Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie wishes he knew...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭bestleftfull3

put on liveline !!its going crazy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

Maybe he should have sent Dermot Ahern into every bank in North Dublin to find out what was going on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

put on liveline !!its going crazy :D

how many more times will an FF member shoot the party in the foot during this general election!! FG have the right idea keep Enda locked in his box until Feb 25th!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I had to laugh at that when I read it (and then posted it on my Twitter).

His words are unreal as Cowen on a golf course/after dinner meeting saying "we did not discuss business."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭bestleftfull3

kenny is as smart say nothing let them fight among themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

His biggest regret was not getting his Bowl built...
    O Cuiv's biggest regret was winning the 2007 election...

...Not 450,000 jobless, tens of thousands emigrating, families struggling, houses repossessed, tens of billions lost, small businesses pinned to the wall, a decade at least of stymied growth

This is what FF are and always will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

poor harmless innocent bertie , the tea lady in leinster house knew the banks were hip deep but not little bertie ( butter wouldnt melt in his mouth ) aherne , sure he was only taoiseach at the time , bless his heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Well he was the Minister for Finance who didn't have a bank account. He probably never darkened the door of a bank in his life. Always kept his money in a safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

how would he have known much about de banks, shure when he was de minister for finance he had not a bank account himself, he relied on his friends for de auld digout and de trip to see man. utd.

ye beat me to it joolsveer

gambiaman wrote: »

...Not 450,000 jobless, tens of thousands emigrating, families struggling, houses repossessed, tens of billions lost, small businesses pinned to the wall, a decade at least of stymied growth

Gambiaman ive being paralysed with anger the last few minutes and couldn't express myself but thank you, thank you very much for doing it for me and the rest of the country who are now realising what this snake Bertie Ahern is all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Agreed.
    FF are the proverbial bad apple.
    Not forgetting that FF almost broke the Euro project too.

FF need to be quarantined to the opposition benches for at least the next decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Bertie is not inhabiting the real world anymore. He seems to have brainwashed himself into thinking he did nothing wrong, like the way if you keep telling the same lies for long enough you eventually may come to believe them.

A reporter was talking to him the other night at some Fianna Fail gathering in Drumcondra, and when asked does he accept any of the blame for the current state of the party, he bluntly said no, he doesn't. 'Sure the party was in good standing when I left'. Just like the country Bertie, the sinking ship you deserted in the nick of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Guramoogah

Shur' what would Bertie know about banks? He never saw the inside of one and he didn't even have a bank account, the thick Jackeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Did you hear that b1tch just there on joe duffy - I'll be voting FF she said. Theres no hope for this cuntry.

Out of pure habit and obstinance it sounds liike. And she won't dare canvass. Id actually have liked if Joe pushed her as to why she was still voting FF. Loyalty to the party over the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

You are taking O'Cuivs comment out of context there. He was merely pointing out that the property bubble had been created by 2007 and that by then we were on course to an economic crash regardless of who won that election. I bet FG & labour are damn glad they didnt win that election now.

Wonder if Bertie still thinks that about the bertie bowl - I remember thinking at the time it seemed like such a cool project (As I was a teenager with only a vague interest in politics then). seems so vain now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

You are taking O'Cuivs comment out of context there. He was merely pointing out that the property bubble had been created by 2007 and that by then we were on course to an economic crash regardless of who won that election. I bet FG & labour are damn glad they didnt win that election now.

Wonder if Bertie still thinks that about the bertie bowl - I remember thinking at the time it seemed like such a cool project (As I was a teenager with only a vague interest in politics then). seems so vain now...

He was asked quite clearly what was his biggest regret over the past 14 years, nine of which he sat at cabinet during a discusion about the awful decisions taken in that period and that's what he said.
    Nobody had a gun to his head though VB demanding an answer usually has the effect of exposing these gombeens of whatever hue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

You are taking O'Cuivs comment out of context there. He was merely pointing out that the property bubble had been created by 2007 and that by then we were on course to an economic crash regardless of who won that election..

