Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€38k to spend - on what?

• 24-02-2011 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

I asked a question on here a while ago about car suggestions.... Well I'm still looking at changing my car.

I've roughly €38k to spend on a 09/10 car. I'm looking for something with a reasonable sized engine; roughly a 3.0l, preferably a V6 or V8. I'm leaning towards a diesel engine purely based on the residual sales value.

The only car I end up coming up with is an E92 330/335D BMW. Unfortunately high spec 330/335's are extremely rare on the ground.

On the other side I'm half considering buying something like a S5 but the 4.2 petrol engine is just holding me back. There's something in my head telling me that if I buy a 4.2 petrol engine for the same price as a 3.0l diesel engine now that it'll be worth less than the diesel in 2/3 years time. I really don't see the point in taking the hit on the residual price of the car. A 330/335D will give me 270 BHP easy. I have to wonder if I REALLY need the 350 BHP a S5 type car will put out.

Will I really get hit that much by going for a 4.2 petrol as opposed to a 3.0 diesel?

So, I'm wondering if you guys can come up with anything different and/or suggests on where I might lay my hands on a 330/335D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

07 M5 - end of.

Stick a D badge next to the M5 badge - your sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

535d and a remap 340 bhp on tap outta a diesal cant really argue with that

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

for a top end 335d MSport, your going to have to go to the UK.
    Irish buyers wouldnt spec something like that :D

theres some nice ones for sale on E90 Post and also on www.pistonheads.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 fitness2010

I agree that going to the UK would give me more of a choice.

The M5 would be unreal but I'm youngish driver so I've plenty of time for the M5!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

bonzos wrote: »

If the OP is a female that is OK but if the OP is a male he will look like a knob jockey in that. I second the BMW 535d as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

If th OP has that sort of money to spend why buy a 4dr diesel saloon??at least the SL is something a bit different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

bonzos wrote: »
    If th OP has that sort of money to spend why buy a 4dr diesel saloon??at least the SL is something a bit different!

Finally some common sense! The diesel saloon will be a cheap crappy taxi in a few years , the SL will always be special and different. Well worth a punt, except id go in at 15-16 grand for a trade 2003 one personally if I could get one. Perfect with black leather.
    There is NO economy in investing nearly 40k in a car unless its a classic, it might as well be a petrol M5 at 25 and use the rest for fuel and tax.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    If the OP is a female that is OK but if the OP is a male he will look like a knob jockey in that. I second the BMW 535d as well.

Who cares what anyone thinks? Everyone wants to go low profile on high performance cars eg 535d, m5 (ok to a lesser extent but still a saloon), xjr, audi rs 6, amg mercs etc
    However they will always be nothing to look at, no matter the size of the alloys or exhausts on them. As far as driving them goes, they are too heavy to be proper sports cars. They do nothing particulary well. Not saying the SL is a proper sports car but it doesnt pretend to be one, its a GT cruiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

lomb wrote: »
    Who cares what anyone thinks? Everyone wants to go low profile on high performance cars eg 535d, m5 (ok to a lesser extent but still a saloon), xjr, audi rs 6, amg mercs etc
    However they will always be nothing to look at, no matter the size of the alloys or exhausts on them. As far as driving them goes, they are too heavy to be proper sports cars. They do nothing particulary well. Not saying the SL is a proper sports car but it doesnt pretend to be one, its a GT cruiser.

Aye, my RS6 is sh*te on the motorway :rolleyes:

All show, no go :(

All go, no show :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Forgetting about 09/10 plates...

€34,995.

no-image-large.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

If the op has that much cash, knows that much about cars and knows what he wants as much as he appears to, why would he come on here quoting figures etc other then to boost an already over infalated ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

€38k can put you in some serious barge territory, especially if you widen the field back to 07-ish.

(Comparatively) low spec, but good economy: 2008 BMW 730d for €37k

Beemer not giving enough spec? How about a 2007 Lexus LS600h for €40k? 5.0 V8 hybrid with OKish economy. Should be easily got for €38k, with 2 years warranty and the kind of spec most BMW drivers can only dream about. A snip compared to its original price of c. €150k!

