Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Clampers award: **** of the month.

• 08-02-2011 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭

In response to all the negative comments directed at Clampers recently I propose we have an award for clamper of the month

He is one of the nominees for Feb.

Taken today in Waterford Institute of Technology.

c545946f.png

Please submit your favourite clamper for his hard work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

you cant use a facebook link you have to upload to a photo hosting site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You can use a FB link, the OP just messed up the address :

166660_196644347028786_100000496661608_730152_1788758_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Might be stating the obvious here, but they all appear to be parked on double yellow lines.

They deserve it.

What they don't deserve however is the apparent lack of stickers on drivers' windows - without these, especially where the clamp is on the offside wheel, it's all too easy for someone to cause enormous damage to their car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

dont you just love double yellow lines :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Me rolls back in the chair and opens a can of beer... this will be fun :D

I see double yellows, cars parked where they shouldn't be, probably have been warned this was coming... I see signs on lamp posts too - maybe all those one's facing away from us are clamping warnings?

They had it coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Ah, the boom times still exist. Every student with their own car. I remember when I went to college, not that long ago in the late nineties, there were about 10 people in a class of 100 that had thier own wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Antiquo

Always a good idea to carry a con saw in the back ;)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/west_midlands/3485625.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Waterford Institute of Technology Co funded by the Irish government and the european union. So not private land it would seem.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,702 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Personally I can't see any problem with those clamps, the cars are parked on what is effectively private property - in the sense that they are not parked on a public road that is - so the Gardai or Traffic Wardens cannot issue tickets and the co. co. cannot clamp. Obviously the college authorities have gotten tired of people dumping their cars all over the place and decided to act - good on them.

Before someone starts complaining that it is a public road because the college is ultimately owned by the State, the definition of a 'public road' for RTA purposes is a road the maintenance of which rests with a local authority which clearly is not the case with a road within the boundaries of a college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I wouldn't agree they deserve it in this case. It's the car park of WIT, it should have adequate parking for students. If they're being forced to park like this because of inadequate facilities for the supply, then that's the IT's fault, and clamping them for it is BS.

DCU has non-paid parking for about 200 people at most, which is insane.
    NUIG has very little student only parking, and a majority of parking is actually taken up by staff. Again, stupid.

I don't think any of the Universities/Colleges or ITs around the country actually supply enough parking for their demands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Hey look - an Octavia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

I'm amazed the clamper had so many clamps to go around. The silver golf in particular is taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Autosport wrote: »
    dont you just love double yellow lines :rolleyes:

Yeah, stopping peopel blocking roads and the like.

**shakes fist at double yellows**

I wouldn't agree they deserve it in this case. It's the car park of WIT, it should have adequate parking for students. If they're being forced to park like this because of inadequate facilities for the supply, then that's the IT's fault, and clamping them for it is BS.

NUIG has very little student only parking, and a majority of parking is actually taken up by staff. Again, stupid.

I don't think any of the Universities/Colleges or ITs around the country actually supply enough parking for their demands.

The college is forcing students to enrole in their college then forcign them to drive to college are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Ok yeah this is a double yellow line area but cars have been parked here all along and the Clampers never bothered them before, ok the golf on the left deserves it he's blocking the passage. As for parking in WIT there is actually a severe shortage of parking, if your not in before 8.45 you can forget about getting a spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Those cars shouldn't be clamped, they should be towed/impounded.

They're causing an obstruction and as a previous poster said, the college authorities are obviously fed up of it.

The only problem now is that they're a hazard - worse case scenario, should one of those cars catch on fire it would probably be impossible to move any of the others.

The only evidence of the aforementioned fanny type person that I see in that picture is whoever parked that Golf there. If a fire engine or ambulance had to get through there in a hurry....??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

How did this end?

When I was a student we definitely would have chipped in and hired an angle grinder....not that students had cars back then.......dont think clampers existed either.

coylemj wrote: »

Before someone starts complaining that it is a public road because the college is ultimately owned by the State, the definition of a 'public road' for RTA purposes is a road the maintenance of which rests with a local authority which clearly is not the case with a road within the boundaries of a college.

It is owned by the state, it says so on the website. So the state are maintaining the roads in the college! Illegal clamping isn't a solution, in my view a barrier would be far more effective for controlling the number of cars parked in the college grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Ok yeah this is a double yellow line area but cars have been parked here all along and the Clampers never bothered them before,

Here copper, what are ya giving me a speeding ticket for? Sure I speed all the time and I've never gotten a ticket before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

And where are they gonna get this space from magically? Theres plenty of buses and park and ride facilities for ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,702 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

squod wrote: »
    It is owned by the state, it says so on the website. So the state are maintaining the roads in the college! Illegal clamping isn't a solution, in my view a barrier would be far more effective for controlling the number of cars parked in the college grounds.

