Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL student behaviour / Stop Charity Week

• 15-02-2011 1:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭

Why do a certain minority of UL students insist on breaking bottles on the footpaths and roads. in Milford Grange where children play? As for the litter, don't get me started. Students don't give a crap as long as its not their property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Three reasons.

1.They are drunk.

2.There are no bins.I know its a residential area but if they had a bit of cop on they would put in two-three bins as they would be used if they where there.

3.Most students walking that way only do so at night and presume its mostly students living there.I was shocked to find kids lived there when I had to pass through day.

Its not just students its anyone drunk in general,If they are walking along and have drink with them they can hardly carry it to the club.I know people will say they shouldnt have it in the first place but they will and thats why bins would be ideal.Sure they may sometimes be wrecked but it far out ways the amount of litter that would be gathered rather than discarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭seen2Bgreen

You're probably right there, that's just the reality. You'd think the SU or Uni would do something though, with or without the council. It would be a good gesture to the community. Pity they all turn a blind eye to the litter because it seems like a nice place. They should stop nicking the street signs too. Very funny until someone needs an ambulance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

The SU DO do things. Not so long ago the community welfare officer organised a clean up of the estates and almost certainly Milford Grange was one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

You're probably right there, that's just the reality. You'd think the SU or Uni would do something though, with or without the council. It would be a good gesture to the community. Pity they all turn a blind eye to the litter because it seems like a nice place. They should stop nicking the street signs too. Very funny until someone needs an ambulance.

What exactly can they do? In reality you'd need 24/7 policing. Ultimately there are 13,000 students in UL and its sadly a minority that is doing this - I'm positive of this. So it's disingenuous in my mind to just outright label it "UL Student Behaviour" -> Some of us have respect for ourselves and the area we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

I think there is a fundamental reason that has been mention on topics like this before but I'll say it again, just because a person attends a university it does not naturally infer that they have common sense or even intelligence (outside of the academic subset which got them where they are to date).

Unfortunately I don't think there is any level of 'minimum expectation' you can expect from everyone but as the OP mentioned such issues involve a minority and the majority are well intentioned, respectful people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭brucechan

Neon Circles, theres very little evidence of SU doing things except maybe during Rag Week / Charity Week. I would be more upset with the University authorities. It is a fact that 3 guys took Presidential salaries. Couldn't UL make a gesture and just pay some guy part-time to pick up some loose litter (just a thought...)

Cson, perhaps we should title it "the behaviour of a minority of UL students particularly on Tuesday and Thursday nights". Only kidding, but in fairness to the original post, its easy to see why residents get upset. Kicking over wheelie bins, breaking wing mirrors, broken glass everywhere, road signs not only being robbed, but being uprooted and left across the streets, mudballing properties, turning over cars (the photos were published)... Hardly the behaviour appropriate of future leaders of industry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭FerrisBueller

There is a lot of it to be fair, but as highlighted above it's not just UL students and it's not very fair to paint us all with the same brush, although in a residential area it's really not fair either.

County Council workers are generally paid for this sort of thing, maybe that's another thing which could be looked at, along with the university authorities, etc.

To be honest lads and ladies I think it IS mainly UL students causing the mess. As was pointed out theres a few thousand walking around going from party to party or to the locals pubs / discos and that's where the problems start. I don't think there are enough residents to make that mess, and I doubt they're throwing vodka bottles and pizza boxes around the place (or robbing their own signs!)
    I definately think its a minority that start the littering and vandalism, but if someone else who wouldnt normally throw a bottle on the ground sees others doing it and getting away with it, they'll say "why not" rather than carry it to a bin (of which there are hardly any).
    I think the idea of the UL President covering the cost of a pick-up on Weds and Fri mornings for a few hours is a good idea. Pay a guy €70 for 5 or 6 hours waking around with a litter picker would work well with the locals imo. (The President gets paid €230,000 so he'd hardly miss it).

brucechan wrote: »
    It is a fact that 3 guys took Presidential salaries.

