Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connemara

• 10-02-2011 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

I was down in connemara the sunday before last, very far back litter ard i think was the name of the place, i thought to myself it has to be a shocking lonely place for a young unemployed lad or girl to live, my god on a windy sunday afternoon there was such a feeling of depression around the place, how do people back there pass the time?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Probably one of the best spots in the country to be unemployed. You need zero cash to do and see amazing things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

Its what you get used to, Whats lonely to you may be considered freedom to the next person, its not as remote as you would think either, Galway City is only just over an hour away by car from most places.

Personally I think that often the City can be more lonely considering if you are from out of town you probably won't know your neighbours. I can think of far worse places to be then Connemara when feeling down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Mac puppy wrote: »
    I was down in connemara the last before last, very far back litter ard i think was the name of the place, i thought to myself it has to be a shocking lonely place for a young unemployed lad or girl to live, my god on a windy sunday afternoon there was such a feeling of depression around the place, how do people back there pass the time?.

There was a man just on TG4 a moment ago, a native of Inis Oirr, and he was talking about how great it is to be living on Inis Oirr but he went on to say that despite it's amazing beauty it's a terribly lonely and isolated place between October and the end of January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Irishmarinelife

Art (over represented here), culture, music (a LOT around here), education, language (we are bilingual), sport, swimming, fishing(good here), sailing(long history of this here), surfing(very good here), hill walking(sometimes after sheep,sometimes for adventure), diving(very good here), swimming, writing(so many writers live here), eating (the food we grow), drinking etc.

Some nights though we just sit on the couch and wonder what the people in the East are doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Loads of things to do:

Pub.
    Look at the nice landscape.
    Drive the ballbag off your felt spec VAG down those narrow country lanes.
    Photography.

I like the countreh! myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

how do people back there pass the time?.

Post on Boards. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Probably one of the best spots in the country to be unemployed. You need zero cash to do and see amazing things

Yeah I know, it feels great to do it outdoors with nobody around ... very natural feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I was down in dublin the sunday before last, very far back tallaght i think was the name of the place, i thought to myself it has to be a shocking lonely place for a young unemployed lad or girl to live, my god on any day of the week there was such a feeling of depression around the place, how do people back there pass the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Tallaght's a great place to be unemployed. Loads to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

They read Martin McDonagh plays.

'Cos the wesht is all cripples with vendettas and complan on a rainy day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Art (over represented here), culture, music (a LOT around here), education, language (we are bilingual), sport, swimming, fishing(good here), sailing(long history of this here), surfing(very good here), hill walking(sometimes after sheep,sometimes for adventure), diving(very good here), swimming, writing(so many writers live here), eating (the food we grow), drinking etc.

Some nights though we just sit on the couch and wonder what the people in the East are doing.

hmmm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

By God but don't we love a bit of aul misery in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Connemara is an amazingly beautiful part of the country.

How anyone can fail to see that is honestly beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Dionysus wrote: »
    There was a man just on TG4 a moment ago, a native of Inis Oirr, and he was talking about how great it is to be living on Inis Oirr but he went on to say that despite it's amazing beauty it's a terribly lonely and isolated place between October and the end of January.
    Yes, but it's not as if it's some tiny settlement in northern Greenland; the weather doesn't shut everyone off for 8 months and the city is 20 minutes away. A bit of perspective is needed I think. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Some great property deals also in Connemara :eek:

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=492802

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

It might be isolated to someone from Dublin of Belfast, but its in Ireland. Its not Alaska. Some form of civilisation is never far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

If I was asked what was one of the most beutiful sights I;ve seen in Ireland I would say seeing the shadow of a cloud passing over the Maam valley on a sunny day with the streams pouring down from the hillsides from the mornings rain

One of the greatest feelings would be coming in from the rain for a good guinness and a toasted sandwich by the fire in Keanes pub and listening to aul Marcus (RIP) out in the bar telling the story of the Maamtrasna murders

I could never be bored there and I can't imagine anything better than owning a house there wih a big bay window and a log fire on a story day
    It's an ambition that I hope I can fulfill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

people liked this dear oh deary me. i live in the most beutiful part of ireland(south east dublin) but being unemployed here wud still be bad

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah I know, it feels great to do it outdoors with nobody around ... very natural feeling.
    No one around? Connemara onanism eh? Bord Failte is missing a trick there KP.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

dilallio wrote: »

It has one bedroom and one bathroom. I think that water feature bottom right of photo is the bathroom. So the bedroom must be quite large, in fairness.

95 grand though. Cheap at half the price.

I was down in connemara the sunday before last, very far back litter ard i think was the name of the place, i thought to myself it has to be a shocking lonely place for a young unemployed lad or girl to live, my god on a windy sunday afternoon there was such a feeling of depression around the place, how do people back there pass the time?.

