Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Movie Villains

• 25-01-2011 1:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭

Threw The Matrix into the DVD player for the first time in a long time today and the thing that struck me on this particular viewing was how exceptional a villain Hugo Weaving portrays Agent Smith as. A character with no redeemable traits whatsoever.

Anyway, I'll open the floor - who's your 'favourite' movie villain you love to hate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'll just leave this here:

301776DIE+HARD+Hans+Gruber+handsome.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

zorg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭PauricTheLodger

barney_live_in_ny_-_childrens_movie.jpg

Chilling...

For reals:

96aea3996d4261ecad51eaf1b6a7f4fe.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭FlashD

... that dude from Star Wars :)

Can't think of a more charismatic bad guy, comes in top on these kind of polls all the time.

RopeDrink wrote: »
    M.Bison from the godawful StreetFighter (The Movie) purely because Raul Julia gave a fantastic performance despite said performance being in one of the worst movies imaginable.

"This is merely superconductor electromagnetism. Surely you've heard of it!"

That always gave me a chuckle whenever he said it in his shìthead tone. Plus Raul was eaten away by cancer during filming which left him looking gaunt, something a lot of people gave out about considering Bison was supposed to be huge but I liked him, right amount of cheese.

Plus that bit at the end were he raises his hand from the rubble was a sign of respect from the film-makers to Raul after he'd passed away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

A lot of the time I don't mind the bad guy, sometimes I even like them and want them to "win".
    But imho, the worst fùcker that I really really want to see die a horrible death is Frank from Once Upon a Time in the West

once_upon_a_time_frank.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

320x240.jpg

What an utter dickhead in Robocop and Total Recall :D

3764.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

And while we're at it.
    jaws0002.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

RopeDrink wrote: »
    M.Bison from the godawful StreetFighter (The Movie) purely because Raul Julia gave a fantastic performance despite said performance being in one of the worst movies imaginable.
    Duggy747 wrote: »
    What an utter dickhead in Robocop and Total Recall :D

3764.gif

I'd be of the same opinion about Raul an eccentric bad guy performance and enjoyable to watch.

Ronnie Cox is also excellent in a lot of 80's/90's films and was also excellent as Captain Jellico and Sen. Kinsey in Star Trek and Stargate
    My mind is full of SQL at the moment but im sure ill think of more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Sagat06

ed_rooney.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

darth_vader.jpg

Kinda amazed nobody has mentioned Darth Vader yet! The ultimate in movie bad guy. From the moment he appears on screen in A New Hope, calmly looking over the dead bodies of his own men and the rebels (scored with sinister menace by John Williams), you just know what this is the baddest badass in that galaxy far, far away.

The black armour, the black cloak, the sinister mechanical breathing, the booming baritone voice, the towering 6' 6" frame, choking people from 10 paces with a thought... Everything about Vader just made him so evil. Everytime he set foot on screen, all attention was drawn to him. Everyone was terrified of him; even the all powerful Emperor knew that Vader was always going to plot and plan to take over and feared him. Vader's own men knew that the price of failure was most likely death by his hand. Everyone was in awe of him.

amongoeth.jpg

Another iconic movie villain for me was Ralph Fiennes' portrayal of Amon Goeth in Schindler's List. The sneering, cold, diabolical face of Nazism. Purely sadistic and utterly ruthless, Goeth was one of the most repugnant roles ever. Taking joy in standing on the veranda of his mansion overlooking a concentration camp and firing his rifle down at the prisoners, he was not above having sex with his Jewish maids when it suited him. Fiennes played Goeth with such subtle, purring menace that it horrified some of the real Schindler-Juden who visited the set.

alien_xenomorph_02.jpg

The most unlikable extraterrestrial lifeform ever committed to celluloid... From the original Alien all the way through the film series, spin-offs, etc. and this thing has become one of the most feared and reviled creatures in the universe. It has absolutely no redeeming features whatsoever. It merely exists to keep its own species going. Like wasps, they live in colonies made by a queen and only really exist to fúck up other people's lives. Their imagery was designed to be disturbing, using imagery of both human male and female sex organs in their design, in order to create subconscious feelings of rape whenever they were onscreen. This alone makes them desperately unlikable villains.

scorpio.jpg

A sad and twisted loner who struck terror into the hearts of the citizens of San Francisco. Using a cowardly method of attack initially (sniping his victims from far away) before graduating to kidnapping and raping a minor, Scorpio from the original Dirty Harry was nothing but worthy of contempt. He appeared to be so menacing and powerful, but quickly came to be seen as a coward and somewhat pathetic. This was best illustrated in the infamous scene on the football field (where it was revealed he lived in his modest abode of the groundskeeper's hut) when he pleads and wheedles for his life, while refusing to give Harry vital information. He then desperately resorts to threatening and intimidating innocent children in the film's final showdown, caring little for their lives or for anyone else's.