What, has that got to do with litter on the street? these three men acted as president for a period therefore they are entitled to a presidents salary...

On the topic of the SU doing a cleanup there were several last semester and I expect the same this semester. There will be a daily cleanup at 7am everyday of rag week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Neon Circles, theres very little evidence of SU doing things except maybe during Rag Week / Charity Week. I would be more upset with the University authorities. It is a fact that 3 guys took Presidential salaries. Couldn't UL make a gesture and just pay some guy part-time to pick up some loose litter (just a thought...)!

The community relations officer organises SEVERAL clean ups a semester, last semester it was 2 weekly. And she and the cso got 'rape alley' by briarfield cleaned up.
    On the topic of the SU doing a cleanup there were several last semester and I expect the same this semester. There will be a daily cleanup at 7am everyday of rag week.

....charity week :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Stuffy

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    The community relations officer organises SEVERAL clean ups a semester, last semester it was 2 weekly. And she and the cso got 'rape alley' by briarfield cleaned up.

....charity week :P

Classy bird

The point about the 3 Presidents is that they were paid Presidential salaries at the same time, which shows that UL have cash to spend and could surely throw a measley few euros into a kitty for a regular clean up.
    The other point was the lack of "evidence" of any clean up. If there was one clean up in Elm Park or Milford Grange last year that would be the sum total.
    Looks like I've hit a nerve with the SU, which isn't the intention. But I'm agreeing wiith the residents on this one. A token clean up on a rare occasion is no good, not with the amount of crap being thrown around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭AlwaysRight

The point about the 3 Presidents is that they were paid Presidential salaries at the same time, which shows that UL have cash to spend and could surely throw a measley few euros into a kitty for a regular clean up.
    The other point was the lack of "evidence" of any clean up. If there was one clean up in Elm Park or Milford Grange last year that would be the sum total.
    Looks like I've hit a nerve with the SU, which isn't the intention. But I'm agreeing wiith the residents on this one. A token clean up on a rare occasion is no good, not with the amount of crap being thrown around the place.

I would guess that its not so much "hitting a nerve" as being blatantly wrong. There were clean ups being organised every week by Community Relations Officer. This info was communicated through Class Reps. If you didn't hear about blame your rep, if you don't have one then be one or elect one and if your not in college then I am sorry but just because you don't see them when they are out doesn't mean its not happening.

Considering that there aren't that many volunteers I would guess that it would be a very hard job to clean everywhere to an immaculate condition, wouldn't you say? Solution being more volunteers presumably but were are they going to come from?? Might I suggest that everyone posting here who cares about the state of the place might stand up and volunteer to help. You might not have caused the mess, but the people who are already volunteering didn't cause it either.

I will always say, don't criticise something unless you are willing to do something about it yourself...and I will always stand by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

why should they?

there are people whose job it is right now to prevent anti social behaviour, keep the peace and prevent littering and vandalism. the university spends its money preventing such activity on the campus (and its a pretty clean campus and i dont see much vandalism so they must be doing a good job)

AlwaysRight: Weekly clean-ups? You're taking the piss! There is'nt a chance that that happened! And it certainly doesn't happen now. Look at the pathway on the way to the Lodge, or the crap left at the East Gate lights, or the green between Milford and Elm Park. The evidence being that litter is left blowing all over the place for ages. I think its sad to see the senior citizens sweeping up glass from outside their homes or parents having to do likewise in case their kids fall and slice themselves. If there are weekly clean-ups as you say, is this communicated to the Res. Assoc?

Peak Output: You've answered the question yourself. If they pay someone as their job to maintain the campus, then it looks great. If UL made a GESTURE, it would help keep Elm Park / Milford Grange clean. Even if they did a 50/50 arrangement with the local Res. Assoc. for example, so both parties play a role and are visibly (nb AlwaysRight) doing something to help out.

