Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mick Wallace running for election?

• 05-02-2011 12:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭

Just catching the end of Vincent Browne on TV3 - Mick Wallace is one of the guests and, as far as I can determine, he's declared that he's running for the Dáil. Anyone confirm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

Ya he confimed he is running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭calf

Yes he is going to run in wexford

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

I hope he makes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

If he gets declared bankrupt he can't run, just saying.

Hope that doesn't happen - not just because he's one of the few decent candidates in Wexford, but because he's one of the few plain-speaking people who's been commenting on our economic situation for the last few years. And he looks like a bit of a daw (sorry Mick) but he's proven that he's anything but. And his philosophy of "work hard, play hard" is what's going to get Ireland to where it should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah, I deleted my post as the question was answered, that's all

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Hope that doesn't happen - not just because he's one of the few decent candidates in Wexford, but because he's one of the few plain-speaking people who's been commenting on our economic situation for the last few years. And he looks like a bit of a daw (sorry Mick) but he's proven that he's anything but. And his philosophy of "work hard, play hard" is what's going to get Ireland to where it should be.

Well said +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

He'll be extremely transfer friendly and eat into Connick's vote.

I'd guess D'arcy,Howlin,Browne,Kehoe,Wallace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Supertech

He came across fairly well last night on the programme, although I have to say I thought Nora Owen and Terri Prone were quite condescending towards him - if a man commented on what a woman was wearing and made remarks about her hair on a political programme there'd be all out war. I'd love to see him make it even if only to shake it up a bit in Leinster House.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I presume he will be running as an independent so maybe I will vote after all. I see the Greens have produced their usual candidate - Danny Forde - who is invisible from one end of the year to the next. See his 'amazing' profile here: http://www.greenparty.ie/people/danny_forde It would almost make me want to stand as an Independent Green. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I'd love to see a debate somewhere with all the candidates form Wexford on the one stage. I'd say the others would sh!t themselves as to what Mick might say about their part in traditional politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

Fair Play to him !!!

(no pun intended)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Who was the wan sitting between mick and Vincent? I thought her behavior towards mick was very bad form. Trying to take the piss out of him clearly and make him look stupid, but in a nice Haha way to cover it up. Gowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

jesus, might actually vote for him, had just made up my mind and all,ddoooh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Very happy to see this happening. I'd imagine he will do very well on transfer votes since he seems to be the only real independent with a chance in Co.Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Big Vern

Mick is really going to shake things up in Wexford!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Don't think he'll make much of a difference, and when did he actually make his decision to run? He didn't have any substance whatsoever answering questions and wasn't very comfortable either.

I'm sure all the Wexford Youths fans and floating voters (panicking but now relieved there's someone they can actually vote for) will give him a vote because they recognise him/know him personally though, so he'll probably do alright for himself.

But there's something a bit wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 challenges

I am not familar with Micks stance on a lot of issues....the economy in general, bondholders, section 23 tax relief abolition etc...anyone like to fill me in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

challenges wrote: »
    I am not familar with Micks stance on a lot of issues....the economy in general, bondholders, section 23 tax relief abolition etc...anyone like to fill me in?

Also like to know, I think he feels that the bondholders should be told to buzz off, from what I gathered last night.

He says he's 'doin' up a few leaflets now this week', so I suppose we'll have to wait until then.

I won't be blindly voting for him based on his name, or building or wexford sporting reputation alone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MrsJohnMurphy

I saw this talk from him posted on politics.ie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiU8qWxsbOw&feature=player_embedded#

Some interesting stuff that lets you know where he is coming from!

mjm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Crimbouser

Get him some frizz ease and he just might walk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭patff

I saw this talk from him posted on politics.ie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiU8qWxsbOw&feature=player_embedded#

Some interesting stuff that lets you know where he is coming from!

mjm

Wallace's second hand philosophy and psuedo anti-establishment rhetoric is tiresome. He says "real change isn't going to come about unless we do something dramatic". What does he mean? He didn't elaborate! Maybe a dramatic departure on his part is to become "establishment", although in effect he may already be there.
    Just how radical is he? Complaining about the establishment, and trying to convince everyone that he's not part of it..........so what? Say something original, something daring. I'll vote for him, but he's got to be genuinely different and dynamic. I don't care anymore about what the ****ing banks did or didn't do...........or the crap we are in because of Fianna Fail. Say something original Mick!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭k4kate

does the ff in your name stand for fianna fail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭patff

k4kate wrote: »
    does the ff in your name stand for fianna fail?

no, it stands for Frango Frito........doh.

As long as it is not Frustrated Functionary

Even though he only got added yesterday to http://www.boards.ie/vote he is already up to second.