Andy Robinson played this character with such flair and gave Scorpio such an unhinged edge that he is forever remembered as one of the great cinematic villains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

D8C800F966EE4257A9B121CFAF24D41A-0000336305-0002138963-00500L-BCB75622B6BC4F32AC7587F6F2CD3CB4.jpg

The MAN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭ryaner012

vigo.png

not exactly a man of the people. Also known as Vigo the Cruel, Vigo the Torturer, Vigo the Despised, and Vigo the Unholy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Dermighty wrote: »
    zorg.jpg
    oldmanleon11142987344.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Apologies in advance for back-seat modding...

But seriously, lads, this thread is going to get locked quicker than I do on New Year's Eve... List threads and all that.

Try and to include more than just a picture or a list in the posts...

Again, sorry for back-seat modding.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Dennis Farina as Jimmy Serrano in Minight Run. Some of the lines are just brilliant:

Jimmy Serrano: You and that other dummy better start getting more personally involved in your work, or I'm gonna stab you through the heart with a ****in' pencil. Do you understand me?

Jimmy Serrano: Don't say a word to me, Sidney, don't say a ****ing word to me. I'll get up and I'll bury this telephone in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Harrocks

Lee van cleef as angel eyes in the good the bad and the ugly.Cold hearted fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

500full.jpg

I don't think this guy gets enough credit. He was the true evil of the Star Wars Universe, even if Vader was cooler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ryaner012 wrote: »
    vigo.png

not exactly a man of the people. Also known as Vigo the Cruel, Vigo the Torturer, Vigo the Despised, and Vigo the Unholy

"He is VIGO!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭hairy sailor

Ben Kingsley in sexy beast total physco that you could never reason with,
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTxeUbZcaAQx5_7vV3bMsgcnt0UFx2SlbRhq7BOkBWxdtvjWwts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

26 posts and not a mention of T-1000 to be found?! :eek:

He is my favourite movie villain of all time by some distance. Watching Judgement Day for the first time was so incredibly intense. I'll never forget watching it for the first time, and positively crapping myself during
    John Connor's phonecall home - when the camera pans away from the stepmother and you see the liquid arm going through step dad's throat :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Like the OP said. Hugo Weaving was one hell of a villain in The Matrix trilogy. I think he was liked/hated so much, because at least you could see emotion in him compared to Neo. Strange, considering he's the F*cking computer programme! His interactions with Neo are pure class. And the scene with Morpheus later on in the first movie is excellent too
    talking about how he wants out of the Matrix, and talking about the smell etc
    He's just an out and out badass!

Paul Giamatti in Shoot Em Up as well! What a hero! The lines he drops throughout the movie are just so ridiculous. How he comes to guess Smith is gone to a lactating hooker etc... Plain ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

cape-fear.jpgcapefear1.jpg

Robert Mitchum and Robert De Niro as Max Cady in the Cape Fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

krudler wrote: »
    "He is VIGO!"

Wasn't he also Vigo the Butch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Danger_dave1

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTYAhCTHo3VZ7EQ0-cugzbEBvilDyjnV2lSpoD7CJzitlGBckHy1w

John Lithgow great villain in Cliffhanger. No redeeming features !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

pennywise-the-clown.jpg?w=327&h=260

Pennywise the Clown is truly one of films most frightening characters as even after you finish watching the movie you will never truly shake how evil he is and possibly sleep with the light on

_arquivo_hannibal_lecter-copy.jpg
    Hannibal Lector, need i say more except "fss fss fss fss fss!"

Verbal
    "Kaiser Soze"
    Kint and John Doe are some of the finest villains put to celluloid, both played by the brilliant Kevin Spacey
    John Doe's malevolence just oozes off the screen in the final confrontation with Brad Pitt and like Verbal gets the outcome that he wanted all along

seven.jpg

verbalkint.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

^^Jesus man, spoiler tags. SPOILER TAGS!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

ryaner012 wrote: »
    vigo.png

"He didn't die of old age, either. He was poisoned, stabbed, shot, hung, stretched, disembowelled, drawn and quartered."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

I DRINK YOUR MILKSHAKE!!

art-021708.jpg

also:

12billthebutcher,+Gangs+of+New+York.jpg

chigurh.jpg?w=462&h=296

14Commodus-gladiator.jpg

terminator_5_t1000_Robert_Patrick_1.jpg

1The+Joker,+The+Dark+Knight.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

user1367_1160662902a.jpg
    Open wide for the Nazi Dentist! Laurence Olivier plays the villain in "Marathon Man" (1976) which put many people of visiting the dentist for years to come.

night-of-the-hunter-robert-mitchum.jpg?w=400&h=300
    Robert Mitchum is the religious preacherman we "Love" to "Hate" in "The Night of the Hunter"(1955) and he hates kids too when he's not busy praying and murdering the adults. Watch this if you haven't seen it yet as it has fantastic cinematography and suspence. One of the original southern gothic horrors...

