Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bridesmaids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The most interesting thing about that for me is that Chris O'Dowd is in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,007 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

$24.4 million opening weekend in the US and second to Thor at the box office

Melissa McCarthy's role is suppose to be the steal scener in the film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Judd Apatow produced and Saturday Night Live‘s Kristen Wiig co wrote the script
    Not forgetting it's directed by 'Freaks And Geeks' creator Paul Feig.

Think this could be decent.. very positive reviews from the US:

IMDb: 7.0/10
    RottenTomatoes: 90% positive out of 148 reviews
    Metacritic: 76% based on 37 critics

Hope it does well.. Paul Feig needs a break. He's directed a lot of worthwhile TV episodes (everything from 'Arrested Development' to 'The Office' to 'Mad Men') but his theatrical directorial efforts have sunk like stones.

Basq wrote: »
    Not forgetting it's directed by 'Freaks And Geeks' creator Paul Feig.

Think this could be decent.. very positive reviews from the US:

IMDb: 7.0/10
    RottenTomatoes: 90% positive out of 148 reviews
    Metacritic: 76% based on 37 critics

Hope it does well.. Paul Feig needs a break. He's directed a lot of worthwhile TV episodes (everything from 'Arrested Development' to 'The Office' to 'Mad Men') but his theatrical directorial efforts have sunk like stones.

Seems to selling as a sorta female version of The Hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

they were showing an extended scene from this before Thor, looked hilarious to me, worth a punt!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Seems to selling as a sorta female version of The Hangover

Thought this myself when I watched the trailer. Didn't laugh once. It's the female version of the hangover + wedding crashers. All the jokes have been done before except it now appeals to the ladies.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,528 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'll probably go see it on the strength of the reviews. Kirsten Wiig is a brilliant comic actress, nice to see her getting a proper lead role for a change.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I'll probably go see it on the strength of the reviews. Kirsten Wiig is a brilliant comic actress, nice to see her getting a proper lead role for a change.

Yeah I think Wiig has some sort of talent, unfortunately she's often relegated to generic roles.

I think a non-misogynistic Apatow film is being used by critics to describe this. I'm curious, and apparently they get the mix of obscene comedy and emotional warmth down right. I'm not sure if I'll like it, but might be worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

It looks so good :D Can't wait for it to come out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Bridesmaids has now grossed over $100m in the US. Yay! Here's hoping this means there'll be similar smart, funny movies aimed at women on the back of its success to put a halt to the glut of crapfests starring Kate Hudson or Sex and the City messes that have dominated the market for the past few years. Damn you, SATC. DAMN YOU. *shakes fist*

Although... I am aware of the irony that I'm saying that despite not having seen it. I'm just assuming that it's going to be as good as the reviews say it is, and because I have major girlcrushes on Kirsten Wiig and Maya Rudolph. Fingers crossed.

Watched this last night very funny the cast works so well together great chemistry between them especially Maya and Kristen (best friends off set from their SNL days I believe)

Megan was the best character in the film for me - Melissa McCarthy is hilarious in it

Chris O'Dowd did well also in his role

The airplane scene is one of the funniest airplane scenes since the film Airplane

It is doing the business money wise so there could be a sequel

Jill Clayburgh didnt look well in her scenes, this was her last film before her death RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

This film is up there with the best comedies I have seen. It was brilliant. There are some scenes in it that are so funny I was sore from laughing. A definite must see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Stargal wrote: »
    Yay! Here's hoping this means there'll be similar smart, funny movies aimed at women

Did we watch the same trailer? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭MiniSquish

The trailer for this doesn't look that good in my opinion but I still want to see it :) My (female) friends have commented on how much they want to see it too so I think it'll be a girls cinema night choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The trailer looks dreadful, Fart jokes? Oh it's funny because a woman is doing it, wow how empowering! so smart and sophisticated!

A decent cast though, I might 'acquire' it somewhere down the line.

Saw it the over night and while it's decent enough it's a film you'll have forgotten before the credits end. At over two hours it's at least 30 too long, it seriously drags in the middle and the lack of any truly great moments makes the run time feel far longer than the all ready excessive 2 hours.

I dont understand all the talk of how it's an original and intelligent comedy for women. There is absolutely nothing original here, the same tired fart jokes and messages about friendship we've seen in a dozen gross out teen comedies simply recycled with a female cast. I imagine that had a male writer been behind the film the reaction of most would be slightly different.

