Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Lodge (now €7 in and free class nights gone)

• 02-02-2011 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭

So friends of mine have informed me it cost them €7 to get in last night. That's right €7, on a Tuesday.

I have a very much love/hate relationship with the place [much the same as the stables] in that some of my best nights in College have been there and equally some of my worst have been there too. It's a bit of an institution for UL-ers at this stage, I can't think of any other College in Ireland which has it's own practically house nightclub. It's convenient, generally good craic and relatively lax with the door policy [Although having said that, I've been refused a few times and more annoyingly dragged off the dancefloor and ****ed out for no reason as well].

But, it is going to price itself out of the reach of students if they carry on the way they are. The various student nights [Year nights and Ladies night Sundays] have disappeared as they usually do for the first few weeks of the semester and it's a typically price gouging strategy as clearly students are more inclined to go out in the first few weeks. I understand they are a business and have to make money but there are better ways to do it than gouging customers. They have made zero effort on the drinks promotions front except what they get free off the distributors from what I can see [50 free Coors pints the other night].

You only have to look at the Hurlers to see how a properly marketed place can do well. The place is packed most nights and more power to it; competition is good and if it generates a reaction out of the Lodge then excellent.

So if any rep of the Lodge is reading; the people who keep you in business are the very ones you're gouging. The very ones who will quite easily seek pastures new if you continue to charge €7 in on a Tuesday night. You don't have to be free in; I think most people would have no problem paying €2/3 to get in every night. You need to have a flat €3 pint/cocktail to at least give people an option other than sneaking naggins in. Basically you need to run yourself as a business in Ireland 2011 - compete!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

There's a reason The Lodge has solid metal toilets, and that's because it is a f**kin hole. Have never heard or seen ANY drinks promotions on in there.

Haven't yet been to the Hurler's in my 2.5 plus years here but I think I'll start frequenting it a bit more. Seems to have scrubbed up while I was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mulner92

7 euro no thanks. Why do people go there so, i don't get it. What's wrong with having a pint in your local?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

It would be cheaper to get the bus to town and go to angel lane! (For another 60 cent of course...and before 10pm... -.- )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Some major anti-lodge sentiment swamping their facebook page atm. They've created some shit storm.

People used to be always on to me about going there, but i was never bothered. Guess they won't be bothering me now in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

€7?:D:D

Ha. You can get a taxi and go into Trinity rooms for that.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

FYI, statement from the Lodge about the issue. I suspect some of you will have an issue with bits of the statement, but that's up to you to say, feel free to post your opinions...

As a moderator note, tempting as I'm sure it is to take launch with all the bad language your granny would rather you didn't use, keep in mind that it's possible to dish out righteous vitriol and annoyance without doing that:)
    Lodge NiteClub response to students - 3rd February 2011

In reply to recent wall posts and statements; as I’m sure you are aware businesses need to generate revenue to a greater degree than expenses in the long run. At the Lodge revenue is generated through entrance fees and drink sales. In the past we had significant drink sales and could afford to keep entrance fees to a minimum (at times we allowed customers free entry). Recently the change in culture to off-license drink has resulted in the need to increase entrance fees to generate the revenue required to meet expenses. We have had a great relationship with the vast majority of students over the last 15 years and hope to continue this into the future. Indeed we are former students of UL ourselves but now live in the real world. But like any customers you may take your custom elsewhere should you feel we no longer offer value for money.

Kind Regards,

The Lodge.

Admission Fees for Semester 2:

Tuesday: €5 before 12 & €7 after

Wednesday: (Live Music) €3 before 11 & €5 after

Thursday: €5 before 12 & €7 after

Sunday: €5 before 12 & €7 after

Cheers sceptre,

I think my main point on the press release is the condescending ["real world"] tone toward the very customers that sustain the establishment. Clearly the disdain for your customers will not work; it's been an abjectly poor PR attempt and it has done and will do damage until such a time as The Lodge attempt to constructively deal with the issues raised rather than ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

maybe the lodge manager has a fair point. all the students are turning up locked and not buying any drinks or just 1 or 2. maybe they're doing drugs instead (less likely).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

A very condescending tone from the nightclub there. I would make a point of not going there anymore because of that statement. It looks like they don't even want our business anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Clearly these former students of UL didn't study economics. Simply put economies of scale, produce more produce cheaper.
    Much like the Hurlers has done in that they have reduced their prices greatly but make up for that in the massive increase in footfall they are now receiving.

