Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do we cherish our republic enough?

• 22-02-2011 5:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Alright, most of ye would think of me as a shinner. I don't think I am. I would like to think that I both honour and respect the memory of James Connolly and what he fought and died for.

I think our republicanism is still respected and admired in the lands of our best and oldest friends;

I mean Britain, America, Australia and Canada.

And while they have been subject to sleeveen knackers in parliament just as we have, I'd love to think that there is still a great fondness for each other, amongst the people.

It would be nice if we could do something together to remember a real lover of the working man/woman for 2016 and remember again our fondness for each other.

He would have liked that immensely; our ability to show that we are neither communists nor unfettered capitalists.

Michael Davitt, James Connolly, Michael Collins.

True Patriots.

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

This isn't gonna end well.

*gets the popcorn out*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

most irish people these days are ashamed to be irish and have jumped on the bandwagon of slagging everything irish so ill avoid this thread:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Je suis Francais. No entiendo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm hoping well just commemorate 1916 by handing the keys back to the British (or even the Germans or French) and saying sorry for the mess.
    most irish people these days are ashamed to be irish and have jumped on the bandwagon of slagging everything irish so ill avoid this thread
    Not ashamed to be Irish. Just ashamed to see a country that was given one chance at greatness piss it down the toilet and be back at square one purely because the place is allowed to run by small-minded small-businessmen.

bonerm wrote: »
    I'm hoping well just commemorate 1916 by handing the keys back to the British (or even the Germans or French) and saying sorry for the mess.

Not ashamed to be Irish. Just ashamed to see a country that was given one chance at greatness piss it down the toilet and be back at square one purely because the place is allowed to run by small-minded small-businessmen.

and thats where our old republican friends from 1916 wouldnt have left it they would have the guts to oust a government they didnt want:cool:

So it doesn't matter that the place is being ruined so long as we're the ones ruining it. Gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

thats a prime example of what you were talking about tallaghtmick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Nothing stopping you.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Nothing stopping you.

lol... but your not interested right? you washing your car that day yeah?

neil_hosey wrote: »
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Well done. *clap* ............... *clap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

The whole lets hope the queen takes us back stuff is already very tiresome and she has not even officially announced she is coming yet. You hear that and immediately know the type of person you are dealing with.

As for republicanism, people in any country are subject to the masters of the universe and there is little anyone can do about it but try to play by the market rules.

So it doesn't matter that the place is being ruined so long as we're the ones ruining it. Gotcha.

did i say we wreck the place????no
    Reloc8 wrote: »
    Nothing stopping you.
    exactly but look what happens when 1 man goes to the dail oh yeh hes arrested.

lol... but your not interested right? you washing your car that day yeah?

Well, I might be free later on in the week for the hero bit but not for the marching around not knowing wtf is going on because I didn't read the advertisement in the paper calling off the revolution.

I'm busy again for the execution bit though.

Ah seriously - I actually meant the whole voting thing :pac:
    exactly but look what happens when 1 man goes to the dail oh yeh hes arrested.

What Mr. [name deleted for defamatory purposes] does on his lunch break from the bank is a matter for himself oh hang on.

Well done. *clap* ............... *clap*

are you comic book guy?

the sarcasm is making my eyes water.

the "lets hand the keys back to the brits huh huh huh.. wheres my heiny" line is cringe worthy ....

are you comic book guy?

ooohhh ooohhh and ...... :rolleyes: <- wow, so powerful!

the "lets hand the keys back to the brits huh huh huh.. wheres my heiny" line is cringe worthy ....

Editing posts to make THAT contribution. Cringeworthy. You may as well have not bothered. People then could have still mistaken you for a person with a coherent thought process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I saw a newspaper a few weeks ago, or maybe it was a dream...........

but it said 'Counting down to 2016' and there was a picture of paddy pearse beside it.

Mental?

Editing posts to make THAT contribution. Cringeworthy. You may as well have not bothered. People then could have still mistaken you for a person with a coherent thought process.

I would have said 'not have bothered' but thats just me.

Glenster wrote: »

but it said 'Counting down to 2016' and there was a picture of paddy pearse beside it.

Mental?

ah yes 2016 the year irish people vote to apologise to the queen for being bastards:pac:

Mental?

Ah no - he was a nice fellow, just a bit intense about the whole purging ourselves by sacrifice thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think people take the republic for granted, even though this is a peoples republic we sit back and expected to be waited on hand and foot by the government, our involvement goes as far as voting every few years, paying taxes and rants that are based on pure ignorance because we really have no clue what's happening and we have no interest in getting involved.