It's not a terrible film by any stretch of the imagination just a very average film which lacks a single great comedy moment that will live on, that is if like me you don't ckassify poo jokes and farting as the epitome of great comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

rose byrne :eek: defo + 1 for me now to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Hilarious

Hilarious

Hilarious

Go see it!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,528 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

phasers wrote: »
    The trailer looks dreadful, Fart jokes? Oh it's funny because a woman is doing it, wow how empowering! so smart and sophisticated!

A decent cast though, I might 'acquire' it somewhere down the line.

Fart jokes can be funny :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭clig

I thought this was brilliant though it was a bit too long it was hilarious! I think too much is being made of the fact that it's a mostly female cast the end result is what matters and I ended up laughing a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

Really hated the trailer for this but went along as the reviews have been really good and it was hilarious! Laughed the whole way through it, definitely up there with the other Apatow produced flicks. It's in the vein of Knocked Up, Superbad, 40 Year Old Virgin so if you enjoyed them this is a similar type of humour. I loved it and by the sound of the packed cinema a lot of other folk did too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

Funniest film I've seen in a while. I was actually in tears laughing at one point. Go see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Saw this last night and was really really disappointed.

Had a crap day at work and was looking forward to a few laughs.

Had listened to and read the opinion of a lot of reviewers whom I trust and was expecting something a bit new & edgy, well written and above all funny.

Instead, what I saw was tired, formulaic, overlong, sentimental and predictable dirge. I wouldn't have been shocked if a tanned and open-white-shirted Matthew McConaghey turned up at some point…on a boat…wine bottle in hand..along with Jennifer Anniston, Sarah Jessica Parker etc. Actually, and this is saying a lot, he might have improved the film a bit.

The opening scene was amusing, the food-poisoning sequence was good for what it was but seriously I found the rest of the film a total drag. The extended plane scene was just embarrassing….Nervous flyer, give her meds and a double scotch and sit back as hilarity ensues!!! "Oh, oh…I think I see a colonial woman standing on the wing" ; calling the flight attendant 'Stove' instead of 'Steve'….really???? is that what I paid 9 fecking euros for? :mad:

The Irish cop story was lame as well - almost walked out at the point where the two women are trying to get his attention (in yet another long and unfunny sequence) by driving past him numerous times whilst performing a wide range of traffic violations.

Overall, this film fell spectacularly between 2 stools - it didn't commit fully to gross-out and got bogged down with sentimental waffle throughout.

I think Judd Apatow's career is bottoming out big-time, very much a case of diminishing returns with his recent output

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Ah now, it's leagues ahead of some of the by numbers rom-com stuff. I didn't think it was wall to wall laugh out loud funny but I did enjoy it.

Reminded me of say 40 Year Old Virgin but from a female perspective.

I've still enjoyed 90% of what's come from the Apatow stable. Long may it continue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Enjoyed it up until the painful final act. Actually chuckled a few times which is a rarity in Apatow-produced comedies these days. Think the whole thing is pretty much held together by Wigg, who is most definitely a talented comedienne. Yes, the humour is broad, but there were plenty of little moments - like the 'is that your husband' gags at the engagement party - that were pretty amusing.

Alas, like most Apatow produced films, it's at least half an hour longer than it needs to be. The film gets a hearty laugh out of surprising use of a certain word and then grinds to a very, very slow and very, very formulaic halt. It goes on and on, Chris O'Dowd and Jon Hamm particularly on the receiving end of underwritten roles. The only thing that really caught my attention in the final twenty minutes was a super brief cameo from Mr. Feig, and I was surprised I even spotted it. Considering the first hour and a half was largely devoid of mawkishness, it stunk of laziness and pandering to an audience who tend to be best ignored.

In short - slightly more laughs than your typical mainstream comedy, mainly due to a talented lead actress. It's wholly unremarkable in many regards, but considering it's been a while since I've seen a comedy of this ilk that made me laugh, I was glad of those five or six moments where it was actually pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭rossc007

Very funny film, I expected a female Hangover type after seeing the trailer, but its really in a league of its own. Funniest film I've seen this year, Kirsten Wiig is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Jaysus, your man from RTE's "The Clinic" has come a long way.

What's his name again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

kraggy wrote: »

What's his name again?

