Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorway Urgency

• 15-02-2011 2:32pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What is the deal with people in such a hurry to get from the on ramp to the middle lane or over-taking lane?

On my way to work today, heading southbound and I'm just coming up to where the Firhouse/Knocklyon people would join. I'm in the inside lane, cruise control on, doing 100kmh. As I see a trail of cars looking to merge I indicate and pull into the middle lane when all of a sudden a middle aged lady comes shooting across, cutting me up in the process, only to sit in the over-taking lane at ~90kmh.

This isn't the first time it's happened to me. I honestly am baffled by this, what is the urgency to get into the middle lane or over-taking lane? What's wrong with moving one lane at a time in a safe manner. What really got to me was, when I flashed and beeped to let her know she had just cut me up she just looked blankly at me, totally oblivious to what she had done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Ah this should end well..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I'm not going to go off on one, but what I will say is I think people think that the farther they are from their exit the farther right they should stay.
    Otherwise its because they are stupid cnut's.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I wish the RSA would release an advert on how to use the Motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Its the Irish way...A fool will always be a fool..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭rickyjb

I wish the RSA would release an advert on how to use the Motorway.

They have one already don't they? I seem to remember some ad telling people to "reduce speed when approaching your exit". Unfortunately it doesn't explain how to actually drive on a motorway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

It's fairly obvious really. These people are driving 'fasht' in their 'fasht car'. Therefore the correct place for them to be is the 'fasht lane'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Overtake her on the inside and hope she gets irate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

They're obviously in a huge rush, and 90kph in the fast lane gets you there much quicker than 90kph in the slow lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

These people have the attitude of 'I pays me road tax so why the hell can't I drive in the fast lane'.
    The gas thing is if anybody ran into them, they would be compleatly astounded to discover that they're in the wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

All this sounds oddly familiar...
    So here goes (again)
    My GF usually prefers to flash and bully these people until they move and overtakes on inside if they don't move.
    I do the same with added pulling out in front and gradually slowing down.
    They are stupid fcukers who will never, ever learn and all we can do is keep flashing, beeping and overtaking on inside for ever and ever, amen.

Just remember to indicate as if to make a left turn when undertaking, that makes it legal. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

I think the original offense can get you a penalty point
    "Failure to drive on the left hand side of the road: 1"
    So here goes (again)
    My GF usually prefers to flash and bully these people until they move and overtakes on inside if they don't move.
    They are stupid fcukers who will never, ever learn and all we can do is keep flashing, beeping and overtaking on inside for ever and ever, amen.

This can get you a couple as well:
    "Dangerous overtaking: 2"
    "Failure to leave appropriate distance between you and the vehicle in front: 2" which is what I assume you mean by bullying.
    "Driver found to be driving carelessly: court appearance and 5 points". Actually seen the guards try to make this a dangerous driving charge for one man, which would have been an automatic ban. BTW that was for undertaking

cnocbui wrote: »
    Just remember to indicate as if to make a left turn when undertaking, that makes it legal. ;)

undertaker.jpg

He is allowed to, of course.

I'm getting the feeling someone already posted a similar rant recently.

My apologies. I'll end on this.

When I come across someone driving in the middle or over taking lane I get in front of them and slow down forcing them back into the correct lane. The amount of people driving in the over-taking lane when I'm coming home from work (22:00) is stupid!

Lesson of the day: Learn to drive you freakin moron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'm getting the feeling someone already posted a similar rant recently.

My apologies. I'll end on this.

When I come across someone driving in the middle or over taking lane I get in front of them and slow down forcing them back into the correct lane. The amount of people driving in the over-taking lane when I'm coming home from work (22:00) is stupid!

Lesson of the day: Learn to drive you freakin moron!

This is one of the most idiotic manouvers I've ever heard.

Elaborate please? It's not reckless or dangerous driving.

Just because the police wont correct people for being in the wrong lane doesn't mean I wont.

Oh dear, this all started so well.

First, it's not your job to correct other peoples driving. Second, you're trying to correct their driving by doing the same thing they are, i.e. being in the incorrect lane. Third, pulling in front of someone and slowing down is dangerous. And I could go on and on.

Hey I never once said I was going on the brakes. Also, I have zero intention of hanging around in the over-taking lane or middle lane. As soon as said driver has changed lane I'll move back.

You're right, it's not my job to correct someones driving. By the frequency of occurrence it appears it's no ones job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Stiffs

colm_mcm wrote: »
    This is one of the most idiotic manouvers I've ever heard.

Classic moron last week... Car behind me up my arse the hole way up the m4 in outer lane. Inner lane was full. Both lanes full but moving. Basically i had now where to go and even if he did pass me the lane was full so he'd just ride up the arse of the next car.. He under takes me forcing the inner car to brake very hard then proceeds to under take the next car in the inner lane ending up in the hard shoulder, back out into lane 1 then cuts off the next car in outer lane causing the car in front of me to slap on the brakes..

