Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bob Geldof is a Geebag!!!

• 08-02-2011 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭

This insufferable p r i c k. In the Irish Times interview he waffles on about what a "rebel" he was at his wealthy private school. Even claiming he was followed by Special Branch. !!!

His Walter Mitty view of Ireland knows no end.

I recall a few years ago, on a documentary for BBC4 (on folk music) he went on about how the Irish state were against folk music! Even before that he claimed his pioneering band were looked over because they weren't traditional.

In said documentary he even claimed the Irish govt were terrorists as they helped (which they barely did) northern nationalists from being terrorised by loyalists/British.

Yet he received a knighthood from Thatcher and co., who of course also supported apartheid among other things. The f##king hack!

In short Ireland was conspiring against his band. (though not Lizzy or U2 oddly enough).

No doubt he supports UKIP now. Why wouldn't he?

Diarmuid Gavin the gardener called him a conformist in an interview a while back (as Geldof was rude to him several times trying to be cool).

A few years ago, TV3 news did a tiny item about a planned Geldof concert in Italy and only 40 or so tickets were sold. LOL
    I understand he went welly about them doing that.

Along with the Daily Heil (who supported the Bloody Sunday masscare vehemently) he claimed that Omagh was "Britain's 9/11" and contributed money to the cause.

YET, for such a loudmouth, not a squeak about Bloody Sunday or the British terrorist attacks on Ireland in his hometown!!!

Incidentally, he has about as much chance of becoming President of Ireland as Nick Griffin or Bertie. Doesn't look like he's getting the FF nomination.

Were any of his nonsense, attitudes, statements or hypocrisy ever brought up in any interview or otherwise. Don't think so.

Rant over...for now.

www.irishtimes.com%2Fnewspaper%2Fweekend%2F2011%2F0205%2F1224289045347.html"]'The overwhelming feeling I have is one of sadness for the country' - The Irish Times - Sat, Feb 05, 2011[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

He's more insufferable than Bono and that's no mean feat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You phone wreckers are all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I take it you dont like sir bob :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

he was most certainly right about one thing though "banana republic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Diarmuid Gavin & TV3 News eh?

Tell me more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Chinasea wrote: »
    he was most certainly right about one thing though "banana republic"
    Especially the ''priests and police'' bit but yeah , he has a voice like a donkey with a sore throat .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Geldof is, and always has been, an attention seeker.

He's just trying to stir the sh!t in these tough times so that people will still think that he's either a rebel or a wanker, or worse, relevant.

The only person he is interested in is himself.

I seriously doubt the Special Branch followed him around - I'd say that's a combination of bullsh!t or coke induced paranoia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

Knew his dad - old Bob...very decent gentleman and a funny guy...young Bob made his money largely indirectly from charities...now has grown into an old blowhard...he left a long time ago.
    Kindly shut the fuking door after you Bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Don't forget, people, including users on here, are related to him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

A.Tomas wrote: »
    This insufferable p r i c k. In the Irish Times interview he waffles on about what a "rebel" he was at his wealthy private school. Even claiming he was followed by Special Branch. !!!

Yawn... do you read "Hello" magazine about the trivial lives of celebrities ?
    This sort of celebrity watching is best left to the homosexual community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Britain's 9/11 ?

What a POS..

It was a tragedy in Northern Ireland which shook the whole island. ****ing idiot. There were Irish victims there too Bob you ****.

As for the claims about our Government aiding terrorists, you don't need to cross the border to find state collusion Bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Bob Geldolf seems like the Jim Corr of the music industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

if Bob's a geebag, then i dunno what to call his daughter? :confused: facies Ed Milliband apparently.. or for the sake of some exposure, at least..
    thats right, the british polithingian with eyes like pissholes in the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

FYI.....the term 'geebag' is reserved for the 'fairer' sex

alexlyons wrote: »

Woopee-doo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

alexlyons wrote: »

At least our usernames are better than the names he gave his kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Actually, I went to the same school as Geldof (all be it years after). Some of our teachers were in the same classes and taught the guy. Said he was a bit of a trouble-maker and did eventually get expelled. So I don't think he's lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

daddy ... whats a geebag?

It might be just coincidence that his musical career was on the wane just before Live Aid which then catapulted him into sainthood .