You wouldn't consider a car without rear air conditioned seats, TV and fridge? Well then, here's a Lexus LS460 President for €33k. 4.6 V8. You can use the change for petrol.

Aye, my RS6 is sh*te on the motorway :rolleyes:

All show, no go :(

All go, no show :D

So its crazy fast with a biturbo high capacity , so what? The power is USELESS in this country, where speed limits are reached in millseconds in cars like that. What do you do drive it on boost all the time? Youd get arrested in no time or worse kill someone. So its good on the motorway, so is the standard A6?
    On another thread I mentioned that S2000s are fitted with no traction control and oversteered. I was told Senna would turn in his grave! I was knocked for that comment. Truthfully Senna supported traction control as he said the cars were dangerous to drive without. Personally I have zero problem with cars like an S2000 being used to its handleing limits on a track but the public roads? The interior is useless, the driving position woeful, its not even great to look at..
    Might as well have something that looks like its going a hundred miles an hour sitting there, and SLs , 8 series, Porsche 911's do so there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Swanner wrote: »
    If the op has that much cash, knows that much about cars and knows what he wants as much as he appears to, why would he come on here quoting figures etc other then to boost an already over infalated ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Exactly-and this is only my opinion b4 anyone jumps down my throat but he sounds like an asrehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Hang on about another 8 months, and buy a house. When you are done with your 38K motor, I will give you €150 a tonne to scrap it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Some top notch replies in this thread.

mickob16 wrote: »
    Exactly-and this is only my opinion b4 anyone jumps down my throat but he sounds like an asrehole.

Ya, all us regular motors folk like doing is recommending €4k diesel saloons to people who don't give a sh1t about what they drive. I'm not sure about others but I actually like these threads from time to time. It's nice to know that there are folk out there still willing to spend decent bucks on a car they want purely for motoring pleasure. A few well informed posts could easily sway the OP to a vehicle he didn't originally have in his plans. Fcuk all this begrudgery boll0cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I asked a question on here a while ago about car suggestions.... Well I'm still looking at changing my car.

I've roughly €38k to spend on a 09/10 car. I'm looking for something with a reasonable sized engine; roughly a 3.0l, preferably a V6 or V8. I'm leaning towards a diesel engine purely based on the residual sales value.

The only car I end up coming up with is an E92 330/335D BMW. Unfortunately high spec 330/335's are extremely rare on the ground.

On the other side I'm half considering buying something like a S5 but the 4.2 petrol engine is just holding me back. There's something in my head telling me that if I buy a 4.2 petrol engine for the same price as a 3.0l diesel engine now that it'll be worth less than the diesel in 2/3 years time. I really don't see the point in taking the hit on the residual price of the car. A 330/335D will give me 270 BHP easy. I have to wonder if I REALLY need the 350 BHP a S5 type car will put out.

Will I really get hit that much by going for a 4.2 petrol as opposed to a 3.0 diesel?

So, I'm wondering if you guys can come up with anything different and/or suggests on where I might lay my hands on a 330/335D.
    Firstly, if you find a V6 in a 3-series then I'd advise you to walk away from it!! :D Secondly, maybe you like it, but I think the S5 is not a good looking car, or at best a car for someone slightly longer in the tooth. I'd be looking at the TT-RS if you're younger as you say. Thirdly, testdrive the 335i - can be bought for a good bit less than the 335d, and it's quicker.
    I'd also be looking at the likes of Boxters, Caymans and even Exige's if I had that sort of spending power, life is long enough to fit plenty of fat saloons into before you die!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

If the op has that much cash,

You think €38K is a lot to spend on a car? My diesel MPV cost more than €38K!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

That's funny - so do you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

The motors forum is really going to ****e. A guy asks on a motoring forum for recommendations on a car and the begrudgers are out in force. Anyone spending €38k on a car must be an arsehole. Obviously. Oh and the 535d, M5, Rs6 and AMG mercs are useless and can't do anything particularly well. No brainer.