Looking down a list of the opposition it is hardly surprising.
    Thanks for that. Will cast my vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭jordata

I am delighted he's running. Up to now I was undecided. He'll get my #1 - like the way he says what he believes, has some real life experience and no BS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 snooper

I thought the stage managed "oh really, your going to run as an independent?" was pathetic by Vincent Browne (who I rate highly in general)- and Mick Wallace went along with it....why did they have to pretend he just came out with it there and then and that the show didnt know it was going to happen?

Then from there I thought he lacked any meat on anything remotely a platform.

Can someone tell me why he is always referred to in such glowing terms in general? Just curious as I know nothing about him but over the years he's always been dubbed "straight talking" etc. and I fail to see what's so appealing.

For the record, not from the area, have zero political beliefs in general, and really dont care if he's voted in or out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

He might say "eeeemmmm" about a million times to much, but he will get my vote...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiU8qWxsbOw

snooper wrote: »
    I thought the stage managed "oh really, your going to run as an independent?" was pathetic by Vincent Browne (who I rate highly in general)- and Mick Wallace went along with it....why did they have to pretend he just came out with it there and then and that the show didnt know it was going to happen?

Then from there I thought he lacked any meat on anything remotely a platform.

Can someone tell me why he is always referred to in such glowing terms in general? Just curious as I know nothing about him but over the years he's always been dubbed "straight talking" etc. and I fail to see what's so appealing.

For the record, not from the area, have zero political beliefs in general, and really dont care if he's voted in or out

The Gorey Guardian reported today that he finally decided to run when he was on his way out into the studio. If that's true or not I don't know but I could well believe it, none of his answers seemed rehearsed. If they had of been I would have expected them to be more polished and honestly a little better prepared.

As for why people like him I'm sure there is different reasons for different people but for me I like the fact that he is an intelligent well educated man who doesn't waffle like most politicians and the fact that even though he is a business man and helping grow and support business is very important to him the rights of the people are also very high up there.

Not to mention the fact that most of his opposition in Co.Wexford are downright Lacklustre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Given that there's nobody else worthy of a vote I may well come out and give Mick Wallace my one and only vote.

Some info about him here: http://www.indymedia.ie/article/38740?save_prefs=true

and here: http://www.dublinblogs.com/categories/mick-wallace/

and a thread on him at Politics.ie here: http://www.politics.ie/wexford/150949-mick-wallace-run-ge.html

Before you make up your mind open it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 challenges

I still havnt a clue what his beliefs are on a whole lot of stuff...landlords/ tax relief abolition/stimulating the property market etc! Does anyone know?

Do you know the other candidates position on those issues? I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 snooper

The Gorey Guardian reported today that he finally decided to run when he was on his way out into the studio. If that's true or not I don't know but I could well believe it, none of his answers seemed rehearsed. If they had of been I would have expected them to be more polished and honestly a little better prepared.

As for why people like him I'm sure there is different reasons for different people but for me I like the fact that he is an intelligent well educated man who doesn't waffle like most politicians and the fact that even though he is a business man and helping grow and support business is very important to him the rights of the people are also very high up there.

Not to mention the fact that most of his opposition in Co.Wexford are downright Lacklustre.

Thanks smellslike!

Just thought it was funny that they had flashed up "Mick Wallace, Independent" prior to him announcing it 'out of the blue' and after they had spoken about independents in general, and then "Mick Wallace, Property Developer" later on (guess they got their graphics in the wrong order!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Mick Wallace is one of the few or the only developer who said it like it was-before the property collapse he was on The Last Word and actually told the truth about building standards and what developers were up to,building shoebox apartments to maximise their income from a piece of land.The over reliance of Government on building to prop up and create a false economy.
    So long as he keeps telling it straight he gets my vote,he even built a county soccer team and pitch using his own finances and recognises how the county is forever being left behind.How many of our established politicians have made grand claims down through the years and we still end up with nothing.

The people who are not convinced about Wallace: who in Wexford is a better choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭jpb1974

The people who are not convinced about Wallace: who in Wexford is a better choice?

Maybe there is no better choice but this doesn't make Wallace better by default, it may be the case that he is on a par.

Nobody really knows, only time will tell.

All I'll say is that people need to make decisions based on the what the head is telling them, not the heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ink Tonic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Ceit

The man has proven himself - he's not afraid to stand up and say it like it is. He believes in democracy -true democracy, not the lucky bag democracy that's been spewed up to us since the beginning of the state. He puts principles before money, and he cares about people. He's under no illusions about the privileges he has had, but still can see the poverty around him, and that's what's wrong with our politicians - most of them have so much money they haven't a clue what they're putting the nation through. At least the Shinners only get an average industrial wage - pity they don't have more credible candidates.
    Anyway, Wallace Abú!!! No. 1 all the way

Random Thought of the Day:

Is it just me or does anyone get suspicious when we have posters who joined on or after the day this thread started propping up Wallace's election campaign?