Léimeann siad ar an bhus, and off they go to Dublin. When visiting this most relaxed of European capitals they like to sit on the boardwalk beside the Liffey and hang with the chilled-out locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

dilallio wrote: »

The asking price is for the 3.5 acres of site, not the ruin, which just happens to be on it.

The asking price is for the 3.5 acres of ****e, not the ruin, which just happens to be on it.

FYP? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

i know where this cottage is for sale its the scenery you are paying for, absolutely breathtaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

It's an absolutely beautiful spot with loads to do outdoors. There's mountains, rivers and sea and the freedom to enjoy all of them. Unfortunately, there isn't much going on if you want to work.

I left the place about 11 years ago and would love to go back but there's nothing going in my line of work. In Carraroe, where I'm from, there's three pubs, a library, three shops, two hairdressers, a pharmacy, two schools and an internet cafe. That's not a lot in the line of skilled work so the only sensible thing to do was to come here and take jobs and food from the mouths of Dubs. Some day I'll be able to move back and get a house by the sea but for the moment, I'll stay here trying to make something of myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Always brings me back to Junior Cert music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

lezza wrote: »
    i know where this cottage is for sale its the scenery you are paying for, absolutely breathtaking

Damn right! Tuairín is kind of the last civilized place before the na hoileáin. Those Islanders still live like it's the seventies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

You need zero cash to do and see amazing things

That's probably the crappest joke ever to be posted on Boards.Trying so hard to crowbar in a lame & forced double-entendre. Hang your head in shame...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i have to say i'm not a fan of connemara. it's nearly always pissin rain when i'm there so it's feckin depressin lookin. i actually hate it :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Mac puppy

Dont get me wrong, i know on a hot summers day connemara is a beautiful place, but in winter with high unemployment it must be depressing because its not like you can do many outdoor things there in the winter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

If I was asked what was one of the most beutiful sights I;ve seen in Ireland I would say seeing the shadow of a cloud passing over the Maam valley on a sunny day with the streams pouring down from the hillsides from the mornings rain

One of the greatest feelings would be coming in from the rain for a good guinness and a toasted sandwich by the fire in Keanes pub and listening to aul Marcus (RIP) out in the bar telling the story of the Maamtrasna murders

I could never be bored there and I can't imagine anything better than owning a house there wih a big bay window and a log fire on a story day
    It's an ambition that I hope I can fulfill

Slasher McGurk crawled to freedom through five hundred yards of **** smelling foulness, I can't even imagine, or maybe I just don't want to. Five hundred yards, that's the length of five football fields, just shy of half a mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Whatever ye do in connemara, dont anybody vote o'cuiv or the rest of the FF representing your area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭The Shtig

It really depends on who you are, I'm from a very remote area and it does get really boring around this time of year but a city can also be just as lonely. In a remote area there are not many people however these people are very friendly where as a large town there are plenty of people but they don't really communicate with you. There's no sense of community in cities.

During the summer months though I wouldn't want to be any where else. Beaches that aren't crowded, long evenings spent going to the bog, fishing, walks down a peaceful tranquil road, the fresh air, it's amazing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

As a Mayo native, I have to say there are some parts of my home country that are just as breath-taking, if not more so.

Achill Island, Doolough, Croagh Patrick, Clare Island, the bleak beauty of North Mayo, the Lough Conn and Lough Cullen area which on a sunny summer's day feels like a different country, the Curraun peninsula, Downpatrick head, Nephin, Tourmakeady plus many great beaches. All as lovely but more unspoiled. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

All as lovely but more unspoiled. :)

The white bungalow blitz cottages that are omnipresent in Connemara really take away from the view IMHO. Yes they are nice in towns and on the islands but not when they are inescapable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Anytime I'm in Connemara it breaks my heart that I'll probably never have the wherewithal to move there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

See, Connemara is breath-taking but I'd never want to live there because people bring me up. I love people watching and city life. Plus I think there's a lot of beauty to be found in urban areas too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

partyndbs wrote: »
    people liked this dear oh deary me. i live in the most beutiful part of ireland(south east dublin) but being unemployed here wud still be bad

Really, Its common knowledge the west is what brings people to Ireland, Ring Of Kerry, Sky Road, Achill Island all on the west!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I had a great birthday in Clifden a few years back of a fine soft day I ay I ay.

I really like Connemara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Dont get me wrong, i know on a hot summers day connemara is a beautiful place, but in winter with high unemployment it must be depressing because its not like you can do many outdoor things there in the winter.

I imagine they spend those wet days just thinking of all the opportunities they are missing out on by not being unemployed in Dublin:

- The opportunity for getting a few quid by begging on O Connell Bridge.

