Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late show 28th January 2011

• 26-01-2011 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭

What price Tubridy will show his true FF colours again this friday and give Martin the stage to start the FF election campaign ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

After his terrible interview with Martin the week before last when he randomly asked a question about Martin's poor daughter who tragically died before Xmas - I doubt Martin would want to go on. Martin was shocked the question was asked due to him being on on a political matter of ousting Cowen and got very uncomfortable. Despite this Tubs decided to continue on about her so much that Martin had to tell him it was not appropriate. Tubs showed a total lack of respect to not even bother asking Martin prior to the interview if he was willing to talk about it. If I were Martin I would tell him to **** off. But I suppose it's free publicity for the election so it's unlikely he would not appear.

Personal questions aside - if he does appear I am sure Tubs will be up his arse as he always is with FF'ers. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would not put it past him:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

eigrod wrote: »
    What price Tubridy will show his true FF colours again this friday and give Martin the stage to start the FF election campaign ?

FFS I really hope not Martin and Fianna Fail are getting enough bloody airtime already on RTE :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

This thread gets earlier and earlier each week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Brendan O Carroll and Bob Geldof are on tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

telekon wrote: »
    This thread gets earlier and earlier each week...

I'm working tomorrow tonight.. Telekon if I give you my login, will you post the following:

"Tubrdiy was crap, the guests were crap, Brendan O'Connor is better than Tubridy"..

for me at about 11.50pm tomorrow.. thanks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

I'm working tonight.. Telekon if I give you my login, will you post the following:

"Tubrdiy was crap, the guests were crap, Brendan O'Connor is better than Tubridy"..

You'd be safe enough posting that now the way this show has gone...................................................................................!!

Brendan O'Carroll - they wouldn't be trying to give Mrs Brown another plug wud they ???? (just a thought)

I'm working tonight.. Telekon if I give you my login, will you post the following:

But then there would be nothing else left for me to post... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

But then there would be nothing else left for me to post...

You had a whole evening tomorrow of finding a different way to phrase the same thing.. disappointed.. :( ....
    1966 wrote: »
    You'd be safe enough posting that now the way this show has gone....!!

I live in hope.. Last week's Saturday Night Show, I thought, was a solid, entertaining enough show ... with less that stellar guests. And that is what Tubridy should be able to make of the Late Late Show.. There's ALWAYS something interesting about a guest, it's up to the INTERVIEWER to find it.

You had a whole evening tomorrow of finding a different way to phrase the same thing.. disappointed.. :( ....

Yea well I'm out tomorrow night anyway. Get someone else to do your dirty work!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

Brendan O' F**king Carroll! If its not Twink, its him. Someone out there must find him entertaining, and if i find them.........i will commit unspeakable acts of cruelty on them.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6BwmZPlcBQGgY2KHmjp9byFR8sP_o_Z94_aw1v3B-MXRvppPUXg
    This image brings out an unreasonable level of violence deep within. Will be safer skipping the LLS tomorrow me thinks. Thank God for postponed xmas work nights out!

rebel10 wrote: »
    Brendan O' F**king Carroll! If its not Twink, its him. Someone out there must find him entertaining, and if i find them.........i will commit unspeakable acts of cruelty on them.

For some mad reason, he bothers me less now than he did in the 90s when he really was everywhere. The kids these days don't know the half of it...
    I was well and truely around in the 90's, he bothered me then and he bothers me now. He is still everywhere!

Only recently though. Just be grateful for the break we had from him the past few years.

He has also written four films and seven stage plays.I][URL="http://www.boards.ie/wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed"][COLOR=#0645ad]citation needed[/COLOR][/URL][/I These include The Course (1995), Grandad's Sure Lilly's Still Alive(1997), The Last Wedding (1999), Mourning Mrs Brown (2000), Mrs Brown Rides Again (2004), For the Love of Mrs. Brown (2007), and How Now Mrs Brown Cow? (2009)

Yea, while he was off doing the Mrs Brown shows across the Uk and Ireland, films, whatever, I didnt notice him at all in relation to tv or radio appearances. Now, this doesnt mean he wasnt doing any promotion or anything but I didnt notice. He hasnt had any tv programmes or anything anyway like he got in the 90s...
    Don't worry, he had his slot on the LLS for every one of them.

Damn...missed them!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

A few more details on tonight's show
    Former 'Boomtown Rats' frontman, Bob Geldof will join Ryan Tubridy on tonight's Late Late Show.

The Dun Laoghaire born singer, Robert Frederick Zenon or Bob, is preparing to release a new solo album 'How To Compose Popular Songs That Will Sell'.

