Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook harassment from work colleague

• 27-02-2011 9:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭

I'm being Haressed on facebook by a work colleague. He's not a facebook friend, he's just a work colleague. He makes comments on posts i make on mutual friends pages, mostly obscenities about my size. I have confronted him in work and this usually ends in more abuse and aggressive arguments! I have highlighted this to many team managers, it has been documented and HR are aware of this problem, yet nothing has been done. I feel they believe this is a outside of work problem and they don't have to do anything about it.

Has anyone experienced problems like this? Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

It is a work problem unfortunately. It is a very childish thing to do. The best advice I can give you is to ignore him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

If your page is public and your friends pages are public he is allowed to comment without being your friend (although he shouldn't harass you)... but that's why it's called a "public" page.

Why don't you just block him? Click on his page, and there's a link at the bottom-right saying "Report/block this person"

There's not reason to make it a work issue by trying to bring HR/management into your squabbles. It will damage your reputation at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Its irrelevant that its a public foroum, I'd bring it straight to HR.

That stuff only belongs at the playground (if even), he needs to be thaught a lesson onhow to conduct himself in the adult world, and if your HR is any use, they'll do it for you (if they don't I'd bluff taking a harrasment suit).

As far as damaging you reputation in work, it would be unacceptable if your Hr department did not deal with this in a confidencial manner. As far as the bully making thing any harder, I'd let himself dig deeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

tenchi-fan wrote: »

There's not reason to make it a work issue by trying to bring HR/management into your squabbles. It will damage your reputation at work.

it is already a work issue. His conduct is grounds for dismissal IMO. Certainly would be in my company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Sonovagun

Thank you for your replys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Sonovagun wrote: »
    I'm being Haressed on facebook by a work colleague. He's not a facebook friend, he's just a work colleague. He makes comments on posts i make on mutual friends pages, mostly obscenities about my size. I have confronted him in work and this usually ends in more abuse and aggressive arguments! I have highlighted this to many team managers, it has been documented and HR are aware of this problem, yet nothing has been done. I feel they believe this is a outside of work problem and they don't have to do anything about it.

the fact that he's bullying through Facebook isn't important, he's still someone with whom you only have a work "relationship" and who chooses to bully you, you should push HR a bit more..

Hands up I know nothing about Facebook and have never been on the website but can you look at when his posts are being made... Wouldn't it be sweet to add to HR that he was doing this during work time ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

bbam wrote: »
    the fact that he's bullying through Facebook isn't important, he's still someone with whom you only have a work "relationship" and who chooses to bully you, you should push HR a bit more..

Hands up I know nothing about Facebook and have never been on the website but can you look at when his posts are being made... Wouldn't it be sweet to add to HR that he was doing this during work time ;);)

unless the OP was also posting during work hours :P

OP I'd recommend taking screenshots of his remarks on facebook and saving them for future reference in case this evidence is ever needed. Otherwise theres a risk he could delete his previous comments and you'd end up in a war of words.

If you feel he is not learning the lesson give a written compliant to the HR department about his behaviour with evidence of what he has post (a screenshot) but make sure to keep a copy of what you give them.

You might not ever need this but in case things go bad the worst case could be you feel you have to leave the job as work continue to do nothing to help solve the situation you'd need this evidence to prove that you'd tried to solve this by working with the company. Also make sure to keep a copy of anything they give you and keep a diary of what they tell you with dates/times. lastly keep the evidence on a laptop / email account that is yours personnally rather than the company pc / laptop just in case so you can still access it if needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    Why don't you just block him? Click on his page, and there's a link at the bottom-right saying "Report/block this person".

Blocking him won't make a difference, as that won't stop him leaving comments on mutual friends' walls, only the OP's.

But if you report him instead of blocking him facebook should follow up on it, I reported someone to them for copyright infringement and they dealt with it within a few days.

But yeah screenshots of the comments would be a good idea so that you have them to hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Screenshors, saved pages and keep a diary. HR need to start doing something about this bullying or else risk becoming part of the problem (negligence, duty of care). If this starts to affect your well-being, insist they take action or get a solictor involved which should light a fire under their behinds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 jamimon

Sorry to be a pest but why is this even a work issue at all?

Cos he's a work colleague, i only know him from work and the bullying and harressment has risen from a work issue.

