Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you "get" people who are interested in food/cookery programs

• 15-02-2011 4:58pm

My 18 year old daughter said to me I don't get people who are interested in food/cookery programs/recipes books as far as she is concerned food is fuel and cooking is boring. On the other had I love cooking and trying different recipes I watch lots of cookery programs I have alway being like that and my oldest daughter is like me in that way.

I have come to the conclusion you are either born interested in thing like cooking or you are not and its not one of the things you develop as you get older. I have a friend whose husband dose all the cooking in there house because my friend hates cooking and she says she has always been like that.

The one situation I don't understand at all are the people who live on cornflakes pot noodles and take aways, dose it not get boring after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I "get" them.... get them to cook for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Sometimes I don't understand some people who prepare and slave over a hob for over an hour, eat the damn thing within 5 minutes and are then left with a mountain of washup. (Usually with enough leftovers in the saucepans to feed Africa twice)

Still, I do love my mix of shìte food and cooking real food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭n0irin

I'm not sure - I mean I haven't ever been interested at all in cooking until last summer, and since then I've started reading any cookery book I can get my hands on and I do tend to watch some cookery shows and talk about it more than I used to...so it seems that SOME people do develop a like for that type of thing, it's not just something that you're born with or not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I love cooking.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I LOVE cooking programmes.. Come Dine with Me and Masterchef are my favourites.. My OH moans about it constantly.. I can't see why people wouldn't be interested in it tbh..

But then again, I hate football and can't see why people are interested in that so it's horses for courses I guess..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Sometimes I don't understand some people who prepare and slave over a hob for over an hour, eat the damn thing within 5 minutes and are then left with a mountain of washup. (Usually with enough leftovers in the saucepans to feed Africa twice)

Still, I do love my mix of shìte food and cooking real food.

Wash as you go or get a dishwasher.

I love cookery programmes and cooking. That interest was spurred by the godawful timetabling/subject selection my secondary school had. Having zero interest in technical drawing, I picked Home Ec. I was horribly afraid of cooking at the time and grew up in a microwave/burnt food type family. But I slowly learnt how nice it was to make good food and I now enthusiastically make all sorts. It relaxes me to make food.

I think this story shows that more lads should do Home Ec. Plus the teacher was a Grade A hottie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

I love them. I aspire to being able to cook like that, only I never end up bothering even trying, so it's a form of 'escapism' I suppose.

New masterchef series starts this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

I never understood it. But lately I find I'm watching them more often. It might be an age thing. :( I hate the pretentious sh1te where you need to have spices imported by ship from Outer Mongolia but I like the straight-forward ones like Jame Oliver's 30 minute dinners and Masterchef (can't stand the junior one though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Come Dine With Me is awesome, it's like gladiatorial combat among the nouveau bourgeois.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Kasabian wrote: »
    I love my brick.

FYP :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I love baking, can't cook to save my life but I understand why people love it. I always feel great when my cakes turn out perfectly.

Your daughter's logic could be applied to any hobby really.

Sykk wrote: »
    FYP :pac:

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I hate cooking and can't get my head around people who rhapsodize about what they want to cook when they get home. I like eating but I don't really care if it's a sandwich, soup or a meal. If I didn't have to do it to fulfil social obligations, I'd never go to a real restaurant again in my life apart from lunch in cafes maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Why does anybody like anything anyway?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You should smack yer daughter with the oily side of a frying pan and leave her to prepare her own fuel for herself if that's all it is to her.

Ah man... always loved food. the smell of it while cooking... love watching cooking shows to see how people do things differently or something new I might be able to try out that I didn't because it looked so hard to do...

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Why does anybody like anything anyway?

Because anything is better than nothing except in the case of STD's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

An 18 year old who thinks something their parents are into is boring?

