Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG cant be allowed to get overall majority

• 24-02-2011 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

I am very bothered about Fine Gael getting an overall majority in tomorrow's election. Looking at some of their right wing politicians over the past few months I can only see cuts/cuts and more cuts. Yes we have to cut but would you trust Dr James Reilly over your health system. I wouldn't. Would you trust Leo Varadkar to look after the poor, the needy or Public Services? I wouldn't. Do you know what Enda Kenny stands for? I dont. He can't even speak properly. Before you jump to conclusions I detest Fianna Fail and their cronyism politics. Independents are not an alternative as the ones that may be used to prop up a government i.e. Jackie Healy Hay give and unfair advantage to their own constituency and in any case there will only be a small number of them needed if polls are to be believed. No party will have Sinn Fein as a government partner so I would contend that the only save bet to keep our country from further disaster is a vote for Labour. I am not a member of Labour or even a Labour supporter but as least from what I have witnessed in my 40 or so years living in Ireland, Labour have a social conscience, Labour have the interests of the poor at heart, Labour represent the working class and Labour represent Education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

They will be allowed to get it if the people give them a mandate for it, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

mgegan wrote: »
    I am very bothered about Fine Gael getting an overall majority in tomorrow's election.

No chance at all, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

Thankfully, they won't get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Nothing will happen if FG have to join up with Labour.
    Labour are a party of opposition and will not want to do anything that will be seen as unpopular. You'll have a government squabbling and not doing anything to get us out of the mire.
    Fine Gael single party government is the only way to get the country back on track.
    Its wont be easy and will require more hardship, but it's better than doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Labour have the interests of the poor at heart, Labour represent the working class and Labour represent Education.

Labour have the interests of their union / siptu / ictu / over public sector mates at heart. That's the way a lot of people see it. Hundreds of thousands of unemployed people, low paid non unionised private sector workers and people in the private sector who work far harder for less money.

We'd all love to have 3 months summer holidays - but it ain't reality.

The sooner we face the music the better and FG are not as right wing as you think. They wish to reverse the cut to minimum wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I am very bothered about Fine Gael getting an overall majority in tomorrow's election. Looking at some of their right wing politicians over the past few months I can only see cuts/cuts and more cuts. Yes we have to cut but would you trust Dr James Reilly over your health system. I wouldn't. Would you trust Leo Varadkar to look after the poor, the needy or Public Services? I wouldn't. Do you know what Enda Kenny stands for? I dont. He can't even speak properly. Before you jump to conclusions I detest Fianna Fail and their cronyism politics. Independents are not an alternative as the ones that may be used to prop up a government i.e. Jackie Healy Hay give and unfair advantage to their own constituency and in any case there will only be a small number of them needed if polls are to be believed. No party will have Sinn Fein as a government partner so I would contend that the only save bet to keep our country from further disaster is a vote for Labour. I am not a member of Labour or even a Labour supporter but as least from what I have witnessed in my 40 or so years living in Ireland, Labour have a social conscience, Labour have the interests of the poor at heart, Labour represent the working class and Labour represent Education.

Would you prefer if Labour got an overall majority.....shure that would be great:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

If Mayo would do the rest of us a favour and not elect Kenny I'd be delighted to see FG get an overall majority. It's very unlikely though.

With the distance between FG and Labour on many issues, and the fact that they'll be the two largest parties I'd be a little worried about the stability of a FG/Labour coalition. I think a FG/Independant alliance could be likely, or possibly even a FG/FF (and maybe Green) coalition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Labour have a social conscience, Labour have the interests of the poor at heart, Labour represent the working class and Labour represent Education.
    Let's be perfectly clear about something - the LP have signed up to the bailout - the LP have signed up to hacking €15billion out of the economy in cuts and taxes (and the real figure needed is now near €20billion) - the LP will cut welfare, will cut education and want to bring in mandatory universal health insurance and privatise health, just like Fine Gael. The LP have no 'social conscience' - the are a down the line neo-liberal slash and burn party just like FF and FG and have proved it time and again.

Labour have a social conscience, Labour have the interests of the poor at heart, Labour represent the working class and Labour represent Education.