1750.jpg
    Russell Crowe in a very early and commanding lead role as "Hando", the leader of a neo-nazi australian skinhead gang. "Romper Stopmer" (1992) is a pretty violent film with a strong storyline and much of it was adapted from the real-life antics of infamous australian skinhead gang leader Dane Sweetman who's gang bashed Asians and gays, and firebombed synagogues in the late 1980s. He went to prison for murder eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

I would beat this bitch, what a film

OneFlewBibbit3.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Please dont post a pic or just give a villain's name without giving your reasons for your choices. This is discussion board, not a dart board. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

6a00d8341c5d9653ef0134803ee630970c.jpg

Glenn Close as Alex Forrest in Fatal Attraction - the original bunny boiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭GarH

brick_top.jpg

Bricktop from Snatch. He looks harmless with his huge glasses.
    When he starts talking about the
    Brick Top: You're always gonna have problems lifting a body in one piece. Apparently the best thing to do is cut up a corpse into six pieces and pile it all together.
    Sol: Would someone mind telling me, who are you?
    Brick Top: And when you got your six pieces, you gotta get rid of them, because it's no good leaving it in the deep freeze for your mum to discover, now is it? Then I hear the best thing to do is feed them to pigs. You got to starve the pigs for a few days, then the sight of a chopped-up body will look like curry to a pisshead. You gotta shave the heads of your victims, and pull the teeth out for the sake of the piggies' digestion. You could do this afterwards, of course, but you don't want to go sievin' through pig ****, now do you? They will go through bone like butter. You need at least sixteen pigs to finish the job in one sitting, so be wary of any man who keeps a pig farm. They will go through a body that weighs 200 pounds in about eight minutes. That means that a single pig can consume two pounds of uncooked flesh every minute. Hence the expression, "as greedy as a pig".
    Vinny: Well, thank you for that. That's a great weight off me mind. Now, if you wouldn't mind telling me who the **** you are, apart from someone who feeds people to pigs of course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Warden Samuel Norton, what a d-bag, completely corrupted by power and greed.
    suicideshawshank.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

predator.jpg

The Predator

He hunts and kills merely for his own sport... what a c*nt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    predator.jpg

The Predator

He hunts and kills merely for his own sport... what a c*nt...

In fairness, the Predator has a code of honour. He will not kill anyone who's unarmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Scar from the Lion King, seeing him murder his own brother on the big screen was a shocking moment in what is essentially a kids movie.
    Mufasa-vs-Scar-the-lion-king-2801551-640-380.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

In fairness, the Predator has a code of honour. He will not kill anyone who's unarmed

Hmm, true, very true... I like the guy, really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭baz909

Gene Hackman in Unforgiven .... brilliant performace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭hairy sailor

Better not forget this little beauty.images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTmlzA1nRFf2Y5mGNku7I3KSW0zVOpAmC82HftbGa7g8tGguDdrhA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

"An hour is plenty of time..":

pelham.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

godfather_l.jpg Nothing short of evil in the godfather part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

BopNiblets wrote: »
    oldmanleon11142987344.jpg

Yup, Oldman gives in an amazing performance. Scary bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Can't believe nobody has mentioned this villain

Still scares the crap outta me to this day

chitty_chitty_bang_xl_01-1.jpg

chitty2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Biff.jpg

Across multiple time-lines and realities this guy is such a classless a-hole. An angry bully that just makes everyone's life worse. He's awesome. Even though he loves Lorraine he uses it as a threat ('you will be my wife!') and would turn her into a bitter, submissive plastic alcoholic. He also keeps giving out to his future self while all he's trying to do is make him rich with the almanac!

Best villain ever - Biff Tannen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Don't forget this bitch! No redeeming features what so ever, pure evil and a film icon from the 1930s! Like every woman she liked her shoes...
    Wicked_witch.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

lost-highway-robert-blake.jpg

Lynch has created some real monsters in his movies but the Mystery Man in Lost Highway is one of the creepiest. The home intrusion and voyeurism alone are unsettling and his mannerisms and movement, while classic Lynch, work to make one of his abstractions quite a real villain.