Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do football boots REALLY make a differnce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,981 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It absolutely does make a difference.

I spent ages trying various boots (Preds, Kings, Legends etc) before finally settling on World Cups/Cops. They suit my feet well once there's a bit of an insole in there and they're very neat as well.

As for kids, when they have the Ronaldo boot or the Messi boot do they really? Do they have the top of range 120 euro boot? If they do then fair enough. If not then they just have the cheap imitation version which is a load of plastic shite imo and not worth the price you pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Knew a lad called Billy, he was **** without his boots.

Xavi6 wrote: »

As for kids, when they have the Ronaldo boot or the Messi boot do they really? Do they have the top of range 120 euro boot? If they do then fair enough. If not then they just have the cheap imitation version which is a load of plastic shite imo and not worth the price you pay for it.

F50s 39 quid in JJB up to size 3, i buy in bulk over there cos the lik fukker keeps growing. Slightly thicker skin on them other than that they near identical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Knew a lad called Billy, he was **** without his boots.

May not be many old enough to catch the reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Is there anyone that actually still plays football (competitively) and couldn't care what boots they're wearing?

THFC wrote: »
    Is there anyone that actually still plays football (competitively) and couldn't care what boots they're wearing?

Doubt it, you wouldnt were uncomfortable shoes or runners so why would anyone choose to wear boots that are uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

eZe^ wrote: »

I was just thinking this the other day, I bought a new pair of boots recently, and I HATE the breaking in period. Blisters all over my feet the first 5 hours of using them. So I always wondered what they did for professionals, as they get a new pair of boots every game right? If they had to use the same ones and us plebs their feet would be destroyed 24/7 :p

Ally McCoist used to have a superstition that he would only change the boots he was wearing if he didnt score a goal in a game. :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

The studs defo make a difference. Mouldies for astro, blades for firm grass, studs for soft grass/mud.

As for the boot I go for about the 70 to 100 euro range. Bought my copa mundial mouldies for 100 euro and they've served me well. Durable for astro which tends to ruin boots quicker in my experience.

I have 90 quid predators for the winter league and they do grand. I'm not near a level where I would foolishly convince myself that a different boot will me better/worse at football - I look for build-quality and comfort above all else and the adidas seem to tick both boxes for me.

Any non-pros that swear to themselves they need the latest 250 euro boot to play ball are probably full of shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It absolutely does make a difference.

I spent ages trying various boots (Preds, Kings, Legends etc) before finally settling on World Cups/Cops. They suit my feet well once there's a bit of an insole in there and they're very neat as well.

You're talking about the fit and comfort of a boot, not the technical improvement that a boot offers.

It's (literally) painfully obvious that you will play better in a boot that fits you well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The studs defo make a difference. Mouldies for astro, blades for firm grass, studs for soft grass/mud.

As for the boot I go for about the 70 to 100 euro range. Bought my copa mundial mouldies for 100 euro and they've served me well. Durable for astro which tends to ruin boots quicker in my experience.

I have 90 quid predators for the winter league and they do grand. I'm not near a level where I would foolishly convince myself that a different boot will me better/worse at football - I look for build-quality and comfort above all else and the adidas seem to tick both boxes for me.

Any non-pros that swear to themselves they need the latest 250 euro boot to play ball are probably full of shít.

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/prodinfo.asp?PID=PDS-002-010-VIP&DEPT=2&BRAND=10&SS=1&PROFILE=Power
    PUMA have offered Pro-Direct Soccer customers the chance to visit the ACE clinic and manufacturing facility in Cardiff, where professional players such as Peter Crouch go to have their hand made match day boots created.

£1500 :eek:

Imagine a junior player shelling out that much!!

Dempsey wrote: »

And then some big clugger sticking his studs through them 10 minutes into the game!
    drogba-vapor-superfly-rip.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Eirebear wrote: »
    And then some big clugger sticking his studs through them 10 minutes into the game!
    drogba-vapor-superfly-rip.jpg

RMA them and tick the wrong boot size reason for returning them :pac:

Sadly i know a few that would, Celtic Tiger an all.

has anyone see the bastardisation Nike boots you can get or €80 but for €350 you can get your name on them.

Nike-Mercurial-Vapor-Superfly-II-Safari-Elite-FG-Mens-Soccer-Cleat-396127_180_A.png

€350 with your kids name on them, terrified to see that it costs in adult size. The amount of **** kids wearing these boots if the parents spent that money on coaching :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

If a parent pays that much on a kid's boot they deserve to be shafted tbh.

€350 with your kids name on them, terrified to see that it costs in adult size. The amount of **** kids wearing these boots if the parents spent that money on coaching :(

never mind spending that money on coaching, if parents were more inclined to help their local youth clubs out rather than use them as a creche....

Eirebear wrote: »
    never mind spending that money on coaching, if parents were more inclined to help their local youth clubs out rather than use them as a creche....

No some of them show up and scream abuse at the kids and other players, kids football is a haven for ****wads and if you ever have kids a way of showing you what not to do.

Great fun every weekend watching parents who know **** all about football screaming abuse at their kids to "go wide" any wider and hes fcuking beside you, "Shoot" hes in his own fcuking half, "tackle" he was just skinned no player on earth is catching the other guy.

And of course a mention to the parent who hauls his kid home cos he was subbed.

No some of them show up and scream abuse at the kids and other players, kids football is a haven for ****wads and if you ever have kids a way of showing you what not to do.

Great fun every weekend watching parents who know **** all about football screaming abuse at their kids to "go wide" any wider and hes fcuking beside you, "Shoot" hes in his own fcuking half, "tackle" he was just skinned no player on earth is catching the other guy.

Christ yeah, i remember that type only too well.

When i was playing in Glasgow it was the mothers they had to watch out for, the crazy feckers were volatile to say the least! I'd say the management had more of a time stopping them from fighting with the opposition's mothers than getting us to play football.

That said, they always brought soup! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

They are built specifically for your feet and suit your biomechanics perfectly. Your weight transfer while running, height of arch etc.. If it was your day job to be a footballer and comfort wearing them for long periods was paramount then it'd probably seem more worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Sadly i know a few that would, Celtic Tiger an all.

has anyone see the bastardisation Nike boots you can get or €80 but for €350 you can get your name on them.

Nike-Mercurial-Vapor-Superfly-II-Safari-Elite-FG-Mens-Soccer-Cleat-396127_180_A.png

These are the ugly looking things that himself got.

In fairness, Santa brought them. they were 50e and I paid 22.50 to get his name on them in Lifestyle (looks great, I have to say)....so 72.50 for Santa this Xmas...wasn't bad;)

And I remember Billy's Boots well...read that for years and only recently told himself the story..:D Wonder can it still be found anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Have to say, I have the best fun ever on the sideline, listening to 6 dads shouting 6 different directions to the kids. One of them was recently sent off by a ref (had to go back to his car) for being such a tw&t.

We have one dad who constantly shouts at his lad 'If you don't stay in position, I'm telling your Ma when we get home!!!'...

I don't roar from the sideline...just the odd 'C'mon son...';)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Morf wrote: »
    They are built specifically for your feet and suit your biomechanics perfectly. Your weight transfer while running, height of arch etc.. If it was your day job to be a footballer and comfort wearing them for long periods was paramount then it'd probably seem more worthwhile.

I'd say a professional footballer making 50,000 a week doesn't mind either, especially as they get PAID to wear those boots. :p I'd love to get paid to wear 1500 quid boots. :D