Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The great Ghost Pro debate

• 16-02-2011 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭

Since it seems to be a bone of contention with everyone, myself included, lets talk about Ghost Pro. Now for nearly every perk or killstreak theres a counter, with GP the Blackbird is the only thing that works against it given the lack of heartbeat sensors in the 60's.
    Problem is that unless you're in a party that runs it no noobs are either A. gonna have it equipped or B. gonna get the 8 streak it needs. being that your average Blops noob loves their RCXD streak for those oh so hilarious killcams. so if you're playing a game with randoms and the other team is all running GP you're screwed.

Now perks that make you invisible to air support and UAV's are welcome, but being that the COD community, scamps that they are, love to abuse perks, GP has become probably the Commando of Blops, ie the gamewrecker. I have a GP class, its an AK with silencer, Strela, Ghost Pro, SOH Pro and Ninja. I use this for UAVs and air support. And as far as I'm concerned, thats using the perk the right way.
    Every streak should have a counter, and I'll be damned if I'm letting the other team get any kind of air support up, the players who whinge that people go out of their way to shoot down their air support are fools imo, that means the other team is on the ball if I blow your chopper gunner out of the sky before it gets a kill.
    Sure we all love getting choppers and gunships up on a spawntrapped team on Domination, seeing all those lovely red icons show up and letting a torrent of bullets fly, you got your killstreak, go bananas with it, but alas sometimes someone has the cop on and the team player attitude to send your chopper spiralling off the map to chopper heaven, where he can rest easy with his fallen comrades Misters Pavelow and AC-130.

Then you have the abusers, the "I'll crouch in a corner with my gun ADS'ed at that doorway, claymore covering the other door, heehee they can't see me" player. i.e the sh1t player. The ones who have no concept of team play, dont call out enemy positions, killstreaks only benefit them (looking at you RC-XD!) and generally make playing the game akin to trying to organise a gang of kids to line up properly, not easy.

In MW2 you had Cold Blooded Pro, actually one of my favourite perks, so much so I had it on two classes, my anti air one and my second sniper one. And nobody cared. seriously NOBODY cared about Cold Blooded Pro in MW2, it was a perk that seeing it show on your killcam you wouldnt instantly think "omfg cbpro faaag!" and you had to lose Stopping Power in order to use it which put you at a major disadvantage (except when using the SCAR, that thing was a frigging beast with or without Stopping Power, the ACR though you may as well have been throwing kittens at the enemy for all the good it did without it) so it wasnt a gamewrecker at all, it was a fair perk where using it put you at a disadvantage in a gunfight.

so among my ramblings, what are peoples opinions? do you use Ghost, with the "right" way or the frowned upon way? has it ruined Blops as WingsofRedemptions likes to tell everyone? or are you fairly indifferent

Ghost Pro, do you use it? 126 votes

Yes but the right way,air support spanker that I am
    0% 0 votes
    Yes, I hide in corners like a girly man hoping someone runs past
    45% 57 votes
    I dont care if people use it, they paid for the game, do what they want
    4% 6 votes
    I think people who use it are gamewrecking harlots
    26% 33 votes
    I dont use it and dont care if people do either
    12% 16 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    11% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What pisses me off about ghost is seeing people at the very start of the game using it

ffs cup on like, I can understand if your team is getting destroyed but not a very start ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Imo people that use it arent very good at the game nor do they understand how to play objective games.

In tdm it can be annoying when you come across a team full of ghost users and you know your in for a campy game.

I've never gotten ghost pro , i used ghost for the first 2 days when the game came out but that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

It doesnt bother me if someone is using it and running around trying to flank or sneak up to an objective but someone with a claymore, silencer and ghost in a corner is so annoying. I think if there was no ghost the game would be much more fast paced. If you play a map like array and you get a UAV and 1 dot shows up you know your in for a long game. The Pro part of it shouldnt exist because of how easy it is to shoot down a chopper, they should have an extra flare each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

On my last prestige i used ghost for a little bit just before I upped again.

I only used it really because of all the bother it caused in the About last night thread as I wanted to know what the hassle was.

