Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour Keeps Double Parking

• 28-01-2011 5:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

My girlfriends neighbour keeps double parking outside her car. There is a car parked in front of and behind hers so she is unable to drive her car out. The street is a private street, no disc parking.

Initially she just asked him to move which he did but eventually she got tired of him continuing to park outside her so earlier in the week she nicely asked him to stop doing it which he said he would. He has since parked outside her twice and both times she asked him to move and politely asked him not to park there again. The second time she asked him not to park there she got a little attitude from him and he was not happy that she asked him not to park there. At this stage she feels a little bit intimidated by the guy. He was parked outside her car again today but has since left.

Has anyone been in a similar situation and managed to resolve it amicably? Obviously with the guy being a neighbour it is a sensitive situation. What are the options regarding council parking services as a last resort. Would they tow a car that has double parked someone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

To be honest the next time he does it I'd call the cops. She has been polite up to now and the guy is obviously an a-hole so treat him as such.

Manners cost nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

ok is it just me or is that really badly explained story?

From what I can tell there is private parking outside the house and someone is parking in the space outside where she lives.

If this is a case its a public road I dont see the problem. ie nothing you can do.

Maybe theres more to this I've missed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

From what I can tell there is private parking outside the house and someone is parking in the space outside where she lives.

If this is a case its a public road I dont see the problem. ie nothing you can do.

Maybe theres more to this I've missed.

I think the bit where she's unable to drive her car out might be the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I think the bit where she's unable to drive her car out might be the problem.

So why doesnt she move forward so he cant block her in. If the guy is blocking her in regularly ring the gaurds get it towed.

Pics to prove this first would help. Maybe she just finds gettin out of her street parkin space. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭-maccer-

So why doesnt she move forward so he cant block her in. If the guy is blocking her in regularly ring the gaurds get it towed.

Pics to prove this first would help. Maybe she just finds gettin out of her street parkin space. :D

Thanks for the responses.

She is parked outside her house. Parking on the street is parallel to the kerb on either side of the street. Her neighbours car is parked behind hers another neighbours in front. In fairness I don't think she should have to park elsewhere because this guy keeps parking outside her. Also there are free spots on the street elsewhere that this guy could park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

-maccer- wrote: »
    Thanks for the responses.

She is parked outside her house. Parking on the street is parallel to the kerb on either side of the street. Her neighbours car is parked behind hers another neighbours in front. In fairness I don't think she should have to park elsewhere because this guy keeps parking outside her. Also there are free spots on the street elsewhere that this guy could park.

why not leave space between her car and the second neighbours car then even if her first assface neighbour parks behind her she has room to get out

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

sierra117x wrote: »
    why not leave space between her car and the second neighbours car then even if her first assface neighbour parks behind her she has room to get out

my understanding is that the OP is parking in a spot along the kerb and is then being double parked like my diagram, maybe totally wrong though....

DoubleParking.png

kceire wrote: »
    my understanding is that the OP is parking in a spot along the kerb and is then being double parked like my diagram, maybe totally wrong though....

DoubleParking.png

Hi, yes you are exactly right with your diagram, thank you. That is the problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

My girlfriends neighbour keeps double parking outside her car. There is a car parked in front of and behind hers so she is unable to drive her car out. The street is a private street, no disc parking.

Initially she just asked him to move which he did but eventually she got tired of him continuing to park outside her so earlier in the week she nicely asked him to stop doing it which he said he would. He has since parked outside her twice and both times she asked him to move and politely asked him not to park there again. The second time she asked him not to park there she got a little attitude from him and he was not happy that she asked him not to park there. At this stage she feels a little bit intimidated by the guy. He was parked outside her car again today but has since left.

Has anyone been in a similar situation and managed to resolve it amicably? Obviously with the guy being a neighbour it is a sensitive situation. What are the options regarding council parking services as a last resort. Would they tow a car that has double parked someone else?

neighbour is a scum bag, report him

blocking someones car is a joke, my area here in cork is full of jack knacks parking left right and centre, people with no permits and such.

students parking all day.. this morning a warden put tickets on all the cars with no permits, about time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Hi, yes you are exactly right with your diagram, thank you. That is the problem!

f|ck that! report the f**ker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Parking like that is madness, if there is another car parked on the other side of the road could you even get by it?