I want to stress my earlier point that I've no doubt that its a minority of students doing this, but that minority are definately doing a lot of damage on Tues and Thurs nights. And as long as it happens outside of the UL gates, UL don't give a toss.

Out of interest have you contacted the University or the ULSU about it to voice your concerns? Don't take any offence from this, but I'm sure you don't need me to tell you that just complaining on a message board will get you nowhere.

Peak Output: You've answered the question yourself. If they pay someone as their job to maintain the campus, then it looks great. If UL made a GESTURE, it would help keep Elm Park / Milford Grange clean. Even if they did a 50/50 arrangement with the local Res. Assoc. for example, so both parties play a role and are visibly (nb AlwaysRight) doing something to help out.

no i didnt answer my own question.

im asking you why should the university pay to clean up public streets? im not saying a gesture is out of the question but a gesture is just that it isnt a solution to the problem. the solution is for you to get the people who are actually paid to keep the streets clean and safe already to do their jobs. these people are the police and the country council and focusing your attention / blame on the university lets them off scott free

PeakOutput: I'm not fighting with you here, I actually agree with most of what youre saying, but youre missing my point a bit. UL have worked and invested in projects in areas such as Moyross, but ignore the estates just across the road! Yes, people are paid to police and do CoCo work, but they will not have a presence there fulltime or even part time. Sure, if there was a Garda station in Castletroy it would be a massive help, but that ain't gonna happen now. Gestures do go a long way and at the very least it shows that a big institution is someway considerate of its neighbours. There are some great students in UL and they themselves have done some great things, but it doesn't change the fact that the place looks like plane load of ****e has been dropped on Tues and Thursday nights! Everyone has to do their bit. Residents do some picking up, the SU (apparently) do some as well. So why can't the UL Authorities acknowledge the issue?

Cson: Good call, I might just do that. I don't expect a message board to fix the problem, I just want to know what people are thinking.

Of course, if students just STOPPED THROWING their bottles and cans around the place, we wouldn't be having this discussion... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Of course, if students just STOPPED THROWING their bottles and cans around the place, we wouldn't be having this discussion... :D

The idea of people engaging in some sort of basic social responsibility.. Almost unfathomable.

AlwaysRight: Weekly clean-ups? You're taking the piss! There is'nt a chance that that happened! And it certainly doesn't happen now. Look at the pathway on the way to the Lodge, or the crap left at the East Gate lights, or the green between Milford and Elm Park. The evidence being that litter is left blowing all over the place for ages. I think its sad to see the senior citizens sweeping up glass from outside their homes or parents having to do likewise in case their kids fall and slice themselves. If there are weekly clean-ups as you say, is this communicated to the Res. Assoc?

The Lodge no longer operates so you wont be having that problem anymore.

Rubbish by the lights? I walk by there daily and it seems relevantly clean.

Well maybe contacting the SU directly is the best option here, because I am not going to post the minutes of all meetings since the start of the year (college year) stating that estate clean ups were being done.

It has been stated in Wk 2 and 4 of this semester that estate clean ups are being conducted by the SU on Wednesdays between 12 and 1pm. And an appeal was made for volunteers.

Beyond this I don't know enough to debate any further so I shall butt out at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

Well maybe contacting the SU directly is the best option here, because I am not going to post the minutes of all meetings since the start of the year (college year) stating that estate clean ups were being done.

It has been stated in Wk 2 and 4 of this semester that estate clean ups are being conducted by the SU on Wednesdays between 12 and 1pm. And an appeal was made for volunteers.

Beyond this I don't know enough to debate any further so I shall butt out at this point.
    Or you could just call the County Council? Its what they are there for.

Ah the County Council. Just pick up the phone and theyll jump into their wagons with a smile - and straightaway too - and have the place spotless in a jiffy.