I have to say, I enjoyed using ghost because it was so easy to sneak up on people, I decided to go on full bollix mode and equip my rifle with silencer as well. And on a few occasions would shoot people once and then hide to see if they could find me before killing them.

Now I never EVER camp, I can't it's boring and I'm not interested, but using Ghost was a fun time, getting kills was easier so I was less pissed off about the game, as I can get a little annoyed if I am having a bad day of games.

I guess I would be classified as using it right, never got Ghost pro, though I think I was 2 aircraft kills away, but prestiged.

Ghost is a grand perk, not over powered at all really. It hides from UAV's only, which is fair enough.

Ghost pro is a cnut though, far too easy to get for something that powerful! I do consider it the realm of noobs when I play, and I am a relative noob as it is. I have never even played in a party! (joined one of a boardsies one once by mistake, left because I was embarrassed just randomly joining people who all knew eachother ha)

But anyway, I'm straying from the point due to tiredness.

I can't count the amount of times that I ran into a room, and before I can even check my corners there is a person by the door waiting crouched. It's seriously frustrating and while I know it's my fault for not being quite so thorough, it's still bad play from people who do it.

I am not good by any manner of means, but I will take my wins and losses fair without campy behaviour.

So in short, the problem is really campers who abuse the perk, but the perk is at fault for being there to be abused.

I am not sure if that or second chance (the most selfish perk in the game) is my least favourite though.

Final point: I do think that Chopper Gunner and Hind should have 2 flares though, it's too easy for anyone with a Strella to take them out with in 20 second of them going up, given the kill streak it takes to get, it should require a little teamwork to take out.

TL;DR: Ghost = Good, Ghost Pro = Abused by campers and overpowered, too cheap to get also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

I don't use Ghost Pro like any of the options in the poll. I use it as an attacking weapon along with Hacker so that I can sneak up on enemy campers and take them by surprise. Even if the enemy is using ghost themselves, I'll generally know that there is someone in a room when I see a glowing Claymore at the door. :p

I don't like camping, but with ghost it does allow you to camp and lay low whilst you try and salvage a half decent KD in TDM when a game starts to go horribly wrong.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

I use to use ghost on my sniper class(just for the ghillie suit:p) but swapped it out for hardline as it didnt really do anything for me. With the hit detection on snipers and my inconsistent aim evryone knows where i am anyway.:)

My main gripe with ghost isn't the person using it's fault but my own as playing in a party most of the time with an almost constant stream of UAV's ive become over reliant on the UAV leading me to run blind around a corner into a ghost who's normally packing a rapid fire 74u.

People camping in corners aiming at a door don't bother me as they never get me twice and if they did i'd see it as my mistake for bein stupid enough to be killed twice by the same camper.

I have never really been bothered by the so called problems in the cod games bar hackers. Even the oma noobtube thing didnt get to me and booster hunting was great fun but maybe thats just me. It is a video game after all and people shouldn't get so worked up over things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I use Ghost Pro, Warlord Pro, and Marathon Pro in all game modes bar Domination. In Dom I would replace Ghost Pro with Flak Jacket which I find comes in handy for capping flags.

Only time I would use Ghost Pro in Dom is when the enemies have a chopper up and I respawn with my anti-air class with the Strela-3.

From COD 4 thru MW2 the only Tier 2 perks i used were Stopping Power (core) or UAV jammer/cold blooded (hardcore).

There is no SP anymore, so Ghost it is. I fail to see the problem with it. Its practically essential for objective game modes. I don't play TDM though, so I've yet to run into a whole team of campers using it. In any other gamemode, sitting in a corner camping is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,601 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

From COD 4 thru MW2 the only Tier 2 perks i used were Stopping Power (core) or UAV jammer/cold blooded (hardcore).

