Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is the music in some pubs niteclubs so LOUD FFS

• 24-02-2011 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭

Now i dont want to be going on like a party pooper but i was out last nite for RAG week with a few friends & we went into Scraggs for a few but i just had to leave after 20mins couldn't hear myself speak the place was jammers music was possibly the loudest iv ever heard (im 26yrs). .(i have been to my fair few Concerts)
    They use the same kind of speakers ud find in the O2 arena So when 1 puts speakers in a small area & cranks it up to probably 120 decibels if your head doesn't explode your ears will.
    I used to work with a DJ from London & he had fairly bad hearing problems at 34
    Is their any law in Ireland as to how loud a Public House can play music :rolleyes: ?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

It's called 'getting old'. Get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They want you to shut up and drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

It's so the OAP's can hear - taking all them yokes affects their hearing sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

There's prolly a button on some of the equipment and highers and lowers the volume

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

$$The less you talk the more watered down beer you drink.$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

I agree with you OP, i hate been in somewhere and you cant have a proper conversation with someone because the music is so loud :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

what did you say?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Assassin saphir

You can report them for this, something about being over a certain number of decibles. Was in a club in cork one night and music so loud that it caused vibrations so bad the drinks were moving across the table:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

yes there are regulations... you can take the issue up with your county council...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You can report them for this, something about being over a certain number of decibles. Was in a club in cork one night and music so loud that it caused vibrations so bad the drinks were moving across the table:D

the vibrations would be bass levels more so then overall volume...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Wouldn't be so bad if the typical commercial club didn't spin such diabolic music from woeful soundsystems.

An onslaught of appalling chart ****e from suped-up Fisher Price cassette players is just an assault on my senses and sensibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

My Eardrums are still ringing . . . Yea i will bring it to the attention of the County Council because i feel so strong about this issue.
    Whether they will act on it is a different story,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

....but these go to eleven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

fcukin indie sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Have to say one club i went to recently that seem to have it sorted is the Palace. It's loud where you want it to be ie. the dancefloor area, but if you want to chat with your mates you can go to the far end and it's quiet enough that you don't have to shout into each other ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Indie music is a load of broccolis.

Sit me down to Lyric FM anyday and I am happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

It's loud so we can chat people up without actually making proper conversation.

'HI!'

'HI, WHATS YOUR NAME?'

'CABINTEELY'

'NO, WHAT'S YOUR NAME?'

'I THINK IT WAS YESTERDAY'

/Dance, kiss, drink, kiss, grope, casual sex in toilets.

This is one of the main reasons I don't go out much. My ears are very sensitive to background noise, I can barely work out two people talking at once or hearing someone over heavy traffic, let alone over loud music in a pub or club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Pub should have moderate music, not too loud so you cant have the craic with the lads. Bit of banter. Best way to get pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

You getting old my friend? ya I get what you mean, just don't stand too close to the speakers/DJ. Just enjoy the music!? Maybe stay in the smoking area or bar for the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

Welcome to the club its called getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

Whatever about nightclubs, I don't get why pubs have DJ's-It usually kills the flow of conversation dead. I go to the pub to chat and have the craic, not listen to Rubberbandits twenty times in a row.

Someone fetch my pipe and werther's originals. I intend to write a cross letter to the Daily Mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

give shootin a go without earplugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Or in my case /Dance, grope, slap, drug, van, duct tape, basement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

It's loud so we can chat people up without actually making proper conversation.

'HI!'

'HI, WHATS YOUR NAME?'

'CABINTEELY'

'NO, WHAT'S YOUR NAME?'

'I THINK IT WAS YESTERDAY'

Ah yes, nothing beats the old nod your head, laugh and hope they just cracked a joke or you'll look like a right spa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Pace2008 wrote: »
    suped-up Fisher Price cassette players

hahahaha
    Indie music is a load of broccolis.

Sit me down to Lyric FM anyday and I am happy.

if Indie is broccoli, Lyric is cauliflower :mad:
    havin' said that, I love both! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I usually head straight to the smoking area.

The loudest thing there is usually me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭doh777

So you will drink (spend) more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

give shootin a go without earplugs

In a nightclub? It's a bit radical, don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Now i dont want to be going on like a party pooper but i was out last nite for RAG week with a few friends & we went into Scraggs for a few but i just had to leave after 20mins couldn't hear myself speak the place was jammers music was possibly the loudest iv ever heard (im 26yrs). .(i have been to my fair few Concerts)
    They use the same kind of speakers ud find in the O2 arena So when 1 puts speakers in a small area & cranks it up to probably 120 decibels if your head doesn't explode your ears will.
    Is their any law in Ireland as to how loud a Public House can play music :rolleyes: ?

there's your problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

chin_grin wrote: »
    It's called 'getting old'.
    You getting old my friend?
    ICE HOUSE wrote: »
    its called getting old.
    Me arse. I found stupidly loud and stupidly packed pubs and clubs a miserable experience at 17/18. Presume hardly anyone actually enjoys that sh1te but just goes along with it... Otherwise sadomasochism isn't as specialised a pursuit as I thought it was...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Dudess wrote: »
    Me arse. I found stupidly loud and stupidly packed pubs and clubs a miserable experience at 17/18. Presume hardly anyone actually enjoys that sh1te but just goes along with it... Otherwise sadomasochism isn't as specialised a pursuit as I thought it was...

If you don't have anything to talk about (or indeed a single intelligent thought in your head) then 150dB music is just your thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Its to drown out all the sh1te talked by people with too much drink on them-if the music is loud, it covers up the fact that you just told some guy at work that you love him, he is your best friend, and then asked your brothers wife for a shag. TBTG for loud music.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

cml387 wrote: »
    ....but these go to eleven!
    But since they start clipping at seven the sound is atrocious.

