Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you had to pay to use Boards...

• 20-02-2011 3:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Would you?

If you had to pay to use Boards, would you? 460 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    4% 20 votes
    Depends on the price
    73% 337 votes
    I already pay a subscription fee because I am girly & I like to have pink stars beside my name
    22% 103 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

No Id start my own forum, with hookers, and coke, and beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

What do you know we don't ? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭TheProdigy

No, I wouldn't be that sad tbh, but then again I'm on the internet at 3:23 am

Its only 3:23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

nope.

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,289 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

What, you mean you haven't gotten your invoice yet?

Boards is like a Yakuza bar. You think you're having a great time, and then you're hit with a bill for 600,000 yen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i already pay, i likes me winkin ginger pussaaaay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

If I had the money to subscribe I would, but the fact is, even 5 euro a month is too much for me at the moment, especially when it's no real direct benefit to me. BTW, S&S is set to be made available without subscribing so a big reason to subscribe is now gone :p

That said, if it was either pay or don't use it, I wouldn't use it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Would you?

Would you?

i already pay, i likes me winkin ginger pussaaaay :D
    I see no pink stars only drunken girly ramblings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Why would i pay to type random sh*t on forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Is this a trick question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I see no pink stars only drunken girly ramblings

mwah! seen that and was all like fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

I chose no.

If I HAD to pay I wouldn't.

I do pay the subscription though. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I only pay to eat because I have to, nevermind paying for boards :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I chose no.

If I HAD to pay I wouldn't.

I do pay the subscription though. . .

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Would you?

not enough porn imho...

Informantion porn i mean.... the good oul threads of yester-year...

ahh good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

No
    If there was a fee..
    A new forum would ascend
    Tbh I think boardsies would create a new forum

Maybe call it "thrilling"
    Or after-hours even

What would ye call the new free forum?
    It would have reference boards in honour of the old free forum ... What da ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why?

If you HAD to pay to use this place you wouldn't get the same experience here. Most people would not pay to use a forum given there are loads of free forums out there, so this place wouldn't be as active as it is, and even if it was, the crowd wouldn't be quite so diverse.

wurzlitzer wrote: »
    No
    If there was a fee..
    A new forum would ascend
    Tbh I think boardsies would create a new forum

Maybe call it "thrilling"
    Or after-hours even

What would ye call the new free forum?
    It would have reference boards in honour of the old free forum ... What da ya think?
    Id call it "a bit of craic which leads to offense and moral outrage and lots of moaning"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

United Left Alliance believes that Boards belongs to the people and all moderators are the landlord and banker class. How else can it explain how mods have time to impose their will on us unless they have profited from the workers and have the leisure time to send me pm's during 9-5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

LOL, paying for internetz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I think Boards along with other websites is the only reason I pay for the internet, but paying for Boards itself wouldn't be right, I like knowing I can have a laugh with someone without having to spend money I don't have at the minute :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

What's the question again?

Rashers or sausages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Not a feckin chance. Pay for this....????

Go on i dare yiz. See what happens.

RASHERS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

We already pay for it with the shîtty advertising scalding our retinae every time we log on. I know many free forums which are much better regarding the layout and usability, funded by the site owners. This place looks cheap.

Ads = greed.

Rashers

Would you pay for the aul boards me friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sausages every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

Anyone notice how the poll results look like a raised middle finger?

wurzlitzer wrote: »
    Rashers

Would you pay for the aul boards me friend

No.

Some things - when you put a price on them - they lose their value.

Boards would be one of those things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Not enough tits or gee on boards to be worth paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

No.

Some things - when you put a price on them - they lose their value.

Boards would be one of those things.

Like Mars bars do when you got to weightwatchers .

Crasp wrote: »
    Anyone notice how the poll results look like a raised middle finger?

Like the statue of liberty...

There is a lot of ads on this forum, and then there's deals too

stoneill wrote: »
    Not enough tits or gee on boards to be worth paying for.

You haven't been to "know you loungers" then, I take it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

You haven't been to "know you loungers" then, I take it? :D

I have - and I stand by my statement.

stoneill wrote: »
    I have - and I stand by my statement.

Stick to the porn then dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

all this talk about tits. i better sit down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

What, you mean you haven't gotten your invoice yet?

Boards is like a Yakuza bar. You think you're having a great time, and then you're hit with a bill for 600,000 yen.

Autoreji....???...No? Am i the only one who knows this movie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Would you?

Anyway..why did you ask??

I do pay ;s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I would pay a once off price for a membership to the forum. But, thats it.

I already have membership of another paid forum so it wouldn't really bother me, unless membership was a rip off

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Don't think I would....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Nope I would not pay there are too many other free forums on the web. I do enjoy boards.ie but it is not so good that I would pay for the privilege. TBH the adds of late are getting on my nerves they seem to be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Limited poll options.

If I had to pay to use Boards then I wouldn't have signed up. But I chose to subscribe after my first year, as a small thanks for the entertainment value the site has given me.
    cock robin wrote: »
    TBH the adds of late are getting on my nerves they seem to be everywhere.

Tweak your settings dude, I haven't a single ad because they are totally blocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

I love boards but I don't think I'd pay to use it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

No way would I pay to use boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

To be honest, I wouldn't no. I don't even see the point of being a subscriber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

When you subscribe there's an option to hide the ads. I have all ads blocked by default anyway though, so that's one of the reasons I don't mind subscribing.