I don't think we truly have a peoples republic yet as the people are absentee bosses. The elite get to run amok because we couldn't be bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Get over it! We had great men\women of this country only because they were needed at the time. Nowadays it doesn't really matter seeing that we're losing touch and our identity within Europe. (Yes I believe we are. I'm not an Irishman I'm a West-European).

These rabble-rousing maudlin ideals are stuck in the past therefore have no relevance on the future.

I suggest reading Animal Farm (with great power yada yada yada) and getting on with our lives. Unless you're going to actively make a change by getting out,doing something and not keyboard-warrior'ing all over the internet.

oh good come back! ur good!

why do you bother posting shíte like this? youve no interest in discussing the thread title at all do you?

I bothered editing because i give a shít. are you only here to troll people?? i suppose it is AH, arseholes are to be expected.

why do you bother posting shíte like this? youve no interest in discussing the thread title at all do you?

I bothered editing because i give a shít. are you only here to troll people?? i suppose it is AH, arseholes are to be expected.

Again I would have said assholes, more flow in this context, different strokes......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'd love to know what the men who died for the republic would think of what it had become if they came back tomorrow.

I don't think there are anywhere near as many people "ashamed" of being Irish as people make out. JUst a case of not being massively proud and thinking another country offers a better lifestyle is not automatically ashamed.

I do think nationalism is a massively overrated concept though, regardless of the nation involved.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Again I would have said assholes, more flow in this context, different strokes......

strangely enough, i had assholes, and i changed it to arseholes... weird. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Down with the vanity of nations! Unite the Human Race!

You got my vote!

And yet I'm comic book guy? :rolleyes: Just out of interest may I add ^^ that one to my repertoire? You see I'm hosting a birthday party for my 5 year old nephew and his friends this weekend and I'm expecting the discussion of Ben10 and Dora the Explorer to get rather heated.

I was talking about it until you came along with your stupid little eyes to heaven bs.

As to assholes being expected, yes indeed it is AH. Good to see you again.

BURN!

And yet I'm comic book guy? :rolleyes: Just out of interest may I add ^^ that one to my repertoire? You see I'm hosting a birthday party for my 5 year old nephew and his friends this weekend and I'm expecting the discussion of Ben10 and Dora the Explorer to get rather heated.

I was talking about it until you came along with your stupid little eyes to heaven bs.

ok listen ill let you get the last post in, it seems important to you. gd luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I'd love to know what the men who died for the republic would think of what it had become if they came back tomorrow.

I don't think there are anywhere near as many people "ashamed" of being Irish as people make out. JUst a case of not being massively proud and thinking another country offers a better lifestyle is not automatically ashamed.

I do think nationalism is a massively overrated concept though, regardless of the nation involved.

I think their souls have wept continously over the last 90 years.

The flag has changed but everything else is the same

And yet I'm comic book guy? :rolleyes:
    Nice use of smug rolleyes, you can taste the superiority.

Just out of interest may I add ^^ that one to my repertoire? Good use of repertoire You see I'm hosting a birthday party for my 5 year old nephew and his friends this weekend and I'm expecting the discussion of Ben10 and Dora the Explorer to get rather heated.
    Nice detail

falls down a bit here with the 'eyes to heaven' remark

Ho Ha Body Blow! He's rubber you're glue, it's the old switcharoo, there's no coming back from that. Goodnight ladies and gentlemen!
    /

ok listen ill let you get the last post in, it seems important to you. gd luck!

Thanks for letting me get the last post in. Here it is. I'll let you get back to playing with your childish little emoticons.

Crosáidí wrote: »
    I think their souls have wept continously over the last 90 years.

The flag has changed but everything else is the same

Ahem, apologies!

chin_grin wrote: »
    I think that's the most retarded thing I'll read all day. And I'm an avid lurker of After Hours!

thank you

thank you

Wait, I wasn't attacking you. Just that.....yeah...I could've worded it a bit better.......

The flag doesn't change it's what the flag represents that can. Was my point. So, my apologies. Knee-jerk post if you will.

Unless...........that's what you originally meant and I've just looked like a retard posting what you meant anyways. Ugh. Too early!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No.

We've sh1t so much over our country that it's reputation is almost beyond repair.

chin_grin wrote: »
    Wait, I wasn't attacking you. Just that.....yeah...I could've worded it a bit better.......

The flag doesn't change it's what the flag represents that can. Was my point. So, my apologies. Knee-jerk post if you will.

Unless...........that's what you originally meant and I've just looked like a retard posting what you meant anyways. Ugh. Too early!

