Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vote Fianna Fáil to keep Sinn Féin out (FF Leaflet)

• 24-02-2011 11:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭

This is a leaflet handed out by Averil Power (FF candidate) tonight.

image.php?s=m&i=1c6f6a4c5862109e214f9afdba71bc00

image.php?s=m&i=d5bee5a527605ef44422064bd01f3967

What's your thoughts on it?

I think it's a bit hypocritical for Fianna Fáil to describe themselves as anyway credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

PomBear wrote: »

I think it's a bit hypocritical for Fianna Fáil to describe themselves as anyway credible.
    Desperate or what, I hope Averil does not make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

I can see her point, alot of people are of the sentiment that anybody is better than SF.

Me included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭rock chic

OH MY GOD how dare fianna fail, the worst corrupt political party in history they have ruined this country and robbed the public and they try and discredit another party the shinners may be controversial but who in their right mind wants fianna fail in power again i cant wait for the results saturday and if by sum fluke the fianna failers are elected me and my family are leaving the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Sundy wrote: »
    I can see her point, alot of people are of the sentiment that anybody is better than SF.

Me included.

Fianna Fáil? Really?:eek:

i'm speechless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

What do I think? How did Fionan Sheahan pull that one off? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Me included.

Yeah this but you'd imagine most people are aware of who the realistic options are for them to vote for. It's in poor taste to circulate negative things like that although you'd imagine the prospect of SF taking seats might scare some people, probably with transfers in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Yeah, how many folks realise that this Fianna Failure true believer is the wife of the Irish Independent's political correspondant?

I'm sure there is no conflict of interest there for Sheehan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I think SF and FF are two parties Ireland would be better off without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Got a text from a well known FF candidates wife (involved with a local sports club) stating that her husband and the SF candidate are neck in neck for the final seat in our constituency and would we please keep her husband in ''mind'' tomorrow.Texted back that I would (when I'm ignoring him on my ballot paper that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Its called strategy. Parties do it all the time. They run dud candidates in the backyard of a rival to erode their vote. Its all part of the game of elections. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

I think it's funny - if only because it reeks of desperation and defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

I'll be doing the exact opposite in my area. I'm voting SF in order to keep those ****tards out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

ThankThanks for posting. Had a good laugh at this earlier.

Was not aware of her indo connection either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hang on was this handed out after 2pm? I thought that canvassing was supposed to stop by then.

That is a pathetic piece of negative campaigning that demonstrates how low FF are stooping. It is obvious that they are on full panic stations at this stage. I really hope that the irish electorate teach them a very severe lesson tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Canvassing doesn't have to stop. The ban only applies to radio and television.

Expect to read scathing criticism of this desperately negative tactic in tomorrow's Irish Independent Vested Interest. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

All is fair in love and elections.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Wow FF last breath and it come's down to that.

I'm actually shocked FF should die with dignity not pull this sick stunt.

I'm embarrassed for them

Do they have to run these by MM before they publish them

My SF candidate is 5/4 @paddy power.She can be assured of my NO 1 vote now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Jayzus thats pathetic.

Me included.

I'm sure FF are thinking of you when they are sitting at home with 200k pension.That you are paying for be USC or welfare cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Canvassing doesn't have to stop. The ban only applies to radio and television.

Shame that I thought it included canvassing. I think this is going to backfire spectacularly on them. They have probably guaranteed the SF candidate to get elected in Dublin North East now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Davypat

rock chic wrote: »
    OH MY GOD how dare fianna fail, the worst corrupt political party in history they have ruined this country and robbed the public and they try and discredit another party the shinners may be controversial but who in their right mind wants fianna fail in power again i cant wait for the results saturday and if by sum fluke the fianna failers are elected me and my family are leaving the country

Well when you have nothing else to offer the people but this-it's sad to say the least. Dirty tricks once again by the FFs. Nothing new in that. I would remind you that there are are older people out there struggling to keep body and soul together, who after many long years of hard work should be enjoying their retirement but are now faced with the worry of trying to heat and feed themselves. The strength of a society & indeed a nation, surely cannot be judged on economic performance alone, but more importantly, on how it cares for it's most vulnerable members! Do you want to see our nation to be seen as valuing economic efficiency etc above the well being of our people? If your answer is NO, then vote S.F. No.1 tomorrow.

Davypat wrote: »
    Well when you have nothing else to offer the people but this-it's sad to say the least. Dirty tricks once again by the FFs. Nothing new in that. I would remind you that there are are older people out there struggling to keep body and soul together, who after many long years of hard work should be enjoying their retirement but are now faced with the worry of trying to heat and feed themselves. The strength of a society & indeed a nation, surely cannot be judged on economic performance alone, but more importantly, on how it cares for it's most vulnerable members! Do you want to see our nation to be seen as valuing economic efficiency etc above the well being of our people? If your answer is NO, then vote S.F. No.1 tomorrow.

