Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda S2000 - A Beauty In My Driveway

• 05-02-2011 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭

This is a strange one. Took a Honda S2000 for a spin today. however, it was really jumpy while I drove it. The owner drove it back and had no problem with her. I can't understand why, unless it's that the boots I was wearing were heavy and made my foot bounce off the accelerator. It's just really bothering me as I'm not a bad driver (in my opinion) but I feel like a dick after that in front of the seller.

Any idea what might have happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

V-TEC just kicked in? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

andyseadog wrote: »
    V-TEC just kicked in? :p

Nope, didn't even push her that hard as the shuddering was putting me off :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

High revving NA engines tend to have good throttle response, that mixed with a upgraded clutch could cause you to think it was jumpy. Did it seem modified in any way? Took me a while to get used to mine when i got it, i found i had to be gentle with the throttle specially with aftermarket suspension and irish roads :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Nope, didn't even push her that hard as the shuddering was putting me off :-/

that was sarcasm on my part sorry. :D

if its a very different drive to your previous car, maybe you were being too heavy on clutch/ accelerator combo and it was juddering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

best thing to do would be to take a different one for a test drive, maybe you're just not used to it :confused:

Current car is a 55bhp 1.2 VW Polo so quite the step up :P

It's just bugging the hell out of me as I hate looking like a bad driver, or feeling like one. Also as it makes me question whether the S2000 is a good idea for me, which I know is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

OP - Have you driven a wide range of cars, or is the Polo pretty much it? If the latter, i'd say you're just not used to that car. It's no cause for embarrassment, we all started off there.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pinnacle

Hi Dude,

I remember reading somewhere while researching these cars, that this can be a common issue with AP1's with a bit of mileage. They're a bit jumpy and the throttle has a strange idle at cold.

Has something to do with the throttle body/maf or something can't really remember but it becomes more managable after the car warms up. Simple fix tho.. check out some of the s2000 forums there's plenty about this issue somewhere. When fixed car should run nicely, and drive superbly.

Just for curosity do you have a link for the car you took a spin in?

Anan1 wrote: »
    OP - Have you driven a wide range of cars, or is the Polo pretty much it? If the latter, i'd say you're just not used to that car. It's no cause for embarrassment, we all started off there.:)

exactly

Anan1 wrote: »

Ice driven mainly smaller cars - Opel Corsa, Polo, Peugeot Partner, and taken the RX-8 on about 3 test drives so far with very little bother. So not that many, but enough to be able to handle this one at a decent level.

The car in question is http://www.bgbcars.com/stock.html?car=30258673. Have to say it looked well, but I'm only doing my research for now, can't buy til about September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Ice driven mainly smaller cars - Opel Corsa, Polo, Peugeot Partner, and taken the RX-8 on about 3 test drives so far with very little bother. So not that many, but enough to be able to handle this one at a decent level.
    The thing is, some cars are very close to the 'average' in terms of clutch feel & bite, throttle response, pedal weight, whereas others can be quite quirky. It could be that the S2000 is just very different to what you've driven so far.

On the other hand, it is possible that the car has some sort of a fault that the owner has learned to drive around. I wouldn't completely write off this possibility - I once drove from Dún Laoghaire to Bray in a Golf with no clutch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

engine mounts might be shot
    try a different one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

If the problem was only with the OP driving it must be that he was not used to the high bite point of the clutch and his clutch/accelerator modulation was off for the car causing it to bunny hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I experienced the same thing with my Euro R I picked up 2/3 weeks ago,took me a day or two to get used to the clutch/throttle.Very different to the vRS I had previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

An s2000 is a sports car, it isn't designed to be comfortable in traffic so the clutch will have springs rates that are designed the transfer the power much faster then your average car.

I'm driving a mighty micra to work everyday and the odd time I take the weekend toy out it takes a while to get the feel of the clutch again, even embarrassing myself by cutting out the now and again as the clutch is just so much more solid a faster to engage.

An s2000 is a sports car, it isn't designed to be comfortable in traffic so the clutch will have springs rates that are designed the transfer the power much faster then your average car.

I'm driving a mighty micra to work everyday and the odd time I take the weekend toy out it takes a while to get the feel of the clutch again, even embarrassing myself by cutting out the now and again as the clutch is just so much more solid a faster to engage.

Glad to hear its not just me :D

Kinda OT but do you still have the skyline? seen it the other day around drumcondra was looking very well, rare sight on Irish roads

projectgtr wrote: »
    Glad to hear its not just me :D

Kinda OT but do you still have the skyline? seen it the other day around drumcondra was looking very well, rare sight on Irish roads

That would have been me alright, I take it to work now and again..

