Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ronan or Jonny

• 27-02-2011 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Just wondering who ye would rather have starting at 10, Ronan O'Gara or Jonny Sexton, Like when Sexton first came onto the scene against Samoa and South Africa two years ago the irish public were comparing him to Dan Carter, I wont deny that Im a huge ROG fan but Ive always thought weve overrated Sexton abit like the english did with Cipriani, I aslo would like to know what your thoughts on playing Sexton at 12, Its what they would do for the Wallabees and All Blacks.

Please No Leinster/Munster hatred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Sexton against Wales and O'Gara against England

I do remember a time when the choice was between Eric Elwood and Paul Burke so am very happy with the situation we are currently in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Problem with Sexton I think is he just doesn't seem to perform at the same level for Ireland as he does for Leinster, he's had no great game for Ireland in the last year or so that I can remember anyway. Problem with RoG is come world cup if we get a tough group, he can't tackle for ****, he's been labeled a doormat before for a reason and all the great teams will look to capitalise on that. His vision though is something else.

I honestly can't call or decide now as it's to close to call, they're both great players and both have different attitudes to the game meaning we have an OH suited to most opponents. I think that's what it will come down to at the WC, form obviously but also our opponents playing style. Last thing I want to see though is people taking the George Hook point of view, he was talking some awful bull today after the game in the Sexton V O'Gara debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

I honestly don't think it matters. We can score three tries against France and three against Scotland ... so either is fine.

Our problems are elsewhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Based on experience and form it has to be ROG, simple as that. The next time he scores it will push him over the 1000 pts in the championship!
    If I were an opposition manager I would prefer Sexton starting.
    That's not sexton bashing, it is simply stating a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd be happy with either tbh. I'd like a horses for courses situation depending on the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

When ROG is at 10 we kick a lot which is fine but it means that we give the opponents a lot of put into lineout. While we got away with it today to compete well in the large amount of lineouts we give away we need a second lineout operator in the backrow (ie Ferris +Heaslip).

For some reason Kidney seems to always pair Sexton with the poor TOL while ROG works with Redden who is imo the best of the bunch in terms of SHs. If the Leinster halfback axis came in Redden at 9 and Sexton at 10 we would see the best of Sexton. No Leinster/Munster bull here just combination issues.

That said I have huge respect for both operators can see them both being used at different times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

Do we really need another Outhalf thread?

I'm happy with either, I honestly dont think either of them weaken the team and yes there will be times when one will feck up but that's not an Irish thing, that happens to all players.

From a Munster pov, I love to see Munster players getting the start but once a team is selected I couldnt care less who's on it, it's Ireland for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

It depends on what kind of game we want to play. If we want to play territorial rugby, O'Gara; if we want to run the ball, Sexton. I don't think any Tri-Nations coaches are hoping to meet Sexton rather than O'Gara at the World Cup, though; if they are thinking that specifically, they're probably inclined to prefer to face a strong kicking game than a strong running one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

RMD wrote: »
    Problem with Sexton I think is he just doesn't seem to perform at the same level for Ireland as he does for Leinster, he's had no great game for Ireland in the last year or so that I can remember anyway. Problem with RoG is come world cup if we get a tough group, he can't tackle for ****, he's been labeled a doormat before for a reason and all the great teams will look to capitalise on that. His vision though is something else.

I honestly can't call or decide now as it's to close to call, they're both great players and both have different attitudes to the game meaning we have an OH suited to most opponents. I think that's what it will come down to at the WC, form obviously but also our opponents playing style. Last thing I want to see though is people taking the George Hook point of view, he was talking some awful bull today after the game in the Sexton V O'Gara debate.

The big worry is that he doesn't have the game management skills to be a top international 10. Only so many poor decisions can be blamed on inexperience when the lad is almost 26.

ROG is currently the inform 10 and is currently a better player at this level. A lot has been said about ROG's suspect defense, but today he made 9tackles and missed none - Its the same stats as Wallace ffs. He may not be able to stop a player on the gain line, but he does take them down.