But O'Cuiv was a government minister for 10 years prior to 2007?

How can he try and distance himself by saying it all went wrong since 2007? FF have been sowing the seeds of destruction for a decade and O'Cuiv needs to recognise his responsibility, as does Bertie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Oh its just glorious isn't it ????
    How's these Fianna Fail fools are just tearing themselves asunder in desperation. Somebody give Brian Cowen a fiddle to play whilst FF burns :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Bertie should be prosecuted for criminal neglience and then get thrown into jail for the rest of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Its funny the way he says he wishes somebody told him what was going on in the banks but noone told him? and just last night i saw on prime time he was asked do you feel any shame of leaving fianna fail when he did and the state they have the country in and he said no it was 3 years when i left with a good approval rating? im not at fault. He has no regrets of his performance yet regrets not being informed of the banking situation.
    Typical fianna fail bollax excuses and then says he regrets that he didnt have a stadium built to add to his legacy. How can the man be in such good spirits when we have over 400,000 people on the dole ,100,000 emigrating and elderly people living in the dark freezig to death. The man is just like al capone and fianna fail was his criminal gang till he passed the torch to his ever so qualified accomplice mr brian cowen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

That was sickening what Porkie Pig said about the banks: wish somebody told me. Of he knew when he left the sinking ship. There was a meal with bankers in april 08. He left may 08. Cowen golfing with fitzpatrick in july 08. blanket bank guarantee in sept 08 which sank us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Nothing will ever change that excuse for a person. Knew nothing about the banks......tell us another one ya spoofer. Where is the Mahon report? I suppose it has been delayed again at the behest of FF. The spoofer will not be even challenged in the Dail.....nothing but a little rotter and a singular and prime example of the type you can get if you vote FF. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Bertie:

cee-lo-green-eff-u-o.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

My brother-in-law told me that Ahern was being interviewed leaving th Dàil today and some woman used the opportunity to tell him a few home truths, and he dismissed her concerns with some pathetic comment that there were always a few like that around the gates and that they just wanted to get on the telly!

Anyone have links to a clip of this?

When did Bertie leave Fianna Fail? Is he not still an FF TD? Is his imagination running away with him?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    My brother-in-law told me that Ahern was being interviewed leaving th Dàil today and some woman used the opportunity to tell him a few home truths, and he dismissed her concerns with some pathetic comment that there were always a few like that around the gates and that they just wanted to get on the telly!

‎20 seconds in and a woman comes in complaining with genuine anger about taxes and cuts to her wages, Berties reply to that; "people come along here to try and get on tv and radio". That's rich coming from Bertie, get back into your kitchen cupboard with your paper and stay there !

Also towards to end of the video (4:42 in) his main regret while running the country was that he didn't get his national stadium, sums it all up really, is it any wonder the country has gone to the wall.

I don't have a link but Joe Duffy played the clip numerous times on Liveline today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Somebody please kidnap porkie pig ahern and strap him to a pole in moyross, co. limerick. They'll put manners on him there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

hellboy99 wrote: »
    ‎20 seconds in and a woman comes in complaining with genuine anger about taxes and cuts to her wages, Berties reply to that; "people come along here to try and get on tv and radio". That's rich coming from Bertie, get back into your kitchen cupboard with your paper and stay there !

Also towards to end of the video (4:42 in) his main regret while running the country was that he didn't get his national stadium, sums it all up really, is it any wonder the country has gone to the wall.

I think his response to the woman who came up an expressed her anger towards Ahern was absolutely shocking. I feel that since he left office, Ahern's PR machine is now down to himself and his true media savvy is becoming quickly exposed without the likes of Terry Prone guiding him.

However, and there is a however, Ahern did not say that his "main regret" as the lack of a national stadium, he did mention the banks, unemployment, and recession before he got to that point. Being disappointed on Ireland's sporting infrastructure is a fair complaint in my books, but it isn't the greatest criticism nor cause for regret, nor did Ahern suggest it was in his case.