Not having a go at you DJCR, just that you'd have more chance of getting Gadaffi to call to Elm Park before the Council! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭DesQ2

I pass the area by the lights most mornings and don't see the tip you describe, I also lived in Milford Grange a few yrs back and there was never really much hassle with rubbish but there was big issues with the local residents group.

I'm back in college now as a mature student but a few yrs ago I lived in Milford Grange with some friends, we were all working good jobs at the time, I left Milford from the amount of crap I was getting off the local residents group blaming me for crap I had nothing to do with, I came in from work one night just after some students let off a firework and I had some auld rag banging on my door screaming at me the next day, we had all sorts of issues with them including issues of how we parked in our driveway etc etc

Not that i'm trying to start an arguement but I def felt from my time in Milford Grange it wasn't the students causing most of the hassle.

Yes the residents can be awkward alright. The nerve of them to complain about the broken glass that they have to drive over, or the parties that keep their kids awake or the wheelie bins that get kicked over. How dare they complain about your inconsiderate parking across a footpath that forces a woman pushing a pram or the old guy on crutches on to road - to walk around the cars parked on the verges destroying them in the process. The auld one was totally wrong to go mad simply because fireworks were set off.
    Do you blame her? You say you had more hassle from the residents? Its the students that are causing the residents to react! I did a Masters in UL, lived in Dun an Oir for a while before getting the hell out. It was like Beirut! I got on grand with residents but got embarrassed during Rag Week cos the place was left in ****e. Come on man, get a grip. People pay mortgages there and plain and simple, some students just wreck the place. Would you accept it where you come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭DesQ2

Yes the residents can be awkward alright. The nerve of them to complain about the broken glass that they have to drive over, or the parties that keep their kids awake or the wheelie bins that get kicked over. How dare they complain about your inconsiderate parking across a footpath that forces a woman pushing a pram or the old guy on crutches on to road - to walk around the cars parked on the verges destroying them in the process. The auld one was totally wrong to go mad simply because fireworks were set off.
    Do you blame her? You say you had more hassle from the residents? Its the students that are causing the residents to react! I did a Masters in UL, lived in Dun an Oir for a while before getting the hell out. It was like Beirut! I got on grand with residents but got embarrassed during Rag Week cos the place was left in ****e. Come on man, get a grip. People pay mortgages there and plain and simple, some students just wreck the place. Would you accept it where you come from?

I never said I parked across a footpath, this one was out complaining over one of the wheels being up on our lawn, which was nothing to do with her. She did have the right to be pissed over a firework going off but didn't have the right to come down screaming at me over something I had nothing to do with, she only calmed down when she heard i wasn't a student. We had a lot of hassle with them to be fair, they picked a lot of arguments with us over nothing. If the OP wants to get something done about the state of her area there's better places to resolve it than on boards, maybe she should become a litter warden and start handing out on the spot fines. I understand people have mortgages and have the right not to be disturbed in their home area but IMHO, from experience they bring a lot of it on themselves. While that is another matter, i feel i had a right to give my 2 cents over the title of thread and the tone of OP's comments towards students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 davidmichael

I think Milford Grange needs to tackle the issue of landlords who neglect their properties. Its the broken window effect. if students come to a place that looks like ****, they will treat it like ****. especially 1st years. the su did a good job for charity week last year, and hopefully it will be the same this year. they should think about an ents crew patrol every tues and thurs night. the lodge closing is a big help. no doubt the place will be open next year. still its closure will prob encourage more houseparties.

its the best estate in limerick, best built houses, best location, more green areas than any newer estate.....if the university could build enough on campus accom it would be great. would that stop students driving across the greens? hopefully.

Neon and DesQ, when you're passing by the "relatively clean" lights at the East Gates, just look up the road to the top of that road (Eldorado?). Shocking. Came back to Castletroy tonight and in fairness walking frrom the gates up through the estate is bad but that litter is terrible, what makes it worse is that the students (yes) are inside so they walked past it. Its outside their own houses coming out of their own bins! Respect, anyone?