I know a nightclub is different but still they could definitely be more open minded to this.

Maybe if people just head in there before 12, problem solved pay 5 instead of 7 euro. I'm not sure why people are so caught up over it. On another note, maybe it is a good thing, i know people going there 3-4 nights per week, maybe their livers may welcome a change!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

The Lodge is a ****ty place regardless of time of night or entrance fee. I haven't been there since November and I'll be happy to never go there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

And they think students don't live in the real world??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Probably the best thing it had going for it was the certain years certain nights thing. Now thats gone, it's going to lose a lot of it's appeal. To be honest i'd still have no problem paying the fiver as long as there was some decent drink promos inside. But they don't have that either.

The way I see it losing most of it's custom through the 7 quid after 12 rule. I'd wager that on most nights the majority of the crowd comes in after 12 and has no trouble paying a fiver. But in people's heads theres a big difference between paying 5 and paying 7. Those casual drinkers having a few cans in elm park etc will decide to stay in the house instead of saying "ah **** it we'll go to the lodge" like they usually do

Here's an event you should all join to show the people running the Lodge that they've made a bad move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Probably the best thing it had going for it was the certain years certain nights thing. Now thats gone, it's going to lose a lot of it's appeal. To be honest i'd still have no problem paying the fiver as long as there was some decent drink promos inside. But they don't have that either.

The way I see it losing most of it's custom through the 7 quid after 12 rule. I'd wager that on most nights the majority of the crowd comes in after 12 and has no trouble paying a fiver. But in people's heads theres a big difference between paying 5 and paying 7. Those casual drinkers having a few cans in elm park etc will decide to stay in the house instead of saying "ah **** it we'll go to the lodge" like they usually do

i had a free pass for thursday but this is exactly what im doing anymore6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

It's a bit sad really, I've had some great nights in the Lodge. Can't see most of my friends goin now... Prices are exorbitant alright, that said I think the Hurlers is being a little bit too gleeful about the anger being shown against the lodge on FB...

PR disaster from their p.o.v

Could easily have made a statement and backed it up with facts and figures instead they post a condescending statement with very little substance as to the price increases and have chosen to ignore the **** storm thats happening on their page. Alienating the very people that sustain the place is not good; some of the posts are way OTT but I'd put a lot of the blame on The Lodge themselves for their cack handed approach.

It had 3 things going for it that were interlinked;

The handiness of it
    The free year nights
    The goodwill toward it

It's now destroyed two of those and has a competitor for the first one. Can see them seriously struggle if the sentiment shown on their FB page is acted upon. It'll be a miracle to retrieve it at this stage.

I think they (probably older management) seriously underestimated the power of facebook. Judging by how they ignored the first comments and took so long to say something, I think they were trying to make the price increases go unnoticed and hoping that students would turn up not knowing the price and would be too drunk to care when they were charged €5/€7 (like myself on Tuesday night).

Thankfully facebook has put paid to that. Judging by the size of the crowd on Thursday, management will surely realise their mistake and I'm fairly sure that within a fortnight prices will be cheaper again, with the line being that the Lodge has listened to students demands. And when that happens the majority of students, including myself, will go flocking back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I think they (probably older management) seriously underestimated the power of facebook. Judging by how they ignored the first comments and took so long to say something, I think they were trying to make the price increases go unnoticed and hoping that students would turn up not knowing the price and would be too drunk to care when they were charged €5/€7 (like myself on Tuesday night).

Thankfully facebook has put paid to that. Judging by the size of the crowd on Thursday, management will surely realise their mistake and I'm fairly sure that within a fortnight prices will be cheaper again, with the line being that the Lodge has listened to students demands. And when that happens the majority of students, including myself, will go flocking back

I've no doubt that if they lower the price back to a fiver even without the student nights, most people will go back.