You are taking O'Cuivs comment out of context there.

wow just wow!! how could anyone still defend Fianna Fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

not so,that is like saying Liverpool are the worst team in Europe and will be forever.

Despite the Fact they are the most successful club in English football & have thee most european cups out of all english clubs.

This will stand for them,And although they are in difficulty they will come back bigger and better than ever.

Fianna Fail Pre 2008 were loved nationwide,Most of our population were working and everyone was happy.

This will be the case again.

wow just wow!! how could anyone still defend Fianna Fail!

I don't think he was defending FF, any objective individual could see that the comment was taken out of context, and any person with the ability to hear can bear witness that Ahern's biggest regret was not the Bertie bowl, or if it is that is not what he said in the clip.

The problem here is that anyone who points that out is automatically accused of defending Fianna Fáil. Apparently some posters simply feel they have a free ticket to lie about what is being said - it doesn't help the genuine case against Fianna Fáil to so blatantly misrepresent what a FFer has clearly said for all to hear. It does, however have the effect of discrediting such posters in my opinion. I mean as a Fianna Fáiler might say, if you are going to lie, at least lie about something that cannot be proven to be incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

not so,that is like saying Liverpool are the worst team in Europe and will be forever.

Despite the Fact they are the most successful club in English football & have thee most european cups out of all english clubs.

This will stand for them,And although they are in difficulty they will come back bigger and better than ever.

Fianna Fail Pre 2008 were loved nationwide,Most of our population were working and everyone was happy.

FF are incapable of making it happen again, they might inherit the foundation for stable economic growth in the future but will mess it up again. If you do not kill a weed at the root it will grow back.

later10 wrote: »
    I don't think he was defending FF, any objective individual could see that the comment was taken out of context, and any person with the ability to hear can bear witness that Ahern's biggest regret was not the Bertie bowl, or if it is that is not what he said in the clip.

The problem here is that anyone who points that out is automatically accused of defending Fianna Fáil. Apparently some posters simply feel they have a free ticket to lie about what is being said - it doesn't help the genuine case against Fianna Fáil to so blatantly misrepresent what a FFer has clearly said for all to hear. It does, however have the effect of discrediting such posters in my opinion. I mean as a Fianna Fáiler might say, if you are going to lie, at least lie about something that cannot be proven to be incorrect.

True,however to label FF as been "Tactical Liars" is a bit harsh.

Yes. But all politicians can be considered tactical liars at times, such is the nature of Public Relations and political spin. Even Mandela and John F Kennedy were hardly beacons of total political honesty all through their careers for goodness sake. It's part of political life. It isn't totally unreasonable to expect people to see through spin; however it probably is quite unreasonable to expect a perfect world where politicians never tactically bend the truth, where cars expel butterflies and guns shoot out bubbles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Bertie wishes he knew, lol, we wish we knew too, not about the banks bertie but about you.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Somebody please kidnap porkie pig ahern and strap him to a pole in moyross, co. limerick. They'll put manners on him there.

What does Moyross, Co Limerick have to do with it ? There are plenty of decent people living there....you do know that ?

Leave him at the side of the road in Crumlin or Tallaght......we're fussy about the type of people we allow into our city!

Better still, just put a padlock on the cupboard!

Yes. But all politicians can be considered tactical liars at times, such is the nature of Public Relations and political spin. Even Mandela and John F Kennedy were hardly beacons of total political honesty all through their careers for goodness sake. It's part of political life. It isn't totally unreasonable to expect people to see through spin; however it probably is quite unreasonable to expect a perfect world where politicians never tactically bend the truth, where cars expel butterflies and guns shoot out bubbles.

Completely off the mark putting that post in this thread.

Most politicians' "tactical lies" don't involve giving a tribunal of enquiry 5 conflicting explanations of the same thing.

Which reminds me, where IS that report that was due out almost 12 months ago ?

