Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kenny says he will defer €100k pension lump-sum until he leaves politics

• 20-02-2011 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭

This a great windfall for four years teaching.

The gravy train chugs along it's merry way. Looks like we will have to wait another few years for reform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

What a f*cking idiot. 100K is nothing compared to what he's going to earn in the next 5-10 years.

You'd think he'd just say "I'm not accepting it" or donate it to charity. That kind of action could be the difference between getting an overall majority and having to share power with labour.

I want FG to get a majority or ideally coalition with Greens/Independents btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

complete political reform is whats needed .... anyone associated with current politics should get a 10-15year ban from political life.

Completely reform politics - you cannot or should not be capable of earning money from a previous job while you leave the old one....make a decision...either be a teacher or a f*ckin politician.... if you leave one job to be another thats your choice ...live with it...if political life fails then tough sh1t.

accountability is another thing - if a politician wastes public money ... straight away ...out !!! ... gross misconduct wasting millions of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ranchers

bette wrote: »

The gravy train chugs along it's merry way. Looks like we will have to wait another few years for reform.
    How can we expect change and reform when the preacher wont walk the talk (ENDA)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Its more of the same by the look of it. How could he think that its ok to take that lump sum of 100K and a 30K pension for 4 miserable years of work.

He is as bad as FF with that carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

yep the lies the illusions, David Copperfield would be proud of you ENDA keep up the good work,

we are for down the swanee for sure, start packing your suitcases,

those of you fortunate enough to have 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

bette wrote: »

will we fcuk!! a simple revolt until change is brought in is all that's needed!! what is wrong with people that there's already a defeatest attitude concerning the new government like we have to put up with it!!!!!!!

we control the country and these **** are blessed with their positions!!!!

off with their heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭diarmuid79

Kenny is a joke and I bet he gives back the money when the pressue comes on worse than Fianna Fail bring in the Army !!!:eek:

I hope his sickening greed costs him the change to run this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

sollar wrote: »
    I hope his sickening greed costs him the change to run this country.

This guy has paid into this particular pension for nearly 40 years from his dail salary and your calling him greedy! Now you dont want him to collect because your on hard times probably. Jesus some revisionism here

Sugarfree wrote: »
    This guy has paid into this particular pension for nearly 40 years from his dail salary and your calling him greedy! Now you dont want him to collect because your on hard times probably. Jesus some revisionism here

ah now!! these people are elected into positions of money coming from all sides even though we the people are having money/services reduced to flip all and when some of us point out the greed we're being bitter!! :eek:

There is always an apologist for this sort of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Fcuk this, Im voting SF now for a default. The sooner the pockets of these greedy cnuts dry up the better, and there is no better way to empty their pockets and their bank accounts then a default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭erictheviking1

Rubbish! He hasn't paid a penny towards that pension. he's a 2 faced hypocrite. This reinforces my belief that one party is just as bad as the other. They are all the same. lining each others pockets at our expense. In any other country they'd be lynched!:mad:

Pure f ucking ****e being posted here. Lads no wonder the country is f ucked with the likes of ye about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

Rubbish! He hasn't paid a penny towards that pension. he's a 2 faced hypocrite.

I think he gets paid his salary plus increments minus salary of sub. Sub does not get pension rights and eventually is replaced by another sub as job has to be kept (for the politician) open.

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    ah now!! these people are elected into positions of money coming from all sides even though we the people are having money/services reduced to flip all and when some of us point out the greed we're being bitter!! :eek:

Well why dont you run for T.D. Why dont you have the ambition to get into these well paying positions. This is a capitalist country people who perform the best rise to the top and get the most money. If you dont like it why dont you feck off the cuba or north Korea or some other socialist state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Ray Burkes Pension

Its a contributory pension. He's paid money into it himself over the years. Why shouldnt he get his own money back?

Well why dont you run for T.D. Why dont you have the ambition to get into these well paying positions. This is a capitalist country that rewards the sneakiest rats and assists their rise to the top and get the most money. If you dont like it why dont you feck off the cuba or north Korea or some other socialist state.

simply because democracy is only for show and to quote someone on here durin the week "if voting did actually change anything it wouldn't be allowed". also I'm not a self serving bollix and wouldn't last 5 minutes having to swallow the bull**** that goes on in Leinster house!!

edit : fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well why dont you run for T.D. Why dont you have the ambition to get into these well paying positions. This is a capitalist country people who perform the best rise to the top and get the most money. If you dont like it why dont you feck off the cuba or north Korea or some other socialist state.