Ok, maybe I didn't explain properly, let me try again. The reason for the distinction by the way is not to split hairs, it is to illustrate the fact that the Gardai and traffic wardens and co. co. clampers have no role to play in enforcing parking regulations on roads that are not public roads.

The 'state' does not maintain public roads, local authorities do, that means city corporations, county councils and urban district councils. If the road in the college is not maintained by a local authority then it is not a public road for the purposes of road traffic legislation, that means that only the college or a private company employed by them can clamp vehicles on the campus.

Exactly the same principle applies to the grounds of UCD and TCD where the Gardai and Dublin City Council have no authority to enforce double-yellow lines. Ditto shopping centre car parks, hospital car parks etc. etc. The fact that the body is ultimately owned by the state is neither here nor there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Any posts containing expletives will just be deleted without warning

coylemj wrote: »
    ....... If the road in the college is not maintained by a local authority then it is not a public road for the purposes of road traffic legislation, that means that only the college or a private company employed by them can clamp vehicles on the campus.

It's owned by the state, the public have access to it etc, that makes the place a public place. If road traffic legislation doesn't apply to it then why paint yellow lines all over the gaff. Don't get me wrong here, I have no issue with these areas being managed properly. I draw the line with illegal clamping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Erm, seriously? Why on earth should they provide parking for students? Let them get the bus, park and ride - hardly would be difficult in Waterford.
    Do you have any idea how many parking spaces TCD has for students?
    Hint: Not very many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

thethedev wrote: »
    And where are they gonna get this space from magically? Theres plenty of buses and park and ride facilities for ffs.

The exact same problem exists in DKIT, and its simply impossible to provide car parking for the amount of cars.

And the problem exists because everyone has a car, when I was there I lived two minutes walk from the college and I seen people, one in a car drive up to get a space from there instead of walk. Unbelievable stuff.

People from the town drove in, instead of walking or getting the local buses. This is the root of the problem created by the "Celtic tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Ok yeah this is a double yellow line area but cars have been parked here all along and the Clampers never bothered them before, ok the golf on the left deserves it he's blocking the passage. As for parking in WIT there is actually a severe shortage of parking, if your not in before 8.45 you can forget about getting a spot.

Maybe they just got p'ed off and decided to do something about it - maybe they had the fire officer's in for an inspection and they explained that because of plonkers like the guy/gal in the silver golf a fire engine or ambulance might not be able to get to the relevant place/person in a hurry...

If we look carefully you can see the warning sign posted by "APCOA" - the parking management company - and no doubt this says they will clamp cars parked illegally.

So it's not like its unexpected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Farmers' offspring all driving nice motors... should be dipped for daysul too! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Thats the problem. That car park is probably used as a park and ride for people who work in town.

Its the same with UCD carpark. Most people who park around 8am simply walk back out the front gate and hop on the bus into the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

There's a big car park only 5mins walk away at the Regional Sports Center , it's half empty most of the time and I believe theres a shuttle bus available to bring people up to the college.

Hopefully the clamping will teach the students something about responsible parking......in some of the housing estates nearby many of them think its acceptable to abandon a car on a footpath ,or in the middle of the road or blocking the entrance to another persons driveway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Thats the problem. That car park is probably used as a park and ride for people who work in town.

Its the same with UCD carpark. Most people who park around 8am simply walk back out the front gate and hop on the bus into the city centre.

Having lived in UCD for 5 years on campus during my not too distant youth I can guarantee you the majority of spaces no matter how much it was played up were not occupied by commuters.

However the Mini's, Golfs, Polo's and various shades of BMW's which drove from nearby certainly occupied the most spaces.

I worked with services there and yes parking was a pain but it was mostly the fault of people who had a car to show off.

