Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, are we angry enough yet for civil unrest?

• 01-02-2011 12:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭

simple question really, the proof of the need for it is online for all to see ;

the corruption,

the lies,

the coverups,

the wikileaks truth behind the token acts our government have taken part of with the vatican, the yanks rendition/soviet arms deal flights through Shannon,

the Corrib gas field,

IMF, ECB, goldman sachs and the rest,

Nama,

etc etc etc

the time is now imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Can I get angry after Mad Men on RTE 1?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

how is that going to help in the long run. violence is not the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Quick everyone in the back of the van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

This seems to be a case of shutting the door after the horse has bolted.....

IT was pointed out in your other thread on a number of occasions that protests at this stage are pointless. We have a general election coming up within the next month,at least wait till the new government shows how inept they are before you go around throwing chairs through windows and attacking police...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Being angry requires effort-i'm too tired and sick to put effort into something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

whoopdedoo wrote: »

the corruption,

the lies,

the coverups,

the wikileaks truth behind the token acts our government have taken part of with the vatican, the yanks rendition/soviet arms deal flights through Shannon,

the Corrib gas field,

Nama,

etc etc etc

the time is now imo

I started rioting, but no-one else showed up, so I took my free ATM machine home and am now trying to open it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

hondasam wrote: »

sure why don't we go read the elite a few nursery rhymes and see if they think they'll have to change a thing!

the spin machine/politics has well and truly begun and it already stinks of complete bullsh1t imo

how many more lies are we all going to swallow then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

This thread pops up every few weeks...

It's not going to happen... Your life is too good to warrant riots and civil unrest.

Come back to me when we are in real trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Didn't you ask us this last night too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Yeah! *throws petrol bomb through window* ... Oh sh1t! That was my house!!

This seems to be a case of shutting the door after the horse has bolted.....

IT was pointed out in your other thread on a number of occasions that protests at this stage are pointless. We have a general election coming up within the next month,at least wait till the new government shows how inept they are before you go around throwing chairs through windows and attacking police...

ya I caught that alright but I also caught the show of support to my theory that there might not be any harm in it

by my reckoning we're playing into their hands being so obedient

thats all I'm saying basically

sure why don't we go read the elite a few nursery rhymes and see if they think they'll have to change a thing!

the spin machine/politics has well and truly begun and it already stinks of complete bullsh1t imo

how many more lies are we all going to swallow then?

and you think civil unrest will make it all better. when I don't want to listen I just switch of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

It's the Irish attitude. ''Sure it'll be grand'', ''No need to fight'', ''Let somebody else do it''.

And then it's the hypocrites. When somebody decides to rebel and riots occur, they're considered as Anarchists, Scumbags, or even the Lower class to society.

So no wonder politicians, bankers etc. are doing what they're doing. They'll know they'll get away with it. I don't blame them.

No I'm not a banker, I'm just a student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

the corruption,

the lies,

the coverups,

the Corrib gas field,

Nama,

etc etc etc

the time is now imo

Whoopdedoo Basil.

and you think civil unrest will make it all better. when I don't want to listen I just switch of.

and there lies the problem imo

no slagging or nothing, we're all guilty of it but it's not the right response needed is it?

and there lies the problem imo

no slagging or nothing, we're all guilty of it but it's not the right response needed is it?

There is a problem in the country but violence is not the answer. How can you think civil unrest will help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's the Irish attitude. ''Sure it'll be grand'', ''No need to fight'', ''Let somebody else do it''.

And then it's the hypocrites. When somebody decides to rebel and riots occur, they're considered as Anarchists, Scumbags, or even the Lower class to society.

So no wonder politicians, bankers etc. are doing what they're doing. They'll know they'll get away with it. I don't blame them.

No I'm not a banker, I'm just a student.

LOL!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

Well it didint do much harm in Tunisia or Egypt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

The term "Internet warrior" was coined for a reason. Where you here when the protests were on? Every excuse in the book was used.

Civil unrest? Are you kidding me? When the opportunity to get the perfect 2nd post -- the 100 thanker -- in?

Naaahhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

em, no, we'll have a general election instead. If you're not impressed with the current choice, start your own political party.

Democracy is great, isn't it?

LOL!!!

sad really :(

Well it didint do much harm in Tunisia or Egypt

how did it help ?

did people die ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

f*ck civil unrest I'm going the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Bore off , troll OP. You already tried this on another thread and nobody was biting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

ya I caught that alright but I also caught the show of support to my theory that there might not be any harm in it

by my reckoning we're playing into their hands being so obedient

thats all I'm saying basically

Contrary to what a lot of people think,civil unrest is not the solution to our country's problems.

If you want to enact real change,stand for election yourself.