At the same time the hurlers has a real chance to put themselves on the map. Seem to be doing a good job so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 seashore

Even if they kept the special years night but charged €2 before 12 for that year on that night, it would still attract people.. I loved going to the lodge last year on thursday nights, as i was a second year student.. It lodge used to be full of other second years which was great craic... walking around doing a few laps of the lodge on the thursday nights made the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭KealanOCarroll

pajunior wrote: »
    I've no doubt that if they lower the price back to a fiver even without the student nights, most people will go back.

At the same time the hurlers has a real chance to put themselves on the map. Seem to be doing a good job so far.

Yeah the Hurlers are doin a good job of getting their name out now...they're gettin awfully cocky about it now though, their most recent status is as follows:

Will we open up the shed in the back on Sunday night and have a drinks promotion for ye and free entry in? 200 likes will satisfy the boss to open the place for ye. I mean, where else will ye go????

Yeah the Hurlers are doin a good job of getting their name out now...they're gettin awfully cocky about it now though, their most recent status is as follows:

Will we open up the shed in the back on Sunday night and have a drinks promotion for ye and free entry in? 200 likes will satisfy the boss to open the place for ye. I mean, where else will ye go????

In fairness, that's a very good promotion, and a sure-fire way of getting people in. Everyone's on FB, word will get around quickly.

Last line was unnecessary though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Hah stop they were the ones who started the lodge closing down party lol.

It get far too packed out though at some stages.

I wish the stables had a late bar always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Stables usually does have a late bar on Thursday night as far as I know.
    As much as I disagree with the lodge's actions of late, I'm also starting to dislike the hurlers cocky approach to recent events.

Stables would certainly benefit from a late bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

stables gets something like 12 late bars a year, usually thursday nights

jesus whoever is behind pr for the lodge should be shot at this stage,

the lodges latest statement on their fb page
    The Lodge wrote:
    Enjoy your weekend everyone, thanks for the feedback, see you all Sunday night

and after they posted this, they started deleting alot of the wall posts, saying that people are being abusive but still, they're being caught and thats making even more people even more angry,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Mcjmetroid

The lodge is an absolute dive anyway. EVERYONE who isn't a first year knows this!

It's actually the worst nightclub I've ever been in.. everything is wrong with it and it's usually full of dickheads who will no doubt be heading to the hurlers now instead siiigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

yeah it's a dive but its still our dive if you know what I mean? I don't like the Hurlers that much, the inside of it, but I'd say thats where the crowd will be now..

The main reason is students just aren't spending the money in nightclubs anymore. It's the same everywhere. Why bother going to a nightclub when you can go to fine wines with a tenner and walk out with a naggin and 6 cans of dutch?

pubs and clubs in this country think they have a god given right to our money. If you are not competitive thats your problem. reduce the prices your charging for drinks and watch sales soar

I like comments like this. This is what everyone says and typically we see them 3-4 weeks later attemping to get back in.

i can count on one hand the amount of good nights iv had in the lodge in 4 years, you get away with ALOT because of the convenience factor and the lack of any competition (until now i guess but i dont think the hurlers thing will stick in the long term, but then again i havnt seen their new 'shed' thing yet maybe it is like a proper club)

You have no idea. Turn up outside the lodge for 10-15 minutes between 11 and 12 any night and watch the students outside downing naggins, wine, cans - anything.

pretty sure we have a fair idea, we are/were the ones doing it after all
    Drink sales are down, I don't think I have to tell anyone that. It's pretty obvious with the raised entrance fee.

again because your prices arent competitive, that is the only reason.

Yeah, it's an absolute dive. I knew there was a reason we were so busy.
    Hmm.

your saying its not an absolute **** hole? a place can be a ****hole and still be good craic.
    "It's actually the worst nightclub I've ever been in.. everything is wrong with it" - If you can't be arsed elaborating on your reasons you might be better off keeping them to yourself.

here is why it is ****, in one sentence.