The bit in bold definitely doesn't appear to be true!

Kenny should not get this pension; if he takes it he's a hypocrite.

simply because democracy is only for show and to quote someone on here durin the week "if voting did actually change anything it wouldn't be allowed". also I'm not a self serving bollix and wouldn't last 5 minutes having to swallow the bull**** that goes on in Leinster house!!

Well why dont you get a well paid Job. Become a managing director or a CEO? Instead you and your lot whinge about other people becoming successful. Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Ray Burkes Pension

Rubbish! He hasn't paid a penny towards that pension. he's a 2 faced hypocrite. This reinforces my belief that one party is just as bad as the other. They are all the same. lining each others pockets at our expense. In any other country they'd be lynched!:mad:

All teacher's pensions are contributory. There's no way he could of got this without contributing his own money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

This is a capitalist country people who perform the best rise to the top and get the most money. If you dont like it why dont you feck off the cuba or north Korea or some other socialist state.
    Um, this is actually socialism, not capitalism. Where do you think the money comes from to line Endas pockets?

Well why dont you get a well paid Job. Become a managing director or a CEO? Instead you and your lot whinge about other people becoming successful. Jesus wept.

ah now! as for getting a well paid job I had a really good paying job until the bubble burst, I provided a service not catered for around the west of Ireland and got well paid for it! I've been on the dole for so long now it's a joke! who exactly are "my lot" you speak of?!? I've broken ties with all those around me that share your views so by your reckoning my lot are those who believe in a better system than the same system rehashed and we just get on with it!

this country is doomed with repeated failure because of the likes of you.

ah now! as for getting a well paid job I had a really good paying job until the bubble burst, I provided a service not catered for around the west of Ireland and got well paid for it! I've been on the dole for so long now it's a joke! who exactly are "my lot" you speak of?!? I've broken ties with all those around me that share your views so by your reckoning my lot are those who believe in a better system than the same system rehashed and we just get on with it!

this country is doomed with repeated failure because of the likes of you.

Lets get this right. The eejits on here main point is, "If i'm not making any money then no one else should" Just because you are a failure it doesnt mean the rest of us cant be successful.

not at all mate, people are angry at the fact that the system is being upheld that sees those in already overpaid positions continue to cream more and more and nothing changes!

I can't even reply to your last nasty jibe as to do so will probably see me banned for a week!

I will say this though : wrong, wrong, wrongggggggg!!!

From RTE twitter

RTE_Elections RTE Election
    Enda Kenny said he will not accept any of his teacher’s pension despite the fact that he has 'simply paid into it for many years.' #ge11

Now hope your all happy. Hounding a man out of what he paid his own money for.

From RTE twitter

Enda Kenny said he will not accept any of his teacher’s pension despite the fact that he has 'simply paid into it for many years.' #ge11

now Jesus wept!!!

he better get used to it too, if he thinks he can take a Brian cowen approach and deny the inevitable to the bitter end he's got another thing coming and to be honest so do you.

the time for this kind of bullsh1t has been and gone! FACT!!!!

From RTE twitter

If he were to forego the TD pension and collect the teacher one it might be better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

It now appears that he will get paid 3 pensions – TD, minister and teacher and that he will get the teaching pension for 34 years service even though he didn’t set foot in a classroom for 30 of those years

Who wouldnt have paid into this scheme? You are painting him like some kind of Randian entrepreneur when all he did is play the crooked system like the rest of them.

Get used to it folks, just when you are sick to the back teeth of FF apologists, here come the FG apologists to take their place. Two sides of the same coin.

Since you're defining success in monetary term, who of the following would you regard as "successful" ?

Bertie Ahern
    Sean Fitzpatrick
    David Drumm
    Brian Lenihan

?

All the above have been spectacular failures and all of them are well paid.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Since you're defining success in monetary term, who of the following would you regard as "successful" ?

Bertie Ahern
    Sean Fitzpatrick
    David Drumm
    Brian Lenihan

?

All the above have been spectacular failures and all of them are well paid.

I can't wait to see his reply/spin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

How is this an issue?