STOP THE PRESS!!!!! :eek:

Stovelid my youngest daughters attitude would be very like yours she also said why do people go to restaurants when you could get a take away pizza instead!
    :p

Don't worry, when she gets older she'll start to appreciate good food and the work that goes into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Blast her with piss
    Garnish with parsley (optional)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

I love cooking/baking, reading about food & eating out. Not overly fond of cookery shows on tv tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I used to hate cooking, proper HATE it! Mainly cuz I was crap at it I think, but since I moved out with somebody who likes it and is good at it, and learned a thing or two about it Ive developed a really big interest in it. Before I lived off sammiches, readymeals and takeaways, now I eat not neccesarily healthily all the time but fresh and interestingly :) that said, I still love a good sammich, it just has more on it than white bread and cheese now!! As an 18yr old I didnt get it, as a 22yr old I do-you can grow to love it doesnt mean you will tho.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

I don't see how she can bag herself a husband if she can't even cook a dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

mariaalice wrote: »
    I have come to the conclusion you are either born interested in thing like cooking or you are not and its not one of the things you develop as you get older. I have a friend whose husband dose all the cooking in there house because my friend hates cooking and she says she has always been like that.

I'd have to disagree with you there. When I was living at home many moons ago I had no real interest in food. I ate what the mammy served up and that was that. When my brother came back from having studied abroad he cooked all sorts of weird and interesting food which I found amazingly tasty and suddenly the Mammy's meat and 2 veg wasn't so interesting.

When I moved out for the first year or so I didn't really cook much, as I was a little lazy but in the second year I bought myself two cookery books and it took off from there.

So I'd be inclined to disagree. You can develop an interest in cooking, it all depends on your circumstances really. If you like to eat, you'll most likely learn to cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I love cookery programmes, I think I always have. My granny was a really good cook and very interested in food so I grew up immersed in that kinda thing. I get it.

I'd agree with Kintarō Hattori, I never had an interest until last year when I just fancied a carrot cake one day :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I love cooking shows, but hate the proliferation of competitive cooking shows. So tedious. I just want Delia showing me how to boils eggs, dammit! I also love cooking myself, find it very relaxing and love people enjoying my food. I'm a bit terrified of baking though.

EDIT: I watch 'Come Dine With Me' but that's not really about the cooking, now is it? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The old programs, yes. The new ones, tend to be ads for crap to buy to enable you to bake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The sheep have moved from property to food

Nah, property and cookery shows have been running to excess concurrently for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Masterchef is one of the few tv programs I make time for. Love it and I enjoy cooking. As has been said earlier in the thread when I lived at home I couldn't have cared less but once you move out things become different. I also learned that my mom isn't a very good cook once I started myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Couldn't be bothered cooking for the vast majority of my life, but for the past year I have loved everythng about it!

I love cookery shows, cooking new things and eating in good restaurants.

Maybe it is an age thing?!

• Yeah, definitely, you're either a foodie or you're not. I've always been obsessed with food, even when I was a kid, I used to think all day about what I was having for lunch and of I knew I was going out for dinner, I'd be really excited. I love cooking meals at home from scratch and would way rather go out to restaurant than a club. I had a horrible holiday in Morocco once because the people I went with always wanted to grab a quick sandwich and eat it while they walked so they wouldn't 'miss' anything. To me, eating well is part of the experience and sitting down to eat is essential. I can't stand eating any old thing just so I'm not hungry. But I understand why some people don't see food as a big deal. I just wish they'd respect people who do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

xzanti wrote: »
    I LOVE cooking programmes.. Come Dine with Me and Masterchef are my favourites.. My OH moans about it constantly.. I can't see why people wouldn't be interested in it tbh..

But then again, I hate football and can't see why people are interested in that so it's horses for courses I guess..

I like cookery programs and football.

In fact, they are the only two things I would regularly watch on television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The only cookery show I watch is The Delicious Ms Dahl (and it isn't for the recipes).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

Definitely something that can develop over a period of time. I always liked food, the eating part, that is, but was never particularly interested in the cooking/preparation/aesthetics of it. All changed a couple of years ago when people started telling me I had a talent for it.
    Anyway, here I am half way through 1st year of a Degree in Culinary Arts and absolutely loving every minute of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Love cooking shows. Watch all that I can find on tv.
    Nevin Maguire
    Rachel Allen
    Catherine's Italian Kitchen
    Trish's Paris kitchen [haven't seen that in ages, must have stopped]
    Jamie Oliver
    Gordon Ramsay
    Masterchef
    Daily Cooks Challenge
    Ready Steady Cook [again haven't seen in ages]

I'll watch the cookery section of chat shows aswell, used to watch Darina Allen "simply delicious" when I was younger, and love the programme TASTE that was on SKY. Apparently there was 62 episodes of it made.