Midge Ure who was second in command to the whole Africa project was not to happy when he found out that Bob had pushed Ultravox down the pecking order at the Live Aid gig either .

I watched Bob's performance on the LLS weekend before last and I thought ' a song with potential ,just the wrong singer ' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭A.Tomas

Diarmuid Gavin & TV3 News eh?

Tell me more.

Gavin in a radio interview found him rude to him. (google them both).

TV3, it was years ago. His concert was cancelled due to lack of interest (not for charity) (google it though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

No one lives their life 100% unhypocritically. Compared to most celebrities he's a breath of fresh air even if he isn't perfect.

kfallon wrote: »

I know, I just wanted to use it. Hadn't heard it in a while. (havn't been to Leeson st for some time:).)

Fannyhead is a good alternative though, but "Geldof the Geebag" has alliteration in it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

OP it took you until now to figure that out?

Yawn... do you read "Hello" magazine about the trivial lives of celebrities ?
    This sort of celebrity watching is best left to the homosexual community.

He was interviewed in the Times.

Actually just remembered , news report said he had to apologize several times yesterday for swearing on bbc radio 5 (link below ) but that's Bob forte hey :p

http://wonderwall.msn.com/entertainment/geldof-swears-on-air-1603521.story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

He shagged his next door neighbour when he was 13 - bit of a 'leg' IMO! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

stovelid wrote: »
    You phone wreckers are all the same.

Ah I saw this on youtube a while ago, can't find it now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He's a prick..he made millions of pounds from his "charity" work and killed more people than he'll ever save with his greed.

Him and Bono will both share the same cell in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Dizraeligears

Hes hard to take a lot of the time,but Jaysus his music is truly appaling.
    Oh wait,hasnt he a new album out or something?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Earthhorse wrote: »
    No one lives their life 100% unhypocritically. Compared to most celebrities he's a breath of fresh air even if he isn't perfect.
    From where I stand I see him as a lowlife bottomfeeder, exploiting the misery and hardship of others in order to secure a name for himself as a humanitarian. If you want to talk about hypocrisy then himself and Bonor are at the head of the pack, what kind of twat do you have to be to ask people "*to send the fooking money*" while you yourself are a multi millionaire and in the musical midgets case actively go out of your way to avoid paying tax.

Fock you Geldof, fock you Bono and fock your sh!tty ass music.

*While he never actually said this phrase it sums up the fella to a tee*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

bastados wrote: »
    Knew his dad - old Bob...very decent gentleman and a funny guy...young Bob made his money largely indirectly from charities...now has grown into an old blowhard...he left a long time ago.
    Kindly shut the fuking door after you Bob.

Was his dad a Belgian, or was that Bob's grandad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This insufferable p r i c k. (...........)- Sat, Feb 05, 2011

I read his book when it came out. Before reading it, I thought he was ok, after reading it, I thought he was an arrogant boorish prick who had far too high an opinion of himself. Everytime he's opened his gob over the intervening 25 or so years has confirmed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Hes hard to take a lot of the time,but Jaysus his music is truly appaling.
    Oh wait,hasnt he a new album out or something?

Bob Geldolf is a musician? :eek:

Geldof thought his Boomtown Rats were 'punk'. ireland, did. he was an annoying thespian art-school type wanker who had more in common with Rik Mayall's character of the time. there was a naive misconception of 'punk' in ireland, even at a time when the likes of Circle Jerks n Dead Kennedy's were almost considered bloated rock stars by the punk community. bless you bob, n your punk trousers.

Bob despite the rats hits was really always only on the edge of the pop fraternity ( having a crappy voice /writing crappy lyrics dont help ) and never really comfortable except in the company of the Landan crowd so he has had to reinvent himself somehow .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Looking at him drains the life out of me. Listening to him makes me want to bust my eardrums.
    Having to look & listen to him at the same time makes me lose the will to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Another reason to hate Sir Bob is that he sired Peaches, a person who would likely lose a battle of wits against a cabbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Live Aid.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

"Excuse me are you Bob Ge..."

"FECK OFF!"

"Ah its himself alright."

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Ah I saw this on youtube a while ago, can't find it now.

It used to be in the phone books too, I think. Just made you want to go out and smash some of them up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Another reason to hate Sir Bob is that he sired Peaches, a person who would likely loss a battle of wits against a cabbage.