Donal Gleeson, who played Geldof in a recent drama about Live Aid 'When Harvey Met Bob', will also join Tubridy on the show.

Also appearing are comedian Brendan O'Carroll and singer-songwriter Jamie Lawson.
    And Mr.Tubridy reports from twitter ...
    If you're staying in tonight, you might like to know that the delectable Patsy Kensit will be joining us for a chat on the Late Late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Sounds like an amazing show. Really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6BwmZPlcBQGgY2KHmjp9byFR8sP_o_Z94_aw1v3B-MXRvppPUXg
    This image brings out an unreasonable level of violence deep within. Will be safer skipping the LLS tomorrow me thinks. Thank God for postponed xmas work nights out!
    I never noticed it before but Brendan O'Carroll is a dead ringer for G. Gordon Liddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The reason we the LLS has crap guests is because they can't afford anyone decent, not very often anyway. It's taxpayers money after all. Would you prefer to pay for an A-lister and some poor soul not able to have a critical operation? Yes, depending on the A-lister.

I have alot of time for Geldof. The Live Aid documentary on Stephen's night was, although cheesy, very inspiring. Geldof got up off his hole and made a difference.

Also, Brendan O'Carroll's Mrs Brown is going to be on the Beeb soon, not just the NI Beeb, the actual one. Again, fair play to him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

There's definitely room for one more guest tonight - it's either Michael Martin or a person suffering from some horrible disease.

With the election campaign now on, let's hope the LLS stay away from politics altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Given the last few days coverage, i'm sure he will find some time to fit in the new Fuhrer. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Given the last few days coverage, i'm sure he will find some time to fit in the new Fuhrer. :rolleyes:

He'll have to tone it down a bit as FG could be his new paymasters, he will be getting his blueshirt laundered shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

There's definitely room for one more guest tonight - it's either Michael Martin or a person suffering from some horrible disease.

With the election campaign now on, let's hope the LLS stay away from politics altogether.

i'd say being part of fianna fail is a horrible disease :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Patsy Kensit will be talking about her fourth failed marriage i suppose:rolleyes:
    she's in to her coke so will be interested to see if she's on anything tonight :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

So Patsy, you used to be married to that mad rocker Gallagher. His mammy is Irish, tell us about that.

Or

Patsy, you have a daughter.. Does she have a boyfriend?
    *embarrassed* Dunno.. Next question.
    She does doesn't she? I can tell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 microdisc

Dosnt sound to bad for tonight but hope its not ruined by having politics on it again.

The reason we the LLS has crap guests is because they can't afford anyone decent, not very often anyway.

I wouldn't have thought RTE would have to pay guests to come onthe show. Remember, guests come on for one purpose: to hawk their wares to the Irish public.

Those that aren't selling anything are usually the RTE 'celebs' that are dragged out of the Montrose canteen when proper guests are low on the ground.

I can't imagine a Hollywood A-lister comes on the LLS for a couple of grand when they get paid millions per film...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

The brendon O'carroll segment should be interesting. 20 minutes of tubridy pretending to laugh at o'carrolls jokes & falsely complimenting him on Mrs browns dunce show.

Rest of the interviews should be decent enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

It looks like it will be a Good show looking forward to watching jamie lawson and Domhnall Gleeson he was excellent portraying bob geldof in the story of band aid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

The brendon O'carroll segment should be interesting. 20 minutes of tubridy pretending to laugh at o'carrolls jokes & falsely complimenting him on Mrs browns dunce show.

You find that interesting?

Besides, would it be that shocking if Tub was the only person in Ireland who absolutely loved the show? I don't think so...

If he does hate it I think we'll see that come out as well, as Tub is ludicrously transparent. I'll be reading or on the net, doing something else, but might switch on for a while.

You find that interesting?

I mean't interesting in a cynical way, not literally. I'd say tubridy would love to say, so Brendan how the fcuk does an infantile knuckle-dragger sitcom like that get such a positive response from the viewing public?...

MBB's is getting big tv ratings, he's probably been told to briefly mention this, compliment o'carroll on this fact & move on without questioning the contents of the program itself.

Then again tubridy isn't known for playing hardball with his guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Bob Geldof will join Ryan Tubridy on tonight's Late Late Show.

Donal Gleeson, who played Geldof in a recent drama about Live Aid 'When Harvey Met Bob', will also join Tubridy on the show.

'So Bob, they made a film about ya?'

'So Donal, what was it like playing Bob?'