I've had a terrible week trying to get hold of someone to talk to. Spoke to managers and they all said i needed to talk to HR. Couldn't get hold of HR last monday and they have been on a weeks holiday since then. Since then there's been one more FB comment aimed at me. I'm hoping to talk to HR on tuesday, i will update then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 jamimon

I don't understand why should you take in so seriously. I would just ignore him completely. If it was me, I would not even going to mention the word facebook in complaint, its just too funny. Anyway good luck with whatever you want to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Tell HR, by email, that you wish to know the procedure for making a formal/informal complaint towards your colleague, and watch them sit up.

You should not have to put up with his behaviour, and to ignore it would not be the right thing to do.

I dont understand why one poster here things its funny to be harassed by someone you spend 8/9hrs working with 5 day a week!

Dare I say, they have never been harassed at work or by a colleague, and so their advice is limited. If you've ever been through something like this, and know how horrible and anxious it makes you feel - and thats just to sort it out, then come back and give your 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

Just report it to facebook and let them deal with it. Send them a link to the offending posts.
    Would you report it to your boss if it happened in a pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Just report it to facebook and let them deal with it. Send them a link to the offending posts.
    Would you report it to your boss if it happened in a pub?

Agree with this, while it may be an unpleasant experience im at a loss to see how the company can intervene in something that is not happening in the work place. Where do they draw the line? if you are playing a sport angainst a co worker and you both get into a fight should that be reported? if your coworker chats up your wife /girlfriend and it kicks off in the pub should that be reported?

If its something thats carrying on outside the workplace i can well understand the employer not wanting to get involved. In this instance the employer might call both in and request that they patch things up , but i feel thats as far as they can go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

It's a work issue.

Did you know that if you are socialising with fellow employees outside of work you can still be sued for harassment/bullying in the work place for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP - most the people on here DO NOT know what they are talking about, because they have never experienced it/been through it.

Your best bet is to ask a manager, in confidence, their advice, and/or HR.

The OP does not have to put up with being upset and feeling uncomfortable in work. The people in this country have alot to answer for when it comes to harassment issues-the usual advice of "brush it under the carpet" or "ignore it and it will go away" or "ah shur its nothing" works - until it happens to YOU.

Not if it happens outside the company. You can personally sue but it has nothing to do with the work place unless its done from the company P.C etc.
    All this person needs to do is block and report the offender to facebook and not go searching for offending comments on other people's pages about them. If its being done in the workplace then take it up with the management.

Its simple, its not bullying or harassment in the workplace if it didnt happen in the workplace.

Not if it happens outside the company. You can personally sue but it has nothing to do with the work place unless its done from the company P.C etc.
    All this person needs to do is block and report the offender to facebook and not go searching for offending comments on other people's pages about them. If its being done in the workplace then take it up with the management.

Its simple, its not bullying or harassment in the workplace if it didnt happen in the workplace.

Where did you get that from. That is quite the erroneous statement to make, have you anything to back that up or are you just assuming? By that logic, I could walk out the front doors of my work with a colleague and once a few metres away, attack him with a crowbar and nothing can be done in my workplace (once I'm not locked up for assault, of course:rolleyes:) and my colleague would still have to work with me! I'm afraid that not how the world works.

As an insurance broker dealing with cases like these monthly, I'm 100% positive that this is most certinaly a employment practices liability issue and would fall under bullying at the workplace.
    Read up first! sample link . There are many more articles on this (i've read many industry articles on this in the last few years warning of the potential exposure an employer has from such incidents), but google throws this up quick.

In short OP, despite what others may say, this is without question a work issue, but only if you want it to be.

Best of luck

Funkyjebus, Im not doubting what you are saying, im just wondering where do you draw the line ? at what point does incidents that happen outside work become a work issue.

What can in the (OPs case) the company do to the other party without impinging on their right. If hes sitting in his own home leaving comments on pages what can the company do?

Is it ant different to him sitting in a bar near the op making snide comments, if my company told me how to behave on my own time i wouldnt be too happy about it.

dont get me wrong what the happening to the op is wrong, its cheap shots, cowardly and nasty but aside from having a word with him i fail to see how disciplinary proceedings against him wouldnt backfire on the company.

To me it seems as if the company is caught between the devil and the deep blue sea here.

Shelflife wrote: »
    Funkyjebus, Im not doubting what you are saying, im just wondering where do you draw the line ? at what point does incidents that happen outside work become a work issue.