OH MY GOD. Just went through Compostella and Elderado to get to the lights. The 4 houses at the top of elderado are a disgrace, and all 4 are student houses too. Forget the council and the cops, the students who live there have some cheek to be walking in and out over the rubbish, and with residential neighbours too. No wonder the residents are kicking up. Its terrible.

Ok, surely Milford has a Residents Association? Firstly I'd visit those houses and kindly ask the residents to tidy up the place and if they aren't agreeable to that contact the Landlord - I'm sure he/she wouldn't be too keen on seeing the place in ****e.

Those advocating that the University or the ULSU provide something in the way of cleaning need to acknowledge the reality of that which is outside of volunteer work; it isn't going to happen. Tutorials/Staff/Resources have been cut back in UL as far as I can see this year which means cleaning up off campus estates is likely to be far far down the list of priorities for funding. Same goes for ULSU who I'd imagine are under pressure financially too. That might not be palatable to the residents but it is the reality of the situation.

Your best bet? Stop wasting your efforts complaining here and [1] Set up a Residents Association if there isn't already one [2] Write/Email/Phone Don Barry to advise him of the situation you may get enforced volunteers this way from students who have been naughty and owe the University service [I know in Campus Villages breaches of your tenancy agreement mean you do Community Service or get evicted] [3] Contact ULSU advising them of your situation also [4] I don't condone this method but as a last resort contact Limerick Leader etc - a published story may make the relevant authorities take the issue more seriously.

You might not get anywhere but I can guarantee you have a better chance of it than bitching on an internet forum.

cson, I wont be setting up a residents association because Im not a long term resident (probably gone by the summer). Secondly, why contact the SU? What will they do? I wouldn't expect them to go and clean outside someones house. Thats not fair. What is fair, if it happens, is that the SU organise pick ups on the green areas etc (and all credit to them if they do). No, we'll get the county council, or the guards to do one of their super dooper instantaneous clean ups because that's their job according to another contributor. Come on, lets get real. I just find it appalling that students can let this happen outside where they live, with their litter, out of their bins, without regard for anyone else. Says a lot about them.

And the other thing is, by the way, is that Boards is a FORUM! Where people can express opinions. If you want to call it bitching, fine, but if you don't like it, don't contribute. I suppose there's nothing wrong with the "daily bitch about UL" thread, or everyone moaning about the Lodge closing? Its my forum and I'll moan, bitch or WHINGE if I want to!

cson, I wont be setting up a residents association because Im not a long term resident (probably gone by the summer). Secondly, why contact the SU? What will they do? I wouldn't expect them to go and clean outside someones house. Thats not fair. What is fair, if it happens, is that the SU organise pick ups on the green areas etc (and all credit to them if they do). No, we'll get the county council, or the guards to do one of their super dooper instantaneous clean ups because that's their job according to another contributor. Come on, lets get real. I just find it appalling that students can let this happen outside where they live, with their litter, out of their bins, without regard for anyone else. Says a lot about them.

Thus I am to deduce that your only course of action is to complain about it on boards.ie

And here was I trying to offer a constructive solution. Oh well.
    And the other thing is, by the way, is that Boards is a FORUM! Where people can express opinions. If you want to call it bitching, fine, but if you don't like it, don't contribute. I suppose there's nothing wrong with the "daily bitch about UL" thread, or everyone moaning about the Lodge closing? Its my forum and I'll moan, bitch or WHINGE if I want to!

If you'll kindly have a read of my post again my reference to bitching was clearly in the context of bitching on an internet forum will not solve the problem. Thus I tired to offer possible constructive solutions aside from boards.ie that may help long term and short term residents who wish to become involved take action.

If you want to have a mature discussion about this then I'll gladly take part. Otherwise I've no interest in entertaining childishness like the last piece of your post I've quoted.

You started it! Na na naaaaa! :)
    C'mon CSON, no fighting here. Everyone is entitled to an opinion.