Social conscience me arse, labour reckon a married couple 3 kids and a huge mortgage coupled with a 2nd rented out property are wealthy folk who shouldn't allowed use the mortgage interest on the rented out property as an expense. If Labour have their way there'll be a lot of very poor people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 mgegan

I love the IBEC/OECD/ERSI crowd on here on about the Public Service and their supposed 3 months holidays and the people on Social Welfare.

The facts are that it was not the nurses, guards or teachers that set this country on the path of doom.

It was the bankers, the politicians and Fianna Fail and its crony developers. The PRIVATE SECTOR.

Yes there are issues in the Public Sector. The first and most simple task for a new government is to reverse BENCHMARKING. The awards at the top level of the Public Sector was crazy. The second task is to look at the top management roles and to do their Stress Test on this sector of the Public Sector. 25-30% of Public Sector Pay goes on as little as 5% of the public sector. The receptionist in the hospital, the SNA in the schools, home help, the nurses assistants are the people on the firing line. Why? Well turkeys don't vote for Christmas and after all its the top civil servants that have access to the policy makers and ministers.

Yes FG have some very able and capable people. I would have great mass on Richard Bruton or Michael Noonan. Save me from the right wingers though. Slash and Burn will not work. Selling State Assests has never worked before. Why should it now? Certainly not if a party of solicitors, barristers, accountants, big farmers (quite a few from the landed aristocracy), hospitial consultants etc get into power. Do the math on how many FG candidates come from a council estate? Do the math on how many of them come from low paid non unionised private sector workers and people in the private sector?

You will find as many as you will have Green TDs after the election!

It was the bankers, the politicians and Fianna Fail and its crony developers. The PRIVATE SECTOR.

Yeah, all us private sector folks are bankers or developers :rolleyes:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Social conscience me arse, labour reckon a married couple 3 kids and a huge mortgage coupled with a 2nd rented out property are wealthy folk who shouldn't allowed use the mortgage interest on the rented out property as an expense. If Labour have their way there'll be a lot of very poor people out there.

Is this a joke? What do they need the 2nd rented out property for? A man can only sleep in one bed or should only be doing so! A man can only eat one dinner or should only be doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Labour are a party of opposition and will not want to do anything that will be seen as unpopular. You'll have a government squabbling and not doing anything to get us out of the mire.

I dont think their previous term in office represents that portrayal

I think they did good work, particularly in setting out groundwork for the economy over 92-97

good grief, there is a lot of misrepresentation in that rant!

Ur not a developer anyway.

How could you have the internet if you were living on 6euro a day!

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2010/09/22/sean-fitzpatrick-im-living-on-e6-a-day/

Is this a joke? What do they need the 2nd rented out property for? A man can only sleep in one bed or should only be doing so! A man can only eat one dinner or should only be doing so.

Some people have a house themselves then get married and buy a 2nd one. It's no joke, folks have a deficit between the rent and the mortgage and the interest on the mortgage as an expense is badly needed. I don't see how it can be viewed as a joke.

Riskymove wrote: »
    good grief, there is a lot of misrepresentation in that rant!

Its a laugh isnt it. We will all starve as we have no food in "the house" or "the other house" either!!!!!

Some people have a house themselves then get married and buy a 2nd one. It's no joke, folks have a deficit between the rent and the mortgage and the interest on the mortgage as an expense is badly needed. I don't see how it can be viewed as a joke.

Most people I know sell the first one in order to buy the second one and get married. The ones that don't are in my experience either Speculators or Rich. Now which are you? Your posts are certainly a tad Rich!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

In these difficult times (Oh how I'm sick of hearing that phrase) we need a strong united Government. I despise the blueshirts but they will be getting my vote as they are sadly the only realistic option for Ireland

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted. adoption by Sinead Cusack

This post had been deleted.

With a double barreled name like that and his education background he is probably a Blue Shirt infiltrator!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Most people I know sell the first one in order to buy the second one and get married. The ones that don't are in my experience either Speculators or Rich. Now which are you? Your posts are certainly a tad Rich!!!!!!

