Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**SBR Challenge Standings Update**

• 01-03-2011 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

As you can see the challenge has a new leader, Nomadic well done! In fact he snatched it from the pair of cunavalos and interested at the last minute.

There is one small rule change that has reflected this and perhaps opened up the challenge a bit more. Basically the challenge is based on hitting green and gold targets. Last year we had a situation were somone who hit no targets finished higher than someone who hit a green mark in one of the 3. So to make the challenge more about the banchmarks than the accumulation of mega miles, I have introduced one change.

The standings are first based on targets, then points. So if as below we have a 3 way tie on targets, then nomadic takes the lead by virtue of having a lower points tally than the other 2 lads. So 2 greens will give you the lead in this situation regardless of points. A Gold trumps that.

Let me know your thoughts of course. I think this does make it a bit more interesting though as hitting a target shoots or notches you up the standings which warrants some satisfaction :D

On another note the challenge is really active this year which is great. Best of luck to everyone with upcoming Marathons, Duathlons and Bike races in March :)

How to determine the Challenge standings 11 votes

Keep it the old way, points tally only
    0% 0 votes
    Based on targets first, then points tally
    54% 6 votes
    Neither, I've a better idea (then post it)
    45% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Good work again Mike. I think though we should keep to the old format of just summing the positions without regard to green/gold. Not to take away from the 3 up there but someone could go green/gold in 2 out of 3 and not even partake in the third discipline and finish higher than someone with a general all round good record which i think is better considering its a Swim/Bike/Run combined challenge? It doesnt matter to me though so whatever the majority decide. Maybe have a few days discussion and then a poll to decide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Thanks Bambaata and thats a good point. I included the link to the final update from last years challenge to give it some perspective. Yep the top 2 would have remained the same but there would have been a very different picture from there with this new idea.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056134006

Good suggestion on a poll if there isn't a clear majority. I'll let the 3 lads have the spotlight this month regardless as those green targets hit are all too deserving at this stage :D

I'm cool either way also, just throwing it out there for thoughts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Great idea!:D

I think I'm with Bambatta on it though, the best all rounder should win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I kind of agree with both views rewarding the all rounder but also rewarding when a green & gold is hit. Perhaps something as simple (or difficult) as green hit = x points off your placing points and a higher rating to golds.

An example (sorry to use you Kennyb3) he achieved two greens but had no swimming last year and finished in 29th. If you applied something like 5 points for a green and 10 points for a gold he would have 10 points reduced of his placing points of 75 down to 65 moving him provisonally up to 26th ahead of Conor20 due to two greens.
    So whilst you are recognising the benchmarks being hit they are not totally skewing the table, again what you decide to reward for the benchmarks being hit is open for discussion.

The above probably makes no sense and could be difficult to maintain the spreadsheets so i am easy either way as it's a bit of fun and an additional motivational tool at the end of the day.

Fair play for running and updating this mcos.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I knew I should have updated yesterday! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

I think the traditional format rewards the all rounder - anyone hitting green/gold already, will have no worries as to their position come the end of the year:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

I like the current format, but there's something to be said for the alternative ranking. You could go death-or-glory to hit a gold target and shoot up the table!

Poll added - I'd appreciate if all the challenge participants could vote, thanks.

Jackyback cheers for the idea but can't get my head around it?

On the old format - Yes it suited the all rounder but as the year went on it became a 2 horse race as the distances separate out tehre was less moving up and down the table. With this format it is possible that someone with just one green to be higher than someone with one Gold or 2 greens.

On the current format - Yes the early discipline leaders get a chance to lead the whole thing and hitting gold rockets you up the standings. In this scenario the top 5 from the 1000mile thread could pop in and sit happily on top of this challenge for the next 6 months. Then the all rounders come into play hitting greens in the likes of swimming, and the one or 2 discilpline wonders drop.

I do have a 3rd option (that just came to me) to put out there that I will vote for on the poll.
    The challenge ranked in order as follows
    1. Number of targets hit
    2. Best combination of targets
    3. Points tally
    This would incorporate the current format but tailor it to the all rounder. The lead would change a lot but ultimately the person with 3 Golds and the lowest points tally will win the challenge! It also ensures that 2 greens will trump a solitary gold (hence negating the runaway discipline leader syndrome) and that someone with a green target will not finish lower than someone with no targets hit at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

Given that I am unlikely to ever challenge the front runners it is purely an academic debate as far as I am concerned :)

Of more relevance to the also rans like myself - One thing that struck me last year (correct me if I'm wrong) was that there were quite a few people who posted numbers in running without posting any swimming or biking. This has a detrimental effect on the likes of myself who would be posting lower than average numbers in each :D How about a rule that you must post in each discipline in order to be counted in the shake up and if not you get unceremoniously removed from the tables?!!

I knew my idea would be hard to decipher:rolleyes: I was more or less thinking that the benchmark hit gives you a certain amount of points which will affect the rankings rather than you automatically leapfrogging someone with no benchmarks but overall higher mileage across the 3 disciplines.

Poll added - I'd appreciate if all the challenge participants could vote, thanks.

