Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

track days/ motorsports

• 10-02-2011 12:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

As a civilian not affiliated with car clubs etc, in general terms, what are the options for a petrolhead who fancies doing some track days or some kind of budget racing?

I always wanted to look into this but I never know where to start. You do see track cars advertised on Done Deal but I never know if they are huge commitment for people with lots of extra time and money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Mondello have started doing track training days for €50

http://www.mondello.ie/news/159.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Very intriguing indeed.

Would one have to have specialist insurance etc or can you just pick up a sub €1,000 "track car" off the net and show up if they can comply to the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

cantdecide wrote: »
    Very intriguing indeed.

Would one have to have specialist insurance etc or can you just pick up a sub €1,000 "track car" off the net and show up if they can comply to the rules?

When your on a track you have no insurance.

..........can you just pick up a sub €1,000 "track car" off the net and show up if they can comply to the rules?

You can use your normal car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

who fancies doing some track days or some kind of budget racing?

I always wanted to look into this but I never know where to start. You do see track cars advertised on Done Deal but I never know if they are huge commitment for people with lots of extra time and money...

TO do a track day, you just need to book it & turn up in whatever car you have. It will need to be properly maintained though.
    To go racing, there is alot more involved. To get a circuit licence you need to do a day course, get application signed by doctor and apply to motorsport Ireland for the actual licence.
    You would then need to rent/buy a car and buy all your safety gear.
    Ive got the licence myself but didnt go any further yet. Might do a test day or 2 in a rented car this year.

mickdw wrote: »
    ...To get a circuit licence you need to do a day course...You would then need to rent/buy a car and buy all your safety gear.
    Ive got the licence myself but didnt go any further yet. Might do a test day or 2 in a rented car this year.

How does one rent a race car? Do Mondello have race cars to rent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Lightning, did the stryker series run last year or is it happening this year? Wouldnt mind a day out in one of those.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

How does one rent a race car? Do Mondello have race cars to rent?

I'm sure Avis, Budget or Sixt will only be too happy to rent you one...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

I did a track day a couple of yrs ago in my own car. Much as it was good fun and interesting to see how the car performed on a track, I decided not to do it again.

Main reason was the risk to the car. Much as most of the people doing the track day respect each other, you will get the odd "nutter" out there.

The track day cost me €150 for the day. Extra "hidden" costs are the tyre wear, brake wear and probably about €30 fuel for the 12-15 laps you do.

I then considered maybe buying a track car for a grand or 2 but realistically I have nowhere to store it, would need a trailer to get it to/from Mondello and need to maintain it.

So what I've decided to do is just do the odd rally day or motor racing school at mondello as I'm only 10 min away.

If I do 2 or 3 a year it'll set me back about 600-700 with no risk to my car.

I'm booked into the Waterford Rally day in April which is my first one this year and will look at the single seaters or Mazda 3 course in Mondello during summer months.

I'm sure Avis, Budget or Sixt will only be too happy to rent you one...:D

Half an hour I spent holding only for them to laugh down the phoen at me. I hate you Fuzzenstein.

That was a joke by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

One of the cheapest forms of motorsport is Auto Cross, don't cost a lot to build/buy a car. Its racing in a field and good crack...

Next up its a toss up between Track racing or maybe Hillclimbing, Hillclimbs are relatively cheap compared to Rallying, speeds at the top end of Hillclimbing are Phenomenal... Simon McKinley Paul O'Connell to name two..

http://www.rallyforums.com is a good place to start & http://www.irishhillclimb.com/ Irish Hillclimb Championship

If you are going to race, might as well get a proper MSI License...Remember, suits helmets etc add up to a fair bit of money as well, don't skimp on safety.

Best of luck :)

One specific question: Can I use my motorbike helmet or do I have to get one specific to car racing?

What else is on the laundry list of safety gear for car and driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

One specific question: Can I use my motorbike helmet or do I have to get one specific to car racing?

What else is on the laundry list of safety gear for car and driver?

So long as the helmet conforms to the Green Book regulations, yes...if not, you have to shell out for one..

