Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Civic Type R (2002-2005)

• 08-02-2011 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

Im thinking about a change of car and Ive always wanted a type R.

What are the 2002-2005 version of the type R like? I love how it looks and i presume with that 2litre vtec engine that it will be fast to drive. Plus theres the honda reliability.

Only concerns are the boy racer image (which i can live with, but the car is subtle enough) and the possible big insurance (28 with 4 year NCB, should be ok?).

Would like to know what others think of them or owner experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Depends on what version of the EP3 your going for? Are you going for an Irish/UK version or a Japanese import?

The Japanese imports are much better spec'd with Recaro seats as standard, LSD as standard and tend to make a slight bit more power than the Irish/UK models.

Irish/UK are usually around 200bhp whereas the Japanese models are rated as 220bhp but tend to make around 210bhp on our fuel I believe.

They dont really suffer from the boy racer image all that much, certainly nowhere near as much as the EK Civic's.

I've only ever driven an EP3 on short distances but they are a lovely car to drive, handle well and have a decent bit of go, they are also a bit more torquey than previous versions and much easier to live with everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

aren't the uk ones 212bhp? factory figures that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Dont think you would have much of an "image" to worry about with an EP. The EG and EK Civics would be far more popular with young lads than EPs.

aren't the uk ones 212bhp? factory figures that is?

Nope, here's some specs:

Technical Specification

Engine Capacity & Type:
    2.0L (1998cc) i-VTEC DOHC 16v IL-4

Maximum Power:
    200ps (197bhp) @ 7400rpm
    215ps (212bhp) @ 8000rpm (JDM spec)

Maximum Torque:
    196Nm @ 5900rpm
    202Nm @ 7000rpm (JDM spec)

Performance

Maximum Speed:
    146mph (235km/h)

Acceleration:
    6.6s (0-60mph)
    6.4s (0-60mph) ('04 facelift spec)

Transmission

Type:
    Front wheel drive (JDM spec has LSD), close ratio 6-speed manual gearbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Can't really speak for the EP3 but they are by all accounts a great car. Consider looking at DC5s too, same engine basically but a far nicer car, imho.

On an unrelated note my 02 DC5 will be for sale shortly as I'm emigrating :)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I have an 02 EP3, I've owned it for nearly 5 years now. Fantastic car, cannot say enough good things about it really. I bought it from a friend of mine who is a Honda Mechanic, and a complete petrol head, he still raves about it. Its a great all rounder, cause you can drive around town with your granny in the back and be fine, but then hit a country backroad and let rip. The gearstick up in the dash is fantastic. Revs to over 8,000rmp and when it hits the Vtech it properly goes bananas. I have a GruppeM induction kit and it sounds incredible. Fantastic handling, bit of lift off oversteer when you need it, if you are really aggressive you can take a corner on 3 wheels with the tyres screeching. I would not worry about the image so much. There are so few of them around that they are more rare than common nacker cars like the EK's.

You should be fine for insurance, I pay €750 however that is with XS Direct - you are better off going with a proper insurance company. I'm also contemplating selling mine so give me a shout :)

Have a look at these video's too - almost unanimous positive reviews from the usual crew:

http://www.streetfire.net/video/ep3-honda-civic-typer-vs-clio-182-cup_418078.htm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaYW1mUE8RI
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1zhl7_top-gear-civic-type-r-vs-focus-rs_auto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Clarkson used to say this was the best hot hatch until the mk5 Golf Gti arrived. You can pick up a 03 for about 5k, not bad considering a 05 Golf Gti starts around 10k. The dash mounted gear stick might take a while to get used to though.

On the subject of image i dont think they have any problem as they are rare and most ive seen are standard Irish or Uk cars, rather than modified Jap imports. EP3 nowhere near as popular as previous Civics somehow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

The dash mounted gear stick might take a while to get used to though.

usually about 7-9 minutes :D
    you'll be surprised how quick you get used to it and then you'll wonder why all cars dont have it there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

kceire wrote: »
    usually about 7-9 minutes :D
    you'll be surprised how quick you get used to it and then you'll wonder why all cars dont have it there :D

+1. I had a 1.4 three door one back in 2004-2006 & it just felt so...right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

The dash mounted gear stick might take a while to get used to though.
    It won't ....my Mam has a Fiat Panda and the dash mounted gear stick feels so natural

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Aggers

Cheers for that lads. I so want one of these now, and have the cash all ready to go and after watchign them videos i want to go buy one now!

However im ****ing it over the insurance. All the online calculators wont give me a quote. Really dont want to blow anything more than 1k a year on insurance. I currently pay 600pa on my 156.