A lot of people use it as an investment for when they're retired. To sustain themselves through their old age. It should guard against inflation, so is a better option than the banks. And as a tangible asset has traditionally been safer than investing in the markets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 prof_frink_2000

Fine Gael single party government is the only way to get the country back on track.
    Its wont be easy and will require more hardship, but it's better than doing nothing.

Personally I would agree with this opinion. The next 5-10 years are going to be very hard, there is no silver bullet.

But in the end the Irish people will decide and as I support democracy I'll respect whatever government they elect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Ray Burkes Pension

Which one was Gilmore's wife?
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gilmore-wife-got-euro525000-for-school-site-now-worth-just-euro100000-2402122.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

I love the IBEC/OECD/ERSI crowd on here on about the Public Service and their supposed 3 months holidays and the people on Social Welfare.

The facts are that it was not the nurses, guards or teachers that set this country on the path of doom.

Yes there are issues in the Public Sector. The first and most simple task for a new government is to reverse BENCHMARKING. The awards at the top level of the Public Sector was crazy. The second task is to look at the top management roles and to do their Stress Test on this sector of the Public Sector. 25-30% of Public Sector Pay goes on as little as 5% of the public sector. The receptionist in the hospital, the SNA in the schools, home help, the nurses assistants are the people on the firing line. Why? Well turkeys don't vote for Christmas and after all its the top civil servants that have access to the policy makers and ministers.

Yes FG have some very able and capable people. I would have great mass on Richard Bruton or Michael Noonan. Save me from the right wingers though. Slash and Burn will not work. Selling State Assests has never worked before. Why should it now? Certainly not if a party of solicitors, barristers, accountants, big farmers (quite a few from the landed aristocracy), hospitial consultants etc get into power. Do the math on how many FG candidates come from a council estate? Do the math on how many of them come from low paid non unionised private sector workers and people in the private sector?

You will find as many as you will have Green TDs after the election!

Gilmore and his wife are not short of a few houses and cash! I would class Gilmore as being no better as Jack O'Connor et al.

Check this out:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gilmore-wife-got-euro525000-for-school-site-now-worth-just-euro100000-2402122.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

... would you trust Dr James Reilly over your health system...

Indeed, why would you put a doctor in the health portfolio, especially when the last two teachers who have had it have done a fantastic job...

out of interest, is someone saying that he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Whereas FG want to give state aid to their mortgage if they borrowed recklessly since 2003.

As for Unions etc., well this is a FG thread. FG appear to just want to privatise everything and leave water and property rates to the Local Authorities and then call themselves a low tax party.

Why can't we have a FG thread here without whataboutery with Labour?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

From what I can see Labour are just a more socialist representation of Fianna Fail. They plan to do everything for everyone. But in reality they plan to make Ireland worse by strengthening the unions' grip in society whilst burning the middle class.

If they get into power with FG they will dig us further into the abyss!

oh

Personally I think we have little influence on how wealthy the family we are born into are, or where we are sent to school. Its quite possible to form views and beliefs later in life.

Buceph wrote: »
    A lot of people use it as an investment for when they're retired. To sustain themselves through their old age. It should guard against inflation, so is a better option than the banks. And as a tangible asset has traditionally been safer than investing in the markets.

When someone buys / rents out a house they are in business 'providing a service in return for cash'. Renting out a house is no different than me getting a loan to buy a business. Both are businesses and both should be treated the same under company law. People often sell their business to provide them with a retirement nest egg.

Well for a start I'm single and have no kids :) I know lots of normal folk with 2nd properties though, many of them public servants who have already been stung with various cuts and levies and who are sh1tting it in case the interest will no longer be classed as an expense, which labour reckon should be the case.

Buceph wrote: »

If they can afford it then well and good. Let them not be whinging about it! And I agree its safer than the markets unless purchased from 02-08 when there was a false economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

stevenmu wrote: »
    If Mayo would do the rest of us a favour and not elect Kenny I'd be delighted to see FG get an overall majority. It's very unlikely though.

With the distance between FG and Labour on many issues, and the fact that they'll be the two largest parties I'd be a little worried about the stability of a FG/Labour coalition. I think a FG/Independant alliance could be likely, or possibly even a FG/FF (and maybe Green) coalition.