Exactly what i thought too :D

Went to see this, twice as it worked out, and both times found some parts of it hilarious, a quite original storyline in comparison to some of the chick flicks out recently tbh, and great soundtrack too :)
    The only bit I would change would be the throwing up bit, I have a big aversion to that! lol missed most of that sequence as I couldnt look!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

kraggy wrote: »

What's his name again?

**** the clinic hes a it crowd star

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

ricero wrote: »
    **** the clinic hes a it crowd star

Yes, but he was in The Clinic first. Hence the "he's come a long way" comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Went with my girlfriend last night expecting a funny movie. The trailers looked decent enough and looked like it was going to be the chick flick equivalent of The Hangover. How wrong was I (and how misleading are those trailers!!). It is one of the most depressing saddest movies I've seen in a long while. It's like Bambi's mom being shot... but very slowly... over the course of the entire movie. There are 3/4 funny sequences (all present in the trailer) but aside from that it is mostly just the lead girl getting beaten down from all angles in her life (losing job, boyfriends a jerk, no friends etc).

Don't get me wrong, it's a good movie but it's a real downer with a couple of laughs thrown in so it can be called a comedy. And the ending :mad:
    talk about a reset button! Everything that happened up to the point where she finds her friend in her apartment is pretty much abandoned and the lead girl (somehow) saves the day and the tackiest wedding of all time commences.

Oh, it's also an incredibly predictable movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Came away pretty disappointed with this one. I tittered through it, but found no big laughs and ultimately felt I was forcing myself to laugh. The wedding dress scene with the food posioning was probably the best bit, but the gross out bits fell flat for me. The story was a big plus point because the situations went in directions I didn't expect, though it all predictably comes together in the end. Overall though, it didn't tickle me the way it has some other people 4/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Brought my other-half on a date night to see it and we both came away from it thinking "Was that it?"

The trailer made this film look like I would be in stiches the whole way trough. A chick-flick that wasn't the same as all the others before it. And the intro set it up perfectly, and made me think I was getting exactly what I expected. And how wrong I was.

Don't get me wrong, when this film was funny by God I was in stiches (The start, the dress scene, the plane and the car scene near the end) but there was so much filler and scenes were you watched this poor womans life fall apart. Then by the end it just turned into a cliché chick-flick.
    Woman wins man by getting back into the kitchen? I'm no feminist but....

Over-all this could have been a brilliant change in the genre, but it wasn't bold enough to keep it up for the whole film and fell back to those clichés. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

The wedding dress scene with the food posioning was probably the best bit, but the gross out bits fell flat for me.
    Whaaaaaa?

I don't know what half of ye are on about tbh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I have to say, I loved this film. I thought it was really funny, and Chris O' Dowd was so lovely in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I'd heard so much about how good this film was. Underwhelming, sums it up for me.

The intro was far too long and absolutely nothing of interest or remotely funny happened apart from
    when she climbed the automatic gate and it opened
    and that was only minorly funny.

Eventually we get the wedding dress shop scene and that was funny. Other than that the rest of the film was either not funny or just sentimental and drawn-out :(

It was billed as being something other than a chick flick rom-com and that billing was false to me because it's definitely a chick click rom-com with some scenes unusual for that genre but not unusual enough to make it different imo.

As a rom-com I'd give it 7/10 because it fills that brief
    As a straight-up comedy I'd give it 5/10.

Not for me, certainly not hilarious. The Hangover, American Pie and others are far funnier than this film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

When it's funny it's very funny, but a tad too long. Kristen Wiig is a brilliant comic actor.

Leagues ahead of The Hangover II at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

It was nice to see a Judd apatow film where he didn't wheel out his wife and daughters in cameo roles, apart from that I found it very disappointing. I think girls will enjoy it, as its essentially a chick film in disguise, but it was a very beige 4/10 for me. Not worth the extortionate cinema fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

It was nice to see a Judd apatow film where he didn't wheel out his wife and daughters in cameo roles, apart from that I found it very disappointing.
    If I was pedantic (which I am), I'd note that Apatow only "wheels out" his wife and kids in movies he directs (he was merely a producer on this).

Girlfriend saw this during the week and enjoyed it.. but the more I hear about it, the more I really don't want to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

You know when a child watches a 15s or 18s comedy and misses all the real humour but laughs when the guy falls down? Well this is like that, only for kids, read girls. Women put this film on a pedestal that it didn't deserve to be on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Basq wrote: »
    If I was pedantic (which I am), I'd note that Apatow only "wheels out" his wife and kids in movies he directs (he was merely a producer on this).