Jackyback cheers for the idea but can't get my head around it?

On the old format - Yes it suited the all rounder but as the year went on it became a 2 horse race as the distances separate out tehre was less moving up and down the table. With this format it is possible that someone with just one green to be higher than someone with one Gold or 2 greens.

On the current format - Yes the early discipline leaders get a chance to lead the whole thing and hitting gold rockets you up the standings. In this scenario the top 5 from the 1000mile thread could pop in and sit happily on top of this challenge for the next 6 months. Then the all rounders come into play hitting greens in the likes of swimming, and the one or 2 discilpline wonders drop.

I do have a 3rd option (that just came to me) to put out there that I will vote for on the poll.
    The challenge ranked in order as follows
    1. Number of targets hit
    2. Best combination of targets
    3. Points tally
    This would incorporate the current format but tailor it to the all rounder. The lead would change a lot but ultimately the person with 3 Golds and the lowest points tally will win the challenge! It also ensures that 2 greens will trump a solitary gold (hence negating the runaway discipline leader syndrome) and that someone with a green target will not finish lower than someone with no targets hit at all.

This makes sense, however, presumably the daily update mechanism will remain the same? For me, this is the value - seeing how much I'm slipping behind my IM brothers , seeing where I am, versus where I should be on each discipline...

Yep updates stay the same my soon to be IM brother :) Nothing changes except the way its tallied. In fact its still tallied the same way, just takes the targets into account first. I feel it makes it more interesting as the year goes on but it still favours the 'all rounder' as someone put it. I'm sure its still going to come downm to the person who has 3 Gold marks and the lowest tally to top it :)

If people want more regular updates I'm sure I could do that. I'll just pop one into the thread as I go along if that suits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

I had a slight pain in my head before I started reading this thread. Now, well my head really hurts! :D:p

Ok all, the Poll was close but the table will be ranked as follows

#of targets achieved
    #gold vs green
    #points total

In that order.

It will still suit the all rounder and points will matter more as the challenge progresses. Just opens it up more in the early stages.

Current standings attached also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Since when do we get mid month updates? I demand that I hold the lead for the whole month.;)

nomadic wrote: »
    Since when do we get mid month updates? I demand that I hold the lead for the whole month.;)

See we were missing out on the action that way :) For instance, interested/cunavalos actually shared the lead for most of feb and you snatched it from their grasp late on feb 27th! So you have held the lead for a total of 9 days!

Hi All,

I'll try and post an update each time a target is achieved to show how it affects the shape of the challenge. (as if the subtle change of colour on the table was not enough :rolleyes:). 5 Greens up on the board now!!

BTW , cunavalos, you picked a race yet?!

Hi All,

I'll try and post an update each time a target is achieved to show how it affects the shape of the challenge. (as if the subtle change of colour on the table was not enough :rolleyes:). 5 Greens up on the board now!!

BTW , cunavalos, you picked a race yet?!

You sir are a savage:) Well done on getting the second green already and we are only into March!!!

Well done Mucky13 :) We are up to 6 Green targets on the board now. Also welcome to jester1980 to the challenge.

Nice subtle move there by RaccoonQueen I may add (our only lady?)

If only I'd got that swim in yesterday. :(

Hey mcos,

Any idea where I could find the 2010 SCR challenge thread?

Various searches have come up empty....

cheers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭El Director

2 targets hit on Paddies Day :D

Well done to cunavalos on the first GOLD of the year, savage stuff once again on the cycling

Well done to Jackyback on the cycling green, checked off with an epic ride.

Izoard and Bambaata climbing nicely in the background there also...

What a beautiful day it is today for a run or cycle or an outdoor dip :eek:

Congrats Cunavalos on the first gold, that is some distance you are covering.

Guys n Gals,

I've put an auto sort into the SBR main table so you should not have to reposition yourself once you enter your data. It should position you automatically. Let me know if there are any issues with it. Hopefully it makes life that little bit easier. Lurkers still welcome to join!

Thanks,
    Shotgun

All,

Just so you know that the auto sort had some erratic sorting going on which I was trying to figure out. Thankfully Robinph our resident techie maestro helped me out. The column was being treated as text leading to the erratic sorting. So upon Robin's suggestion I removed text from the column ie: the commas and the kms, mts. So what is left is just numbers. This has fixed the issue now and the auto sorting will work. All you have to do is change you data. No more copy and paste yay. Just posting here in case anyone was wondering what the change in format was for!

Shotgun.

Hi Folks,

Plenty of moving and shaking going on in the challenge these days. Fair to say its a lot more competitive this year :D

On the board so far
    6 Green
    1 Gold

This time last year
    4 Green
    1 Gold

I predict a flurry of targets to come in during April. My guess? 2 Gold, 7 green!!! Don't let me down now folks ;)

Happy Training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

Hey mcos,

Good work again

Any chance of a screenshot?
    Afraid I am living in the past and don't have Windows 7 on home PC.

Cheers,

NT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Hey mcos,

Good work again

Any chance of a screenshot?
    Afraid I am living in the past and don't have Windows 7 on home PC.