There is no SP anymore, so Ghost it is. I fail to see the problem with it. Its practically essential for objective game modes. I don't play TDM though, so I've yet to run into a whole team of campers using it. In any other gamemode, sitting in a corner camping is pointless.
    how is it essential for objectives? It tells the other team where you are if you try to capture things in Dom, SnD nobody will have a spy plane for the first 1 or 2 rounds, Demo you need flak jacket to get near the bomb. It is not essential in any way unless you don't plan on playing the objective imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I have two go to classes.
    Hardlinepro/SOHpro/Marathon Pro AK47 Dual Mags (use this mostly)
    Hardlinepro/Warlordpro/Tac Mask pro Famas RDS/Dual Mags

Also have two Ghost pro classes but rarely use them in comaprison. Playing FFA and TDM mostly I don't find a lot of ppl using UAVs .... honestly. If I do I'll change to Gpro/SOHpro/MarathonPro Famas Supressor. The other Ghost class is on my sniper class which I find useful cos if a UAV does go up y'er pretty much defensless against an AR/SMG and I do camp like a cnut when sniping (you'll generally find me on the crane in Array :)).

If people want to use Ghostpro I have no problem with it but understand why you get pist off when on a good run and you run into a camper using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

I use GP and to be honest, whether I had it or not, it takes the same amount of time to down air support. If you're lucky enough to pick the right target at the start of your hind/Huey when I'm not using ghost , then good for you, imma respawn and blow your heli up in 2 secs anyway! If someone wants to blow your heli then they will do it GP or not.

As for camping I'm semi-guilty. I do camp buildings, but they are all generally the high footfall areas, and I have an m14 dot. It's all too easy to clear a camper, toss a flash in, use a motion sensor outside to pinpoint, throw a cooked nade, noob tube, whatever. To be honest people who complain about people camping buildings just don't have a clue how to counter them. There are ways to counter every position, even sitting in a corner. Places like firing range, they want to camp then wall fire the crap out of them. Go for it. I don't care if you do, your just going to kill off any campers with no skill!

It's early and that last paragraph made no sense :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

Meh the people who complain about ghost seem to reliant on the radar, the amount of times i have seen a guy walk through a door and die and then another guy follow him because its safe because he cant see any sign on the radar is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭DazzlerIE

I'll generally start a game with Hardline Pro, but if the other team keep putting up spy planes, then Ghost Pro comes out.

Really don't agree that it's a game ruiner.

All my classes have Strela as the secondary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Meh the people who complain about ghost seem to reliant on the radar, the amount of times i have seen a guy walk through a door and die and then another guy follow him because its safe because he cant see any sign on the radar is ridiculous

Agreed. UAV is a really powerful kill steak, thats why there is so many counters. It is a bonus chance, not an entitlement to easy kills. The same could be said for any air support such as ChopperGunners and the helicopter.

Facing an enemy team of ghost pro users means two things. No 'easy' kill rewards and the requirement to be on extra alert. If you are having problems with Ghost Pro users I can give you this advise: Use claymores and motion sensors, check you corners and use stuns and flashes for blindspots, turn corners ADS and use kill steaks like Mortar team and Napalm and maybe rollingthunder/blackbird. Not only will it help you fight against the ghosts, it will make you a better player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I use it and have no problem with others using it. Its useful in CTF so you can grab it and not be seen on the radar if a UAV is up. Demo and dom its useful if you cant get by the enemy you can flank them. Use it when playing with randomers but use flak jacket/lightweight otherwise. Off topic but second chance is far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭DazzlerIE

Jet Black wrote: »
    I use it and have no problem with others using it. Its useful in CTF so you can grab it and not be seen on the radar if a UAV is up. Demo and dom its useful if you cant get by the enemy you can flank them. Use it when playing with randomers but use flak jacket/lightweight otherwise. Off topic but second chance is far worse.

agree

cheapest of the cheap

Made somewhat better by the fact that you get the kill now once you down the person, if someone else finishes them off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

magicianz wrote: »
    . It's all too easy to clear a camper, toss a flash in, use a motion sensor outside to pinpoint, throw a cooked nade, noob tube, whatever.
    CORaven wrote: »
    If you are having problems with Ghost Pro users I can give you this advise: Use claymores and motion sensors, check you corners and use stuns and flashes for blindspots

em, ye realise that someone using Ghost Pro does not show up on motion sensors right?