Girlfriend saw this during the week and enjoyed it.. but the more I hear about it, the more I really don't want to see it.

Pedantic? maybe, correct? yes.

I thought he directed it, my error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

God what a letdown. I was bored with the "plot" between the lead female and Chris O'Dowd and the semen and vomit jokes were really tired.

I heard it described in the same category as the Hangover. No way Jóse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It was ok, much like The Hangover it was overhyped

Tends to drag in the middle, at 125 minutes they could have shaved a bit off it

Fart & vomit jokes are old.

I was wondering throughout what was up with the cops accent and where he was supposed to be from, they did mention he wasn't a US citizen.
    Never realized that was an Irish actor, he was good

I've seen a lot of Damages and didn't recognize Rose Byrne, she looks so different. In a good way :)

An average 6/10 for me
    Ok comedy but far too much hype over this film.
    But it was banker money wise so I'm sure we'll get a sequel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,538 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

WTF? Honestly not trying to be an as$hole here but I take it you have to be female to get this film!? OK there were some pretty funny scenes but the rest is excruciating. Oh and Ricky Gervais was great as a woman.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

What a poor film , there were perhaps 2 funny scenes , and there was a good funny story lurking there in the background , but it was ruined by being far too long , half hour could of been cut from this movie easily and it would of improved it.

It lost me early on in the excruciatingly bad scene where the they try to outdo each other at the speeches .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Not exaggerating when I say this is one of the worst films, maybe THE worst, I've ever seen.

I don't think I found one part of it funny, and for any part that I did find funny and has slipped my mind, there were countless times when it was so cringeworthily unfunny that they were negated. Sweet Jeebus, that scene trying to outdo each other at the engagement party made me feel embarrassed it was so bad. And then again with the driving past Chris O Dowd numerous times to get his attention... if it's not funny the first time it's not funny the fiftieth time.

I really can't understand how anyone enjoyed this. I'd actually be interested in sitting down with someone who likes it, and having them point out to me the films redeeming qualities when they happen, because I clearly missed them.

Can't believe Paul Feig, the guy who created Freaks and Geeks, had anything to do with this.

elefant wrote: »
    Not exaggerating when I say this is one of the worst films, maybe THE worst, I've ever seen.

When it comes to TV and film the phrase "not exaggerating" is the equivalent to "I'm not racist but....", it's nearly always followed by an exaggeration.

If that's one of the worst or THE worst film you've ever seen then you must have been charmed in your choice of films throughout your life.

Imagine never having to had to sit through the likes of Scary Movie, Date Movie, Epic Movie, Not Another Teen Movie, The Hangover II, The Tourist, Mr and Mrs Smith, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, Major Payne, White Chicks, Big Momma's House II etc. etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    When it comes to TV and film the phrase "not exaggerating" is the equivalent to "I'm not racist but....", it's nearly always followed by an exaggeration.

If that's one of the worst or THE worst film you've ever seen then you must have been charmed in your choice of films throughout your life.

Imagine never having to had to sit through the likes of Scary Movie, Date Movie, Epic Movie, Not Another Teen Movie, The Hangover II, The Tourist, Mr and Mrs Smith, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, Major Payne, White Chicks, Big Momma's House II etc. etc. etc.

Actually I don't think I've seen any of those films, and if I was going to see them I'd imagine I wouldn't have very high expectations. Bridesmaids has a rating of over 7 on imdb.

I've seen plenty of bad films, but maybe the fact I was in the cinema and couldn't just turn it off has lead me to the conclusion that Bridesmaids is, possibly, the least enjoyable film I have ever watched (and thus, for me, the worst).

elefant wrote: »
    Actually I don't think I've seen any of those films, and if I was going to see them I'd imagine I wouldn't have very high expectations. Bridesmaids has a rating of over 7 on imdb.

I've seen plenty of bad films, but maybe the fact I was in the cinema and couldn't just turn it off has lead me to the conclusion that Bridesmaids is, possibly, the least enjoyable film I have ever watched (and thus, for me, the worst).

You're talking about how your expectations were high and the film disappointed you. That's not the same thing as it being the worst film you've ever seen.

I was really looking forward to The Guard this year - thought it was going to be brilliant, it wasn't. In fact I was severely disappointed by it. Objectively though I know it's not the worst film I've seen this year even though it was the worst cinema experience I've had this year.

Yours pedantically,

AnonoBoy.