YOU DONT OFFER VALUE FOR ANYTHING.

in more then one sentence. you are convenient thats all you have going for you. for what you get 3 euro on the door is a rip off not to mind 7. the drinks are over-priced. the place is in rag order. the dj is ****. you let too many people in. you let too many people on the dancefloor. you let people get way way way too hammered and then still serve them drinks. the bouncers enforce civility when it suits them

on the plus side the bar staff have always been fairly friendly and hard working, which was not the case the last time i was in the hurlers during the day

Regarding drinks promos, yeah they've quitened down a lot, we've only had one since the students are back. Used to have them weekly but it seems to have dried up. Maybe its diageo etc cutting down during the recession?
    doubtful since every other pub/club in the country hasn't cut down them as visibly/at all from what i can see

This is what, the 3rd year of recession? The 3rd year students are finding it harder and harder to find jobs, finding it harder and harder to come across disposable money. The last 2 and a half years the lodge stayed the cheapest both for drink and admission. Not to mention the thousands of free comps and passes given away to societies and clubs in UL. Drinks promotions weekly yadda yadda. Even though it's 5/7 euro at the moment, the drinks prices are still far cheaper than in town, but everyone seems to overlook that part. What short memories people have.

sorry but that line, right there, is a load of sh1t.

cheapest for admission...hmm we have mollies free most nights, trooms 1/2 euro in, unless its your years night in the lodge it was a fiver (i think), sunday used to piss me off that way alot :D

as for drink prices, are you really being serious there, mollys beats the lodge by far on drink prices, promos or no promos, trooms generally have drink promos on tuesdays which is their busiest day, havent been in icon/angel lane in a year so i dont no there,

anyways, your biggest competitor at the moment is sellling shots for 2.50 and pints for 3 euro and students are flocking there, sure the drink is cheaper in fine wines but people are still going

you dont represent the lodge so you would have nothing to do with prices i know but if students are packing out the hurlers when they have a very regular 3 euro pints/2.50 shots offer while still making a decent profit off it, maybe its time the lodge started something similar instead of the policy of trying to bleed students for every last cent

As opposed to?
    You save 5-6 quid on taxis heading from your house to the lodge rather than going into town. The Food (you know there is food right?) is close to half the price of superdine. 2:50 for curry chip/burgers last I checked. Still not good enough? Ok, sure I'll go on.
    never in all my times in the lodge have i seen food offered there:eek:, where abouts exactly

Rag order? I'll not go into specifics on this one but there is roughly 5-8 hours total each day put in by staff before the place even opens. The place looks a bit raggidy because of the wooden floor. That can't be kept clean anyway so it's a non issue. We do our best but the floor is part of the lodge, the whole wooden thing and whatever. Wouldn't be the same with short carper or whatever.
    in fairness it looks in a state most times but i appreciate (as someone who has worked in pubs/clubs before) how hard they are to keep clean, the wooden floor would be a nightmare alrite
    DJ. This is a good one. The DJ plays your requests. Do i need to go any further on this one?
    again didnt no about requests but there still an issue,
    i was in last thursday night (free pass:D) and i heard horse outside 3/4 times that night, the bloody censored version too, amm the clubs is checking ids, its ok, we can hear curse words. If a song gets requested fine, but dont play it twice in the space of one hour
    10 - We let too many people in? I can't comment on that because I'm not in security.
    every club has this problem but the lodge is really bad for it, there was one sunday nite last semester it took 10 mins to get off the dancefloor to the toilet
    12 - you let people get way way way too hammered and then still serve them drinks - I am going to vehemently deny this. It's a pet hate of mine and I assure you it's not happening. If you read up you even admit yourself of what happens with students outside of the lodge before you come in.
    Man up and admit responsibility for yourselves and what/how much you drink because you sure as hell aren't getting served drunk once inside.
    your right in your previous post about students downing drinks and falling inside, however ive seen it a few times where people have been falling around 5 minutes previous and going up to the bar and being served.
    13 - the bouncers enforce civility when it suits them - The bouncers are there to protect the customers, the staff and the facility. If they see fit to throw someone out, they do so. I find it ludicruous that people can fault the bouncers when their whole job is to keep you safe.
    the bouncers in the lodge are notoriously bad at this stage, alot of it due to the fact that students arrive drunker in the lodge, but they have a bad reputation at this stage and to say they are blameless is kidding yourself man
    Those are the prices now.
    Go back a year or two. The best offer I (think) had in uni was the trinners bus, which was a tenner.
    oh and yeah, I actually forgot about mollys.
    ALTHOUGH, they're charging admission now.