Kenny paid in his own money to a pension. Now, he should get that amount back as a pension (When the time comes). If he hadnt paid in that money, he would've had it anyway. I dont see the problem...

How is this corrupt? Am I missing something here?

How is this an issue?

Kenny paid in his own money to a pension. Now, he should get that amount back as a pension (When the time comes). If he hadnt paid in that money, he would've had it anyway. I dont see the problem...

just the little fact of about to be due three pensions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

just the little fact of about to be due three pensions!

But he has refused his teacher's pension. He won't draw 1 cent from it he said. Calm down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Its a contributory pension. He's paid money into it himself over the years. Why shouldnt he get his own money back?

In that case why don't we all have access to the same facility? I would be happy to do so if it gave me a €100k lump sum and a defined benefit after that.

The fact of the matter is the Kenny has abused the system for personal gain. Exactly the same way as I believe - and most reasonable people - that Ivor Callely wrongly took advantage of the system.

Kenny is a career politician and has been for decades - he should have forfeited these benefits that he no longer deserved years ago.

Defering it is unacceptable. We, the taxpayer still have to pay it. Even if he gives it back to the State, it is still unacceptable. Why? This maintenance of this pension was dishonest and indicates traits that are not desirable in any future leader of the nation.

In other countries, Kenny would be out of the race if this revelation came to light. Time to resign Mr. Kenny since your actions go against 2 points of your 5 point plan. Now you know why the public sector costs so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

BrianD wrote: »
    Defering it is unacceptable. We, the taxpayer still have to pay it. Even if he gives it back to the State, it is still unacceptable. Why? This maintenance of this pension was dishonest and indicates traits that are not desirable in any future leader of the nation.

Well said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

So he paid into his pension with tax-payers money for 40 years. Bravo that man :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

But he has refused his teacher's pension. He won't draw 1 cent from it he said. Calm down

Actually, no. He has said he will not collect it until he retires from politics. I reckon about 2015. Then he'll be quids in.

But it doesn't get away from the fact that he acting dishonesty to obtain what I assume is pretty much a defined benefit pension. It is a scandal. No two ways about it.

The pension is for the benefit of those employed and working as a teacher. Kenny has not worked as a teacher for 37 years. He is now benefitting from a teachers pension.

He is using some sort of a loop hole to continue benefit from this pension. I don't know if he has paid in anything as contributions into this pension over the years - it seems unclear - but if he has, it has come from his TD salary paid by the State. Worse still if the State was paying in as well. Certainly the taxpayer will be paying out.

Mr. Kenny knew exactly what he was doing over the years and knew the windfall he was going to get. He had every opportunity to stop it.

What he should have done is stopped his pension after he left his teaching post and marked it paid up. By all means, allow him earn interest on what ever was paid into his fund while he was teaching.

Mr. Kenny is pontificating on about restructuring the civil service to make it more cost effective and efficient. He no longer has credibility to do this when he himself is going to draw down a very generous pension for a job he DID NOT DO and a pension that many in the private sec only dream oftor could. We the tax payer have to fund this instead of other needed public services.

Mr. Kenny no longer has any credibilty and he is simply a dishonest man sponging the system. Time to resign Enda - this is a resigning matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 lawladdie

How is this an issue?

Because he's not getting that amount back as a pension. This isnt a scheme based on contributions. Public service pensions from this era require minimal contributions that are nothing like the costs of the pension paid out (which has changed for newer entrants before we start on the PS rant).

He's been putting in a little bit for a massive return, all courtesy of the tax payer, for a job he did for four years.

If he got back his contributions, or even the increase in those contributions over time, Id have no problem with that.

At the same time, he's also entitled to a pension for his time as Minister. And TD. And presumably Taoiseach as well. All courtesy of the taxpayer.

Just like his 'severance' payment as Minister back in the 90's for having to leave his job. And continue as a TD.

And his very, very high level of expense claims (top 10 I read somewhere?).

All of those that have been milking the system (legally) have shown no conscience, cop on, shame or sense of real public service.

We really need to get past both FF and FG and move on to a new system with no political donations and no political control over public jobs. FG will just replace FF lackeys and donors with their own ... or going on the IT's report on Varadkar's fundraiser last week, the FF donors seem to just be moving over to FG so that the taxpayer gravy train can keep rolling. All aboard!