Where's the guy that will tell him to buy an Octavia (which is the same car as the mk5 golf, the motors forum worst car in the world) and put the 30k under his mattress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

I'm usually the first to jump on knobs coming on here shouting from the rooftops about their money... but the OP sounds very genuine and hasn't been on telling everyone his age and how much he earns or anything ridiculous.

Sounds like he has a fair idea of what he wants or should get but is looking for an extra set of eyes, if you will.
    So, get over it lads and move on.

If it were me, I'd be looking at something along the lines of a coupe or a GT.
    However, the SL does very little for me. I'd buy it if I was wealthy and had a trophy wife and I would give the keys to her.

The Audi TT-RS is a decent shout. Even though I'm a huge coupe/GT fan, I do think you could spend a little less and get an M5 and keep the change for petrol. They've come down in price hugely. And the Quattroporte is another great shout.
    lomb wrote: »
    So its crazy fast with a biturbo high capacity , so what? The power is USELESS in this country, where speed limits are reached in millseconds in cars like that. What do you do drive it on boost all the time? Youd get arrested in no time or worse kill someone. So its good on the motorway, so is the standard A6?
    On another thread I mentioned that S2000s are fitted with no traction control and oversteered. I was told Senna would turn in his grave! I was knocked for that comment. Truthfully Senna supported traction control as he said the cars were dangerous to drive without. Personally I have zero problem with cars like an S2000 being used to its handleing limits on a track but the public roads? The interior is useless, the driving position woeful, its not even great to look at..
    Might as well have something that looks like its going a hundred miles an hour sitting there, and SLs , 8 series, Porsche 911's do so there:D

You're talking absolute mooncack.

By your asssessment, fast saloons (M5s, RS6 etc) are useless in Ireland because they're not known for their agility on our public roads.... and the agile S2000 should only be driven on a track because it's dangerous on a public road..
    Sure at that rate we should all just go out and buy Diesel Passats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

I know the M5 has been recommended here a few times but surely 38K would get you a cracker of an M3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

loads of cracking cars for that, if only the years could stretch a bit... too many 5 series' knocking around imo :p

db7's, caymans etc on carzone, maybe even a jag xf or the like

but happened to stumble across this cl55..
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/CL-Class/CL55-AMG/201041199841424/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭td2008

How do jags compare?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/XK-Series/4.2-V8-C/201103200966299/advert?channel=CARS

No nothing about them but they look awesome, see a few around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Any more personal insults towards the OP and there will be bans.

Attitudes in this country really are the pits at times. Keep your jealousy out of this thread.

Best of luck with tour search OP, if it was me I'd be looking very closely at an M5:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Looks Good and drives well. 3.0Tdi quattro A5 - http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A5/3.0TDI-Q/201041199856272/advert?channel=CARS
    Would be better with the auto box (from a resale point of view), but still a cracking car.

Bit older, and maybe not quite what you are looking for, but a lot of car for the money - http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A8/4.2-V8-T/201106201210102/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Ah begrudgery is alive and well in Ireland I see.

Plenty of people spend 10's of thousands more on cars. This forum is about the love of cars. I cant for the life of me find myself excited about bangernomics or reconditioned Rovers etc. but I can appreciate it.

I too came on this forum for advice before I bought my last 2 motors. Invaluable.
    Rarely have I seen such a misjudged post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

R.O.R wrote: »
    Looks Good and drives well. 3.0Tdi quattro A5 - http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A5/3.0TDI-Q/201041199856272/advert?channel=CARS
    Would be better with the auto box (from a resale point of view), but still a cracking car.