jimbling wrote: »
    em, ye realise that someone using Ghost Pro does not show up on motion sensors right?

eh, you've mixed that up with Hacker Pro.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I despise Ghost and it bothers me far more than Second Chance has ever done. It dominates the first tier perk slot for the majority of the COD community and I believe there lies the problem(changed from tier two to one). I've always never understood people's dependency on certain guns and perks(like ghost) with a unwillingness to deviate from their usual set up. I'm a bit of snob when it comes to that I admit. While I'm not entirely focused on the radar unlike many are, Ghost users tend to get me that bit more than other folk. There is nothing worse than someone who using a 74u. rapid fire and Ghost. God that is bloody irritating and it's probably the ultimate class in the game, that the Famas or Galill with silencer.

I can fully understand if you're a sniper using ghost or you have an anti enemy air support set up going. That's all well and good. I use Ghost(I've never unlocked Pro, probably will in when I hit 15th prestige in a couple of weeks time) on my anti air support class. Usually perk one for me is a mix of everything else but Ghost. Scavenger or Hardline dominate for the most part though. I run out of ammo a lot using some of the guns I use(I literally use everything as some of the lads here know) or I look to get my air support in that bit quicker using Hardline.

edit - can't believe the, I dont care if people use it, they paid for the game, do what they want choice is leading the poll. Have to wonder if the same people thought OMA, noob tubes, Danger Close, Commando, Martydom and 3 frags were ok :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

I don't have any problem with it. If I get killed by someone with it on, while a UAV up, that's fair enough. I very rarely come across guys camping with GP behind Claymores. So if they are moving around the map with it, meh no issue with me.

Also, there is the key point that they are going without far better Tier1 perks to run it, so I've no problem with their choice. Flak Jacket Pro is the best perk in the game imho. Immunity from nades and Napalm is so important in the games I play; HQ & DOM. I would run GP in TDM as that is all about building kills and avoiding death. I never sit behind a claymore, so don't see any issue with it.

I don't really mind it so much. I've no problem with someone using it in order to flank the opposing team. Obviously I am against campers (by which I mean guys sitting in a corner, not guys holding down a house).

I rarely use it myself because I play mostly domination, and Flak Jacket Pro is pretty much essential. I also use the scavenger pro / warlord pro combo in a lot in other game types.

I do cringe/dismay if I come up against an entire team running it all right. And it would be good to have a decent way to counter it (blackbird isnt exactly an easy counter to get if not in a party of decent players).

In saying all that, COD is designed to be a fast paced game. Ghost Pro can slow it down considerably, so perhaps it would be better off without it.... But, I wouldn't consider it the ruination Black Ops by any means.
    DazzlerIE wrote: »
    agree

cheapest of the cheap

Made somewhat better by the fact that you get the kill now once you down the person, if someone else finishes them off

It's made it way better to be fair. From my own experience, it has reduced the frustration of Second Chance by at least 50%. Still a cheap perk, but not quite as cheap.

CORaven wrote: »
    eh, you've mixed that up with Hacker Pro.

Really? lol, I'm such a noob. So those guys that are waltzing through my motion sensor and stabbing me in the back are using Hacker Pro, not Ghost Pro? Now I think there's even less reason to hate on Ghost Pro. Just fck up motion sensors all over the place..... simples :D

rapid fire and Ghost. God that is bloody irritating and it's probably the ultimate class in the game

The ultimate class in the game? :eek:
    I've no idea how you can think that (and I recall us discussing this before). Surely the guy runs out of bullets within two, maybe three, kills. How can it be the ultimate black ops class?

edit - can't believe the, I dont care if people use it, they paid for the game, do what they want choice is leading the poll. Have to wonder if the same people thought OMA, noob tubes, Danger Close, Commando, Martydom and 3 frags were ok :pac:

This I fully agree with. I can never understand that argument. It fails all logic. If everyone thought like that the games would never improve.

It's funny. Only 4-5 months ago, loads of the guys on boards were saying how much fun it was to get the whole party to run an invisible class, with silencers, ninja, cold blooded etc. When harriers went up etc, they were pure silent as no one was visible.

