Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week 2011

• 15-02-2011 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Anyone know when rag week's on in maynooth this year? Can't find anythin bout it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

I think its at the end of this month? its called charity week here in maynooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

According to the SU Facebook page there isn't going to be one. The guards are opposed to it apparently and there will be another event on the end of the month or something. Pretty poor decision I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

I'm sure there'll still be a rag week, just not one in the actual college. Sure wasn't it the same last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

last year there was Rag Week, but the only big event was The Gathering, which happened on the Wednesday.

in previous years there was big events in The Venue on each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

There's no Rag week in Maynooth? Ara here. Are we that mad in Maynooth that the Guards have to cancel it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 chazchiz

Apparently there was so much damages and stuff last year that they just won't allow it this year.
    The roost seem to be getting on the students side, or else jumping at an opportunity and organising some sort of RAG week themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Yeah they're fairly schneaky this year all right, them roost people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Very sneaky...

¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭westdub15

usually you'd hear something about it by now, the SU are being very quiet about it so id say they've cancelled it to try make people go to the Gathering

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Any idea what week this will/won't be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Nision

The Bars in the town have organised their RAG week starting next week.
    There not waiting on the su. They just did it.

SU MONDAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Rag is the 1st week of March. You don't need the SU to tell you everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 carraigb

After what went on in Maynooth (Meadowbrook/Newtown Inn) last night, I'm not surprised the Guards are against Rag Week. Party on in house, neighbour with young kids comes out to complain, & gets a BOTTLE ACROSS THE HEAD for his troubles!!!!!! But don't worry, the Guards were called, & the College was informed today of it all!!! Lovely people we are living beside!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Next week is NUIG rag week, I was planning on heading down for a night or two...clashing is not cool.

carraigb wrote: »
    After what went on in Maynooth (Meadowbrook/Newtown Inn) last night, I'm not surprised the Guards are against Rag Week. Party on in house, neighbour with young kids comes out to complain, & gets a BOTTLE ACROSS THE HEAD for his troubles!!!!!! But don't worry, the Guards were called, & the College was informed today of it all!!! Lovely people we are living beside!!!

I live round there and didn't hear a thing! I'm a heavy sleeper though, so that could be it.
    irish_goat wrote: »
    Next week is NUIG rag week, I was planning on heading down for a night or two...clashing is not cool.

You should have went down for the GMIT one this week instead :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I think I may know what party that was and what I heard was the man slipped and fell after trying to chase some of the people there, which is also what the people in the house were told so lets not make accusations please

I own a house beside this fella, & I was standing there talking to someone when it happened!!!!!! I know what I saw, I wasn't the one with drink on me, & that is what the Guards & College were told!!!!! Nothing but TRUTHFUL accusations here. I think you need to get a more RELIABLE source!!

Well then we must be talking about different parties because my sources are very reliable thank you very much and I know what happened with the incident I was talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

Bottle across the head?? Heard several versions of this story. Also heard about that person's continuous exaggeration of events and continuous complaining about the smallest amount of noise.

I'm sitting beside one of the guys from the house at the moment and according to him that is completely untrue and that is from what the guards told them as well.

The party was well managed, the lads did their utmost to keep the noise levels down and to control people. They are quite outraged about these rumours going around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 paypalgenius

I'd just like to clear this up. I was in the house in question, the party was in no way interfering with any of the neighbours, and there was certainly no bottle thrown at anyone. The man in question slipped as he tried to chase after somebody who was outside in the estate. The residents of the house cleared everybody out of the house shortly after 11pm. Once these people left the house, they were outside of the responsibility of the residents, so before you go throwing accusations around the place get your facts straight.
    This same person falsely informed the guards that another student house on the estate hosted a party the same evening. This is UNTRUE. He has gone out of his way to make trouble for residents of both houses, has told the guards that they "have made his life a living hell". There has been two parties in the houses since the beginning of october. This does not constitute ruining somebodys life. Also, he threatened the students that "they would never get another nights sleep", all witnessed by the Gardai, and tried to force his way into the neighbouring house.
    To finish, your facts are way off, if you have a problem with anybody you live near, take it up with them, or with the Gardai. Not with the general internet community.

