Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Treviso friday 7.10pm RTE2

• 24-02-2011 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Wright STARTS!!!!!!

Should have just enough to win this at home....

LEINSTER:
    15: Isa Nacewa CAPTAIN
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Eoin O'Malley
    12: Eamonn Sheridan
    11: David Kearney
    10: Ian McKinley
    9: Isaac Boss
    1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Stan Wright
    4: Ed O'Donoghue
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Dominic Ryan
    8: Stephen Keogh
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Clint Newland
    19: Rhys Ruddock
    20: Paul Ryan
    21: Paul O'Donohoe
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Niall Morris

BENETTON TREVISO:
    15: Joseph Maddock
    14: Michele Sepe
    13: Ezio Galon
    12: Andrew Vilk
    11: Benjamin De Jager
    10: Willem De Waal
    9: Ludovico Nitoglia
    1: Michele Rizzo
    2: Enrico Ceccato
    3: Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet
    4: Antonio Pavanello CAPTAIN
    5: Corniel Van Zyl
    6: Benjamin Vermaak
    7: Gonzalo Padrò
    8: Marco Filippucci
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Franco Sbaraglini
    17: Matteo Muccignat
    18: Pedro Di Santo
    19: Enrico Pavanello
    20: Michele Sutto
    21: Andrea Pratichetti
    22: Andrea Marcato
    23: Simon Picone
    REFEREE: Neil Hennessy (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Dave Wilkinson (IRFU), Richard Kerr (IRFU)
    4th OFFICIAL: Dan Wallace (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Gordon Murray (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Tony Redmond (IRFU)

Loving the squad rotation. No second rows on the bench so we'll probably see a flanker popping into lock when the subs come on. Leinster with BP win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Hopefully Sheridan and O'Malley don't switch like they did against Cardiff. I want to see Sheridan at 12 this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Disappointed not to see McFadden in there, we could really use him. 10 - 14 are just too inexperienced. We should be aiming for a try bonus in this game but it seems unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

What's that Treviso team like?

The only thing I notice is that Botes isn't playing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

As far as I know treviso have a lot of internationals missing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

if mckinley and sheridan can step up again , we should win -
    also would like to have seen cullen, hines or ruddock , to beef things up a bit pack wise, though front row is strong

CUllen and Hines are in international squads

Alley les blues!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

durkadurka wrote: »
    Alley les blues!!!!

Oh dear lord...

And you managed to spell 'alles' wrong.

It's 'allez' actually, if we're going to go on about spelling, and the typo was down to my phone

durkadurka wrote: »
    It's 'allez' actually, if we're going to go on about spelling, and the typo was down to my phone

I think he's taking the piss :)

We need a sarcastic smiley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

I think it could catch on

!!!LEINSTER UBER ALLES!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Why are they playing Sheridan at 13 again. It's wierd...

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Score update lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Leinster 9 - 0 Treviso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

Scrappy as hell. Lots of mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

Great try by Kearney there. Leinster 14-0 up now. Game over :p

Leinster 16 - 0 Treviso, try Kearney!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I didn't even notice that was Sheehan commentating. I thought it was Toland. Goes to show how much better Frankie is when Munster aren't involved.

Scrappy game, but Leinster are clearly the better team. They need to stop giving away silly penalties though.

• Keogh and Ryan off at this stage? Or did Ryan stay on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

VDM getting killed in scrum all night

If an advancing maul is brought down a couple metres from the line how can it be anything but the defending team taking it down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Toner turned over twice now carrying the ball. Really has to work on it because even backs knock him backwards.

Lots of mistakes and a referee who wants to get involved aren't a good combp for a spectacle.

Try Treviso.

Keogh and Ryan off at this stage? Or did Ryan stay on?

Ryan is still on.

Leinster 16 - 5 Treviso , try in the 40th minute :/

Newland on for stan.....we need stop giving away pens. And score next.

Excellent break away try. I'm liking McKinley. Bp should be the target now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

YES
    a 14 pointer in effect.

Treviso break into Leinsters 22 and could have gotten under the posts, Leinster rob and a handful of phases later sends McKinley over under the posts!

Try for McKinley, Leinster 23 - 5 Treviso

Great try, Kearney is a good player. Far better than Conway so far in his games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Great offloading in the tackle by both teams

Lineout is a shambles

Jaysus this is poor

Treviso 5 binned, this is a great chance but we bollix up the lineout again

Half backs changed

How many tries can we blow?

POD was ****ing awful during that break, completely overran EOM :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Steady on lads. It's a very young team and they're doing pretty well.

ambid wrote: »
    Steady on lads. It's a very young team and they're doing pretty well.

It's a pretty young team and they're doing poorly would be my opinion. Just because they're young doesnt mean we shouldnt expect more.
    Handling errors, awful lineout and poor scrum, and these are an awful team.

Incredibly frustrating game. We should have 50 points

Five lineouts lost, how many times have we knocked on in their 22?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

bp left behind.

meh

Try Conway on 80 mins, ISA converts, 30-5 ft. Disappointing. Only 8 points from two home games against Italians....

Final score Leinster 30 - 5 Treviso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Criticism on here is way over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

wixfjord wrote: »
    It's a pretty young team and they're doing poorly would be my opinion. Just because they're young doesnt mean we shouldnt expect more.
    Handling errors, awful lineout and poor scrum, and these are an awful team.

You have high standards buddy. Fair enough, but I guess I'm happy enough with a win, three tries, and some really promising individual performances. The opposition was poor though.

Next week against a much better scarlets team will tell a lot more about whether some of these guys are as good as we hope.

Schmidt pretty disappointed too

• Meh, not the best result, happy with a lot of things, not delighted with others. Great stuff from some of them tbh. Even more confidence in the the youth side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 KidneyPunch

David Kearney is a good finisher. Nacewa was brilliant again and Stan Wright looked commanding lots of positives in this match but that bonus point could be the difference between a home semi.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Pretty disappointed with us leaving the BP behind, it was a real oppurtunity. McKinley was my MOTM, thought he was excellent throughout. It's great seeing him do so well after what happened last year, a definite star of the future. With every week I'm becoming more and more confident having Madigan and McKinley backing Sexton up for the next couple of seasons - not too shabby.

Lineout is a shambles, serious investment needed. I was against it when I first heard of Hines leaving but I really hope we get someone top class in there for next season.

On a final note, it's great to see Conway, Kearny jr. and Morris, over the last couple of weeks, finally starting to deliver on the big stage - the futures bright.