im only a second yr student so they're the deals ive come to know, i heard mollies where charging but i also they still are free some nights, open to correction (havent been there in a while, was going trooms tues and lodge thurs when i did go out)
    anyways its the present that concerns everyone
    The only offer I've seen in mollys was the 5bottles of beer in the bucket of ice for 15. Don't know if they still do it but that was a good one. Other than that I was in there november and was charged 7:50 for a vodka and coke so I'm just going on my experiences.
    theres been others, at various times ive been there there has been pitchers of sex on the beach for a tenner, single bottles for 3.50
    pints of some beer for 4 euro
    nothing fantastic but significantly cheaper
    I'll assume you're refferring to the hurlers and yeah, thats a savage deal. But I doubt they can keep it up. The prices are probably cheaper because they dont shell out for security.
    from convos i have with the staff they are still making a nice profit out of it, even if they put up the cost by 50c its wud still be savage and would probs cover a good portion of the security cost
    Those prices aren't feasible for a nightclub. I know that and you do too.
    That said, I don't really know what's going to happen. Who knows?
    i agree but there is some scope in moving prices
    they have to try something better then the current situation cause it is backfiring badly,

btw i fully realise your not representing the lodge but thanks anyways

1- If you had you'd know the lodge is still the cheapest nightclub in limerick drinks wise.

i dont believe that for a second, other clubs have been listed, your main competitors are cheaper. so you are incorrect
    4 - Read #1. Or my first post. Maybe you'll get through it all this time!

i have its still a lie and your still uncompetitive
    5 - So now you like the place? Make your mind up. Also, I was being sarcastic. If the place truly was a dive it would be empty/closed.

no i dont like the place i was making a point. the lodge happens to be a dive and ****. costelloes is a dive but good craic most of the time
    6 - YOU DONT OFFER VALUE FOR ANYTHING.

As opposed to?
    You save 5-6 quid on taxis heading from your house to the lodge rather than going into town. The Food (you know there is food right?) is close to half the price of superdine. 2:50 for curry chip/burgers last I checked. Still not good enough? Ok, sure I'll go on.

Soft drinks are about 20 cent cheaper per than in town.
    Pints are roughly the same.
    Spirits and the like, are also a small bit cheaper, like 10 cent or something.
    Where it gets interesting is where you get stuff like, double vodkas and red bull, where its less than 11 in the lodge and 14:50 in angel lane. Go figure.

as opposed to nothing. im not comparing it with any were else. i think all pubs and clubs in cities are over priced but at least most of them have to put in an effort to be somewhat unique, like interesting decor, different rooms with different music. im taking the lodge on its own merits. it has nothing to offer but convenience and everyone knows it and thats fine, thats not a bad thing as long as you realise that thats your niche and charge accordingly

your really trying to sell your club on the fact it will sell you a burger?
    7 - Rag order? I'll not go into specifics on this one but there is roughly 5-8 hours total each day put in by staff before the place even opens. The place looks a bit raggidy because of the wooden floor. That can't be kept clean anyway so it's a non issue. We do our best but the floor is part of the lodge, the whole wooden thing and whatever. Wouldn't be the same with short carper or whatever.

if it takes you 5-8 hours to set up the lodge or to clean it after the night before, the press release is the least of the businesses worries and your bar manager should be fired immediately. i worked in smyths / icon for quite a while and it takes 2 maybe 3 hours to get it from post saturday night madness state to ready to open the next morning including all stock, cash etc done. it has more bars, more space and more nooks and crannies then the lodge will ever have

9 -DJ. This is a good one. The DJ plays your requests. Do i need to go any further on this one?

it has nothing to do with what he plays, being a dj is more then hitting play on a cd player

11 - Too many people on the dancefloor? Really? Really? Ok, next night I'll ask a bouncer to stand at the entrance with a clicker and tell everyone else they can't come on the dancefloor because it's too full.