You can get a copy of regulations from Motorsport Ireland a good place to start

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

How is liability handled?
    This being Ireland I can only assume that if you run into someone they will sue you for €100k if they have a sore neck...

How is liability handled?
    This being Ireland I can only assume that if you run into someone they will sue you for €100k if they have a sore neck...

On a track day or in a competitive motor sport race?

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    On a track you cant do anything, its tough luck if some wrecks you or your car.

the one I was at an old banger hit a Lotus and made a right mess of it...pistols at dawn to sort out who is liable I'd say in most cases

It made me think twice about taking my own motor to one again

This is all gold guys. Its definitely making me think I have to get it together and get stuck in.

Thats what most tracks run VIP days so people can bring upmarket cars and not have to deal with some clown in a 15year old Civic.

How do they work? Specific clubs only?

draffodx wrote: »
    How do they work? Specific clubs only?

I think so, Stuff like all Lotus days etc....

Thats what most tracks run VIP days so people can bring upmarket cars and not have to deal with some clown in a 15year old Civic.

I'm surprised we haven't seen Midnight_PG yet defending civics/civic drivers :pac:
    They run VIP days to cater for high cost/performance cars. If you check the Mondello site on the calender you will see VIP days. Anybody can do these as long as their car is nice!

Define nice? Minimum cost or?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

I've never driven on a track, or in any kind of race situation.

Would it be worthwhile to go tto that Mondello training course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

For 50e you wont get it cheaper anywhere, and I mean anywhere!

Sound. I reckon I'll do it.

Do you bring your own car down or what? My yokes only a 1.3 diesel so................................ :pac:

Yeah, the €50 training day is in your own car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Sometimes up market cars make mince meat of quality 15 year old civics unfortunately an up market car doesnt allways make for a good driver

For 50e you wont get it cheaper anywhere, and I mean anywhere!

its an amazing offer , im telling as many people as possible, you would barely get a grand prix at the kart track for that!! plus you will learn something about your eself and your car. Ive dont a couple of track days but im still tempted to do it, allways eager to learn more i am :D are you instructing there by any chance?

was that buiog in the caterham?

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    was that buiog in the caterham?

buiog?? is that a user on here??

projectgtr wrote: »
    Sometimes up market cars make mince meat of quality 15 year old civics unfortunately an up market car doesnt allways make for a good driver

Jaysus, was he THAT pissed off about being overtaken? :pac:

My car is a 02 Mazda 323F 2.0 Sport with 130,000 miles in good well maintained condition. Could one reasonably expect a car answering this description to hold together for a 20min track stint?

I'm assuming that since the day is intended for novices, it won't be a hardcore session anyway...

My car is a 02 Mazda 323F 2.0 Sport with 130,000 miles in good well maintained condition. Could one reasonably expect a car answering this description to hold together for a 20min track stint? ...

Without a doubt :)

Next one in on a Monday afternoon according to the site, March 14th.

My car is a 02 Mazda 323F 2.0 Sport with 130,000 miles in good well maintained condition. Could one reasonably expect a car answering this description to hold together for a 20min track stint?

I'm assuming that since the day is intended for novices, it won't be a hardcore session anyway...

Can't see it being an problem once its well maintained, we should organise a boards day out could be interesting, might see what numbers are needed to get the day going.

Consider me up for it. I expect I'll be there on March 14th regardless. I've been toying with this for too long and that €50 deal is an absolute no brainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Consider me up for it. I expect I'll be there on March 14th regardless. I've been toying with this for too long and that €50 deal is an absolute no brainer.
    I did it and couldn't recommend it enough.

Would hope to get to one if there is one on a Saturday again, my exhaust was done last night so no more clothes hanger :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

its an amazing offer , im telling as many people as possible, you would barely get a grand prix at the kart track for that!! plus you will learn something about your eself and your car. Ive dont a couple of track days but im still tempted to do it, allways eager to learn more i am :D are you instructing there by any chance?