No sympathy (and yes I was clamped as I couldn't get a space)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 raveydavey

Then get in before 8:45 and get a spot. The tax payer is paying for you to learn, not sleep in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

are these all student cars?, what about the staff?,

i could barely afford food when i was a student:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

In this satellite photo there are cars parked on that spot despite there being dozens of empty spaces in other parts of the car park. Obviously it's an ongoing problem for the management caused by lazy people who couldn't be bothered to walk all the way from the further car park.

http://maps.google.ie/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Waterford&aq=0&sll=53.252069,-8.305664&sspn=8.050647,26.696777&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Waterford,+County+Waterford&ll=52.246512,-7.138082&spn=0.00201,0.006518&t=h&z=18

bladebrew wrote: »
    are these all student cars?, what about the staff?,

Welcome to 1987............POPULATION YOU

Daddy still has some money to hide so he can claim the dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Antiquo wrote: »

Or a pair of specs.

In this satellite photo there are cars parked on that spot despite there being dozens of empty spaces in other parts of the car park. Obviously it's an ongoing problem for the management caused by lazy people who couldn't be bothered to walk all the way from the further car park.

http://maps.google.ie/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Waterford&aq=0&sll=53.252069,-8.305664&sspn=8.050647,26.696777&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Waterford,+County+Waterford&ll=52.246512,-7.138082&spn=0.00201,0.006518&t=h&z=18

Not necessarily conclusive, but indicative and well spotted all the same.

IMO the most common (undeclared) reason for such lazy, inconsiderate and inappropriate parking is "I don't like walking". Near GMIT there is student accommodation which boasts as its number one attraction "Location Location Location……directly across the road, just 1 min walk from GMIT". Students have been noticed regularly driving from there to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

Esel wrote: »
    Farmers' offspring all driving nice motors... should be dipped for daysul too! :D

Thats given me a great idea......must phone the customs and excise people:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭get_d_hand_in

I believe UCD have plans to build a multi story car park

Its still in the pipeline hower the council won't let them build it as they have to provide alternatives.

All of the current non tarmac car parks are temporary and they have to get a planning licence periodically

I don't see why the area on the right in that photo is not designated as a legal parking area, especially with a shortage of spaces. The cars on the right are not causing the slightest problem imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Its still in the pipeline hower the council won't let them build it as they have to provide alternatives.

All of the current non tarmac car parks are temporary and they have to get a planning licence periodically

Slightly off topic, but having looked at UCD on google maps, just to see was it congested i realised that the water in the lake opposite the library is greener than the surrounding grass.

http://maps.google.ie/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=University+College+Dublin,+Stillorgan&aq=0&sll=52.247441,-7.138603&sspn=0.001708,0.005284&ie=UTF8&hq=University+College+Dublin&hnear=University+College+Dublin,+Dun+Laoghaire+Rathdown,+County+Dublin&ll=53.307761,-6.222333&spn=0.000833,0.002642&t=h&z=19

That looks like the height of summer when the water features aren't on as often.

Then again a tetanus shot is advised after every skinny dip in that lake

That picture is also over 3 years old

The college is forcing students to enrole in their college then forcign them to drive to college are they?
    :rolleyes: Sure, they're not forcing anyone to enroll, but people don't go to college to park. They go there to further their education. Where they go depends on a number of their own, personal matters.
    Most colleges have more than enough space to build proper parking facilities, and have you forgotten about multi-story parking? Underground car park? It's not like a car park has to be a massive yard anymore.

There really aren't that many park&ride facilities and busses to serve everyone, unless you've seen a new park&ride that now has >1000+ parking spaces, with frequent busses?
    cianclarke wrote: »
    Erm, seriously? Why on earth should they provide parking for students? Let them get the bus, park and ride - hardly would be difficult in Waterford.

You're going to assume 6-9000 students of WIT all live in waterford, or somewhere that's serviced by bus?

Or even better, the 17000 students of NUIG?

Incase you didn't notice, I said pretty much ALL of Irelands colleges/ITs have very bad parking facilities

I actually can't believe that some people here have no idea how poor the public transport services in this country really are. Far too many dubs who've got no clue that anyone else exists outside of the pale, let alone should they live somewhere outside of a city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

I thought it was quite hilarious sitting in the T building watching the amount of people going out to find their car clamped(i know thats evil :o ). I dont mind people parking against the kerb beside the roadway but I do mind them parking at the end of each row half up on the kerb half not. The clamping company really cleaned up today though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

:rolleyes: Sure, they're not forcing anyone to enroll, but people don't go to college to park. They go there to further their education. Where they go depends on a number of their own, personal matters.

Most colleges have more than enough space to build proper parking facilities, and have you forgotten about multi-story parking? Underground car park? It's not like a car park has to be a massive yard anymore.

There really aren't that many park&ride facilities and busses to serve everyone, unless you've seen a new park&ride that now has >1000+ parking spaces, with frequent busses?