Sorry, but I NEVER said anything about the party being 'noisy' or people needing 'controling'!!!! I was standing talking to a someone about something completely different just down the road when this happened. The last thing I will say on this matter though, is, I know how much students try to 'keep the noise down' but unfortunately I don't think they realise how loud the music & people smoking outside can be at times. Everybody loves a party, but most people in the estate work & or have young children, & are up in the mornings between 6 & 7 o clock!! All they ask for is a little respect. :)

1y60x2.gif?w=200&h=136

Ahh come on.... Am I not entitled to a week off every now & again???:confused:

cant argue with that I suppose, but I stand by the fact that there was no bottle thrown at anybody on monday night, and that the reaction of one person in particular was disproportionate to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 DatTormeyFela

I was walking out of Meadowbrook Crescent around that time on Monday and not much seemed to be going on. Could just be the rumours getting out of control as they easily do.

oz that username is about as subtle as a kick in the balls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Havingthelolz

Sorry you all live in Maynooth it is a student town and would be in bits without the 8000 students coming every year! Everyone knows there are specific student estate Meadowbrooke being one of the biggest! So suck it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭westdub15

so rag is next week or the week after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Observer11

I was on the road that night and have inside information as to what happened also. People began arriving at the house around 9pm and it was clear that the owners of the house where trying to keep the noise level down to be fair. Things however did get out of hand, one student walked over to the house where the man who complained lived and pissed on his bushes, then ran back into where the party was, the students who live in the house then tried to get everybody out of the house and presumably down town. When the man asked the students to keep it down as he had children in bed, abuse was shouted at him. At this point his 17 year old daughter appeared and and students began shouting abuse at her. In particular there was a car of people which reved the engine, beeped the horn and shouted alot of verbal abuse and threw an unopened bottle of beer in the direction of the 17 year old as it sped away it was luckily it hit the railings of the stream and not her. At this point the father of the girl chased the car as it sped out of the estate to get the reg and he slipped to grate applause from the crowd who had moved onto the main road and did not no why he was running. The Gards arrived and asked him was he ok and he told them yes he had cut his head when he tripped most people had left the estate and they only talked to a few students next door. I agree that there was no bottle thrown at the man who complained but there was most definitley one thrown at his daughter. Also, the guys who live in the house which threw the party told their landlord they only had a few friends over and the party was nextdoor, they thought it was decent to blame the entire party on the students living next door.
    The last big party that was thrown at the house was in October and some people at the party got into an argument on the road which was over racism and one guy involved wanted to go back into the house and "sort somebody out". Bottles where smashed on the road and against walls. This ended in three Garda cars and the landlord arriving at the property and the calls to the Gards came from property on the road behind the house not the road they lived on.
    In regards to the threat of them not getting another good night's sleep.... il have to sleep on that one.

Observer11 wrote: »
    I was on the road that night and have inside information as to what happened also. People began arriving at the house around 9pm and it was clear that the owners of the house where trying to keep the noise level down to be fair. Things however did get out of hand, one student walked over to the house where the man who complained lived and pissed on his bushes, then ran back into where the party was, the students who live in the house then tried to get everybody out of the house and presumably down town. When the man asked the students to keep it down as he had children in bed, abuse was shouted at him. At this point his 17 year old daughter appeared and and students began shouting abuse at her. In particular there was a car of people which reved the engine, beeped the horn and shouted alot of verbal abuse and threw an unopened bottle of beer in the direction of the 17 year old as it sped away it was luckily it hit the railings of the stream and not her. At this point the father of the girl chased the car as it sped out of the estate to get the reg and he slipped to grate applause from the crowd who had moved onto the main road and did not no why he was running. The Gards arrived and asked him was he ok and he told them yes he had cut his head when he tripped most people had left the estate and they only talked to a few students next door. I agree that there was no bottle thrown at the man who complained but there was most definitley one thrown at his daughter. Also, the guys who live in the house which threw the party told their landlord they only had a few friends over and the party was nextdoor, they thought it was decent to blame the entire party on the students living next door.
    The last big party that was thrown at the house was in October and some people at the party got into an argument on the road which was over racism and one guy involved wanted to go back into the house and "sort somebody out". Bottles where smashed on the road and against walls. This ended in three Garda cars and the landlord arriving at the property and the calls to the Gards came from property on the road behind the house not the road they lived on.
    In regards to the threat of them not getting another good night's sleep.... il have to sleep on that one.