It's not like I try to cook everything I see, I just find it very interesting and relaxing to watch people cooking. I like cooking myself, but wouldn't consider myself very knowledgeable about it all. There's piles of common enough things I've never even tasted. Loved home ec. in school too.
    There's some great cookery vids on youtube.

I also like programmes like Grand Designs, Showhouse, Property Ladder, [Sometimes the people are very annoyong on these shows, so I just skip to the end to see what the final outcome of the design looks like.]
    and shows like Kirstie's homemade home, and Kirstie's Homemade Christmas. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

personally no!
    I can never get my head around finding some of the odd recipes, then following the procedure to cook perfectly because I always mess it up!
    I always found cookery books make it look simple but it's always, for me anyway, never simple to perfect the dish! I am just not a good cook. Ragu sauce and pasta it as about as good as a cook I am :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I do a fair bit of cooking. I don't particularly enjoy the process, I do it for the result. I want to eat good quality food that's (usually :D) reasonably healthy and I want to know what's in it. I am not somebody that loves cooking and could never devote a morning to going out specially to find obscure ingredients and then coming home for three hours cooking to create something really elaborate. It has to be:

1. Tasty
    2. Cookable in 30 mins
    3. Economical
    4. Healthy (this one gets waived occasionally)

I'd kind of compare cooking to shopping - some people enjoy the activity, some just do it for the result. Some girls go shopping for a new dress and will love trying on 15 dresses. I just want to get the dress and if I see a good one in the first shop after 5 mins, all the better, that frees up the rest of my afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I love Come Dine With Me. A couple of years ago I was on holiday in New York and waiting to do the Statue of liberty cruise and got talking to this blonde woman. She was English and looked really familiar.

A few weeks later back home I saw her on a repeat of CDWM. She was awful on the show, gave everyone 1-3 out of 10. The producer actually made her re-score them or she would be disqualified. :D

She was a big woman with blonde curly hair, probably late 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

So when did she start loosing weight and do you think she's friend of Ana or of Mia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Sharrow wrote: »
    So when did she start loosing weight and do you think she's friend of Ana or of Mia?

What?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh I love good quality, organic, home-grown, home-made etc foods - adore going to restaurants, farmers' markets etc. I'm not mad about cooking but I'm all right at it. I wouldn't make a point of watching cookery/food-based programmes but I'd definitely pay attention if there was nothing else of interest on TV.
    It's not a snobbery thing - I don't look down on people who aren't foodies (some food critics are shockingly wanky - I'd never dream of going on like that) but my personal preference is the non processed stuff. And I have a few mild food intolerances anyway so I'm better off watching what I eat. That doesn't mean I'd never eat junk-food though - it's damn tasty, especially after a few drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

In my opinion Come Dine With Me is the greatest show on earth. I absolutely love it. I have arranged my viewing schedule in the past so that I watch nothing else but Come Dine With Me.

I love cookery programs too. Food Porn. My mate's a chef and the whole scene can be VERY pretentious but gosh darn, I love me some foooood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I wasn't interested in cooking til about 3 years ago when I got bored with the same old meals. So I developed a love for cooking. Your post is invalid OP! :D

LambsEye wrote: »
    My mate's a chef and the whole scene can be VERY pretentious but gosh darn, I love me some foooood.

Like Jamie telling you it's essential to sprinkle your herbs from a height. :D

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh I love good quality, organic, home-grown, home-made etc foods - adore going to restaurants, farmers' markets etc. I'm not mad about cooking but I'm all right at it. I wouldn't make a point of watching cookery/food-based programmes but I'd definitely pay attention if there was nothing else of interest on TV.
    It's not a snobbery thing - I don't look down on people who aren't foodies (some food critics are shockingly wanky - I'd never dream of going on like that) but my personal preference is the non processed stuff. And I have a few mild food intolerances anyway so I'm better off watching what I eat. That doesn't mean I'd never eat junk-food though - it's damn tasty, especially after a few drinks.

TBH, don't how much better a lot of organic food tastes. A lot of it is imagined IMO. And organic chicken is tougher in my experience. Of course, people eat organic stuff for ethical reasons too, which is grand.