+1000 vote S.F. No.1 tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Thequite an

Sinn Fein were originally the republican party led by Eamon D until sometime around 1922 when Mick Collins and Arthur Griffin were volunteered to go to London to negotiate the future of our Country and if anyone can recall an interview with Alex Ferguson who is very knowledgeable on the history of Irish politics when asked about those very negotiations he replied would I send Mike Whelan to negotiate for my club.There have been many splinter groups that evolved from Sinn Fein since 1922 that sullied the name of our Country but none more so than the lot that were in power for the last half decade.

Davypat wrote: »
    Do you want to see our nation to be seen as valuing economic efficiency etc above the well being of our people? If your answer is NO, then vote S.F. No.1 tomorrow.

On the other hand, if you think that a lack of economic efficiency has been a huge problem in the last few years, vote for someone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Most noticeable is that she can't say anything positive about her own party in the manifesto - just slam another one.

Think the seat will be O'Toole's.

5475218878_b19afdc0fc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There were reports of pro life leaflets being handed around with SF literature in Galway. Leaflets that would be critical of Labour on abortion, largely based on scare mongering.

Such is politics and I don't think any party is above it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    There were reports of pro life leaflets being handed around with SF literature in Galway. Leaflets that would be critical of Labour on abortion, largely based on scare mongering.

any source? I was part of the canvass in Galway west and certainly never seen any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Sadly for Averil, she hasn't a hope of getting elected. She's not a councillor, she's not part of any dynasty and she's not a 'celebrity' candidate.

I don't expect her to finish in the top 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

i really hope this backfires on FF,cud cost them transfers.Tossers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

any source? I was part of the canvass in Galway west and certainly never seen any.

Sorry, that was a Labour TD giving out about the leaflets.

It's Dublin West and Roisin Shortall, SF deny it:

Labour accuses SF of dirty tricks on abortion issue - Latest News, Elections - Independent.ie

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Sorry, that was a Labour TD giving out about the leaflets.

It's Dublin West and Roisin Shortall, SF deny it:

Labour accuses SF of dirty tricks on abortion issue - Latest News, Elections - Independent.ie
    Shorthall is in Dublin North West. Labour and in particular John Lyons have fought a dirty campaign in DNW, including bad mouthing other candidates at peoples front doors and trying to take credit in Ballymun for local issues mainly a lack of street lighting that were solved when people know full well that it was the SF candidate that sorted it. Thats also been a strange phenomenon is recent days with poster disappearing from poles and/or been damaged and replaced with Lyons' ones and that new 'Gilmores Team'. A lot of people I know who are voting SF are now also going to give FF's Pat Carey no. 2 to help keep Lyons out such was his antics. Shorthall and Ellis look good in DNW and the third is a fight between FF and Labour as the two FG candidates will eat each other alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I kinda fail to see what the bruhaha over this is. FF, whether we like it or not, are still a political party. Their aim is to win votes. People seem to have an irrational outrage over the fact that FF are even contesting the election!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

I really hope that Larry gets a seat in the Dail, living in Darndale for as long as he has he deserves one;)

He'll be getting my number 1 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Just found a flyer titled "Good Morning" hanging in the letter box from a certain FFer in Dublin South East. If they think voters are going to change their minds at the 11th hour because they did a late-night run to wish us all a good morning... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

btard wrote: »
    I'll be doing the exact opposite in my area. I'm voting SF in order to keep those ****tards out.

I hope many people around the country adopt the anyone but FF strategy. In Waterford, no matter what people's beliefs, they should vote for either David Cullinane SF or John Halligan IND because they're in with a right shout of making us return ZERO Fianna Fail TDs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The far-left are always using tactics like these and its deemed clever and savvy. When Fianna Fail do it there is outrage :confused:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Between her and O'Toole, I'd definitely give her one.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Timulus Package

Fair play to her. It means the reverse is true.

Vote SF to keep FF out.

Expect SF to romp home there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Would love if she didn't get in.

I'm not a SF supporter, but I think it's a bit effing rich for a FF candidate to present themselves as any better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

can definitely say that is not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

Pauleta wrote: »
    The far-left are always using tactics like these and its deemed clever and savvy. When Fianna Fail do it there is outrage :confused:

tactics like what?

and which far=left are you on about.

There's an article in the Indo today about Lyin Brenihan sending out a letter asking for votes that doesn't mention he is in Fianna Failure, but there's not a word about 'vote for me or the Shinners get in!'.

How surprising is that? cough*nepotism*cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Big Vern

Pauleta wrote: »

Any examples of this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Nothing wrong with the poster, if the government is FG/Labour than do you really want to see SF/Gerry as leader of the opposition:eek:

Sad Sad day for Ireland and Enda supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

That's a really sad and desperate attempt at getting elected.

Her record of community activity will stand to her assuming she has a track record.

No need to lower herself to this level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rustyjamesRF

It's a real shame that politics has been reduced to "we're not them, so vote for us", but it reeks of the last kicks of a dying beast and most people will see it for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

rodento wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with the poster, if the government is FG/Labour than do you really want to see SF/Gerry as leader of the opposition:eek:

Yes I do want to see Gerry as leader of the opposition. He's been opposing British rule for most of his life, taking on Enda and Eamon will be a piece of cake to him.
    Micheal Martin has no credibility he would be a waste in opposition.