I would be very tempted by that A5. Lol at the photos, two identical except one of them has the reg removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

OP - would you consider a Mazda6 MPS? I know the Mazda badge doesn't suit everyone's taste (when it comes to piston engines ;) ) but it's an option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/XF/V8-PREMI/201107201298774/advert?channel=CARS

Its a petrol but I would in a heartbeat

2008, 28000 on the clock and V8 and plenty of extras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

So if u agree with someone thats ok,but if you have a negative opinion on something your a begrudger.:confused::confused::confused:

If you have a problem with your warning PM me. On thread is not the place for discussions like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

When I lived in the UK I always had went for the biggest engine I could for the price I could pay :cool:
    I've driven lots of diesels and owned one, imo no diesel can beat a nice sized petrol engined car. They just drive so much better (although i've not driven any of the new more powerfull diesel engined BMW cars). But I suspect the resale value of such a car in Ireland will suffer considerably. If you can take the drop in value on the chin, then deff go for a nice petrol engined car with plenty of grunt. The pleasure of driving it will soon make you forget about how much its costing you :D

pippip wrote: »
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/XF/V8-PREMI/201107201298774/advert?channel=CARS

Its a petrol but I would in a heartbeat

2008, 28000 on the clock and V8 and plenty of extras.

Have to agree, the new jags are gorgeous inside and out, and get great reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭YozzerHughes

I drive a 535d and it's a great car BUT if i didn't drive high miles/ have kids, for that money

Jag XK
    Cayman S

or something marginally less flash

M3 Saloon
    Lexus ISF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 fitness2010

Sweet Jesus, some of the replies have been unbelievable.

I do really like some of the bigger saloon cars but I don't think I'm at that stage of life yet.

I'd love to buy a Cayman but I need four seats (even if they are tiny things!).

A lot of the replies in here are swaying me towards going to a petrol engine. I suppose part of the reason I posted here was that I was hoping some of you guys could push me over the line on a petrol!

I'm trading in my car so that limits me in going over to the UK.

What car are you coming out of? Any chance you could sell privately and travel with cash?

Get an M3 or even an M5, 2 of the best performance saloons money can buy. If you dont have a large family then go for the M3, gaurantee you wont regret it, its a master peice of German engineering :D . I'm getting a tingling feeling in my never region just thinking about it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

If you could get your budget up to 44k, you could have one of the best cars in Ireland today...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS-F/201036199456999/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Sweet Jesus, some of the replies have been unbelievable.

I do really like some of the bigger saloon cars but I don't think I'm at that stage of life yet.

I'd love to buy a Cayman but I need four seats (even if they are tiny things!).

A lot of the replies in here are swaying me towards going to a petrol engine. I suppose part of the reason I posted here was that I was hoping some of you guys could push me over the line on a petrol!

I'm trading in my car so that limits me in going over to the UK.

Snore diesel. You're accepting a [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] engine tone and weird gear changes for the sake of +10mpg.

Haven't been through the rest of the thread, but if I had €30k to spend on a car, I would be getting a Brera

Look at it :)

mmmm:pac:

If you could get your budget up to 44k, you could have one of the best cars in Ireland today...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/IS-F/201036199456999/advert?channel=CARS

Another one of those sold recently for sub 40k, 38k or so i think. I'd say 40k cash would buy that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Spot on my friend

how is he spot on?

bye bye, by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 kbyte61

I'm just gonna say get an Integra Type R cause thats what I want....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

ottostreet wrote: »
    how is he spot on?

Its fairly obvious I'd say. Bye Bye:confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Slow and not great handling car -snore.

If your going to go for a small coupe at least pick one that is a drivers car.

Do you drive a diesel!? Didn't mean to offend...

Never driven a Brera, but they look delish and sounds amazing. And 6 secs 0-60 is all you need in Ireland, if you had pan EU roads to play with, then i'd prob agree. Plus the 4 wheel drive is a bonus for "all the snow" we get!Sure an M3 might driven way better, but there's millions of them about - alphas are "owners" cars rather than drivers cars I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    ottostreet wrote: »
    how is he spot on?

Explain. After all, I see nothing in the OP that implies he is on to 'inflate his ego'. I think the OP is just asking for variations on a theme, ie. big engined, nice cars. I do the same (my budget is a tiny bit smaller normally ;) ) but its always better to have a lot of heads thinking, than just one.

There has already been an on thread warning. As you chose to ignore it take a few days off. Also offending post deleted.

Anyone else tries it and it's a weeks ban.