What can in the (OPs case) the company do to the other party without impinging on their right. If hes sitting in his own home leaving comments on pages what can the company do?

Is it ant different to him sitting in a bar near the op making snide comments, if my company told me how to behave on my own time i wouldnt be too happy about it.

dont get me wrong what the happening to the op is wrong, its cheap shots, cowardly and nasty but aside from having a word with him i fail to see how disciplinary proceedings against him wouldnt backfire on the company.

To me it seems as if the company is caught between the devil and the deep blue sea here.

Impinging whose rights, the harassing employee or the employer? The line is not difinitive, and would be dealt with on a case by case situation. Reading the OP leads me to believe that an employer could not ignore this, especially given the fact that haressment is immortalised on a website that colleagues can view at any time. That fact alone makes it a work issue in my eyes. Its a unfortunate fact, but with the rise in socal networking, past conventions dont work and new laws must be inacted. Before social networking, there was no equivalent to whats happened to the op, and the laws are still catching up.

From citizens information:
    Harassment can be by a fellow worker, your boss or someone in a superior position, a client, a customer or any other business contact. Harassment can take place at work or on a training course, on a work trip, at a work social event or any other occasion connected with your job.
    Under the Acts, your employer may also be held responsible if harassment takes place completely outside the course of your employment but you are treated differently at work because of your rejection or acceptance of the harassment. If you bring a claim against your employer for harassment, your employer may have a defence by showing that he or she took reasonably practical steps to prevent the harassment from happening or to prevent you from being treated differently at work. If you bring a claim under the Acts, you cannot then be subjected to victimisation at work.

Hi Funkyjebus, i was referring to the harassers rights being impinged.

It seems to me in this instance the op is being bullied and demands protection , but the harrasser could say that his privacy and freedom of speech are been denied and what he does in the privacy of his own home is his own business.

To me its hard for the company to get this right , once you start warning people in regard to their actions away from the work place you are on dangerous ground.

Hi Funkyjebus, i was referring to the harassers rights being impinged.

It seems to me in this instance the op is being bullied and demands protection , but the harrasser could say that his privacy and freedom of speech are been denied and what he does in the privacy of his own home is his own business.

To me its hard for the company to get this right , once you start warning people in regard to their actions away from the work place you are on dangerous ground.

I admit, its dangerous ground, but action must be taken. Either way the employer is in a tricky situation. But as an employer, I know which side I'd want to be on if it ever got out to the public or went to court.

In addition, freedom of speach does not include defermation, slander or libel and I would find it hard (although of course I don't know) to believe that the bullying occured without this. Everyone is liable for what the say, especially if it defames an individual.

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Where did you get that from. That is quite the erroneous statement to make, have you anything to back that up or are you just assuming? By that logic, I could walk out the front doors of my work with a colleague and once a few metres away, attack him with a crowbar and nothing can be done in my workplace (once I'm not locked up for assault, of course:rolleyes:) and my colleague would still have to work with me! I'm afraid that not how the world works.

As an insurance broker dealing with cases like these monthly, I'm 100% positive that this is most certinaly a employment practices liability issue and would fall under bullying at the workplace.
    Read up first! sample link . There are many more articles on this (i've read many industry articles on this in the last few years warning of the potential exposure an employer has from such incidents), but google throws this up quick.

In short OP, despite what others may say, this is without question a work issue, but only if you want it to be.

Best of luck

Nonsense. If you have an agrument with a co worker in a bar in Spain whilst on holidays , is it bullying in the workplace? No its not , there is a lot of over reaction on here to an issue that can be cut in the bud by a few simple measures which ive already mentioned.
    If it happens in the workplace in worktime then you have a case. Dont talk to me about insurance brokers as all they are after is the money anyway possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Bullying at work is illegal and the employer has a duty to stop it

Waiting till you pass a premises line to start your bullying does not protect either the employer or the bully from consequences. This would be an "absurdity" and seen as a means to circumvent the law.

Make an official complaint to HR keeping a record of everything you share with HR and copies of any documents you share with HR. This should get them moving ,if it does not contact either a solicitor or the citizens advice bureau on options to take it further.