For five minutes and five mins only i would love to have been an Garda there and then..

Nothing shocks me on motorways anymore.

Stiffs wrote: »

For five minutes and five mins only i would love to have been an Garda there and then..

Nothing shocks me on motorways anymore.

And there's the problem.
    The Gards don't give a flying FCUK what goes on around the motorway.
    Their contract states they have to do a checkpoint every now and then (tax, insurance, graaaand) and stand on the hard shoulder with a hairdryer every now and then.
    They do the absolute minimum to coast to their next breakfast roll and eventually retirement with the absolute minimum of fuss.
    At least that's what it looks like from the outside.
    People do anything on irish roads because they can and no one cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

So here goes (again)

I hope you do that to an unmarked cop car some day. :-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

And there's the problem.
    Their contract states they have to do a checkpoint every now and then (tax, insurance, graaaand) and stand on the hard shoulder with a hairdryer every now and then.
    They do the absolute minimum to coast to their next breakfast roll and eventually retirement with the absolute minimum of fuss.

bit of a simplistic view to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

You're right, it's not my job to correct someones driving.

So why are you doing it then?

vetstu wrote: »
    I hope you do that to an unmarked cop car some day. :-)

If I do it's my own fault.
    So far I have never been in trouble with the cops for any traffic misdemeanours because I actually keep to the rules.
    But cops do not usually drive '91 Pajeros, rust colored with rust holes, bumper held on with baling twine, full lights on, front fogs on, rear fogs on, driving in the outside lane for 10 km whilst being constantly undertaken and beeped and flashed by a stream of motorists.
    In that case I think I can safely assume that the car in front is driven by an elderly country gent on about 10 different kinds of medication including horse tranquilliser.
    It has to be said that 99.99999% of the time the driver in front gets out of the way on his own accord without anyone having to do anything, just hang back and wait and they'll get back in their own good time.
    The odd person I will give a little flash and they'll move (legal and reasonable).
    Some people don't move because they won't move (just thick I guess), I end up undertaking them but just continue on my way because I can't be bothered.
    But once or twice the person in front has stayed out there because they are just plain assholes.
    I might not even do anything then.
    But one guy (Pajero redneck) wound me up, so I undertook, moved into the outside lane at a respectful distance and gently slowed down, waiting for him to try and undertake me and then speeded up. I did this a few times, just till I saw steam coming out of the windows. Then I crawled up the exit and waited a little more than strictly necessary at the junction before flooring it and leaving him for dust.
    There was quite some beeping, flashing and shouting after me.
    It was the one time I decided to inflict some pain and misery on him rather than the other way around.
    Make of that what you will, but that's what happened.

SV wrote: »
    So why are you doing it then?

Because it pisses me off. Pretty obvious answer imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Another obvious answer is that your a reckless driver.

Leave the policing to the Garda.

That's..really sad?
    Sorry :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

attitudes like this and you might need an undertaker !http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/icons/icon4.gif

Another obvious answer is that your a reckless driver.

Leave the policing to the Garda.

Please tell me how it's reckless driving? I'm not slamming on the brakes when in front of them, I'm gradually reducing my speed.

EDIT: I shouldn't have to leave it to the Garda, they should do their fucking job in the first place and prevent people from driving like this.
    SV wrote: »
    That's..really sad?
    Sorry :/

Why is it sad? How does wanting to have better driving conditions equate to being sad?

No need to apologise. I'm not insulted by a useless post

Please tell me how it's reckless driving? I'm not slamming on the brakes when in front of them, I'm gradually reducing my speed.

EDIT: I shouldn't have to leave it to the Garda, they should do their fucking job in the first place and prevent people from driving like this.

Why is it sad? How does wanting to have better driving conditions equate to being sad?

No need to apologise. I'm not insulted by a useless post

Eh, it's not the Gardas fault you're driving like that, it's your own for lacking any form of self restraint and thinking you're a law enforcer.
    Why don't you go about your business and ignore it? You might live longer if you just relaxed a bit ;)

It's sad you'd feel the need to do something like that. Pathetic almost.

Aw, that's cool. Well, Sorry for this one too. Just in case like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

+1 SV

One persons bad driving shouldnt lead to bad driving from another. Frustrating as it may be, this kind of tit-for-tat crap is what leads to road rage incidents and generally unsafe roads for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I just did 300k on the Autobahn - I must say I saw more stupid dangerous driving on the M50 between the Airport and Dundrum than I did in the 300km at close to 200kmph.

Irish drivers have no fookin clue - there is no laws as far as I can see or they are not at all enforced.

