Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Test drive unlimted 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,968 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ya, looks class alright! Worried it might be geared too much towards online tho. will def be keeping an eye on it when released.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Been on the beta for the last few months. If you liked the first one you'll definitely like this one. The car controls are more solid and the online modes have been tweaked a little.

A must buy for console/pc racing fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Been on the beta for the last few months. If you liked the first one you'll definitely like this one. The car controls are more solid and the online modes have been tweaked a little.

A must buy for console/pc racing fans

the one thing that worried me about this game was that i was hearing the controls where useless (even compared to the first) but this isnt true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

the one thing that worried me about this game was that i was hearing the controls where useless (even compared to the first) but this isnt true?

You can use a xbox 360 controller in the game if you dont like the keyboard controls :)

Trevor451 wrote: »
    You can use a xbox 360 controller in the game if you dont like the keyboard controls :)

il probably end up buying it for a console anyway (prefer my consoles for racers) just wondering how bad is the game physics wise etc. compared to the first? ive seen a few videos where the braking looks very weird for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

This is looking promising anyway.

Review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Graphically the game looks terrible. Enoyed the others so will pick it up.

Can't even compare the car models to GT5. Even the standard ones..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

AIR-AUSSIE wrote: »

So? Gameplay has never been about graphics, just pick up Super Mario Bros. It never gets old. The Test Drive series has never been about realism at all, but moreso the enjoyability of driving the variations of cars and pitting them against one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

I really hope that this game runs well on my pc :) They are not going to release a demo :(

AIR-AUSSIE wrote: »

way better than standard cars in gt5, this games is so much bigger in scale as its an open world game, cant wait to play it just hoping the physics arnt too fecked up

Only stating an opinion. The car models aren't superb. Never said it would affect my appreciation of the game or whether i buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'll be picking this up at some stage. Really is my kind of driving game, more emphasis on the pizazz of driving around a tropical island in any number of supercars as opposed to tweaking gear ratios and whatever else you do in GT5. TDU2 sounds like "Top Gear - The Game" :D

What platform will you guys be getting this on?

I'll be getting it on the PC. The PC community of the first game was huge and very enjoyable. I can see this sequel being just as big :)

PC for me too. Running the game at 1920 * 1200 with maxed graphics settings will hopefully go some way to bringing the game up to GT5's level of sexiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

This has hit the pirate sites. And people are supposedly playing online.

Official US launch is tomorrow (Tuesday) and Europe launch is Friday. Although I don't get why so many people will pirate this. The online play is a huge factor in this, and I presume they'll all get banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Anyone seen a cheapish price for it? Online or shop?

50 on steam :eek:

Cheapest I've seen is on Impulse. €30.

http://impulsedriven.com/tdu2

As per usual, Steam is a rip off in everything but their sales.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I think I will trade in GT5 for this, find the GT games a snoozefest lately, TDU is far more, well, fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The cops: what's the chase like? Has been a deal-breaker in many games for me, as racing can get a bit boring, need something to liven it up.

Loved playing the older Test Drive games on my leet AGP Voodoo3 :P The GFX will be nice, but in the most cases, I can turn down the GFX a notch for smoother game play.

the lack of reviews and interest in this game has me worried tbh

Eurogamer - 7/10

It has afew problems but still think theres a game in there id like to play. Will leave it come down in price though.

im buying it screw review scores :D from what ive heard from people that have played it its better in every way than the first which means its something id love just a pity the damn bikes arnt in :(

Preordered it in GAME, 40 euro

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Got it here for 30

Yeah, I linked to that earlier up the thread. It's the best deal I've seen so far.

Plus, if you enter the code "SURVEY 2010" in the coupon section, you can get 10% of that price.

Edit: The only problem is that it says you can buy it straight away, I watched the option turn from "Pre-order" to "Add to your cart" but it still hasn't sent me the key for it.
    Second Edit: It seems it's available to me now.