thats exactly what other clubs do, none in limerick admittedly but all the ones in galway iv been to do it and the dance floor is far better for it, a good few in dublin do it as well but its not as necessary due to the gargantuan clubs there
    Protip. Students go onto the dancefloor because that's what they came here to do.

exactly, it would be great if there was even a tiny bit of space to dance instead of having to be balls to cheek with every horny drunk out for the shift

12 - you let people get way way way too hammered and then still serve them drinks - I am going to vehemently deny this. It's a pet hate of mine and I assure you it's not happening. If you read up you even admit yourself of what happens with students outside of the lodge before you come in.
    Man up and admit responsibility for yourselves and what/how much you drink because you sure as hell aren't getting served drunk once inside.

your talking ****, fair play to you if you dont serve people who are too drunk. your workmates do, all the time
    13 - the bouncers enforce civility when it suits them - The bouncers are there to protect the customers, the staff and the facility. If they see fit to throw someone out, they do so. I find it ludicruous that people can fault the bouncers when their whole job is to keep you safe.

the bouncers do what they want, there dosn't seem to be any rules accept dont touch the disco ball. if someone keeps shoving me on the dance floor im more likely to get kicked out then they are because the bouncers dont give a **** and let it happen but as soon as i stop them myself ill be grabbed and thrown out without getting a word in edge ways. if a girl walks by me and pushes me cause she is a angry drunk cnut she should be out of there, it happens all the time but they never get kicked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

9 -DJ. This is a good one. The DJ plays your requests. Do i need to go any further on this one?

Hmmmmm I can remember 3/4 occassions where I have requested something off him....sometimes even reminding him 2/3 times during the night.....never ever played.Might as well be talking to a wall.Instead he plays absolute drivel(probably just brought now 65 cd with him and nothing else).He'd put a teenage disco to shame.

I haven't read all of the last few posts but is the poster that's defending the Lodge really intimating they have the cheapest drinks around? Really?

Jesus I've been in there enough of times to know that you won't get anything for less than €4.50 unless your 'buying' a pint of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Right, first off, the Lodge is not a good nightclub for numerous reasons, and the fact that its full practically every night, doesnt change that fact!

It has been mentioned that the Lodge is convenient, and tbh, imo that is without question the MAIN reason why its full each night.

The music in the Lodge is awful and to say that students are the ones requesting each song is ridiculous. The DJ has a set list and plays that, and keeps repeating songs at various stages. Its almost worse than Ber in the Stables, when you can tell what songs are going to be next!

The security in the Lodge - well, they are like any other security I've encountered, and I've never had a problem with them. I have seen instances of people being kicked out for very little, and others staying for worse offences.

The staff behind the bars tend to be very good. Rarely have I had to wait for drink. However, WAY TOO often do they serve people who are well past drunk. I have never gone into the Lodge so drunk that I'd be refused or unable to order a drink or handle more drink, and I have been there sober too, so I have seen it happen, despite what the other poster claims. I know you are not going to refuse people behind, as it causes trouble, and the less the better right?

Then we have the price of drink there. The Stables is around 4 euro a pint on average [less for Guinness and cheaper lagers such as Bavaria]. Why dont the Lodge offer Bavaria instead of Heineken and charge less. I'd bet that students wouldnt mind paying less even if it meant drinking Bavaria on draft.
    Other places do offers, and to ignore them and suggest that the Lodge is the cheapest for the past few years is ignoring the fact that it is NO LONGER the cheapest.

Consider that students can get a bus into the city for €1.60 until 11pm, and then get into Costello's [Free before 11pm afaik] and only a €5 afterwards. A full taxi on the way home [carrying 4 people] will only be €3/4 each to Castletroy. All together it costs ~€10 which is not an arm and a leg to spend for a travelling in and out of town, to a place where pints are good, and you can get served cans. The alternative, walk to the Lodge, pay 7 euro in and pay over the top for very bad pints. I know what I spent my time doing, and it wasnt the Lodge!

