Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iran to boycott London Olympics cos they is "Zionist"

• 28-02-2011 03:24PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭

ZION (apparently)

Iran has threatened to boycott the London Olympics unless the organisers replace the official logo, which Tehran claims spells out the word "Zion".

The logo, a jagged representation of the year 2012, has been said by its critics to resemble many things, from a swastika to a sexual act, but the Iranian government argues it represents a veiled pro-Israeli conspiracy.

In a formal complaint to the International Olympic Committee, Tehran has called for the graphic to be replaced and its designers "confronted", warning that Iranian athletes might otherwise be ordered to stay away from the London Games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Zoin surely? no?

How come they reckon the first 2 is a Z and the 2nd one is an N?

Supposed if you look hard enough you can see what you want in anything. Tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I'm boycotting bagels because they're too Jewish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Ah, Iran, giving everyone every reason in the world to think the people that are running the country are insane. Hopefully, the current regime, will go the way of Ben Ali's and Mubaraks respective regimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Does this mean we won't be seeing the Iranian women's synchronized swimming team in action in their burkas? What a shame.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Number 10 Shirt

Somebody working in the Iranian government has too much time on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hmm, it could also be construed as "nazi" by that logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Might as well call the whole thing off now then. What's the point of going ahead with the Olympics if we are going to be without the powerhouse of international sporting competition, Iran? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

No no, it's Lisa Simpson going down on someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Morpheus did not fight in the great war of Zion for this sort of discrimination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

it could save their soccer team a lot of grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Iran, noooooo. Big loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

There are no words in the english language or any language (active or extinct) that could adequately describe how little i care about Irans absence.

Less competition for us anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

I found a secret message in my spaghetti rings this afternoon.

It said "Oooooooo".

Fremen wrote: »
    I found a secret message in my spaghetti rings this afternoon.

It said "Oooooooo".

Alphabetti's a lot better for getting the message across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

If the Olympics is to be a global event than the committees should be dealing with the Iranians concerns. If they have a problem with the logo, change it. It's not politics, it's sport. The Olympics is meant to unify not divide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

squod wrote: »
    If the Olympics is to be a global event than the committees should be dealing with the Iranians concerns. If they have a problem with the logo, change it. It's not politics, it's sport. The Olympics is meant to unify not divide

In an ideal world it would be all about the sport but unfortunately it gets used for political means with coutries boycotting depending on the host.

It would be a shame to lose any team for the sake of a logo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,058 ✭✭✭conorhal

I'm boycotting bagels because they're too Jewish.

But they're so tasty.... Couldn't you just refer to them as 'savory freedom doughnuts' instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Exactly. So no matter what the logo is the Iranian government has no business getting involved.

The logo is also 4 years old and doesn't spell out zion.

It would be a shame to lose any team for the sake of a logo.

Wrong end of the stick. It would be a shame to loose a team because of the deranged and paranoid attention seeking antics of a lunatic dictator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Am I the only one who thinks that it does actually say that ? Despite the extreme difficulty of making this year look like that word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

mike65 wrote: »

I can see what they are on about though. I read it as Zion and find it difficult to make 2012 out of it unless you transpose the supposed digits and even then. Since when does 1 have a dot on top! Someone was taking the piss with that logo. It's shite anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

how in the fuck does that say 2012?

conorhal wrote: »
    Wrong end of the stick. It would be a shame to loose a team because of the deranged and paranoid attention seeking antics of a lunatic dictator.

If a fascist cult was giving you grief you'd feel the same way. Change the logo I say. For the sake of the games and inclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Fair play to them, wish we did the same tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

So I guess Iran's not feeling iron like a lion, then.

If a fascist cult was giving you grief you'd feel the same way. Change the logo I say. For the sake of the games and inclusion.

Alowing Ahmedinajad to turn apolitical unifying spirit of the games into a political points scoring contest would undermine the Olympics in my opinion. I wouldn't entertain that mad eejit for a minute. There's nothing to gain by apeasing him but the tarnishing of the Olympic ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Morlar wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thinks that it does actually say that ? Despite the extreme difficulty of making this year look like that word.