You've (she's) been lenient enough, had polite words, asked repeatedly for himnot to do and hasn't worked, time to report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I think its best to call the cops at this point.

I hate being put in those kind of situations, however he has brought it upon himself and you cannot back down.
    I don't know where all these ignorant pricks are coming from, but their anti-social behaviour is really making housing estates a minefield.

Thank you all for the responses. Looks like we will have to take things further to resolve this. Would you advise speaking to city council or Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I'd call the Gardaí and tell them there's what looks like an suspicious abandoned car in the middle of the road outside your house. If you are lucky they might do a controlled explosion on it :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

I'd also consider getting on to your local fire station/ fire prevention section of your local authority. He is blocking access for the emergency services if there was a fire in a house on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

you say it's a private street. does that mean that it's part of a complex being looked after by a management company, or just that there's no paid parking?

if the first case, the management company should sort that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

No more Mrs. Nice guy. This eejit is taking the p because she is being nice about it. I would give it one more go without involving the Gardai. Next time he does it, she should tell him in no uncertain terms - move it, or she's getting the Gardai pronto.

We had a guy kept parking a huge lorry at a junction in our Estate at the top of my road. I could not see past him when I was coming up to junction so was turning blind out left past him. He lived at front of Estate and kept walking up the back to park it, as he did not want it down in front of his house.

First time, I was nice about it. He did not park again for ages but eventually returned. I nearly drove into another car trying to get round it and got a fright so I was vicious and in flying form by the time he turned up. I turned turk on him and ate the head off him. He went off like a rocket. Never came back with it after that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Take a photo and ring the guards every time he does it,There has to be a law against it!

He sounds like a proper pr**k!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Get two friends to park tight to his front and rear bumper..Ask one of your neighbours to allow you to get your car out..
    Leave the other two cars parked there for a week.. Just ring the Gardai and let them know your plan and just tell them it is payback:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I'd call the Gardaí and tell them there's what looks like an suspicious abandoned car in the middle of the road outside your house. If you are lucky they might do a controlled explosion on it :D.

Thus probably blowing up her own car too! ;) The street must be quite wide to be able to park two abreast like that, could he no park across at the other side of the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

My uncle had a similar problem, get the fake tickets out of the joke shop and stick em on their car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

you say it's a private street. does that mean that it's part of a complex being looked after by a management company, or just that there's no paid parking?

if the first case, the management company should sort that out.

Indeed, the management company should be contacted first. They might issue a formal warning and threaten to bring in the dreaded clampers, that might be enough.

If the public can drive along that road then, for the purposes of the Road Traffic Act, it is a public place and the normal traffic laws would apply, i.e. no obstruction or blocking access to a premises. Ownership of the tarmac is irrelevant, whether or not the public can access determines the road's status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

I'm not sure about the private vs. public angle. I have heard AGS asking whether a street/estate is private when being called about a parking issue. They seemed to be suggesting that they could not or would not intervene if it was private.

If the Garda can't help, maybe GoJak can. :)

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5648220351364086323#

http://www.pittman.ie/Departments/Wheel-Clamps-and-Parking-Permits/Vehicle-Moving-Jacks---GOJAKS.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

doubleparking1.jpg

Problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Stinicker wrote: »
    Thus probably blowing up her own car too! ;) The street must be quite wide to be able to park two abreast like that, could he no park across at the other side of the street?

Controlled, hopefully a nice smally explosion could be done on the boot :D

Something like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

kceire wrote: »

DoubleParking.png

Wow if that's the case he's an extremely ignorant piece of trash and his car should be burned out . Lets see if he leaves it there again .

Seriously though I keyed a neighbours car because he insisted on doing something similar on a regular basis and was such an ass about it when he was asked to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

Seriously though I keyed a neighbours car because he insisted on doing something similar on a regular basis and was such an ass about it when he was asked to move.