Anything in particular that goes wrong with these to watch for when im buying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Aggers wrote: »
    Cheers for that lads. I so want one of these now, and have the cash all ready to go and after watchign them videos i want to go buy one now!

However im ****ing it over the insurance. All the online calculators wont give me a quote. Really dont want to blow anything more than 1k a year on insurance. I currently pay 600pa on my 156.

Nothing goes wrong with a Honda once you look after it's oil level and general health :D

If she's Jap though, check for rust under the body. Check each gear for any crunches and expect your pants to be brown after taking a spirited test drive :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

Best thing to do is to get on the phone,scrap all the online form filling,most will get you to contact them anyhow as soon as Type R is mentioned that is if it lets you get past a Honda Hatchback/Coupe 1.5+ :pac:

You won`t see under E1k for a Type R i would say at your age,i am at that figure with a clean licence 10 years full licence NCB 7yrs and i am 35 years young this year,all stats on a DC5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

whats it like for petrol?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I'd say I average about 250 miles per tank. However I do a lot of city driving. I got well over 350 once on a trip to Cork. I think I worked it out at 30mpg average once a while back, could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I have a 2005 EP3 I imported from the UK. I get about 320 a tank and after doing the fuel consumption calculations many a time it works out at an average of 32mpg, but that's not city driving. I don't push it hard all the time and only usually go into v-tec when overtaking Toyotas and Micras.

The only drawback is the road noise from the tires is fairly high. The gear lever is in the perfect position and the gearbox is one of the best ever put in any car at any price. The engine is just magic. The tyres do tend to track a bit on rough roads and you need to develop a spider sense for pot holes given the rims.

I have had mine for two years and not the slightest thing has gone wrong with it.

As for image, my hair is mostly grey and on the odd occasion when I pick up my son from school, some of the lads hanging with their tarted up ride with bucket sized exhaust and miss matched rims will give me a look as if they think I shouldn't be driving it and it should be them, but I can live with that. I choose cars for what I think of them and not for what I think others will think of them or me.

This is the place for information: http://www.civictype-r.co.uk/forum/

What are the 1.4 and 1.6 models like? Is the 2l 200bhp version the only one to get?

yes

The 1.6 Sport version isn't too bad if your not after performance.

draffodx wrote: »
    The 1.6 Sport version isn't too bad if your not after performance.

its ok, still under powered tbh.
    i had a 1.4 EP for 6 months and my GF had a 1.6 Type S from new 2004-2009 and while it was a cracking car that only required routine oil changes, it still felt too under powered even for a 110bhp SOHC vtec engine.

Type R is the only one to have :)

ps - i done a straight swap for my 02 1.4 for a 97 ITR in 2004, best move ever!

the 1.4 :

100_0001.jpg

the 1.6 Type S :

PICT0081.jpg

Is it better then a Honda Integra DC5 type R??

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Is it better then a Honda Integra DC5 type R??

personally i'd pick a DC5 but an EP3 is a very close second.

Well ive got mad insurance quotes, cheapest ive got so far being 1750. No way in hell i would pay that so may have to look at a Celica instead. Its a pity as id much prefer a Type R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

You can pick up a 03 for about 5k, not bad considering a 05 Golf Gti starts around 10k.

Ehh? Where? I'd say you'd be doing very, very well to get a normal (ie. Not crazy mileage or in bits) 03 CTR for 5k.

True, they are worth more than that. A staggering amount of car for the money. I paid 18k for mine when I bought it!

Well ive got mad insurance quotes, cheapest ive got so far being 1750. No way in hell i would pay that so may have to look at a Celica instead. Its a pity as id much prefer a Type R.

You could be dead tomorrow dude, get the jammer you really want and don't let a silly thing like high insurance get in your way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

messymess wrote: »
    You could be dead tomorrow dude, get the jammer you really want and don't let a silly thing like high insurance get in your way :D

What he said. If you want it, get it. I wanted sky since i was 15. Everything was against it, imsurance, tax, price, mpg... But i have a smile on my face every single tine i sit in to it. Dont let insurance scumbags hold you from it.

If you test-drive it and hit VTEC...you'll forever miss it if you don't buy it ;)

Everybody always goes back to VTEC once they've had their share :pac:

kceire wrote: »
    personally i'd pick a DC5 but an EP3 is a very close second.
    Vertakill wrote: »
    Ehh? Where? I'd say you'd be doing very, very well to get a normal (ie. Not crazy mileage or in bits) 03 CTR for 5k.

I think you'd be looking at at least 6k for a decent one.