A skyline and a micra... u must dream of the weekends

I wouldn't mind but even then I hardly use it...roll on summer:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

you mean jumpy as, you push accelerator, and it goes nicely, chokes a abit, then goes nicely again? no pattern, just goes now and then?

if yes, then it might be liamda sensor or air flow metter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I still don't know is it jumpy when driving along or just jumpy when you use the clutch? Big difference in possibilities...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

You could have been nervous and not noticing your feet jumping OP...happened me when I was test-driving my current car :P

I kept hopping up the road, then settled in and it was perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭GoalsGoneWild

Owned an S2000 for 3yrs and it did have a tendency to kangaroo a bit in traffic. Multi-story car park ramps were always tough on the clutch! Have a look at a few others just in case there's something dodgy about that particular one. They're a great car tho. Miss mine a lot... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Like isaid, it might be mechanical problem, or just not being used to uprated clutches. Was 1.2 polo the only car you ever drove? As each car. Has unique clutch, and you allways need some time to get used to it.

When i boughty slyline , i cut out the emgine 7 times, just to get to petrol station 1 mile away, 4 of those times were in actual petrol station, i felt that everyone was loling at me.

Best bet for you to do now, is get a friend who does know about cars and try out anather s2000, this way you will know 100% bud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I used to have an Rx-8 that had a very sensitive clutch and a very narrow bite range. Very prone to bunny hopping when cold even after nearly a year of owning the thing, and I am a driving god :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

When did you get the judder?

If it was when you were changing gear or setting off its just that you are not used to the clutch.

If it happened when you were in low rpm giving full throttle it could be misfiring when the engine is under full load.

I take it the clutch wasnt slipping when in gear at high rpm?

When did you get the judder?

If it was when you were changing gear or setting off its just that you are not used to the clutch.

If it happened when you were in low rpm giving full throttle it could be misfiring when the engine is under full load.

I take it the clutch wasnt slipping when in gear at high rpm?

It happened at low to medium RPM, but I also wonder if it could be the boots I was wearing... the road was a bit rough, and it felt that once my boot hopped on the throttle, my foot kept bouncing. Either that or I'm just ****e :D

Overdue update that nobody wants, but tested a different S2000 the other evening - different story. Really was my heavy boots and bumpy road the last time!
    This time.... Christ, I've been day dreaming about it ever since. Beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Overdue update that nobody wants, but tested a different S2000 the other evening - different story. Really was my heavy boots and bumpy road the last time!

If your rough with the throttle most high revving cars feel like that.
    The car is set-up for response not like a family Mondeo.

Got a link out of interest?

http://www.loc.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=688462

I'd snap her up myself but I can't realistically buy until November. If she's still there though...

http://www.loc.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=688462

I'd snap her up myself but I can't realistically buy until November. If she's still there though...

Ouchy, I paid less than half that for a 00' reg :)

I would be looking at this one if I had 14k for spending, im sure you would knock a bit of the asking price too.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2219030

It looks an absolute beauty, I'd be all over it if I had the cash. The one you looked at is a few k over priced imo.

Ouchy, I paid less than half that for a 00' reg :)

I have to say, this was ****ing MINT though. The roof was immaculate, the seat bolsters hadn't a mark or crack on them, she had a good service history with only ~40k on the clock....

What I am wondering is, with how difficult these appear to be to sell on, whether to drop a few years (I'm coming from a '04 Polo) and keep the budget low... or go with my original plan of about 13k budget, aiming for a '03 or '04.

Any recommendations? I'm going to get slaughtered on insurance too, so should I go older and cheaper or newer and more expensive?

I would be looking at this one if I had 14k for spending

It looks an absolute beauty.

The interior has a bit too much red for my liking!

Full?id=6639231
    I have to say, this was ****ing MINT though. The roof was immaculate, the seat bolsters hadn't a mark or crack on them, she had a good service history with only ~40k on the clock....

What I am wondering is, with how difficult these appear to be to sell on, whether to drop a few years (I'm coming from a '04 Polo) and keep the budget low... or go with my original plan of about 13k budget, aiming for a '03 or '04.

Any recommendations? I'm going to get slaughtered on insurance too, so should I go older and cheaper or newer and more expensive?

It will be hard enough to sell on,I kept my budget low as I hate depreciation and the thought of taking out a car loan makes me shiver
    Insurance is an issue aswell,only one company in Ireland would quote me and that's with a full NCD

If you can afford one at that price,no reason not to go for it!

I would be looking at this one if I had 14k for spending

It looks an absolute beauty, the one you looked at is a few k over priced imo.

That one has front suspension damage though, I've always felt that previous damage is a HUGE turnoff?

And the interior is too red - black dash with red/black seats and it's perfect though!

The interior has a bit too much red for my liking!

Full?id=6639231

Its probably a bit on the red side alright, looks very well otherwise and in very good condition.

That one has front suspension damage though, I've always felt that previous damage is a HUGE turnoff?

And the interior is too red - black dash with red/black seats and it's perfect though!

True, at that age and mileage though and with a proper inspection to ensure the suspension was properly fixed it could be a very nice purchase. With cash in hand and taking the previous damage into account you should get another nice bit off the asking though.

I agree though previous damage would make me wary.

Aye, I'd probably prefer an uncrashed one if possible.

