Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Wedding Invitation

• 25-02-2011 12:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Delighted to see that Sir Brian O'Driscoll and Lady Amy of Huberman have been invited to the royal wedding in April.

Not only will they be excellent representatives of the people of Leinstershire, but of all the other forelock tugging west brits throughout the island (Munstershire included!).

They must have become friends when Brian captained the British Lions a few years back.

Another example of how this posh boys sport will never represent the ordinary people of Ireland.

Any chance our football captain (from Tallaght!!!) would get an invite?
    He does live in London after all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Delighted to see that Sir Brian O'Driscoll and Lady Amy of Huberman have been invited to the royal wedding in April.

Not only will they be excellent representatives of the people of Leinstershire, but of all the other forelock tugging west brits throughout the island (Munstershire included!).

They must have become friends when Brian captained the British Lions a few years back.

Another example of how this posh boys sport will never represent the ordinary people of Ireland.

Who gives a hairy ass f*ck.

Besides, if Leinstershire (as you put it) beat leicester they wont be going.

Another thing, If I were a member of a royal family I wouldn't let Robbie Keane walk my dog, let alone invite him to my wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Get a life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You mean soccer? No, coz it's a nax game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Still waiting on my invite.

Wonder how much I should put in the card!

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Rugby is a retards games. The only sport in the world you get applauded for kicking the ball off the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

By jove Holmes ,I think your onto something
    Another example of a **** post more like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

MCMLXXV wrote: »

I think that was part of his point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

CKWPORT wrote: »

the price of a rugby ball...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

a rugby ball...

Ok how many of them?

Got in before your edit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

orourkeda wrote: »
    Who gives a hairy ass f*ck.

Besides, if Leinstershire (as you put it) beat leicester they wont be going.

Another thing, If I were a member of a royal family I wouldn't let Robbie Keane walk my dog, let alone invite him to my wedding.

There's no chance of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Rugby is a retards games. The only sport in the world you get applauded for kicking the ball off the pitch.
    American football also.

testicle wrote: »
    There's no chance of that.

No, it's not as if Leinster have ever beaten Leicester before is it?

CKWPORT wrote: »

A german dictionary.

No, it's not as if Leinster have ever beaten Leicester before is it?

Can someone explain the whole "entire province" vs "large town" aspect of this game to me. Doesn't seem quite fair somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Who is Amy Huberman? And what/who has she done to merit an invite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

bonerm wrote: »
    Can someone explain the whole "entire province" vs "large town" aspect of this game to me. Doesn't seem quite fair somehow.

its like when China play Qatar in soccer.

ie it doesn't matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

I think monarchies are bloated, arcane institutions but if I got an invite to that wedding I'd have no problem going - I'm sure it will be a pretty epic affair.

Leinster play Leicester in the Heineken cup quarter final.

Should Leinster win that game, the semi final game will clash with the royal wedding meaning Brian O'Driscoll would be unable to attend

jester77 wrote: »
    Who is Amy Huberman? And what/who has she done to merit an invite?

Its convention for invitees to bring their spouse\partner along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Its convention for invitees to bring their spouse\partner along

So Brian O'Driscoll is her partner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

I know -what are those morons thinking being in peak physical condition, representing their country and getting paid lots of money to do it?! -it's almost like they don't even know Boards exists!!

Also um, it's 'game' (singular..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,357 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think it is only fitting that one of Ireland's greatest EVER sports stars is getting an invite. BOD is a legend, a superstar on the world of rugby, he has got to be there.

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    I know -what are those morons thinking being in peak physical condition, representing their country and getting paid lots of money to do it?! -it's almost like they don't even know Boards exists!!

Which has nothing to do with Rugby being the ridiculous game it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Oooohhhh, someone's jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I'd go. Have a lock in with Harry and Philip. Screw the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ice cream cones with a big chip and a flake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I'm not a monarchist but I find William the man quite a likeable fella.

O'Driscoll also strikes me as a modest, dedicated and well adjusted guy.

Probably why they get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I'm not a monarchist but I find William the man quite a likeable fella.

O'Driscoll also strikes me as a modest, dedicated and well adjusted guy.

Probably why they get on.

^^^

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Mick McCarthy made an international career out of kicking the ball off the pitch into Row Z, he got quite a lot of applause for it too... ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    Mick McCarthy made an international career out of kicking the ball off the pitch into Row Z, he got quite a lot of applause for it too... ;)

Correction. He made a career out of kicking opposition strikers off the pitch into Row Z.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

This invitation is indicative of the elitist nature of Rugby in Ireland.
    Rugby is a game played by the fee paying schools of Ireland (mostly!)
    Blackrock, Clongowes, Pres Cork, Rockwell etc
    These elite schools feed players to the international team.
    Very few from outside these type of schools will make the big time.
    I can't think of ANY Irish international from Cork, who didn't go to Pres Cork or CBC Cork.
    Answers on a postcard please?