Regarding the topic of bullying -Bullying is very serious and can be really tough to be on the receiving end of it.
    If you have not experienced or witnessed bullying then you do not understand the question being posed.Comments like shrug it of or man up just expose your ignorance on the topic.
    If somebody posted looking for advice on how to fix the engine of a car and you did not know what end of the car housed the engine ,you would not post "advice" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Nonsense. If you have an agrument with a co worker in a bar in Spain whilst on holidays , is it bullying in the workplace? No its not , there is a lot of over reaction on here to an issue that can be cut in the bud by a few simple measures which ive already mentioned.
    If it happens in the workplace in worktime then you have a case. Dont talk to me about insurance brokers as all they are after is the money anyway possible.

If a co-worker was bullying you (requires more than one incident) then regardless of the location if brought to the employers attention they have a duty to try and protect there employee.

A one of argument outside work would not be bullying but if it was work related it could be considered harassment.

Oh dear.

An arguement no, of course not, that indicates it was two sided and a one off event:rolleyes:. If however you were bullied while in spain by a colleague and it in any way could be deemed to affect the bullied employee at work, then yes unequivocally it would be deemed to fall under bullying at the workplace under Irish law.

In addition, I have no interest in talking to you about Insurance brokers, and your opinions (as misguided as they may be) regarding same, I was mearly relating where I get my basis of information and experience in these matters from. What experience do you have that might give credibility to your statements.

Sure, it's true it could be nipped in the bud and not made a work matter, however the fact remains (and yes it is a fact, refer to the Employment Equality Act if you are still in any doubt) that the employee has a right to make it a work matter and the employers have a duty to investigate and discipline the offending employee is deemed necessary.

I'm not looking for an arguement here, but the OP dererves to know their rights and stating that they don't have a avenue to go down with the employer is highly erroneous and will only lead to confusion. If you have any evidence to support your 'theory' then I'd love to see it.

Of course theres nothing to stop the OP going to HR and asking for help. But as the actions are happening outside of the work place and if the other party is behaving professionally at work i cant see what the HR can do apart from asking them to cop on and stop.

I just feel that this would be a reasonable response from HR as i cant see how they could discipline them.

Obviously we don't know the full story, but the above states the abuse has splilled over to the work enviornment. Therefore work matter.

But as Shelflife has said, it should be brought to your HR dept and depending on the level or severity of the bullying, a simple cop might be all that required to put this in the past.

I'd hope that we can all agree that it should at least be discussed with HR confidentially (if the OP warrants!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

It should, but it will most likely be totally uncharted territory for HR (and may be why their response hasn't been as helpful as the OP might like to date). It is still very much a grey area. To the OP I'd advise that you make crystal clear to HR that this is continuing at work and is affecting that environment in which they expect you to perform your duties. For the less pro-active HR folks that might be all they need to hear from you.

If a co-worker was bullying you (requires more than one incident) then regardless of the location if brought to the employers attention they have a duty to try and protect there employee.

A one of argument outside work would not be bullying but if it was work related it could be considered harassment.

I agree but in this case its just a case of the OP taking offence at a few comments posted on facebook which could be dealt with easy enough without bringing the employer into it when the comments wasnt made in work or from a work computer. Im against bullying in any form but in this case i read it as an over reaction and especially some of the replies on here.

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Oh dear.

An arguement no, of course not, that indicates it was two sided and a one off event:rolleyes:. If however you were bullied while in spain by a colleague and it in any way could be deemed to affect the bullied employee at work, then yes unequivocally it would be deemed to fall under bullying at the workplace under Irish law.

In addition, I have no interest in talking to you about Insurance brokers, and your opinions (as misguided as they may be) regarding same, I was mearly relating where I get my basis of information and experience in these matters from. What experience do you have that might give credibility to your statements.

Sure, it's true it could be nipped in the bud and not made a work matter, however the fact remains (and yes it is a fact, refer to the Employment Equality Act if you are still in any doubt) that the employee has a right to make it a work matter and the employers have a duty to investigate and discipline the offending employee is deemed necessary.

I'm not looking for an arguement here, but the OP dererves to know their rights and stating that they don't have a avenue to go down with the employer is highly erroneous and will only lead to confusion. If you have any evidence to support your 'theory' then I'd love to see it.

