Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I report insane sadist teacher?

• 22-02-2011 3:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Hey, I recently became aware of some information regarding an ex teacher of my own. I'll fill you in on the back story.
    I was taught in primary school in another country by this person and he made my life hell, he would stand me up in front of the class weekly for no reason and scream and shout at me and kick furniture or doors so i would cry and get the whole class to laugh at me for this or randomly grab my schoolbag and empty it onto the floor and make me get onto my hands and knees to pick up my stuff in front of everyone, in some sort of way to get the rest of the kids onside and make himself more popular....pretty much destroyed my ability to speak publicly or be in group situations....anyway i was too young at the time to realise this was wrong.
    Anyway, he was an awful teacher aswell who had no concept of basic education( e.g. if you had a 10 question test, and got all right, he would give you a mark of 10%, 9 right = 9% etc)and so my parents ended up moving me to another school. He also sent a report to my new school saying I was a remedial student who was a huge trouble maker, which was a complete fabrication and my new teachers called my parents into the new school to tell them they were told this and it was completely untrue.
    Anyway, none of these are the issues, a few years later I heard more students had left my old school because of him and it eventually closed down and he was moved to be principle of another school. He was then struck off for...wait for it....sending pornographic images to his neighbours kids and generally menacing them due to some dispute with their family. This became public and he ended up in court and was struck off and banned from teaching, the exact ruling is unclear to me but definitely a ban.
    Now, to the point, I recently discovered he is back teaching in a primary school here in Ireland, and I am trying to work out what to do. I really feel that he shouldnt be teaching but would his ban be over? I want to do something but if it turns out he has served a ban and can teach it'd be a waste of time. Can he get around this ban by teaching in another country? Would it be wise to go to some sleazy tabloid who wouldnt make light of this story in the same way as some hush hush internal investigation and out the [EMAIL="b@stard"]b#stard[/EMAIL]?
    My main problem here is my own conscience, i am doing this 99% for revenge and 1% thinking I dont want any more children to get the same treatment.
    What would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭PcAngel

If as you say he was "struck off" the school should have vetted this person and there is NO way this person would be back teaching.

Re -read it now - banned in another country. That's a very serious matter.
    If it is true - I would defnitely report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

In our local school the principal and the head of the PTA were feuding. And then the parents daughter starting making claims about inappropriate behavior and watching girls dress and undress for PE.
    The principal got suspended and reputation destroyed. And it turned out to be a pack of lies, the daughter saying what she thought people wanted to hear

This is why you don't go to the tabloids.

Just report the matter and let the relevant people check it out.
    If you feel they won't do anything, escalate it.
    Don't let it get ignored and forgotton about but at the same time, it's pretty low class to go to the tabloids if you don't have the facts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭niallb

Document your story. Put together the dates you know he was in which schools.
    Make it as easy as possible for someone looking into it to verify your statement.

The reason you state he was "struck off" is a very serious allegation, and some backup will be needed for it be investigated. If it was public and went through the courts, it should be easy to find the details. You should at least include the approximate date and location of the court proceedings. How long ago was it?
    Are you certain it's not just hearsay?

Your own motivation is irrelevant to some extent.
    A primary school teacher's position is a particularly sensitive one, and this may be a matter for the guards even more than the department of education.

(disclosure: I have three kids currently in primary school)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

You go to the relevant authorities, the school, guards and/or department of education. You do not go to a "sleazy tabloid", what will that achieve? Fair enough, if the authorities attempt to hush it up, then it may be an option, but doing that first is nonsensical

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Ring the Gardaí and let them know. Ring the Department of Education too and inform them of the story, nobody who has ever been convicted of any sexual offence, let alone one involving child pornography should be allowed set foot in a school.

GENERAL
    Minister’s Office (01) 8892335
    Minister of State’s Office (01) 8892301
    Secretary General’s Office (01) 8892280
    Press Office/Media Queries (01) 8892162 / 8892322
    Customer Services (01) 8896400
    Freedom of Information (01) 8896400
    Website (01) 8896400
    Uimhir theileafóin do cheisteanna trí Ghaeilge (01) 8896780

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Can't really allow threads like this on boards, but I'll leave it here locked, I suggest following E.T.'s advice above.

Thread closed.