I still would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

I still would.

From behind, maybe. After a few.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

As if listening to your piss-poor proto-punk wasn't punishing enough.
    Now we have to see your smug, hedge-haired head popping up all over the place telling us we don't care quite as much as you do about the world's ills and people's freedoms - how about people's freedom to legally sell things on Ebay? Eh? Not so happy then are you?
    What you've actually done is turn a serious issue into something which dog-**** thick plebs can pretend they care about by watching Keane and Joss Stone with a hundred thousand other wristband-wearing irretrievable ***** before going home to do **** all about it except bang on about how they were "part of ****ting history."
    We knew they were poor already, and we were ignoring it. We will know they are poor after the concert, and we still won't do anything about it. The whole concert and those ****ing awful wristbands are just a huge sop to the guilty consciences of the affulent British public. People are going to have a great day out, see a great concert, spend a fortune on bottled water and t-shirts and commemorative bloody photo books, and somehow feel that just by being there they are making life somehow less wretched for millions of people who are starving to death or dying of HIV and other entirely preventable diseases.
    Well you're not. Live Aid/8 was just Bob bloody Geldoff lapping up the attention he craves and justifying it by telling people he's using channelling their attention to a good cause. He's not doing that, he's just channelling it into building up his own reputation and the hype for his meaningless concerts.
    By all means, feel free to make poverty history. But don't think that buying a smug little wrist band is going to achieve that.

proto-punk is a more apt description alright. take note bob. you irritated me more than Tomata Du Plenty of the Screamers, n he was fairly annoying

I still would.

in effect contributing to the rise of a face to fame. even if she was good looking, i know i most certainly wouldn't

GOTCHA GELDOF.

Only 45 people turned up to one of his concerts in Italy a few years ago. LOL

http://www.exposay.com/only-45-people-show-up-for-bob-geldof-concert-italian-tour-cancelled-due-to-small-crowds/v/2786/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

GOTCHA GELDOF.

Only 45 people turned up to one of his concerts in Italy a few years ago. LOL

http://www.exposay.com/only-45-people-show-up-for-bob-geldof-concert-italian-tour-cancelled-due-to-small-crowds/v/2786/

Hahaha that brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

GOTCHA GELDOF.

This hasn't proved to be the case with meeting another lifelong hero of his, Mr Bob Geldof. Gavin grew up idolising Geldof in his position as bete noire of the Catholic Church and the political establishment. He moved mountains to go to the Boomtown Rats's controversial Leixlip Castle gig in 1980. He loved Bob but, alas, that love was not been reciprocated.
    "Geldof has a problem with me," Diarmuid Gavin says. "I don't know why, but he has a problem with me. It is quite funny. It was so strange to realise. Why would Bob Geldof have a problem with me? I have no idea. But he has made it quite clear. He has been very rude."
    Sometimes, Diarmuid can be infuriating. Rude, how? Rude, when?
    "Oh, after a few things happen a few times, you know . . ." he says. "And it is bloody hilarious."
    It culminated a couple of years ago, at the Chelsea Flower Show, when Sir Gob stood in Gavin's garden and, in front of his mates, according to Gavin, "slagged it off".
    "He didn't see me. He was asking people, 'Whose garden is this?' and I put my head out of the room we had in the garden and I said: 'It is mine.' He started grumbling away.

Some of the Diarmuid Gavin stuff.

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/home-garden/in-bloom-diarmuid-gavin-1749458.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

kfallon wrote: »
    Perhaps moanbag would be more fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Bob Geldof is an insufferable twat.

He had a forgettable minor band with one hit, which he attempted to dine out on for years.

He managed to be in the right place and right time with Live Aid, -Midge Ure did as much but shunned the attention the narcissistic Geldof lapped up.

He married Paula Yates, a talentless grey-toothed bimbo tv presenter who made her living flirting desperately with z-listers on Geldofs channel 4 Breakfast show.

They produced Peaches Geldof -one of the most offensively spoilt media brats of our time, yet he still has the temerity to show his face in public.

He believes himself to be an artistically dishevelled Rock God, when in reality he is no more than a hired talking head who endlessly peddles his irrelevant 'views' to anyone who will pay him.