I'm sorry but at least half of that is overexaggerated lies

And the lads knew nothing about the car, which according to the stories arrived after everyone had left anyway

Sorry you all live in Maynooth it is a student town and would be in bits without the 8000 students coming every year! Everyone knows there are specific student estate Meadowbrooke being one of the biggest! So suck it up!

Meadowbrook never was a student estate and it still isnt. There a re plenty of families living here with young children! Have some respect

I'm sorry but at least half of that is overexaggerated lies

And the lads knew nothing about the car, which according to the stories arrived after everyone had left anyway

None of this is exagerated! The car was there for most of the night and a few people got out of it earlier on and went into the house. If the lads didnt know them they should have refused them then and there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭the_observer

A mate's house is near Meadowbrook and got egged that night.

This finally explains the mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 honeybadger11

"At this point his 17 year old daughter appeared and and students began shouting abuse at her."

This 17 year old girl was sent, or allowed to confront a house of students as they were leaving a party to go out. Great parenting on behalf of that man.

"he slipped to grate applause from the crowd who had moved onto the main road"

I like this lie and spelling mistake. There was no great applause. And also its Gardaí, not Gards.

And I certainly do not know where these rumors of racism came from? Racism against who?

"they thought it was decent to blame the entire party on the students living next door. "

This is another lie and all the students of both residents are aware of this so I have been told. This is nothing but rumors, which are attemting to manipulate and turn the students against each other. These are the actions of a busybody who has nothing else to do but annoy his neighbours and I am glad I do not live near the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

I like this lie and spelling mistake. There was no great applause. And also its Guardaí, not Gards.

Love the irony when someone makes a spelling mistake while correcting someone else's spelling. :pac:

Haha. Woops.

"At this point his 17 year old daughter appeared and and students began shouting abuse at her."

This 17 year old girl was sent, or allowed to confront a house of students as they were leaving a party to go out. Great parenting on behalf of that man.

"he slipped to grate applause from the crowd who had moved onto the main road"

I like this lie and spelling mistake. There was no great applause. And also its Gardaí, not Gards.

And I certainly do not know where these rumors of racism came from? Racism against who?

"they thought it was decent to blame the entire party on the students living next door. "

This is another lie and all the students of both residents are aware of this so I have been told. This is nothing but rumors, which are attemting to manipulate and turn the students against each other. These are the actions of a busybody who has nothing else to do but annoy his neighbours and I am glad I do not live near the man.

Just so you know, the 17 year left the house by her own will, parents had nothing to do with that and she had a right to leave and complain if she could not sleep beacause of the noise and is doing her leaving cert this year.
    Yes there was cheers and laughing as he slipped by a number of people.
    The racism happend at a party in October between two people who atended a party at the house awhile ago, A young student was being slagged because he was English.
    The man who complained is well aware that the students are friends and the landlord of the house next door was informed that the lads who threw the party told the gards that the party was in fact next door! Thats a fact, and the students next door are also aware of that as their landlord told them.
    Oh and its extremly low to criticise a spelling mistake just beacause you run out of so called "lies" to point out.

A mate's house is near Meadowbrook and got egged that night.

This finally explains the mystery.

This was awhile after the people from the party and the gards had left. That house was not really involved with the party at all. Its not really connected tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

So...em...Rag week???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

is RAG week on or not? i'm thinking of heading down to NUIG next week as well. so whats it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

There's a carnival on campus next monday. Facebook event is here
    The pubs in Maynooth are running a few events as well, or so I've heard, but I don't have a link for that.
    Much as I know. Sorry!

Oh, wait, no, Banquo said charity week, which is, after all, the whole point of RAG, is the week after half term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Even if it is rag week, I won't be celebrating...far too busy :(

The newtown inn are having a student night on the Tuesday! http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=189052264459939 <---thats the facebook link to the event! should be good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Wow.

All ready to close the thread and it seems to have gotten back on track.

No more about this incident in Meadowbrook or it's a one month ban.

Also, I'd appreciate it if an exec member could clear up the dates for Charity week, or confirm whether it's on/off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The newtown inn

GREAT pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

PrivateEye wrote: »
    GREAT pint.

2nd best Guinness in Maynooth, in my humble opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭manna

banquo wrote: »
    2nd best Guinness in Maynooth, in my humble opinion.

Second to where, may I ask? Caulfields? They do great Guinness...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Nision

Old man roost has to be the best.

The stuff in the SU is undrinkable