Ye, feck the insurance :) taking one for a test drive on Saturday, always wanted to drive a vtec so i cannot wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

ugh...ye bastards got me wanting a civic now :( the 1.6 mind :D

I'm hoping it's a B16A or a B16B you have in mind :D :P

i have no idea about civics so im gonna say...yeah:D

the 04 model :)

i have no idea about civics so im gonna say...yeah:D

the 04 model :)

Ah no :(

sorry kiiiid :D i just think the interior of them are nasty. im 19 though will i get raped on insurance? i went from a 1.2 punto to a 1.4 astra so the 90bhp in the astra are like rockets to me:D will a 1.6 vtec be alot quicker? i think theres 18bhp in the difference?
    something like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1610057

sorry kiiiid :D i just think the interior of them are nasty. im 19 though will i get raped on insurance? i went from a 1.2 punto to a 1.4 astra so the 90bhp in the astra are like rockets to me:D will a 1.6 vtec be alot quicker? i think theres 18bhp in the difference?
    something like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1610057

I went from this, a 1.3 EG Civic

wheelstuckedson.jpg

To this, a 1.6 EK Civic SiR, DOHC VTEC :D

6A888EB305AC4F1DBE24D8F9DA3CF381-0000315821-0002143296-00800L-5D8D286A771140F4A559FAA0BB2E777C.jpg

I'm only 19 too, insurance is 2k :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

Just got my insurance renewal for March,E1350 with One Direct/Hibernian,are they trying to get rid of their loyal overpaying customers or WTF:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

I think you'd be looking at at least 6k for a decent one.

Yeah I agree. That's what I was saying to the guy I was quoting in my post.

And Midnight, where the hell was that 2nd pic taken lol? :) Looks like the back of a prison or something.

Vertakill wrote: »
    Yeah I agree. That's what I was saying to the guy I was quoting in my post.

And Midnight, where the hell was that 2nd pic taken lol? :) Looks like the back of a prison or something.

The back of a tennis club in Galway :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I still cant figure out why the carbon fibre comes up like crap :(

Oh, yeah, I figured it out a few days ago...it was because we didn't take any shots with the flash aiming down on the car!

Ah, right. Well if that's the case we'll get more in say a month or two? :p There'll be more light, or actually, SOME light if we wake up at like 3 >_>

Sort out a bloody parking permit before then please!

sure.... just sell the car to randy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I don't want it, I've a horse outside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Type R Vtec does this:

vtecYo.jpg

This is not a valid substitute:

50315_124261507638161_5437613_n.jpg

I've actually had 4 Civics:
    - 1991 1.4 fairly standard - when I was 17
    - 1995 1.5 VTi, much quicker really nice
    - 1996 SiR - Jap suped up track car, strut braces, LSD, Type R Gearbox and Racing clutch - absolute rocketship/gocart,
    - And now the 2002 EP3 Type R.

So obviously, I like civic they are great cars at all the ranges and suited me for my age at the time - but the EP3 is by far the best overall car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I don't want it, I've a horse outside!

Is it me, or this is getting old? And i am not even a fan of hondas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Very underrated car by Irish people, mostly because of badge snobbery and the perception that they are a scumbag car, which is a pity because these are some of the best FWD cars on the market bar none. Being honest i never see toerags driving DC5 and EP3 hondas.

The EP3 and DC5 are very similar cars for all intents and purposes. Same engines (bar the minor jap differences), same gearbox, macpherson strut suspension. The DC5 has a hydraulic steering system and is much better than the EP3 electric variation and the gearbox is more reliable too because of the way 2nd gear is engaged on the civics dash mounted shifter (weird i know). Other major difference is that the uk EP3 civic didnt get an LSD which makes a massive difference when getting the power down especially in the wet. Other than that its aesthetics, with the jap EP3 and DC5 getting recaros (different types), factory tinted windows and in the DC5's case a push start button.

Main issues with the k20 engine is the oil. They will burn a little (200ml per 1000 miles in my case but i like vtec yo!) and if they ar eleft to go low the bottom end can go in these. 2nd gear sychros are an issue, especially in the EP3 but dropping the box is easy and honda sychros arent massive money. Other than that, everythings solid with the cars only needing consumables like oil, filters, plugs every 40k and bueshes after 100k miles.

6k will get you an ok ep3 but it wont get you anything but a bucket of a dc5. Aim to spend 7-8 on both and youll end up with a much cleaner and tidier example with a few nice upgrades.

^ this man speaks the truth!

quinn just quoted me 1300 on the 1.6 sohc? :D