All the political parties in Ireland are the same,preaching a need to be extra careful with our money,making cuts to those they are supposed to lead,yet they still claim for every silly expense available,while earning huge salaries for failing to properly run this country.

A friend and myself were talking about the issue of expenses and salaries regarding one of our local politicians, Joe McHugh of FG. His wife is also a TD. Now when the 2 of them were in Dublin together they shared a hotel room,as any married couple would do,but the two of them still claimed expenses for two separate hotel rooms. Under law that is not illegal,but for fecks sake its not morally right.

My mate said anybody would do the same if they were in that position. If so then this country is beyond help.

Leaders lead by example, if that is the case Ireland is doomed :(

davyjose wrote: »
    The term "Internet warrior" was coined for a reason. Where you here when the protests were on? Every excuse in the book was used.

Civil unrest? Are you kidding me? When the opportunity to get the perfect 2nd post -- the 100 thanker -- in?

Naaahhhh!

I was at the ****ing things!!

the last one was great, serious turnout for such a bad day with the snow n all but it was a family protest, lots of parents brought their kids, some even in buggys ffs! there was no chance of it kicking off that particular day for sure.

where were you for the protests anonymous poster?

I have proof of my attendance, do you oh great "internet warrior??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I have proof of my attendance, do you oh great "internet warrior??

Pics or gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I like cake

Contrary to what a lot of people think,civil unrest is not the solution to our country's problems.

If you want to enact real change,stand for election yourself.

A friend and myself were talking about the issue of expenses and salaries regarding one of our local politicians, Joe McHugh of FG. His wife is also a TD. Now when the 2 of them were in Dublin together they shared a hotel room,as any married couple would do,but the two of them still claimed expenses for two separate hotel rooms. Under law that is not illegal,but for fecks sake its not morally right. My mate said anybody would do the same if they were in that position. If so then this country is beyond help.

Leaders lead by example, if that is the case Ireland is doomed :(

*speechless here :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

it'll never happen...we'll all just go the pub,bitch n moan then sing a few songs...like the sheep we are.

mikom wrote: »
    Pics or gtfo

here ya go ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I think the best thing to sort out a country in an economic melt down would definitely be massive damage to private property, public property, injury of loads of people, potential loss of life, the opportunity for the rest of the world to have another reason to think Ireland is falling apart, shutting down of city centres and disrupting the lives of many people who aren't involved and weren't asked.

but hey, I wear burlap and juggle so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

Id be all for civil unrest but what you gonna do then next year when the sh>t really hits fan and we're 10X more f##ked than now.
    Its like you only get to have 1 hissy fit and its a bit silly having it before things hit rock bottom, cos if you have to have a 2nd hissy fit it kinda belittles your 1st hissy fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

'Economic units' don't fight or protest, they just obey.

.same. wrote: »
    Id be all for civil unrest but what you gonna do then next year when the sh>t really hits fan and we're 10X more f##ked than now.
    Its like you only get to have 1 hissy fit and its a bit silly having it before things hit rock bottom, cos if you have to have a 2nd hissy fit it kinda belittles your 1st hissy fit.

you do have a point but if we pushed them now it would limit their greedy plans in the meantime!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Civil unrest is not the answer - but isn't it a sad state of affairs when even the notion of such is debated, whether for jest or seriousness. The fact that in Ireland, coming close to the centenary of the foundation of the republic that such options are being openly discussed as a choice just sickens me and despairs me for the future of my children.

I watched my 14 year old son play football over the weekend, and a father of one of the boys from the opposing team said to me - look at all those lads out there, in a few years time they will all be leaving this country, most never to return.
    Is this what I raised my kids for?
    Is this the legacy of greed and corruption?
    Is this the price that I have to pay for bankers and developers dirty dealings?
    Most likely the perpetrators will never have to account for their actions, in fact they will most likely be rewarded with gratuities and bonuses and pensions.

I will not be involved in any civil unrest, but I will not disapprove of anyone who is.

stoneill wrote: »
    Civil unrest is not the answer - but isn't it a sad state of affairs when even the notion of such is debated, whether for jest or seriousness. The fact that in Ireland, coming close to the centenary of the foundation of the republic that such options are being openly discussed as a choice just sickens me and despairs me for the future of my children.

I will not be involved in any civil unrest, but I will not disapprove of anyone who is.

I hear ya, I have 2 lovely girls myself and I'll tell you what's more sickening than the talks of civil unrest and that's the actual truth behind the foundation of the 26 county state in the first place!!