Now because there aren't such huge gamebreakers as OMA etc in Black Ops, people have lit upon Ghost as a big problem. It isn't. Of the thousands of kills and deaths I've had, I'd say about 0.01% of them were from Ghost campers. It just isn't a major problem in the game. Perhaps a bit frustrating occasionally, but if you're playing an objective game type, then it's usually a good sign if the other team have some Ghost campers. They won't be going for the objective, so you should easily be able to bring home the win. And if it's your preference, you could also probably spawn trap them as well.

And as I mentioned, they can't have Flak Jacket on, which is the best T1 perk by far. So if they happen to move onto flags etc, or camp kill me once, I know for 100% that a nade into their area will kill them. Me? I'll be much harder to move from an objective so am more likely to bring home the win.

Plus, I normally run lower killstreaks that help the team I'm running with (Spy, Napalm, Blackbird), rather than higher streaks that are purely to boost my k;d. So I don't have this huge frustration if a Ghost camper does get me 1 short of dogs/chopper etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

I play CTF, i believe ghost pro is essential for that kind of game mode, Sometimes that couple seconds where u have try hide from the chopper can lead to your flag being stolen. i always carry the strella aswell and if i get a chance lend my support in bringing them down. I have no problem people using g+ when they play the objectives just not sitting in a corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

What the next modern warfare needs is invisibility. Something like crysis 2 has:pac::pac:

Jet Black wrote: »
    What the next modern warfare needs is invisibility. Something like crysis 2 has:pac::pac:

What the next cod game needs is to go back to basics like the old games , get rid of the perks , equipment and killstreaks , no radar and team killing on.

Shammy wrote: »
    What the next cod game needs is to go back to basics like the old games , get rid of the perks , equipment and killstreaks , no radar and team killing on.

Shammy, you might be right. But that gamemode is already available in BOps and is far from the most popular. So that would suggest it is unlikely to happen.

shawpower wrote: »
    Shammy, you might be right. But that gamemode is already available in BOps and is far from the most popular. So that would suggest it is unlikely to happen.

Of course it wont happen , they make the cod games so noob friendly nowadays , its a money making machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,601 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

wouldn't mind it as much if motion sensors didn't exist. So basically they can be completely invisible to radar and killstreaks and if anyone comes in their area with Ninja on they can see it on their motion sensors and with Hacker Pro they can hear them, unless you carry around a jammer wherever you go there is no counter to people like that.

Liam O wrote: »
    wouldn't mind it as much if motion sensors didn't exist. So basically they can be completely invisible to radar and killstreaks and if anyone comes in their area with Ninja on they can see it on their motion sensors and with Hacker Pro they can hear them, unless you carry around a jammer wherever you go there is no counter to people like that.

Hacker Pro and walk/crouch. You cannot expect to be 100% stealthy sprinting everywhere can you? Couldn't even do that in MW2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Christ no, the amount of dickhead kids playing COD would ruin the game beyond belief, you'd get guys from a clan joining session on your team and just spraying the friendly team for the lulz. theres Hardcore mode for that.

Warlord pro and scavenger. Keep lobbing in nova gas and grenades... that'll get the feckers. :p

Also, majority of the campers (again, not the decent defensive player, but the sit in corner player) use claymores rather than motion sensor. God knows why, but they do.

krudler wrote: »
    Christ no, the amount of dickhead kids playing COD would ruin the game beyond belief, you'd get guys from a clan joining session on your team and just spraying the friendly team for the lulz. theres Hardcore mode for that.

Unfortunately thats the cod community for you , there was never a problem with it on graw.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

jimbling wrote: »
    The ultimate class in the game? :eek:
    I've no idea how you can think that (and I recall us discussing this before). Surely the guy runs out of bullets within two, maybe three, kills. How can it be the ultimate black ops class?
    There is nothing worse than someone who using a 74u. rapid fire and Ghost. God that is bloody irritating and it's probably the ultimate class in the game, that and the Famas or Galill with silencer.

