Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who hates weddings??

• 09-02-2011 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Cerocco

Today yet another invite came through the letter box. This one is in Scotland :mad: I hate weddings, boring, cr@p filled, waste of a day. Anyone else feel the same about them. More importantly how do I get out of going without offending the person. They have been banging on about it for months and how great it is that i'm gonna go :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

They probably more than likely wont give a toss if you turn up or not tbh
    "just say no"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

So don't go. I'm sure they will enjoy the day regardless of whether or not you're sitting in the corner stewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Nothing worse than being forced to dance with a drunk relative...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Oooh Ooh me! I hate them!

Why on Earth does the moment a couple commits to each other for life have anything to do with anyone else? Congratulations and all, but there's no intimacy or romance about a forced kiss and dance in front of an audience.

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Cerocco wrote: »
    More importantly how do I get out of going without offending the person. They have been banging on about it for months and how great it is that i'm gonna go

Develop a pretend lump in need of biopsy.

They'll then pretend they're deeply concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A great place to pull. I have two so far this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I enjoy them. Big session and meet loads of people. Anybody that sits around fuming instead of having a laugh is either 16 or a moany c+nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i love the scrap. all good weddings should have a fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

They're grand so long as their civil ceremonies and not church ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I'm fairly sure the groom at a shotgun wedding hates them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Dont like them at all. You get too many nosy f*ckers enquiring about your life and what you are doing now. And there's always the people you dont want to see that are in attendance. I have my sisters wedding in December, and if i could get out of going to it, i would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

i dunno man i think classic weddings are the only way. demanding of proof of income, some sort of dedication a ceremony with lots of witnesses who condone it. cos a former pal recently had a quick registry type one, a week/baby later his miss unfortunate realizes her kurt cobain-alike was most certainly not willing to work even for the baby n couldn't even afford the bar of a rad. all went on heroin

young hearts are foolish. it's got to be perfect, else its too often just for the sake of saying been there/done that/promptly broke it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

fcuk the groom to be. she won't want you there then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I like the drinking and eating parts. Not to keen on everything else part. Just send them money and make an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It's all a money racket these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

grenache wrote: »
    Dont like them at all. You get too many nosy f*ckers enquiring about your life and what you are doing now. And there's always the people you dont want to see that are in attendance.

Yes thats always the worst part of these events. Having to be nice to people you dislike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭northern lights

Cerocco wrote: »
    Today yet another invite came through the letter box. This one is in Scotland :mad: I hate weddings, boring, cr@p filled, waste of a day. Anyone else feel the same about them. More importantly how do I get out of going without offending the person. They have been banging on about it for months and how great it is that i'm gonna go :mad::mad:

Can I go instead of you, please!! Normally hate them myself but feeling just a wee bit homesick at the mo :(
    Where is it out of curiosity? (goes online to check out tickets!)...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I just find them so incredibly cookie-cutter, they're ALL the same.

And if I ever get married, I would hate the thought of it being a financial struggle for any guest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

Craythur and the Cookie-Cutters, bingo. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Avoid them myself if at all possible. The church part is fine obviously, the dinner and first few drinks are grand too, but after that its just a loooooong chore. I went to a friends wedding a while back, had to be at the church at 2pm. 12 hours later I was looking at my watch through a drunken haze, while some auld fella I barely knew was bending my ear about some rubbish I didnt want to hear about. I just thought, "ffs, this really has been a long day, surely long enough!"

Nope - I believe it was called a night at 7am. Groan.

Craythur and the Cookie-Cutters, bingo. thanks

Heh. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Dont go to most of them, my work is a great excuse. Have one in Poland in June, definitely going, should be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I hate most weddings, the two I enjoyed the most was my sisters where she made me the musical director. So I got a bunch of my mates from Galway and we had a mad, mad trad session. The other was my best mates wedding, hes an accordionist, so that was another crazy trad session. If there is one thing I learned about most normal weddings though is that as soon as I hear the Birdie Song its off to the jacks to hide and have a spliff before yer big aunt drags you off to the dance floor for a dance.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Senna wrote: »
    Dont go to most of them, my work is a great excuse. Have one in Poland in June, definitely going, should be great craic.

Ah, well that one should be cool. Different country, different traditions, will make it more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Weddings are the cringiest things ever to have to go to when you'd never plan on getting married yourself, thankfully haven't had to go to any in a long time. Most seem so boring, needless expense for not much fun at it.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Weddings are the cringiest things ever to have to go to when you'd never plan on getting married yourself, thankfully haven't had to go to any in a long time. Most seem so boring, needless expense for not much fun at it.

And then the worry of wondering what's an appropriate amount for a wedding gift. I'd feel embarrassed at the thought that my guests might be stressing about that. I'd just want them to come, eat, drink and have fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

we only invided those wer wanted there

this was our first song

if people didn't turn up then they didnt turn up

we got wed
    nothing else matters

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

--LOS-- wrote: »

I entered a competition and the prize was a 5k civil union, watch out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Go but just dont enjoy yourself.

I've only been to two, they were ok but the church part was boring.