Total waste of money on good equipment and speakers if you are just getting massive distortion. Might as well use use megaphones.

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Topics/Physical_Agents/Noise/Noise_-_Frequently_Asked_Questions/
    How is the noise level measured?

This is measured in units known as decibels dB (A). However as a rough guide, if it is difficult to hear a normal conversation at a distance of 2m from the person speaking, it is likely that the noise levels in the area are above the levels permitted under these regulations (i.e. over 80dB (A))

What action should be taken when the noise exposure level is too high?
    First Action Level 80dB (A): - Regulation 125 specifies the actions that must be taken by the employer when the level is between 80dB (A) and 85dB (A). The employer must (in addition to reducing noise levels by general action) inform each potentially affected worker and their representatives of the following:

* the results of the measurements taken of the noise and the possible risk to their hearing
    * Results of preventative audiometric testing
    * what measures are being introduced to reduce the noise levels in the workplace
    * the advisability of wearing hearing protection that’s individually fitted and where and how to obtain it
    * hearing checks that are available
    * provide any necessary information and where relevant training

Regulations 126 and 127 specify, in addition to the previous requirements, when the level is above 85dB (A) the employer must:

* Identify the reasons for the excess noise and put in place a programme to reduce it. This could be either of a technical nature or of organisation of work or both.
    * Provide the services of a registered medical practitioner to carry out hearing checks and audiometric testing.
    * put up clearly visible and legible signs indicating that the noise level in the area is likely to exceed 85dB (A), in accordance with the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work General Application Regulations 2007 (regulations 158 to 162 inclusive).

What action should be taken when the noise exposure is at the Second Action Level 85dB (A)?

Regulations 126 and 127 specify, in addition to the previous requirements, when the level is above 85dB (A) the employer must:

* Identify the reasons for the excess noise and put in place a programme to reduce it. This could be either of a technical nature or of organisation of work or both.
    * Provide the services of a registered medical practitioner to carry out hearing checks and audiometric testing.
    * put up clearly visible and legible signs indicating that the noise level in the area is likely to exceed 85dB (A), in accordance with the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (Signs) Regulations 1995

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

Im a bloke right.And i know about stuff.So listen to me.

I dislike loud clubs because it reminds me of when my mother brought me to the circus once and the clown car had a very loud exaust pipe.And i wanted to leave but i wasent allowed.And when it was halloween i didnt like the fireworks because they were too loud.And then we went to disney land but i didnt like the roller coasters because they were too fast.And i didnt like my tea because it was too hot.And i didnt like the weather because it was too cold.And i didnt like school because the boys were too mean.And i didnt like the sun because it was too bright.

I liked lighting fires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 olgis

Nightclubs aare primarily concerned with profit, if you can't talk, you tend to drink more,also the inclusion of more tables that you stand at so you'll drink faster..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

WHAT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I used to go to some heavy metal concerts in the late 80's and early 90's and I swear my ears were wrecked for a day or two afterwards.
    I used to think it was great, like a reminder you had been out to something special.

My hearing these days is perfect thank God.
    But I use my iPod on medium volume nowadays - you can really damage your hearing for life with them at maximum every day.

I think that's much more dangerous than a crappy club at the weekend playing Rhianna in your ear at volume 11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

I don't understand it in Pubs, hard to have the chats etc. I don't mind it being loud in clubs though, I'd expect it to be loud. Nothing like a thumping bass to get you in the mood for dancing :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

I think its great.I can call a girl a slut without her hearing me if she rejects me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Dudess wrote: »

My friends all loved clubs. I'd be like "let's go to a late pub" but no, every time there'd be at least 10 to 1, leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.
    I think its great.I can call a girl a slut without her hearing me if she rejects me.

I'd say that's a rare occasion, eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Millicent wrote: »
    leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.
    :D Ah yeah... Getting all nostalgic now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

You don't have to go to a feckin' niteclub in any case. Go to a decent bar with your mates where you can hear what's going on. Niteclubs are shite. Meat markets full of morons, pissed up thugs and oompa lumpas.

Johro wrote: »
    :D Ah yeah... Getting all nostalgic now..

#Memorieeeeeeeessssss, From the corners of my mind,
    Homicidal, hazy memorieeeeeesssssss
    Of the way I beat someone to death with my shoe.......#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

You don't have to go to a feckin' niteclub in any case. Go to a decent bar with your mates where you can hear what's going on. Niteclubs are shite. Meat markets full of morons, pissed up thugs and oompa lumpas.
    And that's just the staff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

yes there are regulations... you can take the issue up with your county council...
    Of course, no-one will really give a fúck, seeing as any politician who isn't a teacher is a publican...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Millicent wrote: »
    My friends all loved clubs. I'd be like "let's go to a late pub" but no, every time there'd be at least 10 to 1, leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.

I'd say that's a rare occasion, eh? :rolleyes:

Fortunately I've never had to resort to that. ;)

:D Good man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Does anyone actually go to the pub anymore,? even if you do? Do these pubs supply music still... I used to love the pub atmosphere but it's all changed now. There's no craic anymore, all foot ball & sports now.. Just no enjoyment anymore. Sooner get a box of beer for €15 and head home for a night with the mates and a game of cards or a good match in the TV...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

SIX PACK wrote: »

I agree, I've worked as a DJ for about five years full time now, and my hearing is absolutely ****ed.

left ear basically doesnt work, and right ear is weak.