Hmmmm, never thought of that at all?
    Smart.
    (or are you just suspicious by nature)

I'd say "educated guess" to be honest.

When you become accustomed to how forums work you can typically tell the difference between those who are in for the long run and those who sign up to make a very specific contribution to a very specific thread, typically with a very specific agenda... and then disappear.

Happens all the time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭smodgley

k4kate wrote: »

bloody well said !!!!!!!

For any candidate associated with a political party you can typically go to their website and read about their policies... they typically all produce manifesto documents around this time.

Examples:

http://www.finegael2011.com/

http://www.labour.ie/policy/listing/

http://election.fiannafail.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

jpb1974 wrote: »
    For any candidate associated with a political party you can typically go to their website and read about their policies... they typically all produce manifesto documents around this time.

Examples:

http://www.finegael2011.com/

http://www.labour.ie/policy/listing/

http://election.fiannafail.ie/

Problem with the political parties is that they say (and write) a lot of stuff that might seem great but its often meaningless drivel, recited without any emotion or interest in what the speaker's saying. That's what I personally like about Mick Wallace - he seems genuine, interested and he's not just reciting some party line. He's thought about it and he means what he says.

EDIT: And I've been posting on Boards for 6 1/2 years, so hopefully I'm entitled to express an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

I'll be voting Mick Wallace Number 1 come election day. The other people I voted in during the previous elections were useless, and not alone did they not do anything for me, but I didn't see them doing anything for anyone else. All the politicians are useless in this county. Sitting in their offices getting big fat pay cheques and promising people loads of stuff when they canvass, and not backing any of it up. I'll do better in the Dail myself.

Mick will bring something to the table, he's a good man. I know he'd do anything to help people aswell if they ever needed it.

I hope someone does something about all the drunks on Vinegar Hill, and all the dirt they throw around the place, and the Slaney is awful dirty and a disgrace to the county. I hope Mick builds something on the grounds of the old mill in Enniscorthy too. It looks rotten as you enter the town.

I'm just not buying the Wallace thing at all (in so far as the glamour factor and sound bites are concerned).

Now... I wish him all the best but the way I see it people will bend their ear to listen to anyone who is saying all the right things (and that wouldn't be hard given the current climate) and is a well known, popular figure in the county.

I think any popular figure in the county could get a lot of people on the band wagon if they put their name in the hat and start saying all the right things.

I respect Independent candidates but lets face it... they have very little say at a national level. A lot of them hopped into bed with the last Government and voted in favour of a lot of the decisions that were made on the back of a few agreements to support initiatives in their own constituencies.

I'd be curious - If voted. is Mick Wallace going to take up politics on a full time basis?

To re-iterate - I wish Mick Wallace all the best, but from my perspective politics is more than skin deep. Too many people are ruling with the heart in this election... Fianna Gael and Labour will form the next Government almost by default... and whilst a lot of them are talking about 'real change' I'll happily take my nuts off the fence when I see it instead of hear it.

That's not to say MW won't do well if he were elected... as I said in an earlier post 'only time will tell'. I just hope that he doesn't end up as Wexford's version of George Lee.

Just wondering: Has he published anything yet that outlines his political viewpoints? I'd like to take a look and see what he's about.

Purely at a local level - At the very least I'd be looking for the candidates that were out backing the people when it came to issues such as the cut back in services at Wexford Hospital, the protests in relation to SNAs being cut in St. Senan's National school and others.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I won't vote for an independent who's campaign is based on the usual lets fix potholes,put the little man 1st spiel.A lot of these failed at Council level and never seem to get anything done but have lofty ambitions.
    I'm willing to give Mick Wallace the benefit of the doubt as he seems more intelligent than a lot of the other 'pretenders' and was willing to put his money where his mouth was.
    For too long this county has been left behind-we even missed out on the boom years,you can see where development went around the country and the work of various TD's.We need somebody who is focused on what's best for the county and Wallace has always been outspoken about this.
    Even if he isn't the Messiah of Wexford he surely can't be any worse than what else is out there?
    I'm sick of grand claims and the following inaction of politicians so some new blood and ideas would be welcome.
    Oh,and Mick if you're reading this thread I want the Enniscorthy Bypass started asap!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Firstly, I'm Youths Till I Die, but I'm not sure yet if I will give Mick my 1st preference. I have an agenda, personally, of who I would like in and if it helps the cause, I'll use him tactically in my voting.

The man is (infuriatingly at times) unique, but I do believe him to be genuine in his beliefs and an honest individual.

I see his most valuable contribution over the coming weeks as being able to expose some of the other candidates as spoofers, gombeens and wafflers. If he can do that, he will have done the County an immense service, even if he doesn't get in himself

Forza Youths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

He's launched a website - www.MickWallace.net

And just in case it's of interest, I will be giving Mick my no. 1 vote!