I really do believe that. I'm looking at it from the perspective that most players are crap, which they are. They'll use this set up plus an RC Car :rolleyes: and will have a very good chance of dropping you or me. Obviously there a few circumstances that come into play. But if I come into a room at the same a ghost gimp + 74u with rapid fire user does, more often they'll win fights more ofteh than not. Building big killstreaks is whole different game with that set up. But a capable player who can burst fire can get 10 kills easily with the the guns I mentioned + ghost.

It'd be interesting to see everyone play Barebones for a day and see how they'd compare to now. Lower amount of kills but the pace of games would be so much better overall. I still think COD4 was pretty much spot on with everything from killstreaks. perks(except for 1 really, martydom) and the stack of the perks was spot on. Tier 2 was perfect, you had - Stopping Power, UAV Jammer, Sleight of Hand and Juggernaut. That is some choice to have and all 4 had huge benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Unfortunately thats the cod community for you , there was never a problem with it on graw.

I agree, its the community thats at fault for abusing the game, but IW needs to take a step back and look at what the people who do abuse the perks and kits do and try balance it as best they can so its not ruined for everyone else. its the OMA argument, great when used right, gamebreaking when its used to spam noobtubes at domination points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I dont really mind it that much, i'll give out about it when i get killed by someone using it, just like i would with someone using the 74u... but i give out about EVERYTHING when i die.

The only gamebreaker with this game is second chance imo, it is without a doubt the most anoying thing in any FPS game i've ever played (Besides getting backstabbed by some w*nker spy in TF2 :D).

I dont use ghost, i dont use the 74u, i've got about 500 kills with it and thats using extended mags. The only "Cheap" thing i use in the game is probably the famas, its my go to "Shove you're 74u up your hole" gun. For the last 6 presteges 95% of the time i'm running 3/5/7 killstreak loadout even tho my highest killstreak in most games is above 11. And i never camp unless defending a flag or something.... so i'd consider myself a good "honest" player... still.... i dont find ghost all that anoying mainly because its not too often that i get killed by that noob sitting in the corner with his silienced galil and claymore and when i do its MY fault for not checking the corners.... unless its the host you have the advantage on him if you dont just run in there like john wayne.

The only thing that really gets me pissed off with ghost is when theres a UAV up and i'll be running to the dots and not really paying attention to the screen and a ghost user will come crawling round the corner or will sneak up behind me... but thats my fault again for relying on a 3 killstreak.

I've said this before but UAV's are by far the most overpowered thing in this game.. or they would be if ghost didnt work against it. Its basically a wallhack. It wouldn't be so bad if it was on the PC or dedicated servers because you'd have a chance against someone whoring the UAV. On consoles with the 150+ ping you have the ****ers just prefiring round a corner and you're dead before you even see the ***** on the screen(Ofc when you look on their screen it doesnt look anything like it).

I know a few of the guys on boards use ghost, but they're the oposite of the kind of people that are being whined at on here.. instead of camping in their spawn, they're rushing the enemy spawn !!! And flipping the damn thing !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

To be honest I can live with a solitary Ghost Pro user who hide's away in corners working towards their selfish killstreaks without so much as a care for their teammates outside a party. It's when it's done en masse that it becomes an issue. If a team is in a party then maybe limit the party to 50% ghost pro users at a time. It's probably an extremely drastic step however.

If the connection was superior I doubt many of us would give out as a good team communicating together with hacker pro, explosives, hardened and jammers should negate alot of their ability to camp successfully. The only problem I have is when I get the drop on someone and yet because of an inferior connection I'm penalised. The game I'm playing is half of a second behind his.

I remember a friend telling me that the reason he moved from side to side when aiming on CS:S was that a moving player was basically more likely to be favoured in a shoot out against a static player doing the same. Why not favour the aggressive player over a static camper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Magill wrote: »
    I dont really mind it that much, i'll give out about it when i get killed by someone using it, just like i would with someone using the 74u... but i give out about EVERYTHING when i die.

The only gamebreaker with this game is second chance imo, it is without a doubt the most anoying thing in any FPS game i've ever played (Besides getting backstabbed by some w*nker spy in TF2 :D).

