Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much in debt are you?

• 06-02-2011 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I know as a nation we're squillions in debt, but how much do you personally owe in loans (bank, personal or otherwise.....)

How much do you owe? 661 votes

0% 1 vote
    less than 1,000
    43% 289 votes
    1,000- 10,000
    10% 72 votes
    10,000- 100,000
    19% 129 votes
    100,000-500,000
    8% 57 votes
    500,000+
    17% 113 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I owe 6k to visa
    7k to ulsterbank
    and 230k to mortgage.

****loads of dept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I owe a couple squillion meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

None! I avoid getting loans and budget myself as much as I can. I also don't have a credit card and never plan to have one! I've got a top up prepaid master card that's so much handier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

No loans, if i want something i'll save up for it.

Obviously when I want a house I'll be up to my eyes in it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

The smug brigade are circling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Couple grand to the credit union, that's it.
    That said I own next to nothing either. No car, no house/apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Quite a lot apparently after our Governments folly . It will take all my kids and grandkids working lives to pay it back.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

galwayrush wrote: »
    Quite a lot apparently after our Governments folly . It will take all my kids and grandkids working lives to pay it back.:rolleyes:
    Not if you rear them all to be welfare scroungers. Its only us poor saps who actually work that will have to pay. It's what I'm going to do with the eleven children I hope to implant in a few young wans bellys. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

emo!! wrote: »

Not a cent. Saying that, I will need a small personal loan to get my new car in June :) I'll be saving 90%. Not sure if I will ever purchase a house in this country, but either way I will be needing a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Only my mortage thank god. i work for SVP. Levels of personel debt out there is awful. i dont know how some are managing. I could not sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Dr conrad murray

i owe about 60 euro to a loan shark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Personal debt is a factor of life which most of us will at some stage have, whether it is a loan for a car / house. The important thing is not to let it get out of hand and to be honest and forthcoming with your creditors.

Get him paid asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You're fecked. Try and make reduced payments to the shark, say a tenner a week for 45 years....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Nada, zero, zilch, nuffin, zip. Have had waaay too much debt in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Owe my Dad €3,500 odd. Not exactly about to get foreclosed, but I'm still paying hiom back monthly. It counts :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

DEVEREUX wrote: »
    The smug brigade are circling

Don't you mean the 18 years olds on the dole living at home with mammy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭DJKendo

I owe around €500 on the Credit Card and won't be paying it back for a while..so €500

What I find a problem these days is trying to save. It is hard to put money aside as everything increases and my take home decreases.

I hate not being able to add as much as I should to my retirement fund and "rainy day" money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

emo!! wrote: »

Im the exact same.. I hate owing money to anything..

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Was in debt bout €5k paid it all back - now I have a small credit card debt, will I ever learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

debt free thank fcuk. just trying to save as much as i can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Yeah i actually owe about 300 to a gym membership, 40 quid on the credit card and about 30 on my NTL bill :p

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Nathing.....

Nothing, but got car insurance to pay for soon :rolleyes:

Don't you mean the 18 years olds on the dole living at home with mammy....

Either that, or the current generation of teenagers/early twentysomethings have learned that "buy now pay tomorrow" is a mugs game and waiting for houses to fall within reach!

As it is I have a small mortgage and less than 1k on a credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I'm well in the black thank FSM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not much , owe a few hundred quid on my credit card ,am on top of my credit union loan ( will have it paid off by sept next ) and owe the bank nuffing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

About 30k in dept with very little income, i'm just about scraping by. I try not think about it though, que sera sera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Either that, or the current generation of teenagers/early twentysomethings have learned that "buy now pay tomorrow" is a mugs game and waiting for houses to fall within reach!

As it is I have a small mortgage and less than 1k on a credit card.

This!
    I'm not gonna fall into the same trap my parents generation has with regards to debt (until of course I have to buy a house in which case I'll prob have to fork out a mortgage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

none thankfully. had a few years of high personal debt which was hard to pay back, but finally cleared it about 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Molzer2

I thought I was in reasonable shape until I read this, I owe about 120k on mortgage, nothing else. I have a few bob invested and a few put away for a pension. I'm taken aback by the amount of people who owe nothing! Are ye all kids or what?
    I'm 38.
    Maybe we should ask what age brackets people fall into too.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Owe bout 2grand to the credit union..... god damn heap of crap car!!!!(love you car, dont cease up on me yet.......) and bout a grand on the credit card...... worst thing ever the credit card is.....:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 QuimWedge

I have some debts from uni which I'm paying back.

