Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Adams potential leader of the opposition

• 26-02-2011 4:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭

Wow, it is estimated at the moment SF will have 16 seats, FF 17... What a difference a few short years can make :eek: That said, if FF go down one seat and SF up one I don't know about Adams leading the opposition... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

He should be in jail- not the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Can't see SF getting more than 13-14 seats and FF will get 20-22 IMO.

TV3 poll is abit optimistic for FG, SF and negative for FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Why?

At least he didn't commit economic treason, sell out nation to the EU / IMF and hold every man woman and child in this country to financial ransom for decades to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Why?

At least he didn't commit economic treason, sell out nation to the EU / IMF and hold every man woman and child in this country to financial ransom for decades to come.

Nope, he was holding ever man woman and child for ransom in a different country while operating out of this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

One letter in the difference....... Hmmm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Is Adams even guarateed to win a seat in Louth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I wouldn't rule out Eamon Gilmore yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

well he got my number one, good things to come:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

People who think like that, should be in jail :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Is Adams even guarateed to win a seat in Louth?

Not only is he likely to get elected, I fear he's going to top the poll and get elected first count. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Really,tell us why exactly that should be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Why?

I'm sure the US State Department could show you three hundred trillion reasons why he should be in Jail. However, time moves on. He could well be a decent politician for the farmers and barstool, beery eyed, Celtic fans in Louth.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Shouldn't those in the top echelons of the banks be joining him too? If Gerry Adams has committed a crime in this country, then he'd be charged with it. He hasn't, and he's entitled to be in the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I know that SF have somewhat of a dodgey past steeped in blood but so do FF and FG, only difference is that SF's is more recent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

shampon wrote: »
    I'm sure the US State Department could show you three hundred trillion reasons why he should be in Jail. However, time moves on. He could well be a decent politician for the farmers and barstool, beery eyed, Celtic fans in Louth.

This isn't the US. I'm sure the authorities in Iran could find three hundred trillion reasons to arrest him too. Arbitrary.

Good luck to him. Whoever is still banging on about the IRA needs to get their head out of their arse and realise that this is 2011, not 1971. Fianna Fail have nearly destroyed the country and FG will most likely finish the job. A strong Sinn Fein in Dail is very good for our democracy.

Not only is he likely to get elected, I fear he's going to top the poll and get elected first count. :mad:

So another 'Cult of Personality' type leader in the Dail. Just what we need at a time when practicalities are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

for what?did i miss something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    This isn't the US. I'm sure the authorities in Iran could find three hundred trillion reasons to arrest him too. Arbitrary.

Good luck to him. Whoever is still banging on about the IRA needs to get their head out of their arse and realise that this is 2011, not 1971. Fianna Fail have nearly destroyed the country and FG will most likely finish the job. A strong Sinn Fein in Dail is very good for our democracy.

Ah sure the 'RA and their Shinner cronies are only responsible for the deaths of thousands of innocent people.

A great bunch of lads really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Nope, he was holding ever man woman and child for ransom in a different country while operating out of this one.
    You could say the same about the Brits, they were operating out of their country while holding men woman and children to ransom in this country.

Funny, didn't see any campaign literature or posters for "the Brits".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

shampon wrote: »

and the americans have a say how?????sure sinn fein get millions from the irish community in america.

and if he should be in jail so should the prime minister who ordered the troops onto the streets of derry.......oh but we wont go there because its nothing to do with sinn fein and the I.R.A killing people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Jesus a lot of confused people around here,
    He stood for election in belfast he got elected,
    he stood for election in louth and he is getting elected, the people are having there say ,when he dident stand for elections people were still then giving out about him and his party, let the people decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

More than 500 people commited suicide last year and doctors have linked this to the recession,which was caused by bad FF decisions,so who has blood on their hands i ask????????Go Jerry Go,its gona be a lovely year ahead :D

sure id vote for paisley just for ****s and giggles:D

So another 'Cult of Personality' type leader in the Dail. Just what we need at a time when practicalities are needed.

The only positive in this development is the release of the people of West Belfast from the clutches of 'representation' in Westminster by this non-attending individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

All the shinners are here today, defending their leader. Anyone who asked why Adams should be in jail needs to read some recent Irish history or look who carried lots of terrorist coffins.