Hook is a sensationalist for the sake of it, but he is right in the sense that Sexton should have to take some blame for the direction-less performances in the first 2 games. He also probably felt the need to criticise him as the other panelists are both Mary's men, so may be slower to criticise one of their own. But George Hook is an absolute tool.

But the OH is the least of our problems and both players are well able to fill the jersey. I'd be much more worried about hooker, fullback and our centre partnership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

To be honest, Ive always considered Reddan our worst scrum half, Id take Frank Murphy, Peter Stringer and Thomas O'Leary over him anyday, He is a poor passer and always have to take steps before he releases the ball, Ive no problem against Leinster they have some brilliant players, I think Ross should have been in along time ago, I do think when Buckley gets fit he should come in for Cian Healey and Id love to try ROG at 10 Sexton at 12

Hook is a sensationalist for the sake of it, but he is right in the sense that Sexton should have to take some blame for the direction-less performances in the first 2 games. He also probably felt the need to criticise him as the other panelists are both Mary's men, so may be slower to criticise one of their own. But George Hook is an absolute tool.

But the OH is the least of our problems and both players are well able to fill the jersey. I'd be much more worried about hooker, fullback and our centre partnership.

I'll certainly agree that age can not be used as an excuse, Sexton is 26 and needs to show it. Sexton should certainly take some of the blame but we have to remember who was on his outside for both games, D'Arcy who put in an absolutely awful performance against Italy and a mediocre performance against France. Once Sexton gave it there's not much he can do after that, just hope the line continues the play. As you said though, the OH is the least of our worries right now and I'm very happy to have 2 very good players available for international selection.

For the hooker I think its time to start praying for Jerry to get fit, Why not throw Bowe at fb and Fitzgerald back on the wing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Teej

My preference is Sexton but that's as much due to the fact that I'm more confident with ROG coming on as a tactical sub. Until the WC (at least) I want them both to be kept as joint 1st choice

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

astonaidan wrote: »
    I do think when Buckley gets fit he should come in for Cian Healey

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Unless one of them has the ability to make opposition kickers miss their goals then it hardly matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Just wondering who ye would rather have starting at 10, Ronan O'Gara or Jonny Sexton, Like when Sexton first came onto the scene against Samoa and South Africa two years ago the irish public were comparing him to Dan Carter, I wont deny that Im a huge ROG fan but Ive always thought weve overrated Sexton abit like the english did with Cipriani, I aslo would like to know what your thoughts on playing Sexton at 12, Its what they would do for the Wallabees and All Blacks.

I have to say I've never seen, read or heard of anyone ever comparing Sexton to Carter - at least not favourably or by anyone in their right minds.
    To be honest, Ive always considered Reddan our worst scrum half, Id take Frank Murphy, Peter Stringer and Thomas O'Leary over him anyday, He is a poor passer and always have to take steps before he releases the ball, Ive no problem against Leinster they have some brilliant players, I think Ross should have been in along time ago, I do think when Buckley gets fit he should come in for Cian Healey and Id love to try ROG at 10 Sexton at 12

You really need to brush up on your scrum half knowledge if you think Murphy and TOL are better than Reddan who may not be brilliant but he is, on his good days, a more complete player than either of them and Stringer. There is a reason why Murphy plays for Connacht and not Munster or Leinster.

Do you realise that Buckley is a tight head - and a poor one at that - and that Healy is a loose head. Buckley played loosehead once for Munster and was jerked off after 24 minutes.

Sexton has never to the best of my knowledge played 12 as a senior player. There are a few 12s who would be considered for Ireland and Sexton isn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

He also probably felt the need to criticise him as the other panelists are both Mary's men, so may be slower to criticise one of their own. But George Hook is an absolute tool.
    QUOTE]

Both the other panelists are not Marys men. O'Shea went to school in Terenure College and played for Lansdowne. No Mary's connection at all.

