Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Martins impression of a Chinese person

• 14-02-2011 12:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

Michael Martin on Today fm talking about the Chinese attitude to Ireland as a software hub. I thought this was an astounding gaffe from a former minister for foreign affairs! :confused: Have a listen...

http://audio.todayfm.com/1058475.wav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Heard this on the news at 11.

It's like something out of Father Ted, and from a Minister of Foreign Affairs no less.

He might as well have been doing slitty eyes with his fingers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Micheal Martin - not a racist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Fairly cringeworthy at the least. At least Cowen was drunk and in private when doing his impersonations.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Matt Le Tissue

oh dear:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

14 years in cabinet learnt nothing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

"you Irish very good at software", cripes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

lol

This has brightened up my day :D

Now if only he could impersonate a good politician ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 brianw

clown
    when was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

What was he thinking! Sounds more Japanese to be honest.............:p

But in all seriousness no need use an accent to say what he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Jeez - The opposition will really go to town on this chink in his armour.

I would love to see Enda Kenny do a chinese accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Am I the only one that doesn't care about it? He hardly paraded around on air shouting "sucky sucky five dolla"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Suppose in fairness he was talking to the kind of person who picks up their news coverage from Today FM not from RTE1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

So one faux pas by a party leader. Hopefully Enda doesn't mention the war to Angela Merkel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Michael Martin on Today fm talking about the Chinese attitude to Ireland as a software hub. I thought this was an astounding gaffe from a former minister for foreign affairs! :confused: Have a listen...

hardly newsworthy , what would be interesting is Chinese man doing an impression of a cork man !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

ah he will put his foot in it enough times in the next 11 days to bring the FF vote closer to where it should be "0"
    Anita Blow wrote: »
    Am I the only one that doesn't care about it? He hardly paraded around on air shouting "sucky sucky five dolla"

Thats not the Chinese , thats Vietnamese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭marymc

Ah, it's completely newsworthy. Every policitian is fair game for the month. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

SO I HEAR YOU'RE A RACIST NOW MICHEAL?!

WHAT'S THE PARTY VIEW?

HOW MUCH TIME WILL I HAVE TO DEVOTE TO THE WHOLE RACISM, MOST OF MY TIME IS TAKEN UP BY THE FARM AND IN THE EVENING I JUST LIKE A CUP OF TEA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

FFS that's not a gaffe or in any way controversial(I was all excited he did something really stupid). It wasn't a mocking tone, grow up lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

suprised he didnt throw in a "diddy mao" as well for good measure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I don't know what all the fuss is. So he tried to use a foreign accent big deal. The PC brigade are becoming smothering. Where are we going with all this???

I can see a public reaction against this silly hyper PC rubbish developing in the UK already and hopefully is gains ground fast. People need to be reasonable about what really is offensive and what is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

oceanclub wrote: »

Fairly cringeworthy at the least. At least Cowen was drunk and in private when doing his impersonations.

P.

I sort of cringed and laughed at the same time there.

"You Irish very good at software"

Jaysus, bleedin dope!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Jesus thats cringeful but hardly makes him a frigging racist does it? People need to understand the actual definition of a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Bad call, bad impersonation but I don't think it was derogatory.

Fianna Fail won't get my vote but for other reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Is that it?:confused:

If he put on a French or an American accent nobody would say a thing. I use to work with a few chinese lads and always did chinese accents around them and they would make fun of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Anita Blow wrote: »
    That would have been newsworthy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

almighty1 wrote: »
    Jesus thats cringeful but hardly makes him a frigging racist does it? People need to understand the actual definition of a racist.

Yeah, there's a difference between a racist and an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

If you give him your vote, he love you long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

More Steve McLaren than Bernard Manning. Pretty stupid though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FrMartin.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

mike65 wrote: »
    FrMartin.jpg

Haha fantastic stuff. Sombody was quick off the blocks with the creyolas this morning! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

non issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

PeakOutput wrote: »
    non issue

Spoken like a true person who is telling the truth.

This is probably the least gaffe-like "gaffe" I have heard in some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

political correctness gone mad. get a life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Are Paddy Power taking bets on a Chinese invasion by tomorrow morning yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

d'Oracle wrote: »
    This is probably the least gaffe-like "gaffe" I have heard in some time.

Defn:"An unintentional act or remark causing embarrassment to its originator" Given, its a very minor one but id say thats about right, wouldnt you?

At least he didnt put a lampshade on his head while saying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

oceanclub wrote: »

P.

You Cork Irish, you are very good at racism!:D

This muppet and his party are clowns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

He is a clown but the outcry over this is way over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Not the worst gaffe in the world but I would have assumed the man who was up until a few weeks ago our minister for Foreign Affairs would have more cop on and sense than do something like that on a live radio show!

If Enda Kenny did something like this you would have people using it as link in their signature that Kenny was a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

FFS that's not a gaffe or in any way controversial(I was all excited he did something really stupid). It wasn't a mocking tone, grow up lads.

Yeah I clicked the link thinkings "Oh God, what has he gone and done now" and listened and well, just really cannot see why people are up in arms about it.

gandalf wrote: »
    If Enda Kenny did something like this you would have people using it as link in their signature that Kenny was a racist.

Yeah which just underlines how people clutch at any straw no matter how weak if it backs up their political bias.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Thread disappoints. I was expecting a Ted-style lampshade on the head and stretching the eyes type thing.

Now he'll have to hold an evening to celebrate the diversity of cultures in Cork. Except for the Maori - Of course, there are no Maori in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Micheal's opening statement in tonights debate

rightthere.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

nesf wrote: »
    Yeah I clicked the link thinkings "Oh God, what has he gone and done now" and listened and well, just really cannot see why people are up in arms about it.

Don't think for 1 minute he's a racist, but this is very funny and not something you'd expect from a politician let alone one that held the foreign affairs post :D

This is genuinely one of my moments from 2011, this is comedy gold! In fact I'd put it up there with the fifth occasion I heard Lennihan say "we turned a corner"

omerin wrote: »
    This is genuinely one of my moments from 2011, this is comedy gold! In fact I'd put it up there with the fifth occasion I heard Lennihan say "we turned a corner"

Ah but you see the FF path to recovery is based on the dodecahedron. There are many corners for us to navigate around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

omerin wrote: »
    This is genuinely one of my moments from 2011, this is comedy gold!
    Setting the sights high for this year obviously - we're only 44 and a half days in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

It can be argued that there is a time and a place for this kind of behaviour, but do we want a head of state who behaves like this in office?

It's really mystifying as to why he deemed it necessary to impersonate the Chinese accent. What exactly did it add to his performance? Does he think it will endear him to the Chinese investors? Is he trying to deter them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭RetroBate

What's the chinese for "you irish are very good at banking"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

RetroBate wrote: »
    What's the chinese for "you irish are very good at banking"?

"you irish are very good at *anking"

We are also very good at something else thats associated with bankers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

blackdog2 wrote: »
    It can be argued that there is a time and a place for this kind of behaviour, but do we want a head of state who behaves like this in office?

He's not running for President, as far as I know.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Oh God that was embarrassing... god help him if there's much made of this is all I can say