We have always been ruled by an elite few people though, if you think Irish people have a say in how Ireland is run your sadly mistaken, election or no election. If they actually cared about what we thought, we wouldn't've been denied our democratic rights on 5 occasions (Nice, Lisbon, 3 by-elections).
    We are just consumers, tax paying public to them not human beings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

We have always been ruled by an elite few people though, if you think Irish people have a say in how Ireland is run your sadly mistaken, election or no election. If they actually cared about what we thought, we wouldn't've been denied our democratic rights on 5 occasions (Nice, Lisbon, 3 by-elections).
    We are just consumers, tax paying public to them not human beings

Democracy for ya!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Simple answer is No, No we don’t. The Republic of Ireland is far from the Irish Republic which was proclaimed in 1916 and which the volunteers fought and died for in the war on independence unfortunately.

Im not sure if the level of anti Irish feeling from our own people is as high as it appears to be, or if it is alot of people jumping on the bash Ireland band wagon. At the moment its the only show in town, people should be uniting for change instead of arguing and fighting with each other.

All i know is that this country wont be fixed after this election, and there will be alot of hard work to do to get this country back on track, but i think we owe it to future generations and indeed ourselves to do whatever it takes to fix this once and for all, be it through dramatic political reform, financial problems etc. We are all aware of the sacrifices we will need to make, but this should begin from the top level down and those shameful politicians responsible should be made fully accountable for their actions while in power, and any future politicians the same if they step out of line.

Im just hoping by 2016 we are in a far better place financially and as a whole nation, to pay tribute to those who at the time could see Irelands potential for future generations and so decided it was worth fighting for and possibly dying for. We owe them more than people will let on.

I don’t see my identity as an Irishman disappearing despite what people may claim about our identity in general, im a proud Irish man, and consider myself nothing but that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Alright, most of ye would think of me as a shinner. I don't think I am. I would like to think that I both honour and respect the memory of James Connolly and what he fought and died for.

I think our republicanism is still respected and admired in the lands of our best and oldest friends;

And while they have been subject to sleeveen knackers in parliament just as we have, I'd love to think that there is still a great fondness for each other, amongst the people.

It would be nice if we could do something together to remember a real lover of the working man/woman for 2016 and remember again our fondness for each other.

He would have liked that immensely; our ability to show that we are neither communists nor unfettered capitalists.

True Patriots.

R.I.P.
    If you think they died for the excuse of a "republic" we have today you are deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Simple answer is No, No we don’t. The Republic of Ireland is far from the Irish Republic which was proclaimed in 1916 and which the volunteers fought and died for in the war on independence unfortunately.
    Well really Ireland should be far removed from the republic of 1916. 1916 was nearly 100 years ago, it was a completely different time. Sure the rebels who brought us freedom did a great thing for their time but I don't understand why we're looking with rose tinted glasses to the previous century for advice on what we should be doing in this new information/technology age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

ScumLord wrote: »
    Well really Ireland should be far removed from the republic of 1916. 1916 was nearly 100 years ago, it was a completely different time. Sure the rebels who brought us freedom did a great thing for their time but I don't understand why we're looking with rose tinted glasses to the previous century for advice on what we should be doing in this new information/technology age.

True it was 100 years ago, but the proclamation is just as relevant today as it was back then, it was a document that was years ahead of its time, alot can be learned from it.

Even if people don’t feel they are important today, they are the primary reason of why there is no Union flag flying over the GPO today and other government buildings, they do not deserve to be forgotten. Like i said they obviously seen our potential in the future to decide a free nation was worth fighting and dying for, and then look at the mess our politicians and chums make of that freedom today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The only thing cherished in this republic is hard cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Democracy for ya!

We have the best democracy money can buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    If you think they died for the excuse of a "republic" we have today you are deluded.

it all comes down to the fact we got soft and greedy. It was just so easy to ignore the countries problems and let the goverment throw money at everything rather than actually establish a worth while economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I think our love for the republic is 4% too little. Year on year though, it's looking good, patriotismwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

I'm proud as can be of being Irish.

Love my country.
    Ashamed of our Government.

Id much prefer a 32county republic.

Also i think alot of people in the free state do not realise how good they also have it over here, things could be alot worse, although it could be alot better also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

True Patriots.

R.I.P.

these 3 men wanted completely different things for this country after independence, Connolly was a hardcore sociallist who was willing to go through what ever it took to get what he wanted, if he had of survived. a great leader of men. if Connolly had of seen the way irish workers were treated over all in the last 90 years he would be spinning in his grave.