You're going to assume 6-9000 students of WIT all live in waterford, or somewhere that's serviced by bus?

Or even better, the 17000 students of NUIG?

Incase you didn't notice, I said pretty much ALL of Irelands colleges/ITs have very bad parking facilities

I actually can't believe that some people here have no idea how poor the public transport services in this country really are. Far too many dubs who've got no clue that anyone else exists outside of the pale, let alone should they live somewhere outside of a city.

A significant proportion of NUIG students live within a reasonable walking or cycling distance. In addition, many of those who drive are travelling solo.

According to the CSO, in residential areas 0-4 km from NUIG, around 3 in every 4 commuters aged 20-24 are walking, just under 1 in 5 are travelling by car (driver or passenger), and only 1 in 20 travels by bike.

Once upon a time university students took radical action to highlight political issues, inequalities, injustices and failed policies.

In the Celtic Casino years NUIG students' biggest complaint was lack of parking on campus, and as part of their protests they clamped the university president's car.

Venceremos. :cool:

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    A significant proportion of NUIG students live within a reasonable walking or cycling distance. In addition, many of those who drive are travelling solo.

How significant? because even 1/10th of NUIG students having to drive to college is 1700 parking spaces needed + some for staff.

Speaking of staff - much more likely to live in very close proximity to the college, yet they ALL need parking spaces? There are much more staff parking areas than student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Antiquo wrote: »

Nice way to be subjected to the college's disciplinary system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

:Most colleges have more than enough space to build proper parking facilities, and have you forgotten about multi-story parking? Underground car park? It's not like a car park has to be a massive yard anymore.

UCC has NO on campus parking for students - yip, none. There are a couple of satellite car parks which are full by 8am, as well as a couple of pay car parks near campus which are generally full. Staff parking also very limited - after 8.30, forget it. Multi storeys etc - UCC is NOT ALLOWED by the council to provide any more parking because of traffic congestion; I suspect some other collegs may have the same problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭jd

If a fire engine ..through there in a hurry....??

It would probably drive through/over it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,146 ✭✭✭✭L1011

UCC has NO on campus parking for students - yip, none. There are a couple of satellite car parks which are full by 8am, as well as a couple of pay car parks near campus which are generally full. Staff parking also very limited - after 8.30, forget it. Multi storeys etc - UCC is NOT ALLOWED by the council to provide any more parking because of traffic congestion; I suspect some other collegs may have the same problem.

NUIG is the only other one I know of having atrocious parking problems. I'd work in most unis/ITs from time to time (except UL and DIT) and Maynooth probably has the easiest parking - free and fairly plentiful, UCC and NUIG by far the worst. DCU's is grand but pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

Same argument for the staff.. is the college forcing them to work for it and to drive to work?
    cianclarke wrote: »

Why not? After all its not as if the students pay registration fees to the college (admittedly for admin expenses), the college get funding for each student from the government, and the students are the very reason for the college/university existence in the first place.. yes, treat the students as un-important and concentrate on giving the staff car parking spaces. :rolleyes:
    THall04 wrote: »
    There's a big car park only 5mins walk away at the Regional Sports Center , it's half empty most of the time and I believe theres a shuttle bus available to bring people up to the college.

That car park is for patrons of the sports centre.

If you were to make a suggestion like that I'm sure that very quickly we'll have a picture of a similar number of cars in the sports centre car park clamped.
    How significant? because even 1/10th of NUIG students having to drive to college is 1700 parking spaces needed + some for staff.

Speaking of staff - much more likely to live in very close proximity to the college, yet they ALL need parking spaces? There are much more staff parking areas than student.

Agreed.

Essentially, as far as I'm concerned it is important for the colleges/universities to provide parking for students, staff and visitors. I realise that budgets are tight, space is often limited and planning may restrict plans somewhat but it really is unacceptable that insufficient parking is available for users of the college.

A proper park and ride facility should be implemented and staff and students should be required to avail of it - spaces in the college can then be reserved for staff who specifically need to be close to the college and for students who specifically require the spaces (disabled students etc) and this should be policed on an on-going basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

doubtfir3 wrote: »
    Essentially, as far as I'm concerned it is important for the colleges/universities to provide parking for students, staff and visitors. I realise that budgets are tight, space is often limited and planning may restrict plans somewhat but it really is unacceptable that insufficient parking is available for users of the college.
    I'd sooner see the money being spent on education, myself.