Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think the funboy fashion will catch on here?

• 25-01-2011 1:42am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

If you go to a lot of the clubs in England and Scotland they are full of "guys" in skinny jeans, wearing glasses with no lens, pointy elf shoes, cardigans and so on. The Gok Wan/Russell Brand school of dress. Funboys.

Anyway, this isn't to debate whether or not it's an absolutely disgraceful way of life, I'm just wondering why it hasn't caught on as much in Ireland. Obviously there are lots of people like that here but nowhere near as much as in the UK.

Will it catch on more? Why has it not? Is it because stuff like U14s GAA beats it out of you? Whatever the reason, perhaps this country isn't as broken as we think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm just wondering why it hasn't caught on as much in Ireland. Obviously there are lots of people like that here but nowhere near as much as in the UK.

WTF are you on about? There are are lots of people like what here? but it hasn't caught on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

You've obviously never been to the Workman's club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Haha, "funboy", is that their official name? I can't keep track of all these styles, goths: ok... emos: ok.. I think I know which ones they are, hipsters: wait... which ones are they?
    "Scene girls": uhhh... who? Metrosexuals: you mean the fake gay lads?
    Now "funboys".... oh I give up, you all look silly, GET A HAIRCUT!

raahbbk4ti8va7lpfxtr753.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

they are everywhere..your just getting old, fashin changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

funboys, lol :D

Its like something my dad would say for gay men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

You've all seen the video, it really does sum it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

^ABOVE^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I have a 6'1, 9 stone mate who wears all the above, sometimes in conjuction, except for the non-presciption glasses. Really sound lad and the chicks dig him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

Is Paul Galvin a funboy?:)

I'm just glad i'm in this thread on the first page, so when it gets really popular and cool, I can tell the rest of Boards

"i was into that thread before it became cool! it's a bit mainstream now."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Go into topman on grafton street on any given day and the place will be full of them.. They look as bent as christmas ribbons and I for one am happy they're not in the majority!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Will it catch on more? Why has it not? Is it because stuff like U14s GAA beats it out of you? Whatever the reason, perhaps this country isn't as broken as we think.

Good one....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭IHeartChemistry

Are you talking about the closeted gay 15 year old boys that walk around with the fake accents trying to sound posh and upmarket thinking they are the ****?
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I hate very few but my god do I hate these vacuous pretentious "poser" ar$eholes.

That dickhead video is so so so soo spot on.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Funboy?

They are all fecking indie kids into their Vampire Weekend and bands alike.

Music influences style - those indie bands in the UK arent as big here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Senna wrote: »
    WTF are you on about? There are are lots of people like what here? but it hasn't caught on here?

I really can't say it in a simpler fashion. If you don't understand what I posted then maybe this thread isn't for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Good grief, man, they're already here in our cities! Whatever about the silly glasses, old man cardigans with buttoned up shirts, pointy shoes (or Converse), disheveled (but maintained) hair, designer stubble, scarves, those wooly hats that cover your ears and look more suited to a kettle, big leather belt, and all that mullarkey.............

....it's the skinny jeans I can't accept............bloody rotten looking. They look like malnourished cartoon stick figures with these two little twigs sticking out from under their wooly jacket.
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    You've all seen the video, it really does sum it up!

^^ Because of this I can't walk by one of them with singing in my head "Got on a train to Cambrigdeshire, mooooooved down to an East Lon..........Don flat...." :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

It's all the fault of those Apple Macintosh internet machines. You don't see Microsoft's customers carrying on like this.

Aldito wrote: »

this was the first thing i thought of when I saw the word "funboy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

funboys, lol :D

Its like something my dad would say for gay men.
    Your dad considers gay men funboys? 0_o

Oooooookay ... >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Bloody hipsters, I take a year off from college to work, go back and all the girls have gone from dressing like they're going clubbing to dressing like they're going to play Dungeons and Dragons.

I hate non-sexy fads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

just drop into trinity any day and there's loads of them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Hipsters are a subculture of men and women typically in their 20's and 30's that value independent thinking

..... I guess that's why they have a dress code.

Tools.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Hipsters/Goths/Emo's/Skangers

Whatever I think you are a Retard if your non conformist and unique dress sense can be categorised so easily.

what pisses me off tho is that I've had (for want of a better word) a Style that I consider fairly unique to me without being massivley standout different, but now these Hipster Creatures are starting to wear the same sorts of things, but managing to look like absolute idiots as they have no idea how the style evolved or what the primary reasons for a lot of the decisions were, Shirt V Tshirt, Jacket V Jumper, Chinos V Slacks etc.....
    they are Vacuous Retards.

and those Skinny jeans, Next Hipster I see wearing skinny jeans and some retarded oversized jumper ( I live in QLD its Feckin Sunny) I'm running them over in my BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Grr, skinny jeans on boys=not hot. I want a bitta muscle from man-legs.