Cheers,

NT

Give poor shotgun a break - he is overworked as it is :D

Try this

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyId=941B3470-3AE9-4AEE-8F43-C6BB74CD1466&displaylang=en

Another green up on the board!

Swim green for pgibbo, well done mate great stuff breaking up the IMers ;)

@NT I'll try to post it up as a pic or something next time. If only Boards did excel type tables!

2 Greens for Jackyback and d.runs and pgibbo make some moves...

NT, attachment saved as JPEG so you should be able to 'open with' IE (explorer)

Well done JB!

[IMG]file:///H:/MCOS/SBR.JPG[/IMG]

Anyone know what format a file has to be to be able to paste as a pic on a post?

I'll update this for the man of the moment...

first to make all three greens....MCOS....of course. Well done dude savage stuff!

Don't forget about Izoard and Bambaata bagging the Cycling Greens. Good stuff lads

O ya sorry lads, well done!

I snuck in on the swim as well, but inserted a comma, so now in last place...:-)
    no idea how to fix on an iPad...need to get the laptop back from whatever child has stolen it!

Izoard wrote: »
    I snuck in on the swim as well, but inserted a comma, so now in last place...:-)
    no idea how to fix on an iPad...need to get the laptop back from whatever child has stolen it!

I just updated there myself and fixed your swim, well done on the two greens and mcos on the three.

Cheers, JB - normal service resumed on the laptop...

Welcome to the Challenge

BetterThanHoyt
    Oryx (no you won't be lynched ;))

Targets seem to be flowng in the last 2 weeks. We now have 11 Green and 2 Gold up on the board, great stuff

Well done Nomadic on hitting the cycling Gold!

The top 10 has changed more in the last 2 months than the whole of last year. Hitting a target shoots you up the rank overall. It will all even out at the end of the year though :)
    Have we got our first girlie battle, Oryx vs RaccoonQueen?! :D

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Have we got our first girlie battle, Oryx vs RaccoonQueen?! :D
    We're just here to chick the guys. :D

A bit late sorry but wasn't near a computer much over the weekend folks.

Attached is the standing up to this morning anyway. Uusally I would update to the end of the month but there was a serious flurry of activity since and with everyone on their bike in the fine weather the target are coming in thick and fast! So, to avoid a second update to acknowledge the early May Green Bikes hit, well done to...
    d.runs
    Betterthanhoyte
    Mloc123
    Mucky13

On hitting the Green Bike target.

We now have an impressive 14 Green and 2 Gold up on the board. I predicted last month in this thread that wewould have 13 Green and 3 Gold and would have been spot on if Interested had just done a cool down on his last swim!!!! :cool:

I dunno if its that most people are aiming at middle distance but the challenge is generally en masse far ahead of its 2010 predecessor!

Nothing in it between the ladies in case nobody else noticed. 'Tis and interesting one with RC holding her cards close to her chest.

As for the top 10, apart from the 3 of us IM lads poilitely tipping away its carnage with the position changing from 4-12. We are due a few updates from the belly of the group too which could be interesting.

Good luck to all in your races this month, Summer approaches :)

Now we need to team up and start ticking off you lot! :)

Not that it matters but theres 2k missing off my swim. :) I wasnt even on it a month ago and now Im getting picky!

Now we need to team up and start ticking off you lot! :)

Could be an idea... pairs! Hmmm

Well done interested sir on the first SWIM GOLD!!! A bit later than 2010 though? Hope training going well for you. We miss your often indechipherable swim ramblings log by the way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Well done interested sir on the first SWIM GOLD!!! A bit later than 2010 though? Hope training going well for you. We miss your often indechipherable swim ramblings log by the way ;)

later this year ? yep - quality over distance this year, down to just 3 swims a week - leaves me lots of time and lack of excuses to try and improve on things like biking and running. That said, Im getting penciled in for something fairly mind numbing this coming weekend by the missus which may effect avg distances.

hopefully a main set like
    6*( (4*75 rev IM s.thro + 50 ez fs) + 200 IM for time desc 1-3,4-6 w 60)
    brings back fond memories of a log from a previous time ;)

interested wrote: »
    hopefully a main set like
    Can I have that explained in english?

A set of insructions for any upcoming log would be cool too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

interested wrote: »

It actually should have read
    6*( (4*75 rev IM s.thro + 50 ez fs w30) + 200 IM for time desc 1-3,4-6 w 60)

repeat 6 times
    4 * 75 rev IM s.thro = 25 freestyle, 25 breaststroke, 25 backcrawl,
    25 butterfly, 25 fs, 25 bs,
    25 bc, 25 fly, 25 fs
    25 bs, 25bc 25 fly
    followed by 50 easy freestyle and 30 seconds rest
    and then 200 IM descending the times from 1st iteration to 3rd set and from the 4th set to the 6th set with 60 seconds rest before starting the full repeat again.

so 550 per iteration, or 3300 metres in total - certainly not what you'd see at a triathlon club or even masters swim session but there ya go.

Seeing as Im at the stage where just keeping track of lengths is hard, Im still horribly confused by that ^

but thanks, anyway.