I dont use ghost, i dont use the 74u, i've got about 500 kills with it and thats using extended mags. The only "Cheap" thing i use in the game is probably the famas, its my go to "Shove you're 74u up your hole" gun. For the last 6 presteges 95% of the time i'm running 3/5/7 killstreak loadout even tho my highest killstreak in most games is above 11. And i never camp unless defending a flag or something.... so i'd consider myself a good "honest" player... still.... i dont find ghost all that anoying mainly because its not too often that i get killed by that noob sitting in the corner with his silienced galil and claymore and when i do its MY fault for not checking the corners.... unless its the host you have the advantage on him if you dont just run in there like john wayne.

The only thing that really gets me pissed off with ghost is when theres a UAV up and i'll be running to the dots and not really paying attention to the screen and a ghost user will come crawling round the corner or will sneak up behind me... but thats my fault again for relying on a 3 killstreak.

I've said this before but UAV's are by far the most overpowered thing in this game.. or they would be if ghost didnt work against it. Its basically a wallhack. It wouldn't be so bad if it was on the PC or dedicated servers because you'd have a chance against someone whoring the UAV. On consoles with the 150+ ping you have the ****ers just prefiring round a corner and you're dead before you even see the ***** on the screen(Ofc when you look on their screen it doesnt look anything like it).

I know a few of the guys on boards use ghost, but they're the oposite of the kind of people that are being whined at on here.. instead of camping in their spawn, they're rushing the enemy spawn !!! And flipping the damn thing !!

Amen brother!

When I prestige, the first perk I go pro is hacker, simply because I hate being picked up by motion sensors and the next perk I go pro is Ghost.

Reason is simple, I always play with randoms, I only play S&D. I heard someone say that its rare for a player to bring a spy plane up on the first round of S&D. Not really, specially if he/she is using hardline. Because I play with randoms my teammates normally suck, so I find myself being the last man standing. As if it isnt hard enough to pull out a 1v6 or 1v5 or even 1v3 is way harder when you have an enemy spy plane up, specially after you planted the bomb.... hence the reason why I use ghost.

I dont camp (unless defending the bomb or when the situation calls for it), normally I am always moving around trying to sneak into the enemy's spawn.

Never had a problem with people using ghost but I only play Search, maybe on different gametypes it is an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

how is it essential for objectives? It tells the other team where you are if you try to capture things in Dom, SnD nobody will have a spy plane for the first 1 or 2 rounds, Demo you need flak jacket to get near the bomb. It is not essential in any way unless you don't plan on playing the objective imo.
    I only ever play CTF on Hardcore and use Ghost Pro almost all the time. On the off chance that the enemy gets a spy plane while you're running with a flag, you don't want yourself appearing with the word "KILL" in red letters on the enemies' map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Have to agree with WOR. It makes the game so slow and boring as sh*t to be honest.

Although some of that has to do with the fact that killstreaks don't stack.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Have to agree with WOR. It makes the game so slow and boring as sh*t to be honest.

Although some of that has to do with the fact that killstreaks don't stack.

what also makes the game boring like hell is watching him spawntrapping people...

He doesnt like it because he can't see where they are and he is not comfortable thinking that someone can sneak behind the lines and flank him.

Believe me I have played with him a few times and he takes things way too seriously...

Perks dont make the game slow is the players who do

In my opinion of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

shawpower wrote: »
    It's funny. Only 4-5 months ago, loads of the guys on boards were saying how much fun it was to get the whole party to run an invisible class, with silencers, ninja, cold blooded etc. When harriers went up etc, they were pure silent as no one was visible.

Now because there aren't such huge gamebreakers as OMA etc in Black Ops, people have lit upon Ghost as a big problem. It isn't. Of the thousands of kills and deaths I've had, I'd say about 0.01% of them were from Ghost campers. It just isn't a major problem in the game. Perhaps a bit frustrating occasionally, but if you're playing an objective game type, then it's usually a good sign if the other team have some Ghost campers. They won't be going for the objective, so you should easily be able to bring home the win. And if it's your preference, you could also probably spawn trap them as well.