I think it's great having the two of them fighting for the 10 slot, both have sonmething to offer and when they switch in games it allows Ireland the chance to change our gameplan and playing pattern. Can really throw the opposition.

ROG should stay in the team after todays performance but I would like to see Sexton get a run with an in form SH.

Sexton when he first came onto the scene was being compared to Carter and was considered by the irish press and public to be Irelands anwser to him, Buckley has played loose head more than once and Sexton has played 12 on more than a few occasions for leinster just because he hasnt played there in the last few seasons, If you look at when Carter came into the allblacks he went in at 12, Giteau in at 12 and yes I know he playing 12 again but he was 10 for 2 years for the wallabees, Those with little knowledge putting down on Connacht, Lets not forget that a few years ago ye were doing the same about Ulster. Reddan is a joke of a scrum half Thomas O'Leary is rightly first choice and Stringer should be on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Sexton when he first came onto the scene was being compared to Carter and was considered by the irish press and public to be Irelands anwser to him, Buckley has played loose head more than once and Sexton has played 12 on more than a few occasions for leinster just because he hasnt played there in the last few seasons, If you look at when Carter came into the allblacks he went in at 12, Giteau in at 12 and yes I know he playing 12 again but he was 10 for 2 years for the wallabees, Those with little knowledge putting down on Connacht, Lets not forget that a few years ago ye were doing the same about Ulster. Reddan is a joke of a scrum half Thomas O'Leary is rightly first choice and Stringer should be on the bench.

Well then since Giteau has played at scrumhalf too it follows that Sexton should be tried there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

All is now clear.

Well then since Giteau has played at scrumhalf too it follows that Sexton should be tried there also.

Well lets not get confused with what I was saying, I was pointing out Sexton should learn the trade of being an international outhalf outside ROG which is what Giteau did with Australia, For you to think I was making a direct comparison with Giteau is totally wrong, Hes on a totally different planet to Sexton

If anything I'd say it should be Stringer and then Reddan. If there's any SH in the country right now who is a "joke" it's O'Leary, I've never seen a SH with such poor continuity in his game, he might as well tell the other team "Ye go on form your defensive line there, I wont be giving off a pass for another 15 seconds or so".

RMD wrote: »
    If anything I'd say it should be Stringer and then Reddan. If there's any SH in the country right now who is a "joke" it's O'Leary, I've never seen a SH with such poor continuity in his game, he might as well tell the other team "Ye go on form your defensive line there, I wont be giving off a pass for another 15 seconds or so".

Yeah O'Leary's passing does frustrate me, But Reddan isnt much better tbh, Stringer is a much better passing SH than either, I just think in terms of defence O'Leary offers alot more than Reddan and then for Stringer to come on when the defence is stretched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

jacothelad wrote: »

Do you realise that Buckley is a tight head - and a poor one at that - and that Healy is a loose head. Buckley played loosehead once for Munster and was jerked off after 24 minutes.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

we need both - they each offer something different - thought o'gara had a super game today - as said, crazy brining on sexton today -o'gara has the experience so can be used to change games , more difficult for sexton , but starting he is class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

As long as TOL is nowhere near the teamsheet, both should preform perfectly well.

Sexton is streets ahead in defence, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

tolosenc wrote: »
    As long as TOL is nowhere near the teamsheet, both should preform perfectly well.

if reddan is dropped in favour of TOL , its time for a real kidney mutiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Firstly the danger lies in the very first question. I should hope that Kidney or any selector doesn't 'rather' either ROG or Sexton, that's when poor selections are made. It's simply a case of 'horses for course'. When the tactics are to gain territory or to help close out a win then ROG. When the tactics are to run the ball, clock up scores or bolster the backline defence then Sexton.

Secondly, I don't recall any Carter comparisons. I'm not denying that you do, but take that with a pinch of salt... people also advocated that he should never play for Ireland again after the last Scotland match - people say stupid things sometimes.

Thirdly, the Cipriani case is completely different. Sexton has a trophy cabinet and has proven himself against top opposition in crucial matches and came out the other end on top.