What?? You do realise at the very moment you did that you became worse than the neighbour....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

Not only is that neighbour being a complete d!ck about parking, he is quite clearly breaking the law.
    The same law that bans clamping is also applicable here.

3. Under Section 9 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 anyone without legal authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place shall be guilty of an offence

It’s my understanding that “public place” refers to an area to which any person has access and is not guarded by a gate or barrier.
    Therefore the “private road” issue has no bearing on this.
    Ring the guards and quote that section and see how far it gets you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

What you need to do to tackle this muppet is take note of what time he goes to work,the gym, what time he goes to visit hes mother. Then 10 mins before he usually leaves,get one friend to reverse back the road and park in front of him,have another friend to pull up behind him. then all go for a nice cup of coffee in your house. try that 3 or 4 times and he will get the message.

Or you could always be a good citizen and keep an eye on your neighbourhood. now if you thought there was someone acting suspicious around a neighbours house, you would have every reason to call the guards to get them to investigate. dont think they would be too impressed to find there path to there call out blocked by an abandoned car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Print out a few of these for the laugh.
    http://www.youparklikeanasshole.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

Superglue some a4 'Do not park here please' signs to their windscreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

leave a link to this thread so that he can see what a tit we all think he is....oh and some pictures would be good....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What you need to do to tackle this muppet is take note of what time he goes to work,the gym, what time he goes to visit hes mother. Then 10 mins before he usually leaves,get one friend to reverse back the road and park in front of him,have another friend to pull up behind him. then all go for a nice cup of coffee in your house. try that 3 or 4 times and he will get the message.

Or you could always be a good citizen and keep an eye on your neighbourhood. now if you thought there was someone acting suspicious around a neighbours house, you would have every reason to call the guards to get them to investigate. dont think they would be too impressed to find there path to there call out blocked by an abandoned car!

I would also do this but if/when he comes to your door to get the cars to move tell him you don't know who owns the cars and that you are in on your own.
    Let him stew a while.
    I've had people park half way across my drive to go the local sports club...can't get in or out.
    I left a note on a car windscreen one night asking politely not to park there again...got up the next day and they wrote under my writing that it wasn't a lorry i was driving and basically to feck off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

The easiest way is to ring the guards and tell them he is refusing to let her out despite being asked. The second tune they have to come out to him will be the end of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I had something similar to this with someone in my sisters estate. My advice is this.

Inform the management company in writing and by phone of his illegal parking and the nuisance he is causing.

Next time he does this go there yourself and ask him (without aggression) to move the car. Ask him is there a particular reason why he parks awkwardly like this. Then ask him not to park there again. Record the conversation incognito.

If he does it again, then ask him why he parked there, if he still has no reason then tell him not to park there again or it will be towed away. Again record the conversation.

Next time out just get it towed/clamped by the management company. Keep getting it towed/clamped every time he blocks you in. If he shows up at the house, record the conversation. Any hint of aggression tell him your off to the cops.

He will cop on once the bills start to roll in. Unfortunately aggression/vandalism/violence doesnt help here as you are automatically in the wrong and he will be in the right if caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

david wrote: »
    Superglue some a4 'Do not park here please' signs to their windscreen

Nah that would be just annoying and criminal damage too, another option would be to get those large a4 avery stickers and printout the sign from that link (youparklikeanasshole.com) and then position right over his field of vision forcing him to remove it before he drives off.

Iarnrod Eireann and Kerry General Hospital utilise such an approach with their stickers and it really pisses people off! However as the OP hasn't much luck so far maybe a word with the council or relevant parking authorities might help sort the matter, or maybe just of a taste of his own medicine by locking him in sometime with her own car to see how he likes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Stinicker wrote: »
    Nah that would be just annoying and criminal damage too, another option would be to get those large a4 avery stickers and printout the sign from that link (youparklikeanasshole.com) and then position right over his field of vision forcing him to remove it before he drives off.
    Seen a guy in a carpark in the UK putting them on the drivers and passangers windows. Big ones and the ones when you try to peel them off they go to shreds so they have to be scraped off bit by bit with a coin or key.