In comparison how many soccer internationals ever went to a fee paying school?

No encouragment is being made to bring Rugby to the schools in Tallaght, Dublin or Knocknaheeny in Cork.
    But they expect us to cheer for them in the Heineken Cup or six nations.
    I feel rugby does not represent the majority of people in this republic and it doesn't want to.
    God forbid if 'Rock got beaten in the Leinster Senior Cup by some Finglas gang.

I laugh when I see a man walking through Ballyphehane in Cork (not a posh area!) with a Munster jersey on.
    Munster doesn't represent him - his son will NEVER play for them unless he is sent to PBC or CBC (or very rarely Rochestown College)

Throw in the Irelands Call anthem +
    Invites to British Royal Weddings and you can see why I think Rugby is a foreign sport...foreign to me anyway!!!
    progress.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

It's quite simple.
    Both are basically run like soccer clubs, except in the Irish provincial system there's a cap on how many foreign players can play in a match, so it's designed at bringing Irish talent through, and keeping them playing together in Ireland. What's more, the IRFU have the ultimate decision on the player's wage packets and transfers etc.
    In the English system, Leicter (who's rugby playing talent pool is bigger than the entire pool of Irish players, according to Keith Byrne), can spend as much money on as many players as they want, and can play as many foreign players as they want in a game.

As for the ridiculous rant above by eyescream, who exactly are you blaming for Rugby being mainly played in fee paying schools? Are people from disadvantaged areas not allowed play in clubs? I went to a fee paying school and there were 5 lads on the starting senior rugby team who were on the scholarship scheme as they could not afford to pay fees (one of whom was actually from Tallaght or thereabouts I think). Roughly 15% of the places in the school were scholarships (not necessarily for sports), funded by various events the school put on during the year for the parents/students etc. Two of the five dropped rugby for athletics and are now representing Ireland at different levels. Is it elitist that they preferred another sport?
    There was no stigma about where you were from or whether you were rich or not on or off the rugby team.

In addition to this, there are LOADS of non-fee paying rugby schools. The fee paying schools have money to build better facilities, and bring in coaches, and they thus produce better players.

Another thing: Nobody expects you to cheer on a team you don't support. If you're not into rugby then grand, don't cheer. Don't watch it. If you are into rugby there are plentea of clubs all over the country that are perfectly welcoming to all comers.

Good man yourself eyescreamcone.

'Tallaght Rugby Club was set up in 2002 as part of the “Tallaght Project”, an IRFU initiative designed to introduce rugby in non-traditional areas.
    It initially started running underage teams and focused on introducing the game into schools in the area. In 2006 we set up our first senior team and since them we have gone from strength to strength, this season we have two senior teams that compete in the Leinster league at J4 and J5 level, we have also run an Under-19 team and will shortly be starting teams at Under-12 & Under-14.'

Source: http://www.tallaghtrugby.com/

Also, on topic, I'm pretty sure I heard something about Brian O Driscoll meeting the prince on the lions tour he captained, and they got on quite well.
    Even if that's misinformation, O' Driscoll captained a team involving representing both the nations of the UK and Ireland. It seems like a reasonable diplomatic move to invite him to the wedding. He's also one of the best players of any sport in the world. It's quite unusual to have one of the best rugby players in the world come from this part of the world.
    Robbie Keane is not one of the best at his sport, and has never represented any kind of team involving representing any British nation, so why would he get an invite? Will we invite the captain of the Irish table tennis team too?

OP, cop on.

I can't think of ANY Irish international from Cork, who didn't go to Pres Cork or CBC Cork.

No encouragment is being made to bring Rugby to the schools in Tallaght, Dublin or Knocknaheeny in Cork.
    I feel rugby does not represent the majority of people in this republic and it doesn't want to.

I laugh when I see a man walking through Ballyphehane in Cork (not a posh area!) with a Munster jersey on.
    Munster doesn't represent him - his son will NEVER play for them unless he is sent to PBC or CBC (or very rarely Rochestown College)

Invites to British Royal Weddings and you can see why I think Rugby is a foreign sport...foreign to me anyway!!!
    progress.gif

Blame the GAA and the money thrown at it. Every non GAA field-sport is foreign.

I would have thought the invitation was indicative of one of the best aspects of playing and watching sport - developing friendships.

progress.gif

mail.jpg

progress.gif

If we want t be precise, then games like soccer ("the common mans game") is the most English game on earth

Rugby is a super game, played by all. Yes, it used to be elitist, but those days are gone by.

I always thought that sport was to be free from all this crap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

BOD is mates with William, so what.Its a common custom to ask your friends to your wedding. I think only the inverted snobs would get offended by it. Anyone that complains about "elitists" usually have an inferiority complex. The type of people that would call a girl a lesbian because she turned them down. BOD is also friendly with Francesco Totti. Maybe that friendship is through elitism. Elitism in awesomeness.