Finally, I believe Sexton has the attributes to be a top 12... the only thing is it's senior level rugby. It's not underage rugby where you can shift around the park and have time to establish yourself. If he was to play 12 in an international, or even for Leinster for that matter, he would need to hit the ground running and at this level that's just unrealistic for any player in a specialist role to just change position like that. He's a 10 and a very good one at that.

Both ROG and Sexton have proven themselves when put up against their counterparts throughout Europe, Kidney needs to balance which of them is on form and which would suit whatever tactics are in place for each match individually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

It's difficult to choose really.

I mean ROG is a perfectionist at the territorial game, and he is a leader on the pitch.

Sexton is a running out-half and a great one at that.

Based on today ROG is great at pinging back the opposition, but we rarely put the ball through the backs. When Sexton cam on, it was at a time where we needed ROG to do what he was doing.

I'd prefer if Sexton started, plays till around the 60 mark, and then ROG to come on and close out the game.

It's good rather than bad that we're asking this question, lucky to have 2 talented out-halfs with more on the way in the form of Jackson/McKinley etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I think it's worth trying Sexton at 12 outside O'Gara, if only because d'Arcy is playing so poorly we should examine other options and for whatever reason Paddy Wallace isn't trusted enough to get gametime.

• BOTH

/end thread.
    Essential players for the next 2/3 seaons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Without doubt, O'Gara, and I've a lot of respect for the call made by Kidney to drop Sexton.

We can't crticise Kidney in one breath for not rewarding form and not congratulate him in the next one for letting O'Gara win his jersey back. Sexton has been ok for Ireland in recent games, nothing special, but O'Gara really rolled back the years with his performance against Scotland and gave, without wanting to overuse the word, a masterclass, and even put the icing on the cake with a super try.

Like i've always maintained, I don't care where the player is from, I just want the form players picked, and in this instance it's humble pie, because Kidney got it spot on with O'Gara, who's now without doubt the man in posession of the jersey and it's up to Sexton to try and win it back with performances when he gets off the bench and probably with Leinster, as RO'G should hold the jersey for at least the remaining games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

problems lie elsewhere in Kidney's antiquated game plan and our lack of discipline and amount of basic errors right across the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

O'Gara played better today than Sexton has the last 2 games but there are two things to remember : firstly against Italy the backs outside Sexton were terrible and secondly France are a much different side to Scotland.

I think if you were playing teams like Italy, Scotland, Wales, Argentina I'd go with O'Gara but the game O'Gara plays won't beat running teams like Australia and New Zealand unfortunately. We've seen it time and time again and to be honest Sexton's showings against South Africa, NZ and Australia were better performances than I've ever seen O'Gara play against those teams (NZ in particular is usually a disaster for O'Gara) I want to see him start next week but I want to see him actually attack the game line and try vary things.

I do have the feeling though that it will be easier for Sexton to learn to kick when the time is right than it will be for O'Gara to run the ball like Sexton. I am willing to give O'Gara the chance to show that he can do that against Wales however. But if he plays the same game then I wouldn't start him against England because I don't think its the game we should be trying to play. Like I said before, it will work against most 6N teams but it will not work against SH teams or France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

It depends on what kind of game we want to play. If we want to play territorial rugby, O'Gara; if we want to run the ball, Sexton. I don't think any Tri-Nations coaches are hoping to meet Sexton rather than O'Gara at the World Cup, though; if they are thinking that specifically, they're probably inclined to prefer to face a strong kicking game than a strong running one.

Just want to throw some stats out there...

for sexton's 14 caps - 3 as a sub we have scored 18 tries while he has been on the pitch this includes 5 against figi.

for rog's last 14 caps - 8 as a sub we have scored 19 tries while he has been on the pitch this includes 2 against samoa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Kilo

As others have said, Sexton/O'Gara isn't the problem, but perhaps the starting order should be changed. Although O'Gara had a great game, he kicked a little too much for my liking and gave the Scots too much ball to run back at us. After we scored the first try, the Scots held the ball for an interminable length of time and it was in that period where we let them back into the game by giving them kickable penalties. His game was more needed at the end rather than at the beginning IMO.