When I asked him why the side windows, he said he puts them there on ****ty days so they tend to drive off with the windows open, which gets the driver and the inside of the car sopping wet a bit further down the road, pissing them off even more and making them think a bit more about bad parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

good god i hope this isnt true, you could get yourself in a world of trouble for doing that:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Not only is that neighbour being a complete d!ck about parking, he is quite clearly breaking the law.
    The same law that bans clamping is also applicable here.

You know that clamping isn't illegal here?

OP

Not too sure how to deal with the neighbour bar calling the Gardaí. But I can't see them responding to someone being blocked in by a car in any type of reasonable time frame, they have more important things to be deal with.

What “legal authority” do any clamping companies hold?
    Road Traffic Act, 1933 167.—(1) Every person who, without the consent of the owner or the person in charge of a mechanically propelled vehicle and without other lawful authority or reasonable cause interferes or attempts to interfere in any way with the mechanism of such vehicle while it is stationary in a public place or gets on or into or attempts to get on or into such vehicle while it is so stationary shall be guilty of an offence under this section and shall be liable on summary conviction thereof to a fine not exceeding twenty pounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Del2005 wrote: »

OP

Not too sure how to deal with the neighbour bar calling the Gardaí. But I can't see them responding to someone being blocked in by a car in any type of reasonable time frame, they have more important things to be deal with.

...well, I'm doing my Truck Theory Test on Tuesday, and have the DTT test CD......and several times in the last few days, the same question comes up: When may you park across a person's entrance/property (or similar). Answer = only with the owner's permission. So, I'm assuming if you don't have permission, it's illegal. In which case the Gardai have to act, on foot of a complaint.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Should the cars numberplates happen to..."blow off in the wind", you could call the Gardaí and tell them an abandoned car blocked you in, they'll take it away and you won't have him parking there anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...well, I'm doing my Truck Theory Test on Tuesday, and have the DTT test CD......and several times in the last few days, the same question comes up: When may you park across a person's entrance/property (or similar). Answer = only with the owner's permission. So, I'm assuming if you don't have permission, it's illegal. In which case the Gardai have to act, on foot of a complaint.

good luck with the theory test!, im still studying:)

sorry completly off topic, truck forum needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

It's just you. The OP is perfectly clear. Do you know what double-parking is?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

They have the legal authority of the property owner to clamp vehicles on the property. There's load of talk about clamping being illegal but until its taken to court, or a law is passed, it's not illegal to clamp.
    galwaytt wrote: »

They aren't blocking access to a house. They are double parking outside the OP's GF's car.

I'm not doubting that the Gardaí will tow away the offending vehicle. What I'm saying is that illegal parking will be way down the list of calls that the Gardaí have to deal with so I don't think it'll work if the OP needs their car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

its OK OP....you can go out and stick stickers or a clamp on the car, you can block him in in retaliation ,threaten him, steal his number plates or even key his car.
    If he doesnt like it...tell him the lads on boards/ie said it was OK to do it....i'm sure he'll see reason then.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭taintabird

Report the ass wipe or have his motor towed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

That is the 1933 act. There has been two since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

OP; does he only do this to your g/fs car, or does he do it to anybody? If it's only your g/f, it could possibly be seen as harassment.

Get her to take a note of the date and time of every time he does it, as well as the date and time of when she has asked him to move or to stop blocking her in. Then make a complaint and statement to the Gardai, complete with the list she has made. If she has witnesses, provide their names and contact details (including yours). The Gardai may well at that stage have a word in his ear (although he could make a counter claim, even if it's bogus).

Following that, the next time he blocks her in get her to ring the Gardai, and refer to the statement already made. Let her point out that she feels that she is being harassed. Do this each time.

Good luck with it.

Del2005 wrote: »
    They have the legal authority of the property owner to clamp vehicles on the property. There's load of talk about clamping being illegal but until its taken to court, or a law is passed, it's not illegal to clamp.

They are not up holding any laws by clamping any vehicle. It is not illegal to park in 2/3/4 spaces. They are just lines on the ground. Yes you will look like an idiot and probably wind up in the “obnoxious parking thread” but there is no enforceable law requiring you to park within the lines, especially on private property.