I am sick to death of hearing about our centenary tbh, it's been a load of bollix for almost 100 years and thats a fact, same families been in charge since he foundation of the state and they're flippin twisted to the core with the power and corruption all the while having a peaceful population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Are we angry enough...
    Yes. You'd need numbers though, and I've never seen a more apathetic people. The government walks all over us and we let them. We get taxed to the hilt but don't get the services. I have to do my own repairs on the car coz I can't afford the garage fees, then hitting potholes every day of the week, it's f#ckin scandalous, had my wages cut three times and another one on the way, people losing their homes and businesses... Nothing was done during the boom years to upgrade schools and hospitals etc., god knows where the money went, now big business has f#cked up and WE got to pay for it?
    I was angry enough this time last year. It won't get better, worse is to come. F#ckin right I'm angry enough, but a few hundred protesters won't do it. It seems ye haven't got it in ya. Shame.

I think the best thing to sort out a country in an economic melt down would definitely be massive damage to private property, public property, injury of loads of people, potential loss of life, the opportunity for the rest of the world to have another reason to think Ireland is falling apart, shutting down of city centres and disrupting the lives of many people who aren't involved and weren't asked.
    That's all right then. We'll do nothing.:rolleyes:
    How else do you tell the people in charge? You were asked. You don't want to be involved. Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I am sick to death of hearing about our centenary tbh, it's been a load of bollix for almost 100 years and thats a fact, same families been in charge since he foundation of the state and they're flippin twisted to the core with the power and corruption all the while having a peaceful population

Agreed. They should bring in a law that, if a member of your family has served in the Dail or Seanad in the past 50 years, you are not allowed to run for office.

'Economic units' don't fight or protest, they just obey.
    Yeah, like good little consumers. We got no roads where we live, but hey, we got ipods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

Johro wrote: »
    Yes. You'd need numbers though, and I've never seen a more apathetic people. The government walks all over us and we let them. We get taxed to the hilt but don't get the services. I have to do my own repairs on the car coz I can't afford the garage fees, then hitting potholes every day of the week, it's f#ckin scandalous, had my wages cut three times and another one on the way, people losing their homes and businesses... Nothing was done during the boom years to upgrade schools and hospitals etc., god knows where the money went, now big business has f#cked up and WE got to pay for it?
    I was angry enough this time last year. It won't get better, worse is to come. F#ckin right I'm angry enough, but a few hundred protesters won't do it. It seems ye haven't got it in ya. Shame.

Civil unrest would be the worst thing we could do now - as it would only stall the election.

We have a golden opportunity to send a strong message.
    Get out and get involved - make sure no one from FF gets elected in your constituency. A decimation of that party, in which a few of the 'sure seats' for FF don't get elected would be pretty strong.

Tell the canvassers and the FF apologists, don't rant and rave, just say what you said here, calmly. Tell them FF are finished as far as you are concerned.

Tell canvassers from other parties that your vote depends on retribution for the past (don't by the we have to look forward rubbish - we HAVE to learn from the mistakes of the past, and the only way politicians and those in power learn is if there is a real chance of them being prosecuted, or punished for wrongdoings). Tell the canvassers that the future of their party (in terms of your vote), be it FG or labour, or whomever, depends strongly on what they do to those responsible for this mess, on how cleverly they tackle the corruption, and how many Ivor's and Willies etc we see get away scott free on their watch.

No canvassers have shown up here yet, but if they do, that is what I will be doing. The more the message gets out there, the more they will adapt policies to fit what we demand.

We do need accountability at all levels in government and public service. If we don't demand it, it won't happen.

I know it seems a bit slacktivist - but fact is, an election is weeks away, and rioting will only hurt that.

and for the love of god, follow through and vote - whether you think it will make a difference or not, just do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Yeah, like good little consumers. We got no roads where we live, but hey, we got ipods.

Do you always steal quotes from the social network. (with a little change)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

the time is now imo

luckily for the country, your in the minority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

:mad::mad::mad:

Is that angry enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sure it's grand so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

its the only thing they will actually give a crap about , im not saying violence but but we need more of a French attitude , OFF WITH THEIR HEADS !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

That's all right then. We'll do nothing.:rolleyes:
    How else do you tell the people in charge? You were asked. You don't want to be involved. Fair enough.

I wasn't asked. ranty little threads on boards isn't asking - you'd have to ask the country. Some sort of vote if you will.... and we have that already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

the corruption,

the lies,

the coverups,

the Corrib gas field,

Nama,

etc etc etc

the time is now imo

Eh, bit late isn't it?

The time to have acted with protest and what not was when Cowen was still leader of FF and Taoiseach and the IMF had to come in. That could have given Shane Ross or whoever has the balls to take over the poitics of this country from the gombeens of FF, FG, Labour, SF and whoever else. It could have facilitated a clean out of the Dáil and refilled it with new, younger, dynamically thinking people.

But now we're stuck with Enda and Eamon. Parish pump politics continues.