Pauleta wrote: »
    The type of people that would call a girl a lesbian because she turned them down.

She was a dyke though...

Trog wrote: »

As for the ridiculous rant above by eyescream, who exactly are you blaming for Rugby being mainly played in fee paying schools? Are people from disadvantaged areas not allowed play in clubs? I went to a fee paying school and there were 5 lads on the starting senior rugby team who were on the scholarship scheme as they could not afford to pay fees (one of whom was actually from Tallaght or thereabouts I think). Roughly 15% of the places in the school were scholarships (not necessarily for sports), funded by various events the school put on during the year for the parents/students etc. Two of the five dropped rugby for athletics and are now representing Ireland at different levels. Is it elitist that they preferred another sport?
    There was no stigma about where you were from or whether you were rich or not on or off the rugby team.

In addition to this, there are LOADS of non-fee paying rugby schools. The fee paying schools have money to build better facilities, and bring in coaches, and they thus produce better players.

I'm not sure what part of the country you are from.

In Cork there are 2 Rugby schools in the Munster Schools Cup
    PBC Cork - No rugby scholarships are given out.
    CBC Cork - they use scholarships to beef up their home grown talent. Donnacha O'Callaghan is an example.

I think Midleton College, Rochestown College and Bandon Grammar School all play in a B or C standard Schools Cup ... sometimes.
    All of these schools are fee paying.
    No other schools play rugby in the city or county of Cork.

The Munster Schools Cup has about 12 teams entered in it.
    From 6 counties with 3 of our largest cities (Cork, Limerick and Waterford) this is not a lot.
    It doesn't get more elitist than this.

Good stuff re the Rugby club in Tallaght but are any schools from the area entered in the Senior Cup. I doubt it.

Did O'Gara get an invite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

smokedeels wrote: »
    I think monarchies are bloated, arcane institutions but if I got an invite to that wedding I'd have no problem going - I'm sure it will be a pretty epic affair.

I'd say it would be massively boring. O.k there would be loads of famous people that you could blow ****e to but I'd say it would be hard to get a nice cold beer or a load of jagerbombs down the gullet.

Would you put the ton in the card?

Trog wrote: »
    He's also one of the best players of any sport in the world.

Oh please!!!

Yes he is one of the best in HIS OWN SPORT.
    But rugby is played by such a small pool of players in a small group of countries... it MUST be a lot easier to excel in it compared to a truly worldwide sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Honestly OP I don't think you're being fair here. While there may be a history of rugby being associated with fee-paying schools in Leinster and hence with Elitism, I really don't think that's the case with say somewhere like Limerick where there has always been a strong working class interest in rugby and hence a strong club network available to all. It is also important to remember that the earlier you start playing rugby it really helps (moreso than in other sports) as you learn natural positioning and often develop a feel for your team-mates moves which is essential. The almost telepathic relationship of Horan and Little, say, being a perfect example. I knew a couple of lads who used to play rugby for Blackrock, as they also played Gaelic football with the same club I played for. I would have loved to play rugby when I was younger but I just didn't happen to grow up with it. This had nothing to do with the local rugby club being exclusive, simply that my Da was a GAA addict and I spent most of my time being taken to Croke Park, so naturally my heroes were people like Kevin Moran and Jimmy Keaveney. I went to a national school, however by the time I was leaving secondary school, we were developing a half decent rugby team thanks in no small part to the kindness and decency of the P.E. teachers in Blackrock. Just as they were developing a half-decent hurling team thanks to their interaction with our school. We also played them at Table-tennis and Chess. I never noticed any condescension.
    I might also add that my chances of pulling the gee off some young one from Mt.Anville at Wesley had far more to do with whether we were in each others' looks range than what school we went to.

Oh please!!!

Yes he is one of the best in HIS OWN SPORT.
    But rugby is played by such a small pool of players in a small group of countries... it MUST be a lot easier to excel in it compared to a truly worldwide sport.

BOD is an out and out athlete. We're talking baou countries like England, NZ, Aus, SA, with such a deep history in this sport, and BOD, from little old Ireland is the best of the best, at least over the lat ten years. What the ****
    is easy about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Eyescream.

What you say was true, but rugby is getting more and more popular and there is more and more money involved.

Every decent rugby club recognises that if you ignore the kids from the less privileged areas you could be missing out on talent your rivals may snatch up.

Whether or not the schools think that way though is another matter. Does rugby fall under the category of "Lutherian Games" as well as football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Taceom

So this post isn't actually about the invitation at all, but instead a dig at rugby players?
    Does it matter to you that they can't accept the invitiation as it clashes with matches.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Is it not the British and Irish Lions?

hehe, I see'em as regional training squads for the International Team...

;P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Is there a free bar?