And I just saw this too:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0221/breaking29.html

You cant ask me questions until my handlers figure out my response?

Its going to be five more years of the same old, same old, isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

BrianD wrote: »
    But it doesn't get away from the fact that he acting dishonesty to obtain what I assume is pretty much a defined benefit pension. It is a scandal. No two ways about it.

The pension is for the benefit of those employed and working as a teacher. Kenny has not worked as a teacher for 37 years. He is now benefitting from a teachers pension.

He is using some sort of a loop hole to continue benefit from this pension. I don't know if he has paid in anything as contributions into this pension over the years - it seems unclear - but if he has, it has come from his TD salary paid by the State. Worse still if the State was paying in as well. Certainly the taxpayer will be paying out.

Mr. Kenny knew exactly what he was doing over the years and knew the windfall he was going to get. He had every opportunity to stop it.

I agree completely with you. What a co-incidence that he suddenly decides the week before the election that he's not going to accept it.

He though it was OK for the past 35 years, but now has suddenly had a change of heart? It smells of electioneering and he's not the kind of guy I want to lead our country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

lawladdie wrote: »
    And I just saw this too:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0221/breaking29.html

You cant ask me questions until my handlers figure out my response?

Its going to be five more years of the same old, same old, isnt it?

I think this is the first mistake by Kenny and martin looks good because of it.
    Martin says (on radio this morning) he kept his teaching job open to keep the post available for a teacher i.e. if he gives it up now a teacher loses his job. He defended PAt careys pension on tha basis that Carey taught for 30 years before becoming a TD but Enda only for 4 years. He said FG brought up the issue not himself (Martin).

Kenny last week said he would keep his 40,000 ministerial pension because it "comes from a time before the current mess FF have caused" or words to that extent anyway. It isn't a very strong argumentin my view. There are also Labour people on MEP plus TD plus Ministerial plus one or two other pensions. I know of one ex Labour TD on I believe five or six pensions. In fact civil servant TK Whittaker now in his nineties is on a pension of about 200k a year I think.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T._K._Whitaker

You would have to root into very established Ireland and up[set a lot of apple carts e.g. judges etc. if you wanted to change all this. Kenny et. al. are only the skim on the surface.

I mean http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/public%20expenditure/2011/rev2011.pdf

Vote 38 there is three and a half billion paid into state pensions each year. How much of that is central civil servants, retired generals, judges, Garda commissioners, RTE, ESB bosses etc. on 100k plus pension?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Ah Kenny, you were so close to a single party government and now you've gone and blown it, you bloody idiot. Sh1t like this wouldn't of happened if Bruton had of been the leader, Kenny has been shown up for the massive hypocrite that he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

What have the other party leaders said about their pensions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Only after getting caught by his nads. Im sure he was praying to every saint in the sky that it wouldn't hit the media.

Edit : And you are wrong, he will drawn down many cent's from this very pension when he retires. 4 years service and a full pension.

dsmythy wrote: »
    What have the other party leaders said about their pensions?

I don't have a problem with pensions for TDs that leave office and are paid a pension commensurate with their years of service.

I do have a problem with Kenny taking deliverate and affirmative action to claim a pension for a state job that he did not do. This is exactly the kind of behaviour that we want rooted out of the Dail. This is a resigning matter for Kenny.

I am surprised that the media in general haven't really grasped this one yet and are just focusing on the fact that Kenny, Martin and others held a second job 'open' for many years. The difference is that Kenny - and perhaps others from all parties - are engaging in swindling the tax payer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Between this now and Lucinda Creighton's backward catholofascist stance on gay marriage, FG have lost themselves a voter, namely me. Going Lab + good Independents all the way now.

The SBP claims he was a principal when he was elected. After only four years. Would that be normal?

Or would his dad being a local TD at the time be in any way relevant?

Its a shame politics has made me so cynical :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

lawladdie wrote: »
    The SBP claims he was a principal when he was elected. After only four years. Would that be normal?

Or would his dad being a local TD at the time be in any way relevant?

Its a shame politics has made me so cynical :(

Oh Christ: Kenny's father was also a TD? I can see that when it comes to nepotism and milking the system for all you can, this Fine Gael government is going to be so radically different from Fianna Fáil - not. :mad: