If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Scrap Metal

• 26-01-2011 11:28AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭

Lads anyone know the price of scrap metal?? iv to take away a trailor load or stuff. car doors, bonnets, jcb buckets etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just loading up one now, will let you kbow later was over €100 euro a tonne before xmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

whelan1 wrote: »
    just loading up one now, will let you kbow later was over €100 euro a tonne before xmas

Thanks whelan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

heard €110 in athlone

rs8 wrote: »
    heard €110 in athlone

Hammonds Lane?? Sounds good, although i be nearer to Mountmellick at the mo.
    Id say its much the same everywhere, yeah??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭aristo

From €170 to €200 for mixed scrap, and €240 for heavy scrap last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭aristo

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Hammonds Lane?? Sounds good, although i be nearer to Mountmellick at the mo.
    Id say its much the same everywhere, yeah??

Hammond lane will drop you a skip and take the 1st tonne to cover collection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

yes hammond lane but not a 100% its 110 €, id say your right its in or around the same price

aristo wrote: »
    Hammond lane will drop you a skip and take the 1st tonne to cover collection

Just as handy bring it down. Have half the trailor loaded anyway. only half hour from athlone so it aint a bother

€120 per tonne in duleek , went twice with jeep and trailer , got 100 euro and 120 euro cash :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Molloy metals, Ballycarney, Wexford went with old galvanised sheeting beffore xmas, got 96 cash. Though id reckon there was more paint/rust than metal:rolleyes:

€120 per tonne in duleek , went twice with jeep and trailer , got 100 euro and 120 euro cash :)

Probably a bit far, from with the jeep. im in tullamore. Id say Hammonds lane in Athlone be the fairest??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

up north last i heard was 160 pound a tonne. great with the exchange rate now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭stanflt

got 140 last week in imr duleek. got 90 for a copper cylinder:)

brought an old 8 tonne meal bin in today, had asked them yesterday did it need to be cut down , they said no , just so long as it is empty:) then when we went intoday he took 20 euro off the price as he would have to cut it down- asshole:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

€20 wouldnt buy many cutting discs for the grinder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

does anyone know if a copper cylinder is of any value if you are going to re plumb an old house. Thereis an old house of my grannies which i am considering renovating an there is an old cylinder in it which was working up until recently. it would be a bit stupid to sell it for scrap and then have to buy a new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Bog Man 1

Molloy metals, Ballycarney, Wexford went with old galvanised sheeting beffore xmas, got 96 cash. Though id reckon there was more paint/rust than metal:rolleyes:
    They collected a load including an old car at 160 a tonne . If it was under 4 tonne there would be no payment. I got over 1000 Euro.
    What is the vat situation with scrap ?. We are registered for Vat so paid it in and issued a docket . But some wise men said there was no need .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Waddy

€180 in wexford there

Waddy wrote: »
    €180 in wexford there

Feck:eek: thats alright
    I have an ould mazda, should i pull the engine out of it to?? will they take the engine like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Jack C

Anyone know what heavy scrap is making. I've an auld tracked digger, she must be 13 ton.

Just if anyone is interested. Hammonds lane, athlone quoted me 100e a tonne. I went to mountmellick in the end. A1 metal recycling i think its called, 130e a tonne. Just if anyone around the midlands is thinking of going with a load, my advice would be ring around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

went to haughey in keady on saturday got 170pounds a tonne for scrap steel

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hi Jack c
    you should be able to get 200e a ton for a digger, shop around.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Hi Jack c
    you should be able to get 200e a ton for a digger, shop around.

thats heavy steel yea? Would buckets and ould farm machinery be included in that? I mean the real ould heavy mower yokes. I did say to the man in mountmellick about the buckets and he said its still scrap metal so maybe they only give one price for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭toshy321

Have a trailer load or 2 of scrap metal lying about just wondering where is giving the best price per tonne in the meath westmeath area.

I just got a rough price of the lads here and rang around my local area to see who was best. Around 130 a tonne is good but the uncle got 160 a tonne last week. I think because he had a lorry and vanm load and will again this week as its for charity. I reckon 130+ would be sound:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭toshy321

Yea seems too be around that kind of price alrite the best iv got was 150 from Wallace Mullingar doubt i'll do much better than that.

anyone go recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

anyone go recently?

Our football club got Eur200 per ton (collected) in the last few weeks. Lorries that collected it were Hammon Lane, but I think they were sub contracted by the Dublin Docks based buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭stanflt

anyone go recently?

went with the ruscon trailer to duleek last week-left the silage sides on and just dumped it in over-had anything from an old whisk agitator to rebar- 1.9ton which was a bit disappointing but still got 290