Economic treason is bad- murder is worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

All the shinners are here today, defending their leader. Anyone who asked why Adams should be in jail needs to read some recent Irish history or look who carried lots of terrorist coffins.

Believe me, a lot more lives were saved by having Adams in office in NI. Better for the IRA to have a voice in Parliament then having to bomb or shoot to make their point.
    sure id vote for paisley just for ****s and giggles

In Tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

sure id vote for paisley just for ****s and giggles:D

He wouldn't have taken any shyte off the banks, in fairness to the kunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

And the Blueshirts were some kinds of dancing group or a Charity? I'm sure, any party has got somebody in it's ranks, whose ancestors have blood on their hands, not only Sinn Fein.

The only positive in this development is the release of the people of West Belfast from the clutches of 'representation' in Westminster by this non-attending individual.

Adams was voted for. If the people of West Belfast were concerned with that, they would surely know who not to vote for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Topping the poll, he must be doing something right, the people have spoken here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

m@cc@ wrote: »
    In Tallaght?

He might welcome the challenge of heathens to convert.....

Leaving aside the obvious murky past, what does Adams offer that Ahern didn't?

Empty fcking rhetoric. Soundbites on an economy he knows very little about.

Anyone who is pro-Adams please enlighten me. Why should I have voted for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

What happens when the economic treason has a bodycount? This one has. We've got depressions, suicides, a soon to be rising crime rate?

I hate relative morality. Its no way to come to a decision. Its a blame game. Decide what's right, not which is less bad, and JUST DEMAND IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

If you think gerry adams should be in jail then its you who should read the history books.

In Tallaght?

you didnt see me trolling there :(

Adams was voted for. If the people of West Belfast were concerned with that, they would surely know who not to vote for.

Trust me, from the Shankill to Andytown, there are many thousands of people delighted to see the back of him for good.

you didnt see me trolling there :(

Neither did anyone else by the looks of it. Poor effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Leaving aside the obvious murky past, what does Adams offer that Ahern didn't?

Empty fcking rhetoric. Soundbites on an economy he knows very little about.

Anyone who is pro-Adams please enlighten me. Why should I have voted for him?

I gave Sinn Fein a second preference vote for the following reasons;

1. I voted Labour No.1 preference & presumed that they would exceed the quota.

2. I saw no reason why I should vote FG. They are almost guaranteed to be the next majority party, most likely sharing government with Labour.

3. Therefor, I would prefer to see Sinn Fein as the main opposition, rather than FF, who quite frankly, if I never saw them again, I would be happy.

Now, I am not a huge fan of SF, and I'm not convinced by any of the parties, but I voted tactically as I didn't want FG to have a majority, FF to be in opposition and finally, none of the independents in my constituency are any good, bar one & he had zero chance of getting elected, so I only gave him my 4th preference.

Basically, politics & these parties are all imperfect, so I voted in what I considered to be the best way I could with a bad lot.

Trust me, from the Shankill to Andytown, there are many thousands of people delighted to see the back of him for good.

That may well be true but he still got 71% of the vote less than a year ago.

Neither did anyone else by the looks of it. Poor effort.

agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Didn't think the Irish people would be as naive as that but evil has a way of convincing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

All this tells me is that It seem's there is large swathe of the population are quite willing to stick there head in the sand, not face facts and like being told that everything is grand. The consequences of this are chilling to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I'm dreading listening to his drone for the next few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Didn't think the Irish people would be as naive as that but evil has a way of convincing people.

Well said keith, and you'd know more than most, being the most vocal supporter of the most xenobhobic, biggoted, hatefilled party in the UK outside of UKIP.

Well done on the irony by the way.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Well said keith, and you'd know more than most, being the most vocal supporter of the most xenobhobic, biggoted, hatefilled party in the UK outside of UKIP.

Well done on the irony by the way.
    Who is that?

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Topping the poll, he must be doing something right, the people have spoken here.

FF topped the polls in 2007. Must have been doing something right.

Who is that?

The DUP, I'd imagine.

Nodin wrote: »
    The DUP, I'd imagine.
    Nope. Never voted for the DUP.

Who then?