I think my question above got a bit lost, so I'll pop it up here again :)

Will it be hard to sell on in a few years?probably,unless we're back in a boom and the price of petrol halves.you'll take a hit on depreciation on a 13/14k car but that's to be expected anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

The interior has a bit too much red not enough pink for my liking!

FYP

-Chris- wrote: »
    The interior has a bit too much red not enough pink for my liking!

FYP
    It WAS a bit more salmon like imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

I miss my s2k so much!

Try and go for a post 02 if you have the money, Honda upgraded the suspension to make the car less twitchy in the back and making them safer to drive.

Pre 02 usually have a plastic rear window rather than the glass heated one which can get annoying. Also try if you can to get one that has a hard top, I know it's not always possible but will help during the winter! To get a hardtop afterwards from Honda is circa €5,000. You could pick up one from the uk for a fraction of the price but you'll also need a hardtop fixing kit if the car hasn't got one and these were selling for €500 at one point.

Something to watch out for is the master cylinder for the clutch, common fault for them to fail. Check the clutch pedal for leaks as the fluid tends to drip down the arm of the pedal and onto the floor. Can cause a juddery clutch...

Take it handy in the car for the first while too and enjoy her! Big change from a front wheel drive 1.2 to a 2 litre rwd. Oh and be prepared to leave the car at home if you so much as smell icy weather! :P

Enjoy the experience though, when I have the money I will buy another!

Kamili wrote: »
    I miss my s2k so much!

Try and go for a post 02 if you have the money, Honda upgraded the suspension to make the car less twitchy in the back and making them safer to drive.

Pre 02 usually have a plastic rear window rather than the glass heated one which can get annoying. Also try if you can to get one that has a hard top, I know it's not always possible but will help during the winter! To get a hardtop afterwards from Honda is circa €5,000. You could pick up one from the uk for a fraction of the price but you'll also need a hardtop fixing kit if the car hasn't got one and these were selling for €500 at one point.

Something to watch out for is the master cylinder for the clutch, common fault for them to fail. Check the clutch pedal for leaks as the fluid tends to drip down the arm of the pedal and onto the floor. Can cause a juddery clutch...

Take it handy in the car for the first while too and enjoy her! Big change from a front wheel drive 1.2 to a 2 litre rwd. Oh and be prepared to leave the car at home if you so much as smell icy weather! :P

Enjoy the experience though, when I have the money I will buy another!

Excellent stuff, thanks very much for that. reckon I'll now aim for a 2002, probably a UK import just because there's very few here and better choice over there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

Excellent stuff, thanks very much for that. reckon I'll now aim for a 2002, probably a UK import just because there's very few here and better choice over there :)

Majority of S2k for sale over here are pre 02. Cheapest ive seen was a 99 for €7k. They hold there value well in the UK so once you add VRT its gonna cost much more than an Irish one. Ive been watching them for a while but dont feel like spending 10k on a ten year old car with 100k up. Oh and when you buy an S2k you need to leave a few more bob in the budget to replace those crappy standard alloys too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

I would be looking at this one if I had 14k for spending, im sure you would knock a bit of the asking price too.

It looks an absolute beauty, I'd be all over it if I had the cash. The one you looked at is a few k over priced imo.

i cant imagine owning a soft top like that in Ireland, id say it would last about a week in dublin before its either stole or the roof torn to pieces and the wiring loom made to bits...

and then stolen.

actually make that a week in almost all of the cities in Ireland.

Cork is a notorious skanger spot, that car would be a heaven for knackers at night time.

i cant imagine owning a soft top like that in Ireland, id say it would last about a week in dublin before its either stole or the roof torn to pieces and the wiring loom made to bits...

and then stolen.

Cork is a notorious skanger spot, that car would be a heaven for knackers at night time.

Is this speaking from experience? :rolleyes:

I know plenty of owners of them and none have been stolen or damaged intentionally (including me)

and then stolen.

I don't buy into this but regardless I'm not going to let lowlife thieves put me off a dream car. if that was how the world worked, nobody would buy anything nice.

yep, had a civic esi saloon stole and crashed to f**k in cork ages ago, dont see any reason why things are different now.

i wouldnt buy a car like than in Ireland, unless I parked it in my bedroom :rolleyes:

I don't buy into this but regardless I'm not going to let lowlife thieves put me off a dream car. if that was how the world worked, nobody would buy anything nice.

you only have to read all the cars stole in (dublin) this year on this very forum

and thats probably a fraction of the ones that take place all across the land.

Its just too risky especially with the roof. :mad:

seen a 05 for the guts of 4 grand in the uk.... cheap cheap...

yep, had a civic esi saloon stole and crashed to f**k in cork ages ago, dont see any reason why things are different now.

i wouldnt buy a car like than in Ireland, unless I parked it in my bedroom :rolleyes:
    you only have to read all the cars stole in (dublin) this year on this very forum

and thats probably a fraction of the ones that take place all across the land.

Its just too risky especially with the roof. :mad:

seen a 05 for the guts of 4 grand in the uk.... cheap cheap...

So,thats a no then?

a 05 for 4 grand? I find that very hard to believe.