I was at that track day a few years back as a passenger in a buddies car when that incident happened and it was a disgrace - the guy who caused the crash shouldnt have been near the track. The civic was the faster driver and the caterham (i think from what i remember) had too much ego and not enough skill.

One thing people forget especially in ireland is that just because you are on track its not a race. Let the faster drivers go and dont be too competitive. Anytime im on track, whyich is rare these days, ive no interest on what other cars are doing and only want a bit of breathing space out there to have a bit of fun myself. Once people are sensible and move over for faster cars, keep their distance and dont get competitive there should be no crashes between cars on track days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Can't see it being an problem once its well maintained, we should organise a boards day out could be interesting, might see what numbers are needed to get the day going.

To make it any way affordable you need roughly 45 takers

Is anyway affordable €100 ish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

RoverJames wrote: »
    Is anyway affordable €100 ish?

€200ish

Is there any of the introduction days on at the weekends?

The January one was on January 29th which was a Saturday. €50 is a fantastic rate.

A boards trackday would be a disaster to organise, ensuring folks are genuinely going to go etc, also 45 people is a fair amount too.

RoverJames wrote: »
    The January one was on January 29th which was a Saturday. €50 is a fantastic rate.

Couldn't make that one :(

draffodx wrote: »
    Couldn't make that one :(

Likewise :(
    Monday the 14th March doesn't really appeal as I'm self employed and am taking a week off in May for Punchestown races so the €50 fantastic rate would be a false economy.

Ideally before year end I'd like to attend one of the introductary trackdays in Mondello and do one of the rally yokes in Waterford for €200. Then perhaps consider would I do 3 or 4 track days a year.

buiog?? is that a user on here??

From octane

cpoh1 wrote: »

One thing people forget especially in ireland is that just because you are on track its not a race. Let the faster drivers go and dont be too competitive. Anytime im on track, whyich is rare these days, ive no interest on what other cars are doing and only want a bit of breathing space out there to have a bit of fun myself. Once people are sensible and move over for faster cars, keep their distance and dont get competitive there should be no crashes between cars on track days.

And there is where the risk is...there is always one or two that think its a race

cpoh1 wrote: »
    I was at that track day a few years back as a passenger in a buddies car when that incident happened and it was a disgrace - the guy who caused the crash shouldnt have been near the track. The civic was the faster driver and the caterham (i think from what i remember) had too much ego and not enough skill.

well said, i heard the most disgusting part is that the driver of the caterham would not even apologize for what happened. That civic was a quick car and Niall was a good driver, he actually rebuilt the car thank god as it was a great example.

Onkle wrote: »
    To make it any way affordable you need roughly 45 takers

you sure its 45?? its not like we would need to fill the quota we could go in with another group or try and include other sites

I would go for the full track...thats the one I did and it makes you have that little bit of breathing space between cars

I have myself booked for the 14th. I'm trying to get some mates to go too. There were 7 out of 20 places remaining as of last Friday and they said they'll go fast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

How much actual track time do you get for your €50?

Morning Timetable
    10:00 Classroom instruction
    10:30 On track instruction
    11:00 Break
    11:15 Classroom instruction
    11:50 On track instruction
    12:30 Supervised free track time
    12:50 Debrief

And when it says 'supervised' does that mean there's a slow pace car like at classic car live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

As a civilian not affiliated with car clubs etc, in general terms, what are the options for a petrolhead who fancies doing some track days or some kind of budget racing?

Yes there are loads.

I do suggest you join a club though for club discounts advice and general support.

I have a track-day booked myself next week and the end of May through two separate clubs.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    How much actual track time do you get for your €50?

Morning Timetable
    10:00 Classroom instruction
    10:30 On track instruction
    11:00 Break
    11:15 Classroom instruction
    11:50 On track instruction
    12:30 Supervised free track time
    12:50 Debrief

And when it says 'supervised' does that mean there's a slow pace car like at classic car live?

Not a lot, presumably. For €50, it's a first step. It's the education that's important. Plus, I wouldn't take my one and only (four wheeled) mode of transport out for a full day's track session. It's a long walk back to Cork.

I don't know how it will be supervised. I'm that green!