And as I mentioned, they can't have Flak Jacket on, which is the best T1 perk by far. So if they happen to move onto flags etc, or camp kill me once, I know for 100% that a nade into their area will kill them. Me? I'll be much harder to move from an objective so am more likely to bring home the win.

Plus, I normally run lower killstreaks that help the team I'm running with (Spy, Napalm, Blackbird), rather than higher streaks that are purely to boost my k;d. So I don't have this huge frustration if a Ghost camper does get me 1 short of dogs/chopper etc.

That was epic! :D
    I seem to recall a game on Quarry where the enemy actually got air support (care package) of an attack copter or maybe a harrier and it just flew around for a minute without firing a single shot and then left the map.
    Our the few times they got UAVs and there wasn't a single red dot on the whole map!
    Or the 6 of us changing our clan tags to [you][can't][see][any][of][us]. Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Bohrio wrote: »
    what also makes the game boring like hell is watching him spawntrapping people...

He doesnt like it because he can't see where they are and he is not comfortable thinking that someone can sneak behind the lines and flank him.

Believe me I have played with him a few times and he takes things way too seriously...

Perks dont make the game slow is the players who do

In my opinion of course...
    Disagree strongly with that point. Most of the people who play Bops played mw2 and Waw. Why would they make bops play slower than both of its predecessors? The lack of stopping power, ghost being overpowered, and the difficulty of obtaining high killstreaks has made this a very slow and dull game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNxQiKcIRQI
    Here is WOR's views on ghost, agree with 80% or so of what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

He's a hypocrite tbh

like 6 days later he has a video of 35/1 using ghost

Hate ****e like that tbh

I hate ghost and only use it for anti air support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Disagree strongly with that point. Most of the people who play Bops played mw2 and Waw. Why would they make bops play slower than both of its predecessors? The lack of stopping power, ghost being overpowered, and the difficulty of obtaining high killstreaks has made this a very slow and dull game.

WOR is an idiot tho, he basically says the real reason he hates it in the last 30 seconds or so... because his team of bum budders find it harder to spawn trap... The only thing i do agree with is that it should probably be in the second tier of perks.

I dont find blops any slower than MW2 tbh... Certain maps can be slow but sure there was a few slow maps in mw2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

If it pisses WOR off, it's good enough for me!

Not really. I play at the same level regardless of the perk I am using. Killstreaks, well, lately my ks setup is spy plane, counter spy plane and blackbird. Dont use anythign that can get kills for me, in fact, I would love a barebones search and destroy, no ks, no claymores, motion sensors...

I agree that in certain hands some perks can decrease the game pace but again, thats up to the player. I rush around with ghost if I have to the same way I rush around with cold blooder in mw2.

I still dont understand why people have such an issue with ghost, it wasnt a problem for me in mw2 and cold blooded was way more power as you were invisible to air support from the beginning, the only difference is that you needed to be on a certain level to ge it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭vgv

Some people have a problem with ghost in this game because unlike other cod games,ghost requires you to give up very little for the great advantages of this perk.I think this is something the other games did right where this one fails.If you wanted to be a ghost in cod4 waw mw2 your gun was weaker compared to people with sp jugg etc.If you wanted to kill them in a gunfight you had to make your bullets count more than them OR suprise them when they had a uav up which was the whole point to the perk.In this game with no jugg or sp ghost feels op and sometimes cheap especially when ppl camp with guns like famas and ak74u.If tactical mask costs 2000 cod pts to buy ghost should cost at least 10000 imo.To those who think ghost is fine the way it is in Blops,was it consequently underpowered in the other games where it had to deal with sp and jugg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

I voted girlie man - I'm so hopelessly bad at aiming that I need any advantage I can get just to nab the odd spy plane.

Then again I only play Domination, CTF or HQ - it just wouldn't be fair to any team I was on to play TDM - and I run around the place trying to take objectives or cover team mates who are doing so (basically offering my death up in lieu of a good player :D)

There is a place for me in valhalla, somewhere, but I suspect its rather near the jacks.