Its been cleaned up. Looks like the bitching worked. Fair play Brucechan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Ginge Young

Again would simply like to point out that clean ups usually take place weekly (and will be taking place daily during Charity Week). Problem is that there are only so many volunteers and I doubt it was the bitching that got it cleaned, probably just the good nature that is in some students that people fail to recognize among the wider student body.

Yeah, that must be it. The good nature of students.

Meanwhile, back on planet EARTH...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Cos students arent capable of doing good? Thats right, all students just go aroung littering, drinking, tossing rubbish on the ground and overturing bins :rolleyes:

Its amazing that even though the University has been around for over 20 years now, that a minority of students continue to tarnish the majority of students' reputation by littering, and the general public tend to generalise and believe that students are one and the same regardless.....its time to get real here, and deal with the real issue which in my opinion is the serious lack of punishment attached to littering.
    I'm in the USA right now, and have been for the past 10 days, and there is NO sign of littering on the streets, because the police patrol regularly, and there are serious fines associated with littering. If the same was to be rigourously introduced in Ireland, I'd wonder id students would still be blamed for it?

If there is one thing that makes me want to flip its this sickening "youth of today" attitude which paints every young person with the same brush. We are not all like that and I despise being shoved into that category because I am a student. What does someone have to do to break free from that sh**. Clearly, in your opinion, volunteering isn't enough to prove some students have "good nature". What must they do? Go and physically restrain every drunken nob walking around?? A lot of students do an awful lot of good, and not because they have to, but because they are decent people. I would bet money on it that the students who go out picking up litter are not the ones who put it there, so why do they do it?? - if not because they are decent people with a good nature, why do they do it!!??

Don't forget I live in Dun an Oir and have studied at UL. I'm know only too well of the stigma, and know for sure that not all students are bad. I hated the fact that I was branded as one of the ignorant ones, but I'm realistic to know that the minority (which is a bigger number than "minority" suggests) do cause damage to the locals and their quality of life. That's a fact, and there's no getting away from it, just take a walk through the estates this week for example. And the SU are doing their best with MnMs, which is a great idea, going back to this gesture that we posted about earlier. But there is, unfortunately, a huge lack of respect for Elm Park, Milford Grange and the families that live there, I'm sorry to say.

And I'll bet you anything that it wasn't good natured students who picked up the litter in Elderado ;)

Any one in any doubt about the damage that a "minority" can do, take a stroll around elm park and milford grange. all credit to the SU and MnMs they are visibly doing their best, but the disregard for property is obvious. Avignon, dun an oir, compostella and anywhere in between is a junk yard of broken bottles and cans. I met a lady from the Residents assoc. today along with a a lady from another house who was sweeping up glass because her kids play there, and she was crying. FFS. You can forget about telling me its the Guards job or the council or whoever. Its up to the individuals, and these individuals who represent the University are disgraceful. At this moment I'm embarrassed to say I'm a graduate of UL.

its common knowledge that each rag week causes the congregation of the minority who do damage from every other college in the country in one place for that week. They tried to arrange the rag weeks on the same week this year so that people would stay in their own college but it didnt work

So now its a few littering "minorities" that have got together? A little Association of litterbugs? A League of Litter Offenders at an annual convention?! Anything but the simple reality of thousands of UL students - drunk / high in many cases - having their parties and not caring a jot.
    Can you please stop making childish excuses and accept the facts. Just because youre probably a decent guy doesn't mean you need to wear rose tinted glasses. The place is in ****. The reason is UL students. As much as I hate it, at least I can admit it!

So now its a few littering "minorities" that have got together? A little Association of litterbugs? A League of Litter Offenders at an annual convention?! Anything but the simple reality of thousands of UL students - drunk / high in many cases - having their parties and not caring a jot.
    Can you please stop making childish excuses and accept the facts. Just because youre probably a decent guy doesn't mean you need to wear rose tinted glasses. The place is in ****. The reason is UL students. As much as I hate it, at least I can admit it!