This game is horribly optimised. Not sure if I can be arsed playing it. Terrible performance...and it looks like muck even on very high settings.

just pre ordered it from xtra vision today so i could get that online casino dlc, talk about cutting it close :D from what ive heard its a lot like tdu 1 just better, im sold

I'm getting a solid 60fps but the game is still very laggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

What are you playing it on, console or PC? I'm playing it on a PC and it's perfectly smooth. It's a lot of fun. But I don't think it'll have a huge lasting appeal to me. It seems to be aimed at completionists and I always find that off putting.

The controls are grand. I'm playing with a gamepad because I found it unplayable on keyboard. But even with a gamepad it's a little odd. I can't quite put my finger on it, it's just that something seems off.

so much for pre ordering at xtra vision for the casino dlc they didnt even know what it was :rolleyes: release dlc needs to die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Think I'll wait for Amazon's inevitable drop in price to £15 for the PC version before I try... Looks like fun, just not quite full price fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

How much is this in shops?

Hey lads, I have NFS Hot Pursuit but got as much use as I can out of it. Would ye say if TDU 2 is better? Is the single player offline game good enough If I just wanna drive in races and build my character up or would you have to spend a lot of time online?

Anyone trade in Hot Pursuit for this?

Don't compare them, they're completely different games. TDU is a more relaxed and sensationalisit experience. The games aim is very different to NFS

thanks man,

I read on gamefaqs one race lasts 50 minutes, sounds crazy. The biggest reason i'm leaning towards getting this is cuz it has a Viper GTS, my fave car. I'm mad to try this game but don't know if it will be my cuppa tea.

I've played the beta and they've improved the game a bit since launch. Setting deadzone to max on the 360 controller with no assists can really make it a challenge turning corners.

Been messing with the challenge editor. I suppose you could make a 3/4 race with it to be honest!

from what ive played so far its a great game (if you like tdu), although i got it on the 360 and at the moment im stuck on the damn loading screen for some stupid server reason, it will be an absolutely brilliant game once they fix it :rolleyes:

No server issues on PC here. I've been racing online, downloading challenges and winning bets :D Some seriously tricky custom challenges made. Found an 8 hour one, stood well away from that. But the reward money is over a million if you beat the time set out.

ive played around 2-3 hours in the starter lancia and i can say i love the game :D just hope they sort all the bad crap out shortly

Whats the bad points? I was watching a vid on yourtube which showed I think the start of the game. Dude in a garage to buy his 1st car, went with the classic mustang. Then went to his trailer, all looked class. Then to driving school but he didnt know how to get out of the car so gave up and just started driving round aimlessly. Wish I could try a demo of this or something. The single player game looks addictive, just start with crap and build up your car collection, better house etc. still on the fence tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

€50 in both game and gamestop, not paying that. I thought this was meant to be a budget release.

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Whats the bad points? I was watching a vid on yourtube which showed I think the start of the game. Dude in a garage to buy his 1st car, went with the classic mustang. Then went to his trailer, all looked class. Then to driving school but he didnt know how to get out of the car so gave up and just started driving round aimlessly. Wish I could try a demo of this or something. The single player game looks addictive, just start with crap and build up your car collection, better house etc. still on the fence tho.

well the major con right now for me is that i cant even play the game :( servers are all crappy for the 360 so users get stuck on a permanent loading screen (this will be fixed very shortly) which is a damn shame as the game is great, the reason i like it is because its so open and massive i feel really immersed in the game while playing (unless i have to listen to the voice actors which are so bad they are actually good :D); my guess is if you like big open racing games aka need for speed, midnight club etc. you will like this game

The videos i'm watching look class, one guy has a yacht for a house with an Audi R8 and Bugatti Veryon, very nice! Although he said he put in between 1200 and 2000 hours on TDU which is a bit psycho really.

Just saw the car list as well and the dodge viper gts isn't in, must have been in the last game :( Think i'll finish Mass Effect 2 1st and then pick this up.

Anyone play this with a wheel yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

On sale here for €25.

On official forums, the producer announced most issues have now been fixed and they are continually monitoring for other issues. Gonna pick this up on PS3. Anyone else here have it on PS3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

Anyone got this on the pc?
    After the patch, is the pc single player working ok?

Runs perfect. Enjoying it thoroughly