Not having a functioning lineout really hurt us here and I thought Rory Best was again below par with his throwing. Hook singling out Cronin was deeply unfair because Cronin although not a great thrower of the ball, doesn't appear to have the hearing impairment wrt the ref that Best seems to have developed lately.

We desperately need Flannery back in top form to again compete at the lineouts and we need to drop the penalty machines as a matter of urgency.

Sexton as 12 doesn't make much sense to me. He's not the big unit we need in that position although he's somewhat better at making hard yards in that part of the field than D'Arcy currently is. Whether D'Arcy has lost a bit of his edge or whether teams have figured out how to close him down, he's just not giving the go forward ball that O'Driscoll and the rest of the back line need to score. FitzGerald may fit the bill here but he'd need to bulk up a bit and that may compromise some of his other abilities. No-one else comes to mind though.

People mentioning Sexton's age as reason to expect better perforances from him are forgetting that as a senior player he's still very wet behind the ears. He's been the starting OH for Leinster for only two years and his Ireland career has only developed in fits and starts from that time too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Sin a bhfuil

O'Gara played better today than Sexton has the last 2 games but there are two things to remember : firstly against Italy the backs outside Sexton were terrible and secondly France are a much different side to Scotland.

I think if you were playing teams like Italy, Scotland, Wales, Argentina I'd go with O'Gara but the game O'Gara plays won't beat running teams like Australia and New Zealand unfortunately. We've seen it time and time again and to be honest Sexton's showings against South Africa, NZ and Australia were better performances than I've ever seen O'Gara play against those teams (NZ in particular is usually a disaster for O'Gara) I want to see him start next week but I want to see him actually attack the game line and try vary things.

I do have the feeling though that it will be easier for Sexton to learn to kick when the time is right than it will be for O'Gara to run the ball like Sexton. I am willing to give O'Gara the chance to show that he can do that against Wales however. But if he plays the same game then I wouldn't start him against England because I don't think its the game we should be trying to play. Like I said before, it will work against most 6N teams but it will not work against SH teams or France

O'Gara has a couple of wins against Aus, SA & France. He also was OH who got very close to the ABs on tour (7pts I think) in New Zealand.

Sexton is lacking a bit of confidence now and is trying too hard. Its a pity Italy went so badly (BOD & D'Arcy let him down a bit with all their handling errors).

I'd like to see Sexton start against Wales - he was excellent last year which might help build up his confidence again. As senior players, BOD & D'Arcy really need to up their game though. I'd start ROG against England though - that will be a huge pressure game for the OHs which ROG would be better at dealing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Piliger wrote: »
    I honestly don't think it matters. We can score three tries against France and three against Scotland ... so either is fine.

Our problems are elsewhere.

I completely agree. Having said that I think it depends who the opposition in and what kind of game we want to play. do we have a style we want to play? This focus on the out-half is a distraction I think. ROG was excellent yesterday though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

O'Gara is the better choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Thanos

Have no problem with ROG getting a start, it keeps a player interested. I see no point in going with one player all the time when you have a good alternative. What if your number one gets injured and the back up has had no game time, that can be as bad and it is more important in such an important position.

If anything we need to make one or two more changes to give others 1) a chance, 2) test out new partnerships.
    Would love to see McFadden get a go along side BOD in the next game (of course that will never happeen).

More then happy is Sexton gets 3 starts and ROG 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I would start ROG against Wales and Sexton v England. ROG will pin the welsh back and we can attack their lineout and ultimately they will crack for under pressure. England will be a problem and they would launch their huge back row at ROG so Sexton in that game for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

I'd like to echo what was said previously about horses for courses.