The actual logo has the four symbols as a square. Plus the dot is nowhere near the "i" either.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/london/content/images/2007/06/04/2012_logo_white_385x450.jpg

It would take a paranoid lunatic to take "zion" from that. No doubt we'll see a few here on this thread.

how in the fuck does that say 2012?

They were told that it was a sh1t logo from day 1, but they decided to carry on using it anyway.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I suppose you "could" make Zion out of it, if you read it from top left to bottom left, top right to bottom right.

And what is that dot supposed to be? Far as I know, 2012 doesn't contain a dot.

Meh, noone is forcing them to come to it. If they want to miss out on the 'Limpiks, then I've no problem with that. Having said that, I doubt I'll even watch or see any of it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

London is the zionist strong hold in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Fair play to them, wish we did the same tbh.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

tiger55 wrote: »

Tell us, why so.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

tiger55 wrote: »

Are you forgetting Jew York?.

I suppose you "could" make Zion out of it, if you read it from top left to bottom left, top right to bottom right.

And what is that dot supposed to be? Far as I know, 2012 doesn't contain a dot.

Obviously. I'm sure many nations read from right to left, not just Iran. I reckon this logo will be the focus of the games in London. It would take ten minutes to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Why?

Because of the illegal wars they are involved in. And their record on this Island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

It does look like Zion. Strange looking design.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Because of the illegal wars they are involved in. And their record on this Island.

Ok. Not as good reasons as Iran then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The real problem with logo is that it doesn't look like 2012. What it looks like are the scribbles of a small child playing with some crayons for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,504 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Good, less competition at the Olympics for us them;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Iran needs another revolution - honestly. The government is totally out of touch with the mood and aspirations of the Iranian people. This paranoia about Israel and Jewish people is pretty much limited to government members and institutions.

According to Hamsayeh.net, the guy behind the Zionism complaint is also objecting to the Pink colour (teh gayz!) and blaming the Freemasons.
    This is the first time that it has happened in the history of Olympic. Zionists have exercised influence in Britain and based on our information, designer of the summer games' logo has been a Zionist organization linked to Freemasons
    It's just one guy. I expect the rest of the Iranian National Olympic Committee will be lining up to tell him what a plonker he is - never mind the athletes themselves.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Not surprised really.

The same people refuse to compete against Israeli's in competition too.

While the Iranians think its something glorious, its really unfair to their athletes who have trained for years to compete, and to the people who love the games.

Its a shame, because Iran produce some fine Judo-ka, Wrestlers & weight lifters.

+1 on this bit absolute shame. If it was Brazil who had a problem playing soccer against Argentina or whatever there'd be bluddy changes, full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

+1 on this bit absolute shame. If it was Brazil who had a problem playing soccer against Argentina or whatever there'd be bluddy changes, full stop.

Nice comparison. Can you elaborate?

It may be a sh1t logo but to change it now would be to acknowledge the most ridiculous of objections. Can't believe anyone would think it would be changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Not at olympic level. No one really cares about soccer either because every country has to send weakened underage teams.

Now if it was a strong track and field country then that'd be news.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Why not make everyone life that little bit easier

BAN ISRAEL

I mean other countries get banned from stuff because of an appalin Human rights record and Illegal occupation of Foreign lands.

Feck Ban the USA, Australia and Britain, and anyone else who thinks its a good idea to invade soverign nations - China, Russia I'm lookin at Ye.

Also Why would anyone Boycot a Bagel

Just put bacon and Cheese on it Yummmmmmmmy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Bet the Olympic Council are pissed they didn't use the Goatse logo now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

biko wrote: »
    Hmm, it could also be construed as "nazi" by that logic.

Or Lion......:D

If they have a problem with the logo, change it. It's not politics, it's sport.

Eh, no. Iran is the one reading things into it. F*ck them.

conorhal wrote: »
    +1 to that.