Plus, I have no idea how this no-lenses glasses thing caught on, but its pretencious, annoying and plain pointless! I used to wear black-frame prescription glasses, but now wear contacts most of the time so I dont get lumped in with the knob-jockey fakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I have a 6'1, 9 stone mate who wears all the above, sometimes in conjuction, except for the non-presciption glasses. Really sound lad and the chicks dig him.
    9 stone is very light!:eek:

I think I know one too! Maybe not to the extremity of that video, but VERY similar.
    It's a strange look, but then I think all of them are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

MrStuffins wrote: »
    this was the first thing i thought of when I saw the word "funboy"

Me too.

The world can never, ever see enough of that clip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Pace2008 wrote: »

I'm 5'2 and 14 stone, could i carry this look?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hipsters/Goths/Emo's/Skangers

Whatever I think you are a Retard if your non conformist and unique dress sense can be categorised so easily.

what pisses me off tho is that I've had (for want of a better word) a Style that I consider fairly unique to me without being massivley standout different, but now these Hipster Creatures are starting to wear the same sorts of things, but managing to look like absolute idiots as they have no idea how the style evolved or what the primary reasons for a lot of the decisions were, Shirt V Tshirt, Jacket V Jumper, Chinos V Slacks etc.....
    they are Vacuous Retards.

and those Skinny jeans, Next Hipster I see wearing skinny jeans and some retarded oversized jumper ( I live in QLD its Feckin Sunny) I'm running them over in my BMW.

The funboys stole your identity?

Awh. Sounds like someone needs a hug.

C'mere, ye big fake glasses, cardigan wearing, skinny be-jeaned softy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

You're all a bunch of haters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Lots of them here, didn't realise they were called 'funboys'.
    Seems like more effort than some of the other fads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It seems that the prerequisite for wanting to dress up as a funboy, is that you must like getting the sh1t kicked out of you whenever you leave the house (or even before that by your dad).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

its definately something that's bewildering me.

dont see the appeal to it at all.

if looking at ols pics of kw folks has thought me something... its beware of fashion fads and just wear simple clothes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I was in San Francisco in october, lovely city but sweet jesus, its hipster central, drainpipe jeans, illfitting tshirts, casette player walkmans on belts, its horrendous.

do people realise that by trying to be non conformist and falling into a style they're just conforming again? like goths "i dont conform" errr, yeah cos the new rock boots, eyeliner and dyed hair look is so original?

twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

krudler wrote: »
    I was in San Francisco in october, lovely city but sweet jesus, its hipster central, drainpipe jeans, illfitting tshirts, casette player walkmans on belts, its horrendous.

do people realise that by trying to be non conformist and falling into a style they're just conforming again? like goths "i dont conform" errr, yeah cos the new rock boots, eyeliner and dyed hair look is so original?

twats

The effort of using a cassette player though, changing tapes everytime you want to listen to a different band, unless you have a mix cd of very limited space. What's the point?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

They need a collective kick in their balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

A mate of mine runs a club night and denied a guy access because his thick rimmed glasses were non prescription.

My mate has endured a lifetime of ridicule for wearing glasses with lenses like washing machine doors and refused point blank to let some poser hipster tosser into the venue because his were a 'fashion' statement and he didn't need them to see.

I commended him for this (my mate, not the tosser).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

fabbydabby wrote: »
    A mate of mine runs a club night and denied a guy access because his thick rimmed glasses were non prescription.

My mate has endured a lifetime of ridicule for wearing glasses with lenses like washing machine doors and refused point blank to let some poser hipster tosser into the venue because his were a 'fashion' statement and he didn't need them to see.

I can see that night being hugely successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They're Hipsters.

Not funboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They're Hipsters.

Not funboys.

AnonoBoys are the new thing, I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

I applaud these guys. They are the antithesis of the girlies that wear chicken fillets in their Bra's only for the boys to end up very disappointed when he see's them disrobed and discovers the have a pair of flacid poached eggs instead.

They are making a stand. Not for them the bootcut jeans and gillet or thick jacket to make them look bulkier. No. They are honest enough to show the girlies straight from the getgo that they are scrawny whippets with calves the size of a wrist and thighs the size of a bicep....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

They're called Hipsters, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Yeah they're called Hipsters and they've been around for yonks.

Lots of them here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

They're not funboys, they're hipsters you idiot! :p

Edit: Not reading thread fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

fabbydabby wrote: »

Wholly undemocratic, elitist and spiteful.

I like the cut of his jib.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I am very proud of the fact that I dont have a clue what most of you are talking about.