I dislike the idea of having a first 15 that's set in stone. We should want to be able to vary our game depending on who we're playing. For example, coming up against the scots, we knew they had a strong lineout, so we should have looked at cullen at 4. Other games like against Wales whose lineout isn't as strong and their second rows would be similar to ours, have DOC come in.

Likewise when back fit, if we're expecting an ariel bombardment, pick Kearney, if they opposition will run more, pick Fitz.

Rugby's moved on from having a 15 best players in every situation. Certain players are suited to certain games types.

As for the Wales match, I wouldn't mind see Sexton start. With regard to subs, I don't think Kidney sghould be lambasted if he makes only one sub for example. Every game is different in rugby, some games you'll need fresh legs to come on others you want to keep people on the pitch.

The three subs on saturday didn't improve an awful lot when they came on, but if he didn't make any, he'd probably have slagged off anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

493649.jpg

Both of them are essential players and we're damn lucky to have two world class outhalves competing for the shirt.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Thanos wrote: »

If anything we need to make one or two more changes to give others 1) a chance, 2) test out new partnerships.
    Would love to see McFadden get a go along side BOD in the next game (of course that will never happeen).

i was saying the very same thing to my brother during the france match. to be honest though, havent really been watching the provinces play much this season, so wouldnt be too sure who they have avail to put forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

493649.jpg

Both of them are essential players and we're damn lucky to have two world class outhalves competing for the shirt.

I thought the slow set was a thing of the past?

O Gara - 9 tackles, hands off Ross Ford, skips past Chris Paterson to touch down under the sticks, encouraging from sideline to the point of being warned to sit down by 4th official, seems to have no issues with Heaslip after "that" interview. Hugs Sexton.
    Bizarre day at the office.

On topic Sexton has to start every game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Thankfully the internet wasn't around when it was Ollie v Wardy.

Excepting England, no other international side has two world class nr.10s to call upon (I don't think Giteau and Barnes ever play as well at pivot as they do as inside centre).
    Ireland are lucky and ROG v Sexton is a non-issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

Both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

At the moment, ROG. You can't discard someone after they performed that well. ROG has a history of f*cking over Wales also so I don't know why we'd go for Sexton for this one. It's horses for courses though. Some matches should have ROG, some should have Sexton. ROG is a better distributor than his detractors are willing to admit although he doesn't ask as many questions of the defence. Sexton is well capable of kicking for touch also but his decision making isn't in ROG's class. It really is a non-issue at this stage for me.

One thing I will say is that Sexton will need to perform 20% better to earn similar plaudits to ROG. If Sexton had missed 2 penalties and conceded a penalty with the line begging yesterday you better believe there would have been people calling for ROG to be introduced quickly. ROG can do these things and have them glossed over a lot more quickly. He's got 100+ caps and we know with him that class is permanent and has proven time and again he can put them straight out of his mind. Unfortunately for JS, he will need another 20 caps and some strong performances before he is afforded the same level of leeway within Irish rugby. ROG will always be the one we turn to when backs are to the wall just as DK selected him yesterday.

Ironically, I thought yesterday's game was tailor made for Sexton and the remaining games are made for ROG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

I dont think 6n has been a fair comparison because Sexton had to deal with O'Learys poor service while ROG had Reddan yesterday. If Sexton had Reddan feeding him it would have helped, not only in the quality of pass but also in terms of the partnership and knowing his game. Not only is O'Learys pass a bit unpredictable, his kicking game is a bit wild which does not make things easy for a 10 who is not used to playing with him. It really should be Sexton for the Wales game but Kidney has put himself in a difficult position after ROGs performance yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Both superb; but on their day, Wilko was the better kicker, probably better than any kicker in history. BUT, longevity plays a major part is this assessment, and for that, ROG tops Johnny. Johnny missed too much thru injury. It's funny, you hear peple slate ROG for not being that strong or tough, yet the guy has been at the top for so long, and rarely out thru injury. Taken some massive whacks too. He's a true warrior, and what a match winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Think you've got the wrong Johnny there Walsh.