Mayo will win another all-ireland before FG gets an overall majority
    In other words never

Well for a start I'm single and have no kids :) I know lots of normal folk with 2nd properties though, many of them public servants who have already been stung with various cuts and levies and who are sh1tting it in case the interest will no longer be classed as an expense, which labour reckon should be the case.

Tough sh1t on them. Greed.

Thy ambition,
    Thou scarlet sin, robb'd this bewailing land.

Tough sh1t on them. Greed.

Thy ambition,
    Thou scarlet sin, robb'd this bewailing land.

Well in that case, tough sh1t on the poor, roll on a majority FG goverment where they'll bring in load of cuts, tough sh1t all round :pac:

When someone buys / rents out a house they are in business 'providing a service in return for cash'. Renting out a house is no different than me getting a loan to buy a business. Both are businesses and both should be treated the same under company law. People often sell their business to provide them with a retirement nest egg.

What a daft logic, by that logic the entire mortgage would be an expense :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Yes...

So they should be allowed use the cost of the mortgage for tax relief purposes. Businesses don't pay tax on servicing loans because it's not considered profit. So businesses pay less tax than what people with second homes do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'm in a bit of a tricky situation in my constituency. There are 2 Lab, 2 FG and some strong Independents.

After Creightons' comments on same sex marriage and the fact that people fail to realise that FG are just another god squad gombeen party like FF, it sticks in my throat that I may have to vote for their candidates in order to edge out the local FF gobdaw, as well as the local IRA creep.

Certainly I don't want FF/SF/IRA to pick up my transfers.

Lab will get my 1&2 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

dclane wrote: »
    From what I can see Labour are just a more socialist representation of Fianna Fail. They plan to do everything for everyone. But in reality they plan to make Ireland worse by strengthening the unions' grip in society whilst burning the middle class.

If they get into power with FG they will dig us further into the abyss!

We're already f***ed.

Any new govt, whatever its composition, is simply going to be going through the motions and pretending to govern, like children in a play house.

FF signed away our independence and sovereignity.

Don't forget that the herd will vote FF in again next time around.

I'm in a bit of a tricky situation in my constituency. There are 2 Lab, 2 FG and some strong Independents.

After Creightons' comments on same sex marriage and the fact that people fail to realise that FG are just another god squad gombeen party like FF, it sticks in my throat that I may have to vote for their candidates in order to edge out the local FF gobdaw, as well as the local IRA creep.

Certainly I don't want FF/SF/IRA to pick up my transfers.

Lab will get my 1&2 anyway.

Who is the IRA candidate? I didn't know they were in the running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ChangeTheGame

We're already f***ed.

Any new govt, whatever its composition, is simply going to be going through the motions and pretending to govern, like children in a play house.

Don't forget that the herd will vote FF in again next time around.

I agree. It's like a magic roundabout. Acting as if this election is about solving the issues the best way possible is utter delusion.

If you want to use your vote for Ireland's future, it's time to shake the Irish party system to its core.

Here is a Non-Party Political Broadcast with a message:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_NnOP9xzlI

(I'm not affiliated with any candidate. Just sick and tired of this merry-go-round).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

No ye are people who work for employers who have screwed the Irish people for the last 10 years and ****ed up this country

dclane wrote: »
    Gilmore and his wife are not short of a few houses and cash! I would class Gilmore as being no better as Jack O'Connor et al.

Check this out:

If it were not for the Galway Races Tent and the FF cronyism then land prices would not have sky rocketed to this level.

Gilmore happened to marry well! Head of a VEC no less. And she is over paid like a lot of the top civil servants and should be reverse benchmarked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

We're already f***ed.

Not true. We still have the option of how we cut our deficit, ie. what proportion is through raising income (taxes) or decreasing expenditure (cuts). There is a lot of fat to be trimmed in the public service and FG want to go after this rather than lump more taxes onto people which Labour are in favour of. A coalition between the two would achieve nothing, which is why I want FG to get in on their own, or failing that, with the help of independents.

What a daft logic, by that logic the entire mortgage would be an expense :rolleyes:

Under law only the interest portion is tax deductable. The capital part is not.