Here's what student pressure will do when they really want something;
    The Lodge wrote:
    Due to increasing pressure from student's we have decided to reverse our decision to discontinue the free in for certain years Sunday's will be free in for 1st years,Tuesday for 2nd,Wendsday for 3rd years and Thursday for 4th years.

We couldn't have the students stay mad at us !

Predictable enough climbdown that was probably necessary after that embarrassing PR job.

According to Facebook, the Lodge has reversed their decision....

Due to increasing pressure from student's we have decided to reverse our decision to discontinue the free in for certain years Sunday's will be free in for 1st years,Tuesday for 2nd,Wendsday for 3rd years and Thursday for 4th years.

Fair play to them for swallowing their pride so quickly, I'll be back there this week

I think that refusing hammered people drink causes as much problems as it solves, so no complaints, just one small point....stop charging for tap water. Theres many stages over the course of a night that even a relatively sober patron will need water, never mind the desperately drunk person on the verge of being sick. They shouldn't have to pay for it. Thanks for your responses btw

Bontonfrink, I had quoted numerous posts above but realised it was waaaaay too long and I've to get to work.

Just a few points:

#1: I am not a liar and I'd thank you to apologise for that. I have been into the Lodge a good few times in my time in UL and have never remembered a drinks promotion.

#2: As I have said, I haven't yet been to the Hurlers so I don't have a clue what it's like inside. It's been revamped recently though, no?

#3: Molly's has drinks offers every night, and buy one get one free hours plenty nights too. Trooms have become competitive with offers on cheap pints, and nominal entry fees. I can't comment on Angel Lane because up til recently it's been strictly 21's, meaning I can't go there (bit of a different market to the Lodge anyway).

So your point about the Lodge being the cheapest up until the price changes doesn't stand up. Even Stables has better drinks offers on pints, as Mossin mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

I like comments like this. This is what everyone says and typically we see them 3-4 weeks later attemping to get back in.
    We had one lad wrote a letter in complaining that "we ruined his college experience" for getting barred after ripping a hand drier off a wall. Go figure.
    Cool generalisation bro. I have never being thrown out of the Lodge for drunk, disorderly behaviour, much less vandalism.

Why someone's 'college experience' must be synonymous with getting ****-faced is beyond me though. One of the main reasons I moved from Elm Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Are the pints in the stables subsidised? The stables is not exactly a normal pub though- its a college bar, for students and members only. The Lodge is for the public, so hardly like for like.

Mindkiller wrote: »
    Cool generalisation bro. I have never being thrown out of the Lodge for drunk, disorderly behaviour, much less vandalism.

Why someone's 'college experience' must be synonymous with getting ****-faced is beyond me though. One of the main reasons I moved from Elm Park.

Exactly there are others ways to have craic and it doesn't have to damage your liver in the long run.

cson wrote: »
    Here's what student pressure will do when they really want something;

Predictable enough climbdown that was probably necessary after that embarrassing PR job.
    HulkHands wrote:
    According to Facebook, the Lodge has reversed their decision....

Fair play to them for swallowing their pride so quickly, I'll be back there this week
    Unfortunately that was a frape:(:eek:

someone set up a fake lodge niteclub page and posted on the real lodges page,according to there fb page, its not free, there still charging and still deleting comments
    sorry to be the bearer of bad news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Are the pints in the stables subsidised? The stables is not exactly a normal pub though- its a college bar, for students and members only. The Lodge is for the public, so hardly like for like.

I've no idea if the Stables pints are subsidised, I would doubt it, as they wouldnt need to due to the high footfall they have each year.
    Perhaps its not like for like, but considering that the clientele for both is the same, [and there is no doubting that fact - as UL id is pretty much all that is required to get into the Lodge].

they are definitely not subsidised and it is run as a business not a club

freyners wrote: »
    Unfortunately that was a frape:(:eek:

someone set up a fake lodge niteclub page and posted on the real lodges page,according to there fb page, its not free, there still charging and still deleting comments
    sorry to be the bearer of bad news

haha thats a pretty good frape

good to know they are still being cnuts

PeakOutput wrote: »
    haha thats a pretty good frape

good to know they are still being cnuts

if i wasnt so disappointed by the fact it was a frape id be applauding, unfortunately im still sickened