- Can go to the Natural History Museum to see some dead wildlife in boxes.

- Better choice of pubs to go into and sneakily knock back the last gulp of room temperature, over-priced pints which were left by their owner before being kicked out.

- The chance to play the age old local Dublin game of "Try to get down this small side street without breathing so you avoid the smell of piss"

-The chance to browse through Brown Thomas and look at plain white t shirts which would cost half their week's dole to buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Is Cuma Liom

Hey Islanders are cool ..k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

My mother is from Connemara so i'd spent many idyllic summer weeks in the arse end of it as a kid.
    After the first few days of admiring the beauty of the scenery, exploring the surroundings and driving my cousins up the wall, and, in turn, being driven up the wall by them, i'd often sit down in fields, every inch or which seemed to be pock-marked by the indentations of cow- hooves, chew some heather, and wish i could be playing pool at the 'local' pub, far too many miles to walk to, or that it was Halloween and that i had supply of bangers that i could place in the middle of cow-****s and watch them explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A bit disingenuous there, I really doubt the majority of natives are engaged in these activities on a regular basis. More likely activities include; a bottle of tay on the bog, working, mass and driving in dangerous roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Inverse to the power of one!

ITT People who are not from Connemara, romanticise the place. It's a ****hole full of assholes, I should know. Plenty have arrived with their dreams of what the place should be, and the same have left bitter with sly shenanigans the locals have pulled on them.

It is beautiful tho....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

how do people back there pass the time?.

Seriously? Same as anywhere else, just in nicer surroundings :D

People have lives, friends, jobs, hobbies etc.

And I know quite a few natives who do participate in the activities Irishmarinelife mentioned too.

I'm Connemara born & bred and I wouldn't live anywhere else. Late Autumn, Winter and early spring are the absolute best times of year to live here.

People can spout any types of guff about any place on the face of the earth, or it's people. At the heel of the hunt it's what you yourself make of it that defines how it'll be for you, not what anyone else thinks. If you don't like it, don't go there. It's not rocket science and being bitter about it is just your own problem, no one else will be bothered one whit over it.

In a place like Connemara, quite often people need to have the get up and go to make their own work. There aren't many factories etc. where you can simply apply for a job.

I have a small sheep farm which keeps me occupied. I've worked a few other jobs locally in the past and am researching new ones for the future. I shoot and hunt and do most other things people are interested in. Currently developing an interest in beekeeping. I was hillwalking until I hurt my knee and do have a deep appreciation for the place where I'm from.

I would not live anywhere else.

P1020862-1.jpg

longviewkissthesea.jpg

P1030117-1.jpg

The asking price is for the 3.5 acres of site, not the ruin, which just happens to be on it.

agricultural land was worth 3 -5,000 euro an acre during the boom
    this is Connemara so would be the lower end of the scale!

We should really get rid of land zoning altogether

It's an absolutely beautiful spot with loads to do outdoors. There's mountains, rivers and sea and the freedom to enjoy all of them. Unfortunately, there isn't much going on if you want to work.

I left the place about 11 years ago and would love to go back but there's nothing going in my line of work. In Carraroe, where I'm from, there's three pubs, a library, three shops, two hairdressers, a pharmacy, two schools and an internet cafe. That's not a lot in the line of skilled work so the only sensible thing to do was to come here and take jobs and food from the mouths of Dubs. Some day I'll be able to move back and get a house by the sea but for the moment, I'll stay here trying to make something of myself.

Someday when the internet gets good enough across the country there will be more and more telecommuting like in the US and less people will be driving to work burning fossil fuels etc its win win and will happen eventually

the key is finding a line of work where telecommuting is possible - IT is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

ITT People who are not from Connemara, romanticise the place. It's a ****hole full of assholes, I should know.

Not awfully familiar with Connemara but it sounds like my part of the west if thats the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

i'm from connemara and totally took for granted the scenery i grew up in. Conamara is beautiful but its the people and the sense of community that makes it special foe me.
    Yes locals can be weary of new folk but I found that is the case in any new village you visit.
    I love the sense of humour and devilment conamara people have, maybe that had to do with the irish language I don't know.
    Winter time can be shiite but sure the same could be said in the city!
    Summer time is unfecking real though! there is a boating (hooker) festival on every weekend in different villages with different events.
    This weekend is Feile Mhic Dara in Carna. Most of my family will come home for it. There will be good music food and great craic!
    fingers crossed for a sunny weekend! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

Its spelt letterard(or L.A to the locals!) and yes it is very far back wesht. There is a large population of younger folk, some who live in galway or other cities and come home most weekends and others who live here full time. As long as you have a car you are good to go!!