Currently stands at around £21,000

That's right, pounds behatches, the only currency that matters!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Didnt we have one of these threads a few weeks ago?
    Why dont we all post our debt levels on our signatures as well as how much negative equity (if any) we are in?

At this stage or very soon into the future all of our individual debts will be the collective debt of the nation anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Hmmm, where to start? I suppose with the cheapest...

€180 to O2 for cancelling my contract
    €250 to my sister
    €550 - €2500 to me mother (we both don't know how much at this stage!)
    €45,000 to the Credit Union
    €160,000+ to EBS for the mortgage!

And i'm only 27... :(

But i do have alot of stuff, car, house, big tv, surround sound, PS3, 360, Wii, €2500 laptop (XPS M1710 baby!)... I've put myself into this debt, but i enjoyed/enjoy what i got/get from it, so i can't complain.

Now that i think of it, i think i've been debt free for 3 months since i was 18... Ah well, wonder who'll give me money to get a flashy 2011 Merc? Could do with a 3D tv too, and a new suite of furniture/kitchen/garden/holiday home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Molzer2 wrote: »
    Are ye all kids or what?
    I would say most people are students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I would say most people are students.

.. and or unemployed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Hmmm, where to start? I suppose with the cheapest...

€180 to O2 for cancelling my contract
    €250 to my sister
    €550 - €2500 to me mother (we both don't know how much at this stage!)
    €45,000 to the Credit Union
    €160,000+ to EBS for the mortgage!

And i'm only 27... :(

But i do have alot of stuff, car, house, big tv, surround sound, PS3, 360, Wii, €2500 laptop (XPS M1710 baby!)... I've put myself into this debt, but i enjoyed/enjoy what i got/get from it, so i can't complain.

Now that i think of it, i think i've been debt free for 3 months since i was 18... Ah well, wonder who'll give me money to get a flashy 2011 Merc? Could do with a 3D tv too, and a new suite of furniture/kitchen/garden/holiday home.

45,000 is alot! You must have a pretty expensive car..

I'm currently in no debt although I was for years, 25 years old working full time for 7 years, have 2 cars worth around 17k altogether (one is for sale in my sig :D), renting an apartment with 3 others costing 245 a month each, which enables me to save. I don't want to ever be in debt again, I was for years and it's like a suffocating feeling..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No debt but **** all money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 gubernaculum

i'm 28 and have never had any debt but only 'cause i was lucky enough to recognise my complete lack of willpower so never applied for a credit card/loan. i worked minimum wage jobs for years so lived week to week and as joyless as it sounds it was always rent, bills, then fun. the whole debt trap is so easy to end up in though - remember being on public transport about a year ago and hearing some poor 22 yr old who'd just been let go from a shop telling everyone that they were 40,000 in debt. it sounded like some of the expenses were pretty stupid (nice car, luxury holidays to thailand etc) but why an earth did they approve her for 40 grand when she was working a < 9e/hr job?

p.s. should have probably have added that i'm not exactly lording it up despite my debt-free ways. have 2.40e in my current account at the moment but try to be sensible with money for the most part :P

Dave147 wrote: »
    45,000 is alot! You must have a pretty expensive car..

I drive a 02 Mitsubishi Galant, worth about €2000 now i reckon.

It's a big loan, but it covered many necessary, and some unnecessary, needs. Went straight into college after school. it was a private college, so it cost €6500 for 2 years (and fook all from it!). Private because i had no interest in college, and didn't apply for anything relevant in the CAO. Mothers decision, and at 18 i didn't know any better (barely do now).

Paying that off from 18 to 23 years of age. I didn't drive until then, and needed to because of the job i started, so i had to get a loan on top of the rest of the one i was still paying off (i was paying minimal due to minimal wages). €1000 for the first bucket of joyous driving i got (1990 Corolla, great car!). Upgraded to a 00 which cost €3500. And upgraded to a bigger car due to more miles which cost €6500 (only 1 1/2 years ago!).