Actually the church part of one of them was more like :eek: "people believe this?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Nothing worse than being forced to dance with a drunk relative...

i'm a fu¢ker for doing that. once sang la vida loca to me granny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Marriage is for suckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

bluewolf wrote: »
    I've only been to two, they were ok but the church part was boring.

Actually the church part of one of them was more like :eek: "people believe this?"

It's perhaps more to do with the obvious financial aspect as it is in believing in the institution of marriage

orourkeda wrote: »
    It's perhaps more to do with the obvious financial aspect as it is in believing in the institution of marriage

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I hate them also, always have since I was a child. I remember being at one years ago and thinking 'This is supposed to be ther happiest day of your life?'.

I went to one last year and everyone was staring at me. I don't live in the area anymore so they were probbaly curious of me. Stares, stares and more stares; mostly from my mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

I don't mind weddings at all, as long as I don't have too many in one year, only had one last year and will be one this year. As somebody said in an earlier post a good place to pull!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I'll let my man Doug explain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭murphyaii

name me one man that likes weddings?:D

murphyaii wrote: »

Kevin Joyce?

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

went to 7 (seven) weddings last year. getting slightly sick of them now - plus they're ALL the same - just too formulaic, unfortunately.

It's always church, followed by at least 4 hours of standing around drinking so you end up at the dinner table half-p*ssed, it's always salmon or beef (with only minor variations), speeches are always too long und usually not that entertaining, cake cutting, band, sandwiches, DJ, national anthem, over.

The weddings that stand out are usually either abroad, or where the venue is not a soulless hotel on the outskirts of a scenic coastal resort...

Weddings are ceremony. Most ceremonies are to appease the older generations. Older generations are f*cking annoying and backwards. Therefore weddings are f*cking annoying and backwards.

And don't get me started on the religious aspect.

"Hey Mr Invisible Man, please come down and 'bless' our love for each other so a kiddly fiddlin' religion can grant us tax breaks as we haven't yet separated church and state." <grumble grumble grumble>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Irish weddings are truly awful and very unoriginal. Church, stand around, beef or salmon, witty and mostly unfunny dragged out speeches, clear an area for the dance floor, awful band, rinse and repeat. No originality and no real input from the couple getting married. Plus they are stupid over the top expensive.

Apart from the US (all over by midnight), any wedding outside of Ireland I've been to was original and enjoyable and you could tell that the couple put their own look, feel and style into it. Makes for a more memorable and enjoyable day out.

murphyaii wrote: »

I do! Weddings are great craic. Big session, big feed, talking crap to people you haven't seen in ages excuse to dress up in the suit, dancing away to the band etc etc. Also on the lash the next day again with the wedding crowd is always great craic too!!

Have a wedding to go to in march and I'm really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

I like them when it's someone from the crowd I grew up with, great bunch of people, known each other years, and it's just a good laugh.

But I fcuking hate them when it's someone you're good enough friends with, but you don't really know the one half of the couple, you only know 1 or 2 other people there...God dang long day! I tend to disappear to my room for a little siesta after dinner and then come back for the obligatory "Rock the Boat" and get the granny up dancing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Hmm. Lots of hate for weddings here. Having a traditional white wedding is not anything I would ever want to do. But I love other people's nuptials. If a couple is willing to put themselves through the mill for this (and believe me, it ain't no fun for anybody involved), the least you can do is go along and enjoy yourself. And if you're just going to spend the day muttering to yourself, don't go.

jester77 wrote: »
    Irish weddings are truly awful and very unoriginal. Church, stand around, beef or salmon, witty and mostly unfunny dragged out speeches, clear an area for the dance floor, awful band, rinse and repeat. No originality and no real input from the couple getting married. Plus they are stupid over the top expensive.

Apart from the US (all over by midnight), any wedding outside of Ireland I've been to was original and enjoyable and you could tell that the couple put their own look, feel and style into it. Makes for a more memorable and enjoyable day out.

I think if I have one it'll just be a BBQ or in a nice restaurant somewhere ><

jester77 wrote: »

People like a traditional wedding though. If you make changes to it its not a traditional wedding and thats what most people want (including myself if/when I get married).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

I like the nice dinner and the craic in the evening, but hate the church bit. And all the hours of waiting around before the mass/after the mass/while photos are being taken. And being made to dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Just go to the good ones. Went to one lately that was great craic. The couple were loaded so it was in the nicest venue in town with the best food. My neighbours kept buying me pints all day as well so I left with the same twenty euro I'd brought after about 12 pints.

Only thing I really dislike is wedding disco music but if they've got the good sense of going light on Abba and stuff off the Grease & Dirty Dancing soundtracks I can just about tolerate it.

I'd never do a big wedding myself because they're a giant rip off but I'm quite happy to abuse other peoples hospitality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

grenache wrote: »
    Dont like them at all. You get too many nosy f*ckers enquiring about your life and what you are doing now. And there's always the people you dont want to see that are in attendance. I have my sisters wedding in December, and if i could get out of going to it, i would.

Sounds to me like your embarrassed by your lack of achievements in life and by a distant friend "enquiring" about what your up to these days it reminds you how little you have done in your life and how sh*te your life is in general, you'd rather not analysis the status of your life because you know what you'd find is just failure...

And not wanting to go to your own sisters wedding just shows what kind of person you are, sorry dude, just saying :pac: