Also: "I'll brain you"

Also: (When my Mam wanted to emotionally scar us) "I'll leave now and I'll go up the mountain at Ballyhooly and you won't see me again."

My mother used threaten us she'd take herself off to the river.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭loopyloulilly

"I'll get the sally rod"

Never quite knew what it was but I presumed it was a stick of some sort!

Ha the sally rod. Type of tree that grew in our neighbourhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"I'll send you to the Good Shepherds!" Anyone from Cork will understand... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,744 ✭✭✭✭kylith

If you keep that up im sending you to the good shepherds...(people from Waterford will know what im talking about):)
    Jaysus, I'd not thought of that for years. The Mammy used to threaten us with that the whole time. That and the wooden spoon. We never hid the spoon though, she'd have murdered us then. I used to be sent to fetch the wooden spoon too, it's horrible; supplying the instrument of your destruction.

"I don't care who started it, I'll finish it!"

"I'll swear to God, I'll swing for you!"

To this day she still says "I didn't beat you half hard enough."