'How did you like it Bob? Sure will you give us a song?'
    Also appearing ...comedian Brendan O'Carroll.

'So Brendan, you're the 'bottler' Brendan Grace of the next generation...'
    Brendan: 'Heh heh he, *insert stereotypical Dublin tripe of the cheeky chappie nature*'.
    Patsy Kensit

'So Patsy, you banged a few celebs in your time. That's a pretty dress you have on. Are you planning on banging anyone in the near future? Would you like to give Brendan a go? Tell us about the book ya slapper.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

SB-08 wrote: »
    After his terrible interview with Martin the week before last when he randomly asked a question about Martin's poor daughter who tragically died before Xmas - I doubt Martin would want to go on. Martin was shocked the question was asked due to him being on on a political matter of ousting Cowen and got very uncomfortable. Despite this Tubs decided to continue on about her so much that Martin had to tell him it was not appropriate. Tubs showed a total lack of respect to not even bother asking Martin prior to the interview if he was willing to talk about it.

Only an complete tool would do this, not that I needed proof or anything that Tubs is a brainless gobshíte. :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

SB-08 wrote: »
    After his terrible interview with Martin the week before last when he randomly asked a question about Martin's poor daughter who tragically died before Xmas - I doubt Martin would want to go on. Martin was shocked the question was asked due to him being on on a political matter of ousting Cowen and got very uncomfortable. Despite this Tubs decided to continue on about her so much that Martin had to tell him it was not appropriate. Tubs showed a total lack of respect to not even bother asking Martin prior to the interview if he was willing to talk about it. If I were Martin I would tell him to **** off. But I suppose it's free publicity for the election so it's unlikely he would not appear.

Personal questions aside - if he does appear I am sure Tubs will be up his arse as he always is with FF'ers. :rolleyes:

incredible - so much so that i'd have to see that interview. you got a link?
    I'm working tomorrow tonight.. Telekon if I give you my login, will you post the following:

dont know what you see in Brendan O' Connor johnny. he comes across to me as misogynist, tactless, awkward, wanna be bad boy who comes across as childish, surly immature insensitive and a leery perv.

amazing though, how hard it is to find a pleasant, impartial, intelligent, sensitive (as in aware/ decorum) insightful and caring (as in human) talk show host.

kelly460.jpg

SCARY!!!
    what is it????

ArtSmart wrote: »
    SCARY!!!
    what is it????

He arrived in a Delorean

said he was from the Future

SCARY!!!
    what is it????
    it's a man :rolleyes:

casio4 wrote: »
    it's a man :rolleyes:
    hmmmm...

ye reckon?

He arrived in a Delorean

said he was from the Future
    did he bring a weapon? like a sawn off shotgun perchance? with a mission to save humanity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

kelly460.jpg

children of the eighties who pulled sickies from school know who it is!!

"WHAT AM I?"

incredible - so much so that i'd have to see that interview. you got a link?

dont know what you see in Brendan O' Connor johnny. he comes across to me as misogynist, tactless, awkward, wanna be bad boy who comes across as childish, surly immature insensitive and a leery perv.

amazing though, how hard it is to find a pleasant, impartial, intelligent, sensitive (as in aware/ decorum) insightful and caring (as in human) talk show host.

They're both fairly sh!te presenters in my opinion.

Tubridy - posh little arse licker who never actually challenges his guests with proper questions. Probably listens to modern jazz & wears jumpers around his neck in his spare time.

BOC - a monotone voiced, awkward looking, truely uncharismatic presenter. A face for radio as they say. Im amazed any non-Irish people he has on the show can understand him.

They're both better than Pat Kenny though. But thats not saying much.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS1ODddyJfo8wYequpJMaQeiubEiLu6mxwdyge5xsR2OvxlCtPP
    here is his weapon and his name is Henry Kelly :D
    why are we talking about him is he on the show? :confused:

casio4 wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS1ODddyJfo8wYequpJMaQeiubEiLu6mxwdyge5xsR2OvxlCtPP
    here is his weapon and his name is Henry Kelly :D
    why are we talking about him is he on the show? :confused:
    just a little left field stuff from skelliser. sept 23

he does look like a future tubbs. to reiterate. scary.

might chance the western on tg4, though looks pretty dated. but has Burt Lancaster,John Carradine,(David's Dad) , Walter Matthau in it.

let me know when the mouth sir bob is on.

it dreadful. back to the bony one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Is Bunny Carr still alive?

deelite wrote: »
    Is Bunny Carr still alive?

No Ecstasy overdose 1991