Completely off the mark putting that post in this thread.
    I am simply responding to the poster's quite reasonable comment. It's not off the mark nor off topic, and if you have a problem with it take it up with a moderator.
    Most politicians' "tactical lies" don't involve giving a tribunal of enquiry 5 conflicting explanations of the same thing.
    Who suggested it did? Who even mentioned Bertie Ahern in that post? God Liam Byrne sometimes the same old vitriol doesn't really need to be repeated, give it a rest.

Er......the thread is about Bertie....

The Bending of the Truth does not make it a lie,it has just been reworded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Your analogy doesn't work as Liverpool didn't cheat their way to success.

The blame does lie mainly with Fianna Fail as they set in train and pursued policies which effectively destroyed our economy.

The chickens are now coming home to roost which is why Fianna Fail enjoyed so much popularity up until 2008, however, most sensible people can identify where this all originated and won't be so quick to forgive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

TBH the fact that RTE have given airtime to this discredited man is testament to their total bias when dealing with all things FF.

I believe that he is lying when he states that he knew nothing about the bank crisis and he knows full well the way business was transacted under his watch.

diddledum wrote: »
    Your analogy doesn't work as Liverpool didn't cheat their way to success.

The blame does lie mainly with Fianna Fail as they set in train and pursued policies which effectively destroyed our economy.

The chickens are now coming home to roost which is why Fianna Fail enjoyed so much popularity up until 2008, however, most sensible people can identify where this all originated and won't be so quick to forgive.

We have gathered this much FF were and will again be a success.

However explain what you meant by,"Cheat their way to success",explain that please.

gandalf wrote: »
    TBH the fact that RTE have given airtime to this discredited man is testament to their total bias when dealing with all things FF.

I believe that he is lying when he states that he knew nothing about the bank crisis and he knows full well the way business was transacted under his watch.

This discredited man brought peace to an island torn apart for more than 1000 years & Improved infrastructure to this country greatly.

Bank/Government both seperate why/how would he know what was going on in the banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

This discredited man brought peace to an island torn apart for more than 1000 years & Improved infrastructure to this country greatly.

Bank/Government both seperate why/how would he know what was going on in the banks.

Boll*cks he did, it was down to the terrorists who wanted a truce. With his total lack of diplomacy they probably kept the little g*t in a back room away from the negotiations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

No he lorded up after all the hard work was done by a lot of more worthy people before him. People in the Republic, Northern Ireland , the UK and other countries.

The one man who deserves the gratitude of us all would be John Hume not this tainted opportunist who is the architect of the ceding of our financial sovereignty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

How pink and rosy are those rose-red tinted beer goggles you're wearing?

Yes Ahern had a hand in the peace process, but when stood next to the likes of John Hume the man is a blow-in. Yes he put a lot of time into the peace process, but so did many before him. I wont detract from him his dues for that, but nor will I claim that he brought peace, as if it was all down to his work.

As for the infrastructure ... there are lies, damn lies, and statistics. And then there's over-use of recreational pharmaceuticals. Which of the above would you like to apply to your infrastructure claim? What infrastructure did Ahern personally "ok" whilst disgracing the office of the Taoiseach? Or will you find that most of our current/recent infrastructure projects were conceived and started long before he ever dragged Ireland so low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

That would have to be the biggest load of horse dung I've heard in years..What a dipstick:mad:

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Boll*cks he did, it was down to the terrorists who wanted a truce. With his total lack of diplomacy they probably kept the little g*t in a back room away from the negotiations.
    Not so.

his negotiations of the Good Friday Agreement,which our Government and the British Government and most Northern Irish political parties created an "exclusively peaceful and democratic" framework for power-sharing in the north. This agreement was a huge achievement as not only was it endorsed by the political parties, it was endorsed both the British and Irish governments and the people here and in the north.

Thanks to Bertie the agreement, the ceasefires and political structures it made have encouraged peace big time,And improved our nations friendship with the british government and the former British Prime Minister, Tony Blair.

Blair even became the first Prime Minister of the United Kingdom to address Dáil Éireann.

And as The University Chancellor George Mitchell described Bertie he was/is "a man of peace and a builder of bridges"