I didnt say they dont have an avenue to go down with the employer and my opinons are far from misguided but based on common sense . Just because you work in insurance doesnt qualify you anymore than anyone else on the matter. What if i worked with you and you got abusive with me on here? there isnt hope that id bring it to the attention of the employer as in my opinion it has nothing to do with them. If you kept at it in work then i may mention it and in evidence mention that you started it on here.
    Going by the first post its the OP that took it to the workplace and made it worse. If he/she hadnt confronted the person then it may not have spreaded to the workplace and like you said, we dont know the full story and if the comments was made to bully or just ment to be light hearted fun which the OP took offence at. We also dont know what the OP has said via facebook or when confronting the person and his/her comments could be equally insulting or abusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

I agree but in this case its just a case of the OP taking offence at a few comments posted on facebook which could be dealt with easy enough without bringing the employer into it when the comments wasnt made in work or from a work computer. Im against bullying in any form but in this case i read it as an over reaction and especially some of the replies on here.

I would see your opinion as an under reaction, and please never get involved in the HR field.

HR at least have a duty to investigate.

What you deem as acceptable "banter" or "just comments" from a colleague, others do not. And vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Reporting him on Facebook would probably garner a quicker response.

Yes - but it doesnt change the fact that he has to work with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

dellas1979 wrote: »
    Yes - but it doesnt change the fact that he has to work with him.

Ofcourse not.
    The Facebook problem should be reported to the Facebook authorities.
    Much the way the workplace harassment was reported to the workplace authorities.

Its called "harassment" not "workplace harassment".

Harassment by a colleague is not limited to "being in the place of work".

Its called "harassment" not "workplace harassment".

Harassment by a colleague is not limited to "being in the place of work".

Yes but if a work colleague harasses you outside of work its a civil or garda problem, not a HR problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Spadina wrote: »
    Blocking him won't make a difference, as that won't stop him leaving comments on mutual friends' walls, only the OP's.

It will, he won't see the OP's posts or comments no matter whos wall their on, and vice versa.
    Blocked that is, not to be confused with just removing as a friend.

Yes but if a work colleague harasses you outside of work its a civil or garda problem, not a HR problem.

No it is not!

Hahahaha! I cant believe some of the stuff on here! I can see why you persist in saying/thinking that, but it is definitley not the case.

This is why most of the country go around with knots in their stomach for the crap they put up with at work or from colleagues, because they believe this tripe above.

You do not, under any circumstance, have to put up with a colleague harassing you, in anyway shape or form.

Now, lets say this "colleague" is using their PC at work to do some of this harassing, would that then mean "work place harassment"? How far are people going to go to justify a workmate causing another problems.

I would see your opinion as an under reaction, and please never get involved in the HR field.

HR at least have a duty to investigate.

What you deem as acceptable "banter" or "just comments" from a colleague, others do not. And vice versa.

Its a better and more reasonable reaction based on the limited and one sided info given in the OP than some of the fly off the handle responses on here.
    The only time from whats in OP that their supervisor/manager etc could get involved is when the OP took the issue into the workplace and an argument blew up and both parties should be talked to about their behaviour resulting from the argument.
    Its not an issue for HR.
    I agree on whats acceptable banter to some is not to others but from the OP we dont really know how severe the comments was and in what context they was made in. We also dont know how and in what manner the OP approached the other person involved .
    To me its a facebook thing and not worth the over reaction and getting your job involved when the comments had nothing to do with them.
    Was the comments made on a personal friends wall or a "facebook friend" wall? If its a personal friend then they could also block this person and depending on the seriousness of the comments facebook would remove the person's account. Its a case of dealing with your own issues instead of involving others who had nothing to do with it in the first place.

I agree it's a complicated issue, but the issue started in work and has over spilled on to a social network. I believe, as do many of my work mates, that because it started in work makes it a work related incident! It just hasn't been a single incident, it's been serveral and i have been able copy the comments and produce them to HR. The abuse i recieved in work was verbal and lack of witnesses willing to come forward makes it hard for me to prove there was any. So the FB comments i have copied should be proof!

I have spoken to HR. I rised the issue of bullying. I told them everything. I expressed my disappointment and lack of help i recieved from team managers!

It's being treated seriously and as a work issue!

And thanks once again to everyones help!

No it is not!

Hahahaha! I cant believe some of the stuff on here! I can see why you persist in saying/thinking that, but it is definitley not the case.

This is why most of the country go around with knots in their stomach for the crap they put up with at work or from colleagues, because they believe this tripe above.

You do not, under any circumstance, have to put up with a colleague harassing you, in anyway shape or form.

Now, lets say this "colleague" is using their PC at work to do some of this harassing, would that then mean "work place harassment"? How far are people going to go to justify a workmate causing another problems.