I did indulge on an XPS laptop, but gaming is my thing and someone was willing to give me the money to get one. All this time, i'm on a wage equivulant to an apprentership (sp?). And, Aug 09 i realised i'm going to be in debt for the foreseeable future and unable to have a holiday, so i made a final splash for a holiday to Orlando for 10 nights.

I now earn €500 net p/w, but realistically only have €150 p/w after mortgage/loan, and i have to pay bills, petrol (on a 2Ltr!), food, etc. If something breaks i'm screwed. Car tax is up the end of April, i've to find €620 from somewhere.

But, i'm not complaining. I put myself here, so i've no-one to blame but myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

About 170 million.

I'm only on 80k a year, the kids in school take up a fair chunk. After the expensive wine, upgrading the car and dinners out, can only afford to pay back about 100 a month.

Scraping by :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

It's a big loan, but it covered many necessary, and some unnecessary, needs. Went straight into college after school. it was a private college, so it cost €6500 for 2 years (and fook all from it!). Private because i had no interest in college, and didn't apply for anything relevant in the CAO. Mothers decision, and at 18 i didn't know any better (barely do now).

Paying that off from 18 to 23 years of age. I didn't drive until then, and needed to because of the job i started, so i had to get a loan on top of the rest of the one i was still paying off (i was paying minimal due to minimal wages). €1000 for the first bucket of joyous driving i got (1990 Corolla, great car!). Upgraded to a 00 which cost €3500. And upgraded to a bigger car due to more miles which cost €6500 (only 1 1/2 years ago!).

I did indulge on an XPS laptop, but gaming is my thing and someone was willing to give me the money to get one. All this time, i'm on a wage equivulant to an apprentership (sp?). And, Aug 09 i realised i'm going to be in debt for the foreseeable future and unable to have a holiday, so i made a final splash for a holiday to Orlando for 10 nights.

I now earn €500 net p/w, but realistically only have €150 p/w after mortgage/loan, and i have to pay bills, petrol (on a 2Ltr!), food, etc. If something breaks i'm screwed. Car tax is up the end of April, i've to find €620 from somewhere.

But, i'm not complaining. I put myself here, so i've no-one to blame but myself.

Ah fair enough, I'm big into cars so bought myself a 05 BMW 2 weeks ago, my Audi was guzzling petrol so decided to go for something more economical, diesel. I am on similar money but I've always been slow to spend vast amounts of money in one go. Have spent alot this year alright but with full time work my wages can cover alot of my expenditure. Have opened a savings account with Ulster Bank alright where I get 5% per annum, hope to have 10k in there by the end of the year, trying to stick to putting 200 in every week, we'll see how it goes :)

Dave147 wrote: »
    Ah fair enough, I'm big into cars so bought myself a 05 BMW 2 weeks ago, my Audi was guzzling petrol so decided to go for something more economical, diesel. I am on similar money but I've always been slow to spend vast amounts of money in one go. Have spent alot this year alright but with full time work my wages can cover alot of my expenditure. Have opened a savings account with Ulster Bank alright where I get 5% per annum, hope to have 10k in there by the end of the year, trying to stick to putting 200 in every week, we'll see how it goes :)

I wish i could save that every week. Thats my problem, i've no money to be saving!
    Vorsprung wrote: »
    About 170 million.

I'm only on 80k a year, the kids in school take up a fair chunk. After the expensive wine, upgrading the car and dinners out, can only afford to pay back about 100 a month.

Scraping by

Welcome to AH Mr. Kelly. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Wow.

If it wasn't for the admirable and rare fact that don't blame anybody else, you could be the poster child for Celtic Tiger Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

None, but then again I'm only in my first year of college..

Give me a year or two ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I forgot about my British student loans (because they don't really count :D) so add about another 20k onto my original 'zero' answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Nothing, but same as many I dont own anything either!
    Was tempted to get a car loan but resisted-feck it the bus will do me!

Earn c €450 a week and have about €150-€200 of that to myself after rent, tax, bills etc... trying to save up for a holiday outta that. Anything I have that dont need Im trying to sell, and anything I dont need I dont buy (as a general rule of thumb, obviously there's exceptions) Luckily I was refused a credit card otherwise the discipline would definately have faltered!
    Really feel for people up to their necks in debt, hopefully things will look up!