Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't like the way they get lifted up on shoulders when they get elected.

• 27-02-2011 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

And getting bounced up and down.

Very undignified I think.

And don't get me started on the shinners singing ole ole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Aaa here, there are bigger things to gripe about in all honesty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Lucifer_666

Lol I did laugh at Micheal Martin earlier in Bronco mode .....I was just waiting for someone to shout "ride it cowboy" lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Lighten up :)

They all do it, independents and all parties

I did laugh when they almost dropped Olivia Mitchell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

amdublin wrote: »

Its a great irish tradition for rural TDs to be hosted on the shoulders of red faced farmers while waving their fists around like apes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭mark_79

Pretty stomach turning to be honest. Exactly what you'd expect for the gormless backslapping whores surrounding these prats.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I was just watching that, thinking "I hate them all".

Guess I'm not one for public displays of emotion. I thought a satisfied smile, maybe a fist pump. These guys and girls are basically dry humping each other.

Bambi wrote: »
    Its a great irish tradition for rural TDs to be hosted on the shoulders of red faced farmers while waving their fists around like apes

Thank lord Jackie Rea didn't run again then. Lifting him would have put a few in hospital as they collapsed trying to lump him up and left a few more medical bills in his falling wake! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

MarkR wrote: »
    I was just watching that, thinking "I hate them all".

Guess I'm not one for public displays of emotion. I thought a satisfied smile, maybe a fist pump. These guys and girls are basically dry humping each other.

Yeah it's disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

How about sinn fein's use of the flag? It seems like every sf candidate has a tricolour in their pocket ready to unfurl if they get elected.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    How about sinn fein's use of the flag? It seems like every sf candidate has a tricolour in their pocket ready to unfurl if they get elected.
    Could be worse!

Could be a FG member getting elected and then waving a white flag of "We surrender" to Europe?

As long as it's not balaclavas I think we'll be okay ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I'm not a huge fan of the tricolour being waved around in some puerile display of 19th century nationalism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I like the shoulder-hoisting. There, I said it. :)

Its so they dont forget which country they're in...

Nah, Lucinda C was hoisted up in Dublin South East, not just a rural thing. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭emo72

yea i hate that shoite. really reminds me of that gombeen crap.

"Yeehaa, raise em up.....Thats our boy!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

They are celebrating because they won, hardly a crime.

I like the shoulder-hoisting. There, I said it. :)

Ah jaysis. You poor craythur.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    They are celebrating because they won, hardly a crime.

Yeah but bloody hell surely there is a more dignified way to do that.

Ah jaysis. You poor craythur.

Noice. ;) Credit where it's due! :P

Is the Twitter Machine still broken? Think I might have to get on to Vinny B about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

Health and safety should be down on it like a ton of bricks.

Lifting people in a crowd is dangerous. Go to any gig and see how long you would be allowed do it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 DecQ

Yeah, the hoisting is bad alright.....bit of a GAA tradition.
    Wait'll they start doing the soccer celebrations.....sucking thumbs, rocking imaginary babies, belly dives(there's a thought given the dimensions of some of these lads) or pulling off their jackets and shirts and racing around the count centre swinging them over their heads(yellow card ref ffs).:):):)

hawkhead wrote: »

Lifting people in a crowd is dangerous. Go to any gig and see how long you would be allowed do it for.

O' Lord! This a classic example of political correctness gone too far.
    Can't smoke, can't drink, can't make too much noise, can't celebrate for a few seconds in peaceful jovial activity.
    What next! Jeeze!

Sad.

i suppose its a "throwback" to a bygone era. except its not bygone.

its one of the little things and traditions that as an outsider like me, alienates me.

yea i really understand the stress and tension being released, go for it lads. but i still you yous look like a bunch of ****ing neanderthals.

i was in o connell street walking by a bunch of neanderthals, when they hoisted brian lenihan senior up, and they ran around in circles outsidde the gpo. its when he got shafted on the presidency. really looked pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

Biggins wrote: »
    Can't smoke, can't drink, can't make too much noise, can't celebrate for a few seconds in peaceful jovial activity.
    What next! Jeeze!

Sad.

LOL:D

maybe they should just moonwalk instead...

What next! Jeeze!

Sad.

I was being somewhat sarcastic. Maybe I should have added a smiley to help.

Need a ladder to get off that high horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

Aaa here, there are bigger things to gripe about in all honesty!

great been irish :rolleyes:...moan moan, I'd say most people's Brains on our sour little island would drop out if they have a frown to keep them in....

wurzlitzer wrote: »
    LOL:D

maybe they should just moonwalk instead...
    That would be a thriller!

...Gets coat... :o
    I was being somewhat sarcastic. Maybe I should have added a smiley to help.

Need a ladder to get of that high horse?
    Na, I'm already on the ground after falling when someone lifted me from celebrating the destruction of Fianna Fail! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭mark_79

Hoist them up by all means but don't forget to throw them through the window or out into the nearest pond.

In front of an oncoming bus would be preferable however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I think you're going to the wrong gigs lad. If the most dangerous thing happening is a fella being lifted in the air there's no point in going

DecQ wrote: »
    Yeah, the hoisting is bad alright.....bit of a GAA tradition.
    Wait'll they start doing the soccer celebrations.....sucking thumbs, rocking imaginary babies, belly dives(there's a thought given the dimensions of some of these lads) or pulling off their jackets and shirts and racing around the count centre swinging them over their heads(yellow card ref ffs).:):):)

Just watched the footage of Ming Flanagan's election. His supporters started doing football chants! :D

I'd like to have gone to his post election party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Best one I seen was back in 07 when Martin mensergh was lifted up, one of those "have you just pushed you finger up my ass moment".
    I did feel sorry when they lifted up poor Olivia Mitchell "don't drop her what ever you do " she could end up in cappagh for 6 months

gcgirl wrote: »
    Best one I seen was back in 07 when Martin mensergh was lifted up, one of those "have you just pushed you finger up my ass moment".
    I did feel sorry when they lifted up poor Olivia Mitchell "don't drop her what ever you do " she could end up in cappagh for 6 months

Just imagine if she did fall and landed on the wrong thing positioned below her... she could have ended up in Labour! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 DecQ

I'd like to have gone to his post election party

That'd be good alright. Air filled with combination of weed and turf fumes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i can understand it, when its an election, but it was really wierd to see it at the lisbon referendum results, why would ya? it makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Thank lord Jackie Rea didn't run again then. Lifting him would have put a few in hospital as they collapsed trying to lump him up and left a few more medical bills in his falling wake! :pac:

So thats what he wanted that hospital for...

LOL very good! :pac:

People in Clare really are into lads nuts hopping off their shoulders.

And the rodeo continues ....I do wish one falls flat on their face now :pac:

I bet they dont do it at the RDS

Naa, they bring in the horses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

People in Clare really are into lads nuts hopping off their shoulders.

You're lucking that they're not firing pistols in the air and waving their hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

You're lucking that they're not firing pistols in the air and waving their hats.

*BANG**BANG* Yeeehawww*ehem* Carry on now, nothing to see here...

Just because they don't air it doesn't mean its not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

does it not show that they're proud to be elected to represent their country??

They are barn dancing now in Kerry South:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

dont know about this election but FG supporters used to sing , oh what a beautifull morning after someone got elected , made them sound like a bunch of old ladies at a knitting circle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

and no deputy epitomises this better than michael ring of FG

irishh_bob wrote: »
    dont know about this election but FG supporters used to sing , oh what a beautifull morning after someone got elected , made them sound like a bunch of old ladies at a knitting circle

ha ha...sounds like a Coen brothers movie. real offbeat stuff:D