Out of curiosity - what do you think is the solution? I would genuinely like to know, and possibly how you think that solution will have its effect. There is always plenty to complain about, but its ways to actually fix it is what people should focus on. I think the SU are very proactive and I feel the MnMs work absolutely brilliantly. Students will listen to students far quicker than they will take advice from Guard, security or residents, and the cleaning up they do makes a big difference in the estates. But if there is still problems, what can be done?

As far as I can see the task is changing the attitudes, and I don't think thats an easy thing to do. It will take time, and I think the change of name to Charity Week might go towards changing the view of what the week is actually about. I think that majority of the students are truly decent people. But with the alcohol traditions which Ireland has many students are very accustomed to alcohol and obviously get drunk and while even at that stage they are still nice people it is just when groups of drunk people are together things just happen in the name of fun without much forethought.

This is not by any means a simple problem with an easy solution. Obviously things need to be done, with kids, elderly and families living in these estates who need to be able to live their lives peacefully and coexist with students. However, decent well thought out solutions need to be brought to the table, in my opinion. The discussion really shouldn't be constantly about what's happening but what can be done to help.

no matter what you choose to believe these are the facts, no doubt there is litter all year round from ul students, but the reason its going to be extra bad this week is because of visiting students

After talking to MnMs, residents young and old, the cops, and seeing first hand the damage that has been wreaked, it seems to me that "Charity Week" has to be cancelled. The criminal damage being caused is only giving a bad name to every one of us associated with UL, and its easy to see why.
    In another post I mentioned the lady who was crying cleaning up the glass so her kids wouldn't cut themselves, sick of the devastation. The MnMs have been disgusted by what they've witnessed. Landlords have found their houses egged. Wing mirrors of cars snapped off. Bins kicked over. Cans and bottles thrown every where. Parties next door to families. Students pissing in old folks gardens. Fireworks set off driving pet dogs wild. Cars driving across the greens.

This isn't funny, its a shame.

I'm 28 now so a bit older than most, and the last few days have made me realise that Charity Week isn't really about Charity. Its about destruction and a total lack of respect.

Its time to get a grip or forget the whole bloody thing. Anyone with an ounce of self respect will agree. We wouldn't behave this way at home.

cancelling rag week wont change peoples behaviour. people will just choose their own week to have their party and invite their friends up anyway and the same thing will happen accept it will be spread out over the semester as people do i on different weeks

another likely outcome would be a massive backlash from the students and they would use the likes of facebook to organise their own thing and it will be just as big but with none of the infrastructure the SU organises

the gardai enforcing the law would stop all the problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭danlen

PeakOutput wrote: »
    cancelling rag week wont change peoples behaviour. people will just choose their own week to have their party and invite their friends up anyway and the same thing will happen accept it will be spread out over the semester as people do i on different weeks

another likely outcome would be a massive backlash from the students and they would use the likes of facebook to organise their own thing and it will be just as big but with none of the infrastructure the SU organises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

PeakOutput wrote: »

The students are not babies, they are supposed to be adults at college for a reason...to learn, not to willfully destroy other people's property. Why should the Gardai have to babysit students who should know better? I think the minority of the student body are causing so many problems for the decent ones, which is a shame. Most students during charity week are fine. The public are not objecting to students drinking and having the craic, but not when property not belonging to the students is being destroyed and people are in fear. People living on their own and the elderly feel they cannot walk in safety, are clearing up after students are vandalising their property etc.

Perhaps if students thought it was their granny being in fear or their parents homes vandalised, how would they feel??
    If it was a handful of kids from a poor area, there would be outrage and they would be hauled before the courts, why should the students be exempt?

I'm sorry, but there is no excuse for this type of behaviour :mad::mad:

Sure stop University and relocate UL to a green field site miles from any residential area. It would appear to be the only way to solve your repeated gripes OP.