Dellas at no point did i try to justify a workmate causing another problems and at no point did i condone the colleagues actions, my point was if you bothered to read the whole thread was that its a grey area as to how HR handle a problem between workmates that happens outside the work place.

the difficulties lie in trying to discipline a worker for actions that are outside and unconnected with the workplace, its a tightrope for HR to walk as they must ensure that the OP is protected and that the work mates rights are not affected. (im not saying that the work mate has the right to bully anyone)

as it happens the OP has clarified that the problem started in work and spilled over, making the line a bit clearer for the HR to act. Hopefully it will result in some peace for the OP

I agree it's a complicated issue, but the issue started in work and has over spilled on to a social network. I believe, as do many of my work mates, that because it started in work makes it a work related incident! It just hasn't been a single incident, it's been serveral and i have been able copy the comments and produce them to HR. The abuse i recieved in work was verbal and lack of witnesses willing to come forward makes it hard for me to prove there was any. So the FB comments i have copied should be proof!

I have spoken to HR. I rised the issue of bullying. I told them everything. I expressed my disappointment and lack of help i recieved from team managers!

It's being treated seriously and as a work issue!

And thanks once again to everyones help!

Why didnt you say this in your opening post as it would have saved a good few replies? Its not complicated at all. From your OP and this post i get the impression that you are not telling us the full story but thats my opinion only .
    Is it one sided? do you give it back? Have you past issues with this person? if its as serious as you make it out to be, why arent the witnesses coming forward?
    The facebook comments are just for facebook and your boss cant act on them as the other person could say they didnt post them and their account was hacked which happens.
    If it concerns you this much then report it up the line ( like you have ) and if it still continues and nothing being done then take the legal route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

If your child was been harrassed on facebook by classmates and then received further abuse in school when they tried to confront the bully what would the situation be then??

According to many people here you would tell your child not to report it to a teacher/principal because facebook is outside of school and basically just put up with the stress and anxiety and just go to class with the person everyday. I dont see how this is any different.

No matter how old you are bullying is still very distressful and should not be tolerated under any circumstances. It should definitely be reported.

Sorry you've said many time you've reported it, but yeah keep at them this is definitely a work issue

Its not school is it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Its not school is it .

I fail to see your point.
    But its the exact attitude many other people here are talking about...basically just get over it, sometimes its not that simple and can be distressing for the individual involved and take over their life completely. Schools take bullying very seriously and kids are warned and taught about it all through their school years. My point is at what age in a persons life does being bullied become acceptable and they just have to put up with it?

Anti bullying policies are in schools.
    Anti bullying policies are in the workplace.
    Its all the same no matter at what stage in life it happens.

Totally diffrent. we have only one side of the story here and we are talking about two grown adults who should know better and can deal with it better. Who said "Just get over it " ?

Why didnt you say this in your opening post as it would have saved a good few replies? Its not complicated at all. From your OP and this post i get the impression that you are not telling us the full story but thats my opinion only .
    Is it one sided? do you give it back? Have you past issues with this person? if its as serious as you make it out to be, why arent the witnesses coming forward?
    The facebook comments are just for facebook and your boss cant act on them as the other person could say they didnt post them and their account was hacked which happens.
    If it concerns you this much then report it up the line ( like you have ) and if it still continues and nothing being done then take the legal route.

In all fairness, its up to the OP as to what details they disclose and feel pertinent and of course they aren't telling they full story, that much is very obvious from the OP.

In additon the Op came on looking for advice based on the facts provided and is not looking for questions, which for some reason you are asking and is not really your business.

The Op's boss can act on the facebook comments, again may I ask where you are getting your facts from?

There is no need for a legal route until the Op's employer investigates. What legal route do you mean, sue the employer, the employee, now I think thats a little over the top and hypocritical considering you said in your earlier post the bringing to HR was an over reaction:confused:?? I would however mention it in passing the next time you are talking to HR if you feel they are not acting strongly enough.

Totally diffrent. we have only one side of the story here and we are talking about two grown adults who should know better and can deal with it better. Who said "Just get over it " ?

I think you've missed the point of the OP, they are not looking for you to referee or opnion on who is right or wrong (as we don't have enough info) but are looking for advise on a course of action. We do not need the other side of the story to advise the Op of their employment rights.

Thats quite the assumption that the Op should know better, how do you make this out and how do you know there is / was a better way to deal with it given we don't know, by your own admission, the full story.