It's no wonder we kill so many people on our roads ever year - we never train them to drive and then send them out to take their chances.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    I just did 300k on the Autobahn - I must say I saw more stupid dangerous driving on the M50 between the Airport and Dundrum than I did in the 300km at close to 200kmph.

Irish drivers have no fookin clue - there is no laws as far as I can see or they are not at all enforced.

It's no wonder we kill so many people on our roads ever year - we never train them to drive and then send them out to take their chances.

When I did my driving test in Germany one of the things you must do is complete lessons in motorway driving.
    On my first outing the instructor told me to get it up to 160 km/h to get a feel for the speed.
    The approach here is different.
    Don't allow learner drivers onto the motorway, don't include it in the lessons or the test.
    Surely they'll be grand after that, everyone knows you can only learn something by not doing it and then plunging headlong into it without a bollocks clue of what you're doing.
    It's a bit Oirish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭NFD100

And there's the problem.

+1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I did a lesson on a dual carriageway (N road)

For one thing you're relying on the person you are attempting to "educate" being aware enough of what's going on to realise you are slowing and not run into the back of you. This is when you already know that the other driver is an idiot who shouldn't be driving :)

Motorways are safe and allow for the speeds they do because they are unobstructed. It's a fact that when one driver slows, the driver behind them slows even more, the next driver slows more again and so, and this can very quickly lead to traffic stopping or going slow for no apparant reason. We already know the driver behind you is incompetent so there's a good chance they'll get closer to you and therefore brake harder than needs be amplifying the effect. This can be seen pretty much any time the m50 is moderately busy, a queue of fast moving cars in the middle or right lane come up on somebody going slowly (say 90kph), the first car brakes to say 80kph, the next to 70kph etc, very quickly you have cars cruising at 100kph+ approaching cars going 50kph. I see this happen prety much any time I've been on the m50 when it's moderately busy, although I've only seen it lead to an actual collision once it's still dangerous or at best a serious inconvenience to other road users. And you're doing it deliberately.

dharn wrote: »
    attitudes like this and you might need an undertaker !http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/icons/icon4.gif

Well I learned to drive in a country where overtaking on the left was legal on multi lane roads. Having spent 15 or so years doing so with perfect safety, the attitude that it is highly dangerous to do so amuse/bemuses me.
    You may overtake on the left when

• You want to go straight ahead when the driver in front of you has moved out and signalled that they intend to turn right.
    • You have signalled that you intend to turn left.
    • Traffic in both lanes is moving slowly and traffic in the left-hand lane is moving more quickly than the traffic in the right-hand lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Well I learned to drive in a country where overtaking on the left was legal on multi lane roads. Having spent 15 or so years doing so with perfect safety, the attitude that it is highly dangerous to do so amuse/bemuses me.

[/LIST]

What you quoted states that you can undertake when your turning left. As in if your stuck in traffic thats going straight ahead but your turning off you can undertake to get to your turn off.

In a country where vast amounts of the driving population never passed a test or passed a token test it is extremely dangerous to undertake on a motorway.

When I'm after overtaking on the second overtaking lane I pull into the first overtaking lane then into the driving lane, if some arse hole is flying up the driving lane it causes a mismatch in speed between him/her and the general flow of traffic an increases the risk of an accident, he/she should be in the overtaking lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

And there's the problem.

Their contract states no such thing. After that I gave up reading you post.I've actually taught myself to laugh at all the idiotic things that happen on the drive home. You'd crack up otherwise.

I take your points.

Motorway at night, speed limit 120kph. You come across a line of 9-12 cars in the right lane doing 70-80 kph. At the front of the queue is a hearse, one assumes holding up traffic deliberately.

Your destination is 140 km away.

This was a real situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

Completely agree with the comments on no training for L drivers on Motorway behaviour. It's farcical. You prove in your driving test that you can drive at 50km around your local town while there's absolutely no thought given to how you'll perform at approx. 2.5 times this speed with other cars coming at you from every angle.

I'd regularly drive on 2 lane motorways where I stick to the left except when overtaking. Occasionally I drive on a 4 lane motorway where I join and leave it on the next exit so I'm on for maybe 2/3 km. What I've found myself doing in recent times is just staying in the most left lane as I know I'm exiting soon. I stick to the speed limit and there's hardly ever anyone in front of me for this short stretch BUT I do find myself passing (or 'undertaking' as it's referred to here) other cars on the inside.

Is this a big No No and am I more in the wrong than yer man doing 70km in the 2nd lane i.e. should he be in the most left of the lanes as he's not at motorway speed where I would then move into the 2nd lane, pass him then move back into the left lane again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I'm closing this thread because it's that classic combination of "a thread we've already recently had" and "a